DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Doyle (US 2008/0250950). Regarding claim 1, Doyle discloses “a clamp (Figure 7) for attaching a squeegee module to a print head (Figure 7), the clamp comprising first (item 54) and second bars (item 56) connected together via a resiliently deformable biasing member (item 62), such that the first and second bars are biased away from a release configuration in which the first and second bars are relatively close to each other into a clamping configuration in which the first and second bars are relatively distant from each other (Figure 7, paragraph 31), the first bar having a lower surface, an upper surface which faces the second bar (Figure 7), and, located on the upper surface, an interface configured for connection to the print head (at least item 54, Figure 7, paragraph 31) in use, and the second bar comprising an upper surface (Figure 7).” Regarding the remainder of the claim, the claim is drawn to a clamp, and the only structural components required of the claim are the first and second bars, the spring, and an interface; the print head or a squeegee are not part of the claimed clamp. Thus, the remainder of the claim does not recite any structure which defines over the structure shown by Doyle. Regarding claim 2, Doyle further discloses “wherein the first and second bars comprise respective slots, the respective slots being in registration such that a portion of the squeegee module may be accommodated within the respective slot (paragraph 31, items 57. Examiner notes that linear bearings satisfy the requirements of slots).” Regarding claim 3, Doyle further discloses “wherein the slots are substantially C or U-shaped (items 57: Examiner notes that linear bearings are substantially C-shaped).” Regarding claim 4, Doyle further discloses “wherein the biasing member comprises a compression spring (item 62).” Regarding claim 5, Doyle further discloses “wherein the compression spring is retained within a telescopically-sliding chamber formed between the first and second bars (Examiner interprets the volume within which the spring moves in Figure 7 to be the recited chamber).” Regarding claim 6, Doyle further discloses “wherein the second bar comprises an opening dimensioned to receive the interface (see the recess in item 56 in Figure 7).” Regarding claim 7, Doyle further discloses “formed as a module for releasable and repeatable mounting to the print head via the interface (paragraph 31; see Figure 7. Examiner interprets the configuration shown in Figure 7 to be ‘a module’).” Regarding claim 8, Doyle further discloses “a print head (item 20) comprising the clamp of claim 1 (Figures).” Regarding claim 9, Doyle further discloses “comprising a vertically movable shuttle (see the chain in Figure 3; paragraph 29: z-axis motion assembly), and wherein the clamp is connected to the shuttle via the interface (Figure 7, paragraph 31).” Regarding claim 10, Doyle further discloses “comprising an abutment surface at a lower end thereof in contact with the second bar (see the annotated Figure 3 below).”
Regarding claim 11, Doyle further discloses “a printing machine (Figure 2) comprising the print head of claim 8 (see the rejection of claim 8 above).” Regarding claim 12, Doyle further discloses “comprising a squeegee module (item 36), wherein the squeegee comprises a squeegee blade (see blade extending from item 38 in Figure 3) mounted to a mounting block (item 38), and wherein the mounting block comprises a projection extending therefrom which engages with the clamp (see the circular, grooved heads extending from item 38 in Figure 3).” Regarding claim 13, Doyle further discloses “wherein the projection comprises a shaft projecting from the mounting block (see the shaft portion of the projections in between item 38 and the circular grooved projections) and a head at the distal end of the shaft which is wider than the shaft (see the circular, grooved head portion in Figure 3), and wherein, in the clamping configuration, the first bar contacts the mounting block and the second bar contacts the head (Figure 3).”
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/09/2025 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 12/09/2025 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSHUA D ZIMMERMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853