DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-15) in the reply filed on 6/8/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a computing device” in claim 1.
After reviewing the specification, the computing device appears to be drawn to a processor, memory, and communication interface, or known equivalents (per paragraph [0029]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Besore (US 2018/0106523 – provided by Applicant in the IDS) in view of Lee (US 2023/0298351 – provided by Applicant in the IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Besore teaches a refrigerator (see Title) comprising:
a main body defining a refrigerated enclosure (120, Fig. 2) and a main body opening leading to at least a portion of the refrigerated enclosure (126, Fig. 2, paragraph [0022]);
at least one storage compartment within the refrigerated enclosure defining a compartment volume able to be closed off from at least one other portion of the refrigerated enclosure (139, Fig. 2, paragraph [0023]) allowing a storage condition within the compartment volume to be controlled separately from the at least one other portion of the refrigerated enclosure (140, Fig. 2, paragraph [0023]);
at least one computing device (134, Fig. 1, paragraph [0045]), the at least one computing device configured to:
wherein the instructions provided to the at least one environmental control device control the at least one environmental control device to change the storage condition within the compartment volume based on the inventory in the compartment volume (see paragraph [0043], Fig. 5, paragraph [0038]) and provide instructions to at least one environmental control device in electrical communication with the at least one computing device (see paragraph [0038]).
Besore does not teach at least one camera mounted to the main body, the at least one camera positioned to have a field of view forward of the main body opening;
that the at least one computing device in operable connection with the at least one camera,
instruct the at least one camera to capture images of items being placed into or removed from the at least one storage compartment;
analyze the images captured by the at least one camera and determine whether the images contain an object of interest;
assign a direction of movement for the object of interest being at least one of into or out of the compartment volume;
update an inventory for the at least one storage compartment based on the object of interest and the direction of movement for the object of interest; and
Lee teaches an environmental storage structure with live inventory sensing (Lee, Title) which features at least one camera mounted to the main body (Lee, 62, Fig. 4A, paragraph [0052]), the at least one camera positioned to have a field of view forward of the main body opening (see Lee, Fig. 4A, paragraph [0054]); that the at least one computing device in operable connection with the at least one camera, instruct the at least one camera to capture images of items being placed into or removed from the at least one storage compartment (see Lee, paragraph [0054]); analyze the images captured by the at least one camera and determine whether the images contain an object of interest (Lee, 900, Fig. 7, paragraph [0099]); assign a direction of movement for the object of interest being at least one of into or out of the compartment volume (Lee, see at least paragraph [0025]); update an inventory for the at least one storage compartment based on the object of interest and the direction of movement for the object of interest (Lee, paragraph [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to provide Besore with a camera which is coupled to a computing device to capture images to analyze, assign, and update inventory in the refrigerator, as taught by Lee, in order to provide users with consistent updates on the inventory of their items.
Regarding claim 2, Besore as modified teaches the refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the at least one storage compartment is a drawer (Besore, paragraph [0022]).
Regarding claim 4, Besore as modified teaches the refrigerator of claim 2, further comprising a door mounted to and movable with respect to the main body, wherein the door covers at least a portion of the drawer when the door is closed against the main body (Besore, 127, 126, Fig. 2, paragraph [0023]).
Regarding claim 5, Besore as modified teaches the refrigerator of claim 2, further comprising a door mounted to and movable with respect to the main body, wherein the drawer is accessible when the door is closed against the main body (Besore, 127, 126, Fig. 2, paragraph [0023]).
Regarding claim 8, Besore as modified teaches the refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the at least one environmental control device includes a damper control mechanism that controls a damper within an air duct leading to the compartment volume (Besore, paragraph [0023]).
Regarding claim 9, Besore as modified teaches the refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the at least one environmental control device includes a filtration system in fluid communication with the compartment volume (Besore, claim 20, paragraph [0030]).
Regarding claim 10, Besore as modified teaches the refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the at least one environmental control device includes a fan in fluid communication with the compartment volume (Besore, 172, 174, paragraphs [0028]-[0029]).
Regarding claim 11, Besore as modified teaches the refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the at least one environmental control device includes a light source positioned with respect to the compartment volume to direct light into the compartment volume (Besore, see paragraph [0036]).
Regarding claim 12, Besore as modified teaches the refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the at least one environmental control device includes a gas source controller in fluid communication with a gas source and the compartment volume (Besore, paragraph [0023]).
Regarding claim 13, Besore as modified teaches the refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the at least one environmental control device includes a humidity regulator in fluid communication with the compartment volume (Besore, 190, Fig. 4, paragraph [0030]).
Regarding claim 14, Besore as modified teaches the refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the at least one environmental control device includes a sensor (Besore, 152, paragraph [0031]).
Claim(s) 3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Besore in view of Lee, further in view of Ha (US 2023/0316695 – provided by Applicant in the IDS)
Regarding claim 3, Besore as modified teaches the refrigerator of claim 2, wherein the drawer is movable between a closed position and an open position when in the open position the drawer extends forwardly from main body opening (inherent to a drawer). Besore as modified does not teach the at least one camera being positioned to have the field of view to include a drawer opening leading to the drawer.
Ha teaches a refrigerator (Ha, Title) which features a camera that is installed in the cabinet and captures an image of the storage chamber, including a drawer during opening and closing of the drawer (Ha, Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to provide Besore as modified with the at least one camera being positioned to have the field of view to include a drawer opening leading to the drawer, as taught by Ha, in order to provide users with consistent updates on the inventory of their items.
Regarding claim 7, Besore as modified teaches the refrigerator of claim 1, but does not teach at least one other camera having another field of view forward of the main body opening configured to capture images of items being placed into or removed from the at least one other portion of the refrigerated enclosure.
Ha teaches a refrigerator (Ha, Title) which features a camera that is installed in the cabinet and captures an image of the storage chamber, including a drawer during opening and closing of the drawer (Ha, Abstract), and a field of view forward of the main body opening configured to capture images of items being placed into or removed from the at least one other portion of the refrigerated enclosure (Ha, 18, Fig. 1, paragraph [0071]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to provide Besore as modified with the at least one camera being positioned to have the field of view to include a drawer opening leading to the drawer, as taught by Ha, in order to provide users with consistent updates on the inventory of their items.
The Examiner notes that the combination teaches having multiple cameras, as Lee teaches a plurality of cameras and Ha teaches the position of the camera.
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Besore in view of Lee, further in view of Cizik (US 2018/0274841 – provided by Applicant in the IDS).
Regarding claim 6, Besore as modified teaches the refrigerator of claim 1, but does not teach that the at least one storage compartment is shelf that is selectively closed off from the at least one other portion of the refrigerated enclosure by a lid.
Cizik teaches a refrigerator (Cizik, Abstact) which features at least one storage compartment (Cizik, 56, Fig. 2, paragraph [0053]) is shelf that is selectively closed off from the at least one other portion of the refrigerated enclosure by a lid (Cizik, 12, Fig. 2, paragraph [0054]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to provide Besore as modified with the at least one storage compartment is shelf that is selectively closed off from the at least one other portion of the refrigerated enclosure by a lid, as taught by Cizik, in order to provide greater structural integrity to the storage compartment.
Conclusion
/NAEL N BABAA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763