Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Firth (USPN 9109336).
Firth teaches a system comprising: a first portion (104) of a blade (102) configured at an initial position, wherein the first portion of the blade is configured to move or bend in one or more directions (col. 3, line 18-21; made of plastic); a second portion (142) of the blade positioned underneath the first portion of the blade, wherein the second portion of the blade consists of one or more different materials (rubber; col. 3, line 7) than the first portion of the blade, and wherein the second portion of the blade is configured to move and bend in conjunction with the first portion of the blade in the one or more directions (142 is attached 104 so they would inherently move in conjunction); and a handle (116) connected to the first and second portion of the blade, wherein the handle is configured to move and bend the first and second portion of the blade on one or more surfaces (the handle is connected to the blade and therefore, would move them on one or more surfaces).
With regards to claim 4, the handle twists the second portion of the blade in one or more directions (the handle as connected to the blade and the second portion are flexible and movable; col. 3, lines 16-21).
With regards to claim 6, the first and second portion of the blade are configured to move one or more items (col. 1, lines 19-22).
With regards to claim 8, a handle (116) positioned at an initial position to remove one or more items from at least one surface (col. 1, lines 19-25); a lower blade (142) positioned in contact with the handle, wherein the lower blade is made of flexible material (rubber), wherein the lower blade is configured to bend in one or more directions to remove the one or more items from the at least one surface (col. 3, lines 18-21); and an upper blade (104) positioned over the lower blade (142), wherein the upper blade is configured to twist and bend in the one or more directions to assist the lower blade and the handle to remove the one or more items from the at least one surface (col. 3, lines 18-21).
With regards to claim 10, the handle is configured in a detached position from the blade (the handle is removable from the blade; figure 4 and 5).
With regards to claim 12, the handle is positioned in a center region within the lower blade and the upper blade (102; figure 1 and 5).
With regards to claim 13, the upper blade includes stronger materials than the lower blade (col. 3, lines 5-7).
With regards to claim 14, the upper blade has a curved edge on at least one end of the upper blade (106, 110).
With regards to claim 15, Firth teaches a method comprising: configuring a first portion of a blade (104) at an initial position, wherein the first portion of the blade is configured to move or bend in one or more directions (col. 3, lines 18-21); positioning a second portion (142) of the blade underneath the first portion of the blade, wherein the second portion of the blade consists of one or more different materials (col. 3, lines 5-7) than the first portion of the blade, and wherein the second portion of the blade is configured to move and bend in conjunction with the first portion of the blade in the one or more directions (142 is attached 104 so they would inherently move in conjunction); and connecting a handle (116) to the first and second portion of the blade, wherein the handle is configured to move and bend the first and second portion of the blade on one or more surfaces (the handle is connected to the blade and therefore, would move them on one or more surfaces).
With regards to claim 16, the second portion of the blade with more bendable materials than the first portion of the blade (the second portion is made from rubber, which is more bendable than plastic).
With regards to claim 17, a curved edge on at least one end of the second portion of the blade (106, 110).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Firth (‘336) in view of Kim (PGPub 20060277708).
Firth teaches all the essential elements of the claimed invention however fails to teach using a polycarbonate material for the first portion of the blade.
Kim teaches a squeegee with a first portion of a blade that comprises a polycarbonate material (paragraph 0025). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Firth so that the first portion of the blade is made from a polycarbonate material as taught by Kim since it has been held within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious engineering choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim(s) 3, 7 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Firth (‘336) in view of Verbazza (USPN 12690742).
With regards to claim 3, Firth teaches all the essential elements of the claimed invention however fails to teach that the handle is rotatable by one-hundred and eighty degrees.
Verbazza teaches a squeegee with a handle that is rotatable by 180 degrees (figure 2c shows one extreme and not shown would be the squeegee located at the opposite extreme). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Firth so that the handle is capable of rotating 180 degrees as taught by Verbazza to allow the device to rotate to adapt to various cleaning phases.
With regards to claim 7, Firth teaches all the essential elements of the claimed invention however fails to teach that the handle is moved to one or more angles to enable the first and second portion of the blade to remove one or more items.
Verbazza teaches a squeegee with a handle that is capable of rotating to several angles (figure 2a-2c). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Firth so that the squeegee is capable of rotating to various angles as taught by Verbazza to allow for the device to rotate to adapt to various cleaning phases.
With regards to claim 18, Firth teaches all the essential elements of the claimed invention however fails to teach a locking mechanism onto the first and second portion of the blade to enable the first and second portion of the blade to be adjusted.
Verbazza teaches a squeegee with a handle that is capable of rotating to several angles (figure 2a-2c). There is a locking device (155) to lock the angle of the squeegee relative to the handle. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Firth so that the squeegee is capable of rotating and locking at various angles as taught by Verbazza to allow for the device to rotate to adapt to various cleaning phases.
Claim(s) 5 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Firth (‘336) in view of Smith (PGPub 20160095492).
Firth teaches all the essential elements of the claimed invention however fails to teach that the first portion of the blade includes a top edge that is tilted forward.
Smith teaches a squeegee device with a first portion of a blade (20) having a top edge (34) that is tilted forward (figure 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Firth so that the top edge of the first portion is tilted forward as taught by Smith to assist in guiding the debris and prevent it from flowing over the blade when in use.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Firth (‘336) in view of Jenkins (USPN 1579941).
Firth teaches all the essential elements of the claimed invention however fails to teach that the handle is configured to be positioned in a perpendicular direction to the lower blade and upper blade.
Jenkins teaches a squeegee with a handle that is configured to be positioned in a direction perpendicular to the blade (figure 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Firth so that it comprises an adjustable hinge as taught by Jenkins to allow for the handle to be at various angles, including perpendicular, with respect to the blade to allow for the squeegee to be adjusted based on the various uses.
Claim(s) 11 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Firth (‘336) in view of Cocco (USPN 2728099).
Firth teaches all the essential elements of the claimed invention however fails to teach that the lower blade and upper blade are positioned at a forty-five degree angle to the handle and that the handle can be placed in a parallel direction to the first and second portion of the blade for storage.
Cocco teaches a squeegee device wherein the blade is positioned at a 45 degree angle to the handle (col. 3, lines 23-31) (figure 4). Cocco also teaches that the handle can be positioned parallel to the blade (figure 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Firth so that the handle forms a 45 degree angle to the blade as taught by Cocco to create an ergonomic device that prevents the users from bending over too much and straining their back when in use. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Firth so that the handle can be positioned parallel to the blade as taught by Cocco to allow for compact storage.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 11-20 provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 1-2, 4-9, 11-20 of copending Application No. 18383424 (reference application). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/SHAY KARLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723