DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed on 05/28/2026 have been entered. Applicant amended 1-2, 9-10, 17-18 in the amendment. Claims 4-5, 12-13, 20-21 are canceled.
Claims 1-3, 6-11, 14-19, and 22-24 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 6-11, 14-19, and 22-24 filed on 05/28/2026 have been considered but they are deemed to be moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Information Disclosure Statement
It is hereby acknowledged that the following papers have been received and placed of record in the file:
Information Disclosure Statement(s) as received on 05/28/2026 is/are considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-11, 14-19, 22-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gauvreau, JR. (US 2024/0095733 A1), in view of Kreder, III et al. (US 2020/0394651 A1), hereinafter Kreder, and further in view of Kasimov et al. (US 2024/0305489 A1), hereinafter Kasimov.
Regarding claim 1, Gauvreau, JR. discloses
A method of controlling assets of a computer environment comprising:
receiving, via at least one processor, a request to obtain a first asset of the computer environment on a decentralized system for a user ([0036]: a request for a webpage is received at the registrar middleware 104 from a client device; & [0072]: the client device 702 requests to transfer a domain name on the domain registrar blockchain 106 to a new non-blockchain-based registrar), wherein the first asset on the decentralized system corresponds to a second asset of the computer environment on a centralized system ([0023]: the registration of a domain name in the domain registrar blockchain is tied to an on-chain asset (e.g., a token or NFT) stored in a digital wallet of the owner of the domain, the domain name can be transferred to another person by transferring the on-chain asset from the digital wallet of the owner to a new owner’s digital wallet; & [0036]: determine the nameserver that owns or manages the requested webpage);
acquiring, via the at least one processor, the first asset on the decentralized system for the user, wherein the first asset includes a blockchain domain name of a domain implemented on a blockchain (blockchain 106) by smart contracts ([0031]: the domain registrar blockchain 106 can use nameserver smart contracts 108 to build a registrar to store domain names) and indicates information for a managing entity including a domain name registrar of the second asset on the centralized system ([0037]: the registrar middleware 104 translates the request for the webpage to a blockchain query by decoding the DNS request and performing a recursive query on the associated DNS records; the blockchain query is then sent to the domain registrar blockchain 106 to perform the nameserver lookup request; & [0046]: the retrieved webpage is transmitted to the client device; & [0036]: determine the nameserver that owns or manages the requested webpage), wherein the second asset includes a centralized domain name on the centralized system (nameserver 102) ([0019]: traditional domain name registrars manage the registration of domain names by maintaining domain name registration information in centralized databases; & [0031]: the domain registrar blockchain 106, or blockchain-based domain registrar, is a blockchain database, or distributed ledger, storing domain name registration data; & [0023]: the registration of a domain name in the domain registrar blockchain is tied to an on-chain asset (e.g., a token or NFT) stored in a digital wallet of the owner of the domain; & [0025]: the nameserver 102 is authoritative name server configured and authorized to receive requests for domain names and transmit IP addresses in response); and
controlling, via the at least one processor, actions performed for the second asset by the managing entity ([0039]: a first user/entity owns “example.com” and mints a subdomain, “b.example.com” as an on-chain asset (e.g., tokens or NFTs) to a second user/entity’s digital wallet), the actions include transferring the second asset to a different managing entity on the centralized system ([0039]: a first user/entity owns “example.com” and mints a subdomain, “b.example.com” as an on-chain asset (e.g., tokens or NFTs) to a second user/entity’s digital wallet).
Gauvreau, JR. does not explicitly disclose
based on authorization from the decentralized system.
However, Kreder discloses
control asset based on authorization from the decentralized system ([0222]: if the user 106 enters a pin or other information indicative of his or her authorization to transfer the blockchain asset data 712, the secure payment terminal 104(1) may communicate with the one or more blockchain servers 202 to download the blockchain asset data 712 from the blockchain data 204 and to store the blockchain asset data 712, an associated transaction ID, a timestamp, other information, or any combination thereof on the device 102, which stores the data as off-chain asset data 234).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate feature of Kreder in Gauvreau, JR. because Gauvreau, JR. discloses on-chain asset can be transferred from one user to another user ([0029]) and Kreder further suggests user provided authorization to transfer blockchain asset data ([0222]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Kreder in Gauvreau, JR. system in order to provide a secure system.
Gauvreau, JR. and Kreder do not explicitly disclose
deactivating the first asset on the decentralized system and minting a new asset for the blockchain domain name on the decentralized system indicating information for the different managing entity of the centralized system.
However, Kasimov discloses
deactivating the first asset on the decentralized system ([0102]: removing the first NFT from the blockchain wallet includes moving the first NFT from the blockchain wallet to a burn wallet) and minting a new asset for the blockchain domain name on the decentralized system indicating information for the different managing entity of the centralized system ([0105]: a new NFT is minted for the first domain name after the expiring of the first NFT in the blockchain wallet).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate feature of Kasimov in Gauvreau, JR and Kreder. because Gauvreau, JR. and Kreder disclose on-chain asset can be transferred from one user to another user (Gauvreau, JR.: [0029]) and Kasimov further suggests moving the first NFT to a burn wallet and a new NFT is minted for the first domain name ([0102] & [0105]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Kasimov in Gauvreau, JR. and Kreder system in order to provide capital efficiency.
Regarding claim 2, Gauvreau, JR., Kreder, and Kasimov disclose the method as described in claim 1. Gauvreau, JR. further discloses
the first asset is represented by a non-fungible token ([0023]: the registration of a domain name in the domain registrar blockchain is tied to an on-chain asset (e.g., a token or NFT) stored in a digital wallet of the owner of the domain;).
Regarding claim 3, Gauvreau, JR., Kreder, and Kasimov disclose the method as described in claim 2. Gauvreau, JR. further discloses
the information for the managing entity is stored in a record of a smart contract for the first asset ([0032]: the blockchain resolver smart contracts 114 are used to store and resolve DNS records associated with a specific domain name).
Regarding claim 6, Gauvreau, JR., Kreder, and Kasimov disclose the method as described in claim 1. Gauvreau, JR., Kreder, and Kasimov further disclose
the authorization includes an authorization code enabling performance of the actions by the managing entity without consent of an owner of the second asset (Kreder: [0104]: the touchscreen 110 may present a prompt to input a validation code or other data, which may be displayed on the touchscreen 302 of the computing device 112 to be paired, and the user 106 may enter the validation code via the touchscreen 110; upon input of acceptance, the validation code, or a combination thereof, the pairing module 326 may generate pairing data indicative of the relationship; the pairing module 326 may also send a pairing response to the computing device; the pairing establishes a trust relationship and optionally secure communication between the secure payment terminal 104 and the computing device 112; & [0105]: the secure payment terminal 104 may generate a signed message using public keys 336, private keys 338, passcode data 340, or any combination thereof (in response to input received via the touchscreen 110 or from the paired computing device 112) and may send the signed message to the one or more blockchain servers 202 to download blockchain data associated with a blockchain asset and store the blockchain data as off-chain asset data 234 in the data store 226 of the device 102). Therefore, the limitations of claim 6 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 7, Gauvreau, JR., Kreder, and Kasimov disclose the method as described in claim 1. Gauvreau, JR., Kreder, and Kasimov further disclose
verifying, via the at least one processor, a message signed by the managing entity in a crypto wallet indicated in the information for the managing entity to produce the authorization (Kreder: [0073]: if the originating account has sufficient funds and the signature of the signed message is verified, the one or more blockchain servers 202 will process the transaction and funds will be transferred on the blockchain data 204 from the originating account to the receiving account). Therefore, the limitations of claim 7 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claim 8, Gauvreau, JR., Kreder, and Kasimov disclose the method as described in claim 1. Gauvreau, JR., Kreder, and Kasimov further disclose
presenting the first asset of the computer environment on a user interface with an associated indicator indicating the managing entity (Gauvreau, JR.: [0046]: the retrieved webpage is transmitted to the client device; & Kreder: FIG. 3 & [0087]: this issuing or loading authority signature would provide off-chain asset data 234 to a device 102 together with an indication of authenticity (such as a certificate or proof of the authenticity of the loading authority); & [0088]: the device 102(1) would present, to the device 102(2), the signature from the loading authority that was used to initialize the off-chain asset data 234(1) to prove the appropriate asset type; when a user 105 wants to redeem the off-chain asset data 234 to the blockchain data 204, the user 106 may use the device 102(2) to present the loading authority’s signature to the blockchain, a valid device certificate, as well as a signed request to move funds corresponding to the certificate). Therefore, the limitations of claim 8 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Regarding claims 9 and 17, the limitations of claims 9 and 17 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above and these claims are rejected on that basis.
Regarding claims 10 and 18, the limitations of claims 10 and 18 are rejected in the analysis of claim 2 above and these claims are rejected on that basis.
Regarding claims 11 and 19, the limitations of claims 11 and 19 are rejected in the analysis of claim 3 above and these claims are rejected on that basis.
Regarding claims 14 and 22, the limitations of claims 14 and 22 are rejected in the analysis of claim 6 above and these claims are rejected on that basis.
Regarding claims 15 and 23, the limitations of claims 15 and 23 are rejected in the analysis of claim 7 above and these claims are rejected on that basis.
Regarding claims 16 and 24, the limitations of claims 16 and 24 are rejected in the analysis of claim 8 above and these claims are rejected on that basis.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Witchey et al. (US 11,880,824 B1). Minting one or more new NFT(s) for the new target ledger with the same state as the old target ledger, enabling transactions on the new target ledger, and burning the NFT(s) representative of the old target ledger.
Brooks (US 12,423,676 B1). A new NFT is minted and transferred to the cryptocurrency wallet associated with the user account and the previous NFT is assigned to a “burn wallet”;
Mufson et al. (US 2021/0350356 A1). A smart contract mints new digital assets when new digital assets are purchased by a user and the smart contract burns existing digital assets when a user cashes out existing digital assets ([0054]).
Collen (US 2022/0294630 A1). Mint a new (upgraded) NFT and drop it to the user’s wallet; the original NFT is burned ([0176]).
Pardo (US 2023/0034621 A1). Fuse two or more original (pre-used) NFTs into one new NFT; a new NFT is minted, and the original NFTs are burned; the new NFT is typically a child of the original NFTs ([0125]).
Brogliato et al. (US 2024/0202703 A1). Receiving a set of orders; the exchange system can include a centralized order book (e.g., an offchain order book) that tacks and matches orders from a set of user accounts; receiving an order from a user account, wherein the order can identify the asset types and amounts to exchange, the blockchain address holding said assets.
Bernardi (US 2024/0185191 A1). Cross-chain communications refer to the transferring of information between one or more blockchain.
Linehan (US 6,327,578 B1). The consumer’s wallet forwards the authorization token to the merchant, which can verify both the issuer gateway’s signature and the data in the authorization token.
Arora et al. (US 2020/0097924 A1). A blockchain wallet may include a private key of a cryptographic key pair that issued to generate a digital signatures that serve as authorization by the consumer 104 for a blockchain transaction, where the digital signature can be verified by the blockchain network using the public key of the cryptographic key pair.
Simon et al. (US 2018/0218454 A1). Obtain a transaction request, the transaction request is associated with a transfer of an asset between a participant and a system registrar of the monitored system ([0069]),
Edge (US 2017/0041963 A1). A request to modify and/or access information related to an asset that is managed by the first entity, the request including an identification for the asset, receives, from the Information Manager, a token that is configured to authenticate a request from a second entity to modify and/or access the information related to the asset, and transfers the token to a second client device associated with the second entity in response to a transfer of management of the asset from the first entity to the second entity.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Kaylee Huang
08/10/2026
/KAYLEE J HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447