DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on October 31, 2024 and February 18, 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Note: Several of the references including the written opinion have been lined through and not considered due to no copies of those references being provided to the Office.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of the phrase “is also disclosed” on line 7. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 7, 9, 12-14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cornelius (USP 5,456,029).
Regarding claim 1: Cornelius discloses a tip coupler (as seen in figure 1, generally 10) for a bucket comprising:
a coupler body including a mounting portion (as seen in figure 2, area of 14) having a forward body end (as seen in figure 2, area of 26), a back body end (as seen in figure 2, area of 38 and as seen in annotated figure below), and a lip-installation cavity extending from a blind cavity end located adjacent to the forward body end to an open cavity end formed in the back body end (as seen in figure 2, area of 40 and as seen in annotated figure below);
the coupler body further including a nose portion (as seen in figure 2, area of 16) projecting from the forward body end;
the forward body end including an end face (as seen in figure 1, area of 22), two tip-contact surfaces forward offset from the end face (as seen in figure 1, area forward of 32) and arranged opposite one another about the nose portion, and two tip-contact surfaces rearward offset from the end face and arranged opposite one another about the nose portion (as seen in figure 1, area forward of 26); and
the back body end including a plurality of corners, and a plurality of load-reacting surfaces offset fore-aft from the plurality of corners and arranged about the open cavity end (as seen in annotated figure 4 below).
Figure 4
Regarding claim 2: Cornelius discloses the tip coupler of claim 1. Further, Cornelius discloses wherein the forward body end includes a first protrusion and a second protrusion protruding from the end face, and the two tip-contact surfaces forward offset are formed on the first protrusion and the second protrusion, respectively (as seen in annotated figure 1 below).
Figure 1
Regarding claim 7: Cornelius discloses the tip coupler of claim 1. Further, Cornelius discloses wherein the plurality of load-reacting surfaces are forward offset from the plurality of corners (as seen in annotated figure 4 above).
Regarding claim 9: Cornelius discloses the tip coupler of claim 1. Further, Cornelius discloses wherein the mounting portion includes an upper side, a lower side, a first lateral side, and a second lateral side, and defines a plane of upper-lower symmetry equidistant between the upper side and the lower side (as seen in figure 4 via a plane through 50).
Regarding claims 12 and 13: Cornelius discloses a tip coupler (as seen in figure 1, generally 10):
a coupler body including a mounting portion (as seen in figure 2, area of 14) having a forward body end, a back body end, an upper side, a lower side, and a nose portion projecting from the forward body end and having a nose end surface; the coupler body further forming an installation cavity defining a longitudinal central axis extending through a center point of the nose end surface (as seen in figure 4, at 50 and as seen in annotated figure below), and a plane of upper-lower symmetry that includes the longitudinal central axis and is equidistant between the upper side and the lower side (as seen in figure 4 via a plane through 50); and the forward body end including a plurality of tip-contact surfaces arranged symmetrically about the longitudinal central axis and vary in fore and aft locations (as seen in figure 1, area forward of 32 and at 26), and the back body end including a plurality of load-reacting surfaces arranged symmetrically about the longitudinal central axis (as seen in annotated figure 4 below).
Regarding claim 14: Cornelius discloses the tip coupler of claim 13. Further, Cornelius discloses wherein the forward body end includes a plurality of protrusions opposite to one another about the nose portion, and a plurality of notches opposite to one another about the nose portion, and the plurality of tip-contact surfaces are formed on the plurality of protrusions and the plurality of notches (as seen in annotated figure 1 below).
.
Regarding claim 18: Cornelius discloses the tip coupler of claim 13. Further, Cornelius discloses wherein the coupler body defines a plane of left-right symmetry that includes the longitudinal central axis (as seen in figure 3 as denoted along 4-4).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kunz (USPGPub 2015/0033597).
Regarding claim 19: Kunz discloses the state-of-the-art bucket lip assembly (as seen in figures 3 and 4) comprising:
an elongate bucket lip (as seen in figure 4, generally 62) including a plurality of shroud stations (as seen in figure 4, at 64) and a plurality of coupler stations (as seen in figure 4, at 70) in an alternating arrangement along a forward bucket lip edge(as seen in figures 3 and 4);
a tip coupler (as seen in figure 5, generally 200) mounted to one of the plurality of coupler stations and including a mounting portion having a forward body end (as seen in figure 16, area of 200), a back body end (as seen in figure 16, area of 204), a nose portion projecting from the forward body end (as seen in figure 16, area of 206), and forming an installation cavity receiving one of the plurality of coupler stations. Further, Kunz discloses the tip coupler wherein the forward body end including an end face (as seen in figure 16, area of 204), two tip-contact surfaces forward offset from the end face and arranged opposite one another about the nose portion, and two tip-contact surfaces rearward offset from the end face and arranged opposite one another about the nose portion (as seen in annotated figure 17 below); and the back body end including a plurality of corners (as seen in figure 14, area of 204), and a plurality of load-reacting surfaces offset fore-aft from the plurality of corners (as seen in figure 14, unnumbered but shown as “beveled surfaces” forward of 256-260).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cornelius (USP 5,456,029) in view of Kunz (USPGPub 2015/0033597).
Regarding claims 10 and 11: Cornelius discloses the tip coupler of claim 1 substantially as discussed above. Further, Cornelius discloses the coupler body includes a first extending hole and a second extending hole in register with the first extending hole, and each being formed in the mounting portion and in communication with the installation cavity (as seen in figure 2, areas of 44 and 46) as well as one lateral recess in the nose (as seen in figure 1, at 34) but fails to show the holes being laterally extending. However, Kunz discloses that it is well known in the excavating art to provide a coupler with laterally extending holes (as seen in figure 14, at 278 and 279). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the device of Cornelius with the teachings of Kunz since it would be a simple matter of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable results of a coupler assembly that could be more easily service due to connector location.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6, 8, 15-17 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ortiz Garcia et al. (USPGPub 2020/0392704) discloses a coupler assembly having forward offset bearing surface.
Freund et al. (USP 9,009,995) discloses a coupler assembly having a plurality of front face offsets.
/ROBERT E PEZZUTO/ Examiner, Art Unit 3671