DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7, 8, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shivak et al. (US 4,114,851, hereafter “Shivak”).
Regarding claim 1, Shivak discloses a sealing assembly for a metering valve (Fig. 1), comprising: a valve stem (170); a piston (80) removably attached to the valve stem (Col. 8, lines 3-18), the piston and stem defining at least one degree of freedom of movement therebetween with the piston attached to the stem (Col. 8, lines 3-18; Figs. 1, 2, 5); and a sealing ring (38) adapted to be sealed to an interior of the metering valve and defining a tapered sealing seat (52) corresponding to a tapered sealing surface (the tapered surface portion of 86 that contacts 52 as shown in Fig. 10) of the piston.
Regarding claim 4, Shivak discloses a sealing assembly for a valve (Fig. 1), comprising: a stem (170) having a protruding free end (the end at 180); a piston (80) coupled to the protruding free end; the piston is moveable when attached to the protruding free end in a plurality of radial directions with respect to a central axis of the stem (Col. 8, lines 3-18; Figs. 1, 2, 5); and a bonnet (140) engaging with the stem and attachable to the valve.
Regarding claim 7, Shivak further discloses further discloses the sealing assembly for the valve of claim 4, wherein the piston is conical shaped (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 8, Shivak further discloses the sealing assembly for the valve of claim 4, wherein the bonnet and stem are threadably engaged. (Figs. 1 and 2)
Regarding claim 12, Shivak further discloses the sealing assembly for the valve of claim 4, wherein a retaining ring (120) arranged between the bonnet and a stem seal (116) in an axial direction, wherein the stem seal is selectively compressible between a packing ring (114) and the retaining ring in response to a compressive force placed thereon by the packing nut. (Col. 6, lines 18-50; Fig. 2)
Claim(s) 4, 5 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pulcini et al. (US 2008/0217573, hereafter “Pulcini”).
Regarding claim 4, Pulcini discloses a sealing assembly for a valve (Fig. 1), comprising: a stem (122) having a protruding free end (124); a piston (120) coupled to the protruding free end (Fig. 1); the piston is moveable when attached to the protruding free end in a plurality of radial directions with respect to a central axis of the stem; and a bonnet (104) engaging with the stem and attachable to the valve.
Regarding claim 5, Pulcini further discloses the sealing assembly for the valve of claim 4, wherein the piston further includes a slotted opening (the opening at the left end of 126 with reference to Fig. 1) coupling the piston to the protruding free end.
Regarding claim 9, Pulcini further discloses the sealing assembly for the valve of claim 4, wherein a multi-element stem seal (see the multiples seals 106 arranged around between the stem and bonnet in Fig. 1) is arranged between the bonnet and the stem.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 5, 6, 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shivak in view of Pulcini.
Regarding claim 2, Shivak further discloses the sealing assembly of claim 1, wherein the stem defines a radially extending slot (180) formed therein for receiving a corresponding portion (84) of the stem, wherein when mounted to the stem, the piston is at least partially moveable within the slot in a plurality of radial directions with respect to a central axis of the stem (Fig. 2), but fails to disclose the piston defines a radially extending slot formed therein for receiving a corresponding portion of the stem.
Pulcini teaches a sealing assembly wherein a piston (120) defines a radially extending slot (126) formed therein for receiving a corresponding portion (124) of the stem.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the sealing assembly of Shivak such that the piston includes the radially extending slot and the stem include the corresponding portion as taught by Pulcini since rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to provide an alternative construction which helps to ameliorate uneven wear on seals and/or seat contact area due to misalignment. (para. [0028])
Regarding claim 5, Shivak further discloses the sealing assembly for the valve of claim 4, wherein the stem further includes a slotted opening (the opening at 180) coupling the stem to the protruding free end, but fails to disclose wherein the piston further includes a slotted opening coupling the piston to the protruding free end.
Pulcini teaches a sealing assembly wherein a piston (120) further includes a slotted opening (126) coupling the piston to the protruding free end (at 124).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the sealing assembly of Shivak such that the piston includes the radially extending slot and the stem include the corresponding portion as taught by Pulcini since rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to provide an alternative construction which helps to ameliorate uneven wear on seals and/or seat contact area due to misalignment. (para. [0028])
Regarding claim 6, Shivak in view of Pulcini further discloses the sealing assembly for the valve of claim 5, wherein the piston having an exterior tapered sealing surface (Fig. 10; the tapered sealing surface at 86).
Regarding claim 13, Shivak discloses a sealing assembly for a valve (Fig. 1) comprising: an elongated stem (170); a tapered conical piston (80) coupled to a free end of the stem (Fig. 1); a bonnet (140) partially abutting an outer portion of the valve, the stem coupling to an internal thread of the bonnet (Fig. 1); the piston is moveable when attached to the free end in a plurality of radial directions with respect to a central axis of the stem (Figs. 1, 2, 5), but fails to disclose the free end of the stem is a protruding free end.
Pulcini teaches a sealing assembly for a valve wherein the stem has a protruding free end. (the end at 124 as shown in Fig. 1)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the sealing assembly of Shivak such that the piston includes the radially extending slot and the stem include the corresponding portion as taught by Pulcini since rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to provide an alternative construction which helps to ameliorate uneven wear on seals and/or seat contact area due to misalignment. (para. [0028])
Regarding claim 14, Shivak in view of Pulcini further discloses the sealing assembly for the valve of claim 13, wherein a sealing ring (38) adapted to be sealed to an interior of the valve and defining a tapered sealing seat (52) corresponding to a tapered sealing surface (the tapered surface portion of 86 that contacts 52 as shown in Fig. 10) of the piston.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pulcini.
Regarding claim 7, Pulcini further discloses the sealing assembly for the valve of claim 4, but fails to disclose wherein the piston is conical shaped.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the piston of Pulcini to be conical shaped since a change in shape of an element involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to provide a shape that is optimal based on user defined criteria.
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pulcini in view of Wilson (US 6,991,216).
Regarding claim 10, Pulcini further discloses the sealing assembly for the valve of claim 4, but fails to disclose wherein a packing nut threadably fitted to an end of the bonnet and having an opening for receiving the stem therethrough.
Wilson teaches a sealing assembly (Fig. 3) comprising a packing nut (26) threadably fitted to an end of the bonnet (68) and having an opening (the opening at the center of 26) for receiving the stem therethrough. (Fig. 3)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the construction of the valve attachment to the body of Pulcini to include a packing nut and bonnet arrangement as taught by Wilson in order to provide a design which allows the valve to turn more freely, both at atmospheric condition and under pressure. (Col. 4, lines 45-53)
Regarding claim 11, Pulcini further discloses the sealing assembly for the valve of claim 4, but fails to disclose wherein a packing ring arranged over the stem and between a packing nut and a stem seal.
Wilson teaches a sealing assembly (Fig. 3) comprising a packing ring (65) arranged over the stem (86) and between a packing nut (26) and a stem seal (64).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the construction of the valve attachment to the body of Pulcini to include a packing nut and bonnet arrangement as taught by Wilson in order to provide a design which allows the valve to turn more freely, both at atmospheric condition and under pressure. (Col. 4, lines 45-53)
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shivak in view of Pulcini and Wilson.
Regarding claim 15, Shivak in view of Pulcini further discloses the sealing assembly for the valve of claim 14, but fails to disclose a packing nut threadably fitted to an end of the bonnet and having an opening for receiving the stem therethrough.
Wilson teaches a sealing assembly for a valve (Fig. 3) comprising a packing nut (26) threadably fitted to an end of the bonnet (68) and having an opening (the opening at the center of 26) for receiving the stem therethrough. (Fig. 3)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the construction of the valve attachment to the body of Pulcini to include a packing nut and bonnet arrangement as taught by Wilson in order to provide a design which allows the valve to turn more freely, both at atmospheric condition and under pressure. (Col. 4, lines 45-53)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 16-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/PAUL J GRAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753