DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
No claim limitation has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because each term connotes sufficient structure to a POSITA. See MPEP § 2181. If applicant contends otherwise, please point to supporting disclosure.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-9) in the reply filed on 5 March 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim(s) 10-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5 March 2026.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kese et al. (US 6,024,744, “Kese”) in view of Denslow (US 2006/0067806A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kese discloses a surgical tool including a plurality of arms (12, 14; Fig. 6; C10:L5-21), wherein each of the plurality of arms defines an aperture. The aperture is the opening/hole through which a rivet, pin or screw extends (24; C7:L3-20). The elongate pin (24) extending through the aperture of each of the plurality of arms. However, Kese does not disclose that the elongate pin has an end stop at a first end of the elongate pin, the end stop being adjacent to the aperture of a first arm of the plurality of arms, and an end portion at a second end of the elongate pin, the end portion extending beyond a second arm of the plurality of arms, a bearing plate mounted on said end portion of the pin directly adjacent to the aperture of the second arm, the bearing plate being configured to rotate freely relative to the second arm, wherein the end portion comprises a deformed region, which is deformed such that the pin forms an interference fit with the bearing plate, thereby pivotally mounting the plurality of arms relative to each other such that at least one of the plurality of arms can freely rotate about the elongate pin.
In the same field of endeavor, fasteners, Denslow teaches an elongate fastener/pin in the form of a rivet that extends through openings in a first body (12; Fig. 2; [0028]) and a second body (14). The elongate fastener has an end stop (16) at a first end of the elongate fastener. The end stop is adjacent to the aperture of a first body. An end portion (30) at a second end of the elongate fastener extends beyond a second body. A bearing plate (40; [0031]; Fig. 2) is mounted on the end portion of the fastener directly adjacent to the aperture of the second body. The end portion includes a deformed region (40; Fig. 2C; [0034]) which is deformed such that the fastener forms an interference fit with the bearing plate. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the fastener of Kese with the fastener and bearing plate, as taught by Denslow, as this modification involves the simple substitution of one means for fastening with another for the predictable result of providing means at a point of intersection for pivoting the arms between an open and closed position. With this modification, the bearing plate is capable of rotating freely relative to the second arm, thereby pivotally mounting the plurality of arms relative to each other such that at least one of the plurality of arms can freely rotate about the elongate pin.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Kese and Denslow discloses that at least two of the plurality of arms can freely rotate about the elongate pin (C7:L2-7; Kese).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Kese and Denslow discloses that the bearing plate defines at least one surface formation that is capable of receiving and engaging with the deformed region of the end portion of the pin (Fig. 2C; [0034]; Denslow).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Kese and Denslow discloses that the deformed region is formed by ultrasonic staking [0036; Denslow].
Regarding claims 5 and 7, the combination of Kese and Denslow discloses that the elongate pin of the is formed of synthetic polymer, e.g. glass-filled polymer (C7:L50-55; Kese, PEEK; [0048]; Denslow).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Kese and Denslow discloses that the deformed region is formed of thermally reshaped polymer, e.g. ultrasonic staking [0036; Denslow].
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Kese and Denslow discloses that the proximal ends of the each of the plurality of arms together define a handle (114, 116; Fig. 6; C10:L16-21) and distal ends of each of the plurality of arms together define a manipulation portion that is capable of being used in manipulating a tissue of a body (C10:L5-15; Fig. 6; Kese).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Kese and Denslow discloses that the surgical tool is a scissors (C9:L60-67, C10:L1-3, 62-65; Kese).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Salvador et al. (US 2008/0230948A1) discloses a pin disposed between first and second arms, a bearing plate and a heat staking process.
/JOCELIN C TANNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771