DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 14, “the irregularity” should be changed to “each irregularity” or “the plurality of irregularities”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12, 14, 16-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (KR 20210118641A, see English machine translation previously provided for mapping) in view of Zhang et al. (US 2014/0311566).
Regarding claim 1, Shin discloses a solar cell module in Figure 2 comprising:
a solar cell (30) configured to absorb sunlight ([27] and [50]); and
a cover plate (pattern structure layer 10) configured to cover the solar cell ([34]-[35]), wherein the cover plate (10) is formed of a polymer material ([35]),
wherein the cover plate comprises an optical pattern part comprising a plurality of irregularities (triangular shaped patterns) having an asymmetrical shape with respect to a first direction perpendicular to the solar cell (Figure 2, [27] and [31], the shape of the pattern structure can be a right triangle which is an asymmetric shaped pattern).
Shin does not disclose a glass plate stacked between the solar cell and the cover plate.
Zhang discloses a texturized front cover plate (101) for a solar cell (106, [114]-[116]) wherein the cover plate (101) is formed of a polymer material ([31]) and a glass plate (104, [115]) stacked between the solar cell (106) and the cover plate (101) (Figures 5 and 7 and [114]-[116]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add a glass plate stacked between the solar cell and the cover plate in the device of Shin, as taught by Zhang, in order to protect the solar cell from damage. Such a modification would amount to nothing more than the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 2, modified Shin discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Shin additionally discloses the cover plate comprises a base part configured to cover the solar cell (bottom surface of layer 10 reads on base part, Figure 2), the optical pattern part (triangular shapes) protrudes from the base part, and the base part and the optical pattern part are integrally formed (Figure 2).
Regarding claim 3, modified Shin discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Shin additionally discloses that the solar cell (30) is positioned on one surface of the base part (bottom or base part), and the optical pattern part is formed on the other surface opposite to the one surface of the base part (optical pattern is formed on top surface of base part as shown in Figure 2).
Regarding claim 4, modified Shin discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Shin additionally discloses that each of the irregularities comprises a first surface extending from the base part and a second surface extending from the base part such that the second surface is connected to the first surface, and wherein a measure of a first angle formed between the first surface and the base part and a measure of a second angle formed between the second surface and the base part are different from each other (Figure 5 and 6a and [41], the shape of the triangle can be adjusted such that the angles θ1 and θ2 are different from each other).
Regarding claim 5, modified Shin discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Shin additionally discloses that the measure of the first angle is greater than the measure of the second angle (The greater of θ1 and θ2 is interpreted as reading on the first angle).
Regarding claim 6, modified Shin discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Shin additionally discloses that the first angle is about 60 degrees or more and 90 degrees or less ([23], the first angle can be 90 degrees), and the second angle is about 30 degrees or more and 70 degrees or less (when the first angle is 90 degrees according to [23] and [27]-[29], the second angle is necessarily 45 degrees which forms a right triangle).
Regarding claim 7, modified Shin discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Shin additionally discloses that each of the plurality of irregularities has a shape extending in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (width direction in Figure 2).
Regarding claim 8, modified Shin discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Shin additionally discloses that a cross section of the irregularities, which is perpendicular to the second direction, has a triangular shape (Figure 2, [27] and [31]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Shin discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Shin additionally discloses that the plurality of irregularities are arranged in a third direction intersecting the first direction and the second direction (The irregularities are three dimensional and are necessarily arranged in three directions).
Regarding claim 10, modified Shin discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Shin additionally discloses that the plurality of irregularities are spaced a predetermined distance from each other in the third direction (The predetermined distance is interpreted as being 0 and the irregularities are continuous and connected to each other as shown in Figure 2).
Regarding claim 11, modified Shin discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Shin additionally discloses that among two adjacent irregularities, the first surface of one irregularity and the second surface of the other one irregularity are connected to each other (Figure 2).
Regarding claim 12, modified Shin discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Shin additionally discloses that the plurality of irregularities are continuously arranged in the second direction and the third direction (The irregularities are three dimensional and are necessarily arranged in three directions).
Regarding claim 14, modified Shin discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Shin additionally discloses a coating layer provided in the irregularity to prevent reflection of the sunlight (antireflection film, [36]-[38]).
Regarding claims 16 and 17, modified Shin discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Shin additionally discloses that second surface is inclined toward the base part (Figure 2) and the irregularities have a symmetrical shape with respect to a plane formed parallel to the first direction (See plurality of triangles of the same shape in Figure 2 which reads on symmetrical with respect to a plane formed parallel to first direction).
Regarding claim 19, Shin discloses a solar cell module in Figure 2 comprising:
a solar cell (30) ([27] and [50]); and
a cover plate (pattern structure layer 10) configured to cover the solar cell ([34]-[35]), wherein the cover plate (10) is formed of a polymer material ([35]),
wherein the cover plate comprises a plurality of irregularities having a triangular cross-sectional shape with asymmetrical angles (Figure 2, [27] and [31], the shape of the pattern structure can be a right triangle which is an asymmetric shaped pattern with asymmetrical angles), wherein the irregularities are configured to reduce reflection of sunlight at high incident angles by directing sunlight toward the solar cell (30) (Figure 2), wherein a first angle of the triangular cross-section is greater than a second angle of the triangular cross-section, and wherein the second angle of the triangular cross-section is between about 30° and 70° and the first angle is between about 60° and 90° ([23] and [27]-[29], the first angle can be 90 degrees and when the first angle is 90 degrees, the second angle is necessarily 45 degrees which forms a right triangle).
Shin does not disclose a glass plate stacked between the solar cell and the cover plate.
Zhang discloses a texturized front cover plate (101) for a solar cell (106, [114]-[116]) wherein the cover plate (101) is formed of a polymer material ([31]) and a glass plate (104, [115]) stacked between the solar cell (106) and the cover plate (101) (Figures 5 and 7 and [114]-[116]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add a glass plate stacked between the solar cell and the cover plate in the device of Shin, as taught by Zhang, in order to protect the solar cell from damage. Such a modification would amount to nothing more than the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 20, modified Shin discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Shin additionally discloses that the irregularities are arranged such that first and second surfaces of adjacent irregularities are connected (Figure 2), forming a continuous pattern across a surface of the cover plate (Figure 2 and [27]), and wherein a coating layer (antireflective film) is applied on a surface of the irregularities, the coating layer having a refractive index lower than that of the material of the cover plate (Figures 6b-c, [36]-[40]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the Shin reference have been considered but are moot as a result of the new grounds of rejection and the addition of the Zhang reference.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the Hermans reference have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection over the Hermans reference has been withdrawn.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LINDSEY A BUCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728