DETAILED ACTION
The communication dated 10/31/2024 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1-19 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 states that “a main body … [is] configured to spray plasma moisture air and detergent”. It is unclear if plasma moisture air and detergent is one spray medium (i.e. a mixture of air and detergent that is in plasma form) or if it is two separate spray mediums. For the purpose of examination, Examiner is determining that the plasma moisture air is separate from the detergent.
Claims 2-17 are rejected under 112(b) due to dependency on claim 1.
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected for the same reason as stated in claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Na et al. KR20210069461 (henceforth referred to as Na) in view of Kuwabara et al. JP2010220740 (henceforth referred to as Kuwabara).
As to claim 1, Na teaches a clothes care apparatus comprising:
a main body forming a clothes management room for accommodating a clothes therein (FIG. 1 paragraph [0031] cabinet 10 can receive clothing) and configured to spray (paragraph [0085] spray device 92) into the clothes management room;
a cleaning device including a friction portion configured to apply a physical force to the polluted area (FIGS. 1-3 paragraph [0036] processing tool 50 that applies physical force to clothing); and
a moving device configured to move the friction portion to the position of the polluted area to allow the friction portion to contact the polluted area to press and rub against the polluted area (paragraph [0036] vertical moving device 60 moves the processing tool up and down).
Na differs from the instant claim in failing to teach that the spray is spraying plasma moisture air and detergent; and a sensor configured to detect a position of a polluted area of the clothes.
Kuwabara teaches a similar clothes care apparatus (paragraph [0001] plasma clothing washing apparatus). Kuwabara teaches spray is spraying plasma moisture air (paragraph [0020] oxygen is supplied to the plasma generation unit 5) and detergent (paragraph [0021] At step S2, detergent and water are sprayed into the chamber); and a sensor configured to detect a position of a polluted area of the clothes (paragraph [0031] dirt detection device 24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the clothes care apparatus as taught by Na with a plasma spray and a sensor as taught by Kuwabara. It would have been obvious to use a sensor to detect stains so that the treatment device can target the stain. Additionally, using plasma can result in a high cleaning effect than conventional methods (paragraph [0011]).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Na et al. KR20210069461 (henceforth referred to as Na) and Kuwabara et al. JP2010220740 (henceforth referred to as Kuwabara) as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Park et al. U.S. Patent 9,309,618 (henceforth referred to as Park).
As to claim 2, Na and Kuwabara differs from the instant claim in failing to teach the cleaning device further includes a suction portion configured to draw in a polluted object generated from the polluted area.
Park teaches a similar clothing care apparatus (FIG. 1 column 1 line 62 laundry treating apparatus 100). Park teaches a suction portion configured to draw in a polluted object generated from the polluted area (column 2 line 60 air suction port 36. The suction port would be capable of drawing in a polluted object generated from the polluted area).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the clothes care apparatus as taught by Na and Kuwabara with a suction portion as taught by Park. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to have a suction portion in order to circulate the air within the chamber.
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Na et al. KR20210069461 (henceforth referred to as Na) and Kuwabara et al. JP2010220740 (henceforth referred to as Kuwabara) as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Knight et al. U.S. Patent 4,083,077 (henceforth referred to as Knight).
As to claim 2, Na and Kuwabara differs from the instant claim in failing to teach the cleaning device further includes a suction portion configured to draw in a polluted object generated from the polluted area.
Knight teaches a clothing care apparatus (column 3 line 27 steam cleaning machine 11). Knight teaches a suction portion configured to draw in a polluted object generated from the polluted area (column 5 lines 31-43 the embedded soil S1 is loosened and entrained within the fluid solution S2, which is then suctioned by vacuum chambers 39 and/or 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the clothes care apparatus as taught by Na and Kuwabara with a suction portion as taught by Knight. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to have a suction portion in order to remove the contaminants from the surface of the fabric.
As to claim 3, Knight further teaches the suction portion comprises: a suction motor configured to generate a suction force (column 5 lines 19-20 there are electro-mechanical and hydraulic systems of the cleaning machine 11. These electro-mechanical and hydraulic systems would activate a suction force of the vacuum chambers 39 and/or 40), a suction duct (FIG. 2 front wall 48 and rear wall 50 form a suction duct) including a suction hole (FIG. 2 column 5 lines 4-5 suction chamber bottom openings 44 and/or 45 read on the claimed suction hole) through which the polluted object is drawn in by the suction force, and a suction flow path formed within the suction duct (FIG. 2 general suction chamber 38 reads on the claimed suction flow path), communicating with the suction hole (FIG. 2 general suction chamber 38 is communicating with chamber bottom openings 44 and/or 45 via vacuum chambers 39 and 40), and through which the drawn-in polluted object moves.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Na et al. KR20210069461 (henceforth referred to as Na), Kuwabara et al. JP2010220740 (henceforth referred to as Kuwabara), and Knight et al. U.S. Patent 4,083,077 (henceforth referred to as Knight) as applied to claim 3 above, in further view of Chua et al. U.S. Publication 2016/0194816 (henceforth referred to as Chua).
As to claim 4, Na, Kuwabara, and Knight differ from the instant claim in failing to teach the suction hole is disposed on a lower side of the friction portion to draw in the polluted object generated from the polluted area in response to the friction portion pressing and rubbing against the polluted area.
Chua teaches a clothing care apparatus (paragraph [0023] steamer head 1). Chua teaches the suction hole is disposed on a lower side of the friction portion (FIG. 2 suction unit 15, which has an air inlet 16, is on the lower side of friction portion 23) to draw in the polluted object generated from the polluted area in response to the friction portion pressing and rubbing against the polluted area.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the clothes care apparatus as taught by Na, Kuwabara, and Knight with a suction hole disposed on a lower side of the friction portion as taught by Chua as a lower suction hole can help guide the fabric to be in contact with the friction surface (paragraph [0040]).
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Na et al. KR20210069461 (henceforth referred to as Na) and Kuwabara et al. JP2010220740 (henceforth referred to as Kuwabara) as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Belitz et al. CN115989350 (henceforth referred to as Belitz).
As to claim 5, Na and Kuwabara differ from the instant claim in failing to teach the main body includes a support wall configured to support the clothes on the opposite side of the friction portion with respect to the clothes in response to the friction portion pressing against the polluted area.
Belitz teaches a clothes care apparatus (paragraph [n0001] garment processing device). Belitz teaches a support wall configured to support the clothes on the opposite side of the friction portion with respect to the clothes in response to the friction portion pressing against the polluted area (FIG. 19 paragraph [n0073] a pressure plate 89, which reads on the claimed support wall, is positioned on the side of the garment 5 opposite to the processing brush 17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the clothes care apparatus as taught by Na and Kuwabara with a support wall as taught by Belitz. It would have been obvious to one skilled to use a support wall as it would help to provide support against the processing brush (paragraph [n0073]) as the brush alone would just push the garment.
As to claim 6, Na and Belitz further teach the friction portion comprises:
a friction body protruding toward the support wall (Na paragraph [0047] support member 59 reads on the claimed friction body), and
a friction member including a friction surface disposed toward the support wall to be in direct contact with the polluted area (Na paragraphs [0073]-[0074] flat brush 70 has bristles that are formed to come into contact with clothing and apply frictional force to the clothing), the friction member disposed on one surface of the friction body facing the support wall (Na FIG. 1 the friction members 50 can face Belitz’s support wall), and wherein the friction member is detachably coupled to the friction body (Na paragraph [0074] flat brush 70 is detachable to the support member 59).
As to claim 7, Na and Belitz further teach the friction member further includes a coupling surface formed to be couplable to one surface of the friction body (Na paragraph [0074] the rear side of the base plate 71 has a detachable coupling part (not shown) that can be attached to the support member 59), and wherein the friction surface includes a plurality of friction protrusions formed toward the support wall so as to rub the polluted area (Na paragraphs [0073]-[0074] flat brush 70 has bristles that are formed to come into contact with clothing and apply frictional force to the clothing. Na’s bristles, which reads on the friction protrusions, can be formed towards Beltiz’s support wall).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Na et al. KR20210069461 (henceforth referred to as Na), Kuwabara et al. JP2010220740 (henceforth referred to as Kuwabara), and Belitz et al. CN115989350 (henceforth referred to as Belitz) as applied to claim 5 above, in further view of Namito et al. JP2023067004 (henceforth referred to as Namito).
As to claim 8, Na, Kuwabara and Belitz differ from the instant claim in failing to teach moving device comprises: a first moving device arranged to extend in a first direction within the clothes management room, and a second moving device extending in a second direction intersecting the first direction within the clothes management room, and connected to the first moving device so as to be movable in a direction parallel to the first direction along the first moving device, and wherein the first moving device and the second moving device are disposed on an inner surface of the main body facing the support wall.
Namito teaches a clothes care apparatus (paragraph [0001] automatic washing device for clothing). Namito teaches a first moving device arranged to extend in a first direction within the clothes management room (FIGS. 10-13 paragraph [0059] Y-axis sliders 31), and a second moving device extending in a second direction intersecting the first direction within the clothes management room, and connected to the first moving device so as to be movable in a direction parallel to the first direction along the first moving device (FIGS. 10-13 paragraph [0060] X-axis slider 32 is supported by Y-axis sliders 31. X-axis slider 32 can slide up and down in response to the operation of the actuator of the Y-axis slider 31, which is parallel to the first direction (Y-axis)), and wherein the first moving device and the second moving device are disposed on an inner surface of the main body facing the support wall (paragraph [0059] the sliders are inside the garment storage chamber 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the clothes care apparatus as taught by Na, Kuwabara, and Belitz with a first and second moving device as taught by Namito. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to have the two moving devices to move the treatment head to the area of the clothing that needs to be treated.
As to claim 9, Namito further teaches the moving device further includes a third moving device connected to the second moving device so as to be movable in a direction parallel to the second direction along the second moving device (FIGS. 10-13 paragraph [0061] Z-axis slider 33 slides left and right in response to the operation of the actuator of the X-axis slider 32, which is parallel to the second direction (X-axis)), and extendable from the inner surface of the main body in a third direction facing the support wall, and wherein the cleaning device is disposed at an end of the third moving device facing the support wall (FIGS. 10-13 paragraph [0060] Z-axis slider 33 extends in the front-to-back direction, with one end of it cantilevered to the X-axis slider 32 and the head support 34 installed at the other end. The cleaning head faces the support wall).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Na et al. KR20210069461 (henceforth referred to as Na), Kuwabara et al. JP2010220740 (henceforth referred to as Kuwabara), and Knight et al. U.S. Patent 4,083,077 (henceforth referred to as Knight) as applied to claim 2 above, in further view of Chua et al. U.S. Publication 2016/0194816 (henceforth referred to as Chua).
As to claim 10, Na, Kuwabara, and Knight differ from the instant claim in failing to teach a spray portion configured to spray plasma moisture air and detergent onto the position of the polluted area, and wherein the spray portion is disposed on an upper side of the friction portion and the suction portion.
Chua teaches a clothing care apparatus (paragraph [0023] steamer head 1). Chua teaches a spray portion configured to spray onto the position of the polluted area, and wherein the spray portion is disposed on an upper side of the friction portion and the suction portion (FIG. 2 steam path 12, which reads on the claimed spray portion, is disposed on an upper side of the friction surface 23 and air inlet 16).
The combination of Kuwabara and Chua would result in a spray portion that is configured to spray plasma moisture air and detergent, the spray portion is disposed on an upper side of the friction portion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the clothes care apparatus as taught by Na, Kuwabara, and Knight with a spray portion disposed on an upper side of the friction portion and the suction as taught by Chua. By having the spray portion positioned on the upper side of the friction, the spray portion would be able to effectively treat the fabric that is tensioned between the garment hanger and the friction surface (paragraph [0040]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Na et al. KR20210069461 (henceforth referred to as Na), Kuwabara et al. JP2010220740 (henceforth referred to as Kuwabara), Knight et al. U.S. Patent 4,083,077 (henceforth referred to as Knight), and Chua et al. U.S. Publication 2016/0194816 (henceforth referred to as Chua) as applied to claim 10 above, in further view of Grimm et al. U.S. Patent 6,868,621 (henceforth referred to as Grimm).
As to claim 11, Na and Kuwabara further teach a display portion on the main body (Na FIG. 10 paragraph [0100] display 96); and a controller electrically connected to the sensor (Kuwabara paragraph [0038] control device 27 is connected to dirt detection device 24 as the control device can receive information from dirt detection device 24), the moving device (Na FIGS. 9, 16, or 19 paragraph [0122] processor 90 is connected to the motor 69 of the movement device 60, paragraph [0162] processor 90 can control extension device 133 and movement device 135, paragraph [0202] processor 90 can control the striking device 240 and the movement device 235), the spray portion (Na FIGS. 9, 16, or 19 processor 90 is connected to spraying device 92), and the display portion (FIGS. 9, 16, or 19 processor 90 is connected to display 96).
Na, Kuwabara, Knight, and Chua differ from the instant claim in failing to teach the controller electrically connected to the suction portion.
Grimm teaches a clothes care apparatus (column 6 line 21 clothes drying apparatus 20). Grimm teaches the controller electrically connected to the suction portion (FIG. 21 column 18 line 13 control unit 84 can shut down vacuum unit 36).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the clothes care apparatus as taught by Na, Kuwabara, Knight, and Chua with a way to connect the controller to the suction portion as taught by Grimm. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to have a control unit electronically connected to the vacuum to provide ease to the operator and to aid in automating the system.
Claims 12 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Na et al. KR20210069461 (henceforth referred to as Na), Kuwabara et al. JP2010220740 (henceforth referred to as Kuwabara), Knight et al. U.S. Patent 4,083,077 (henceforth referred to as Knight), Chua et al. U.S. Publication 2016/0194816 (henceforth referred to as Chua), and Grimm et al. U.S. Patent 6,868,621 (henceforth referred to as Grimm) as applied to claim 11 above, in further view of Sun et al. CN217026405 (henceforth referred to as Sun) and Powell et al. U.S. Publication 2017/0332850 (henceforth referred to as Powell).
As to claim 12, Na further teaches the friction portion includes a friction surface in contact with the polluted area (paragraphs [0073]-[0074] flat brush 70 has bristles that are formed to come into contact with clothing and apply frictional force to the clothing),
Na, Kuwabara, Knight, Chua, and Grimm differ from the instant claim in failing to teach the sensor is configured to detect a material of the clothes placed in the clothes management room and a material of the friction surface, and
wherein the controller is configured to:
determine, based on the material of the clothes detected by the sensor, a suitable material of the friction surface,
determine, based on the suitable material, whether the material of the friction surface matches the suitable material, and
control, based on whether the detected material of the friction surface matches the suitable material, the display portion to display a pre-stored friction member replacement alarm.
Sun teaches a clothes care apparatus (paragraph [n0001] washing machine companion cabinet and washing device). Sun teaches teach the sensor is configured to detect a material of the clothes placed in the clothes management room (paragraph [n0038] the washing brush 12 has an infrared material recognition sensor that can identify the material of the clothes) and a material of the friction surface, and
wherein the controller is configured to:
determine, based on the material of the clothes detected by the sensor, a suitable material of the friction surface (paragraph [n0038] the washing brush 12 has an infrared material recognition sensor that can identify the material of the clothes),
determine, based on the suitable material, whether the material of the friction surface matches the suitable material, and control, based on whether the detected material of the friction surface matches the suitable material, the display portion to display a pre-stored friction member replacement alarm (paragraph [n0038] the infrared material recognition sensor can recommend a suitable brush head 122. Sending a recommendation of a brush head can read on the claimed replacement alarm.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the clothes care apparatus as taught by Na, Kuwabara, Knight, Chua, and Grimm with a way to determine a suitable material of the friction surface and notify the user as taught by Sun. Using a suitable friction material would prevent damage and wear on the clothes, and having a way to determine the suitability of the friction material would provide ease to the user.
Powell teaches a cleaning mechanism (paragraph [0018] cleaning brush). Powell teaches the sensor is configured to detect a material of the friction surface (claim 9: a brush head identification mechanism, to identify a type of removably attached brush head).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the clothes care apparatus as taught by Na, Kuwabara, Knight, Chua, and Grimm with a way to identify the type of friction material as taught by Powell as knowing the type of brush head can be used to adjust the settings (speed, direction, ratio) (paragraph [0061]).
As to claim 16, Powell further teaches based on a degree of wear of the friction surface detected by the sensor, the controller may compare the degree of wear of the friction surface to a pre-stored wear limit (paragraph [0032] brush head identification mechanism 315 may notify the user that the brush needs to be refreshed. If brush head identification mechanism 315 can detect when a brush needs to be refreshed, it is detecting that a brush has reached a degree of wear).
As to claim 17, Powell further teaches upon determining that the degree of wear of the friction surface is greater than the pre-stored wear limit, the controller is further is configured to control the display portion to allow the display portion to display the pre-stored friction member replacement alarm (paragraph [0032] brush head identification mechanism 315 may notify the user that the brush needs to be refreshed via user interface 318 or through mobile processor 360).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Na et al. KR20210069461 (henceforth referred to as Na), Kuwabara et al. JP2010220740 (henceforth referred to as Kuwabara), Knight et al. U.S. Patent 4,083,077 (henceforth referred to as Knight), Chua et al. U.S. Publication 2016/0194816 (henceforth referred to as Chua), and Grimm et al. U.S. Patent 6,868,621 (henceforth referred to as Grimm) as applied to claim 11 above, in further view of Hombroek U.S. Publication 2019/0093276 (henceforth referred to as Hombroek).
As to claim 13, Na, Kuwabara, Knight, Chua, and Grimm differ from the instant claim in failing to teach the sensor is configured to detect a type and level of contamination of the polluted area, and wherein the controller is configured to control, based on the type and level of contamination detected by the sensor, the moving device to adjust the time and intensity with which the friction portion presses and rubs against the polluted area.
Hombroek teaches a clothes care apparatus (paragraph [0041] laundry washing machine 10). Hombroek teaches the sensor is configured to detect a type and level of contamination of the polluted area (paragraphs [0053] color detection sensor 68 is used to detect the characteristics of the stain, including the composition of the stain, the intensity of the stain, and the like.), and wherein the controller is configured to control, based on the type and level of contamination detected by the sensor, the moving device to adjust the time and intensity (paragraphs [0008]-[0010] the controller may configure one or more parameters for the wash cycle in response to detecting the stain, such as spin speed, spin duration, a cycle time, etc.) with which the friction portion presses and rubs against the polluted area (paragraph [0068] the controller may recommend a particular stain removal based on the characteristics of the stain determined, such as using a scrubbing tool to treat the stain).
The combination of Na and Hombroek would result in a controller that would control the moving device to adjust the time and intensity with which the friction portion presses and rubs against the polluted area.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the clothes care apparatus as taught by Na, Kuwabara, Knight, Chua, and Grimm with a controller that controls the friction portion based on the stain type as taught by Hombroek. Changing a treatment cycle is known in the art as it is commonly used to optimize a cleaning cycle and/or minimize energy consumption. It would have been obvious that if a controller can change a treatment cycle, a controller can also change the settings of the friction portion to adequately clean the stain without excessive rubbing.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Na et al. KR20210069461 (henceforth referred to as Na), Kuwabara et al. JP2010220740 (henceforth referred to as Kuwabara), Knight et al. U.S. Patent 4,083,077 (henceforth referred to as Knight), Chua et al. U.S. Publication 2016/0194816 (henceforth referred to as Chua), Grimm et al. U.S. Patent 6,868,621 (henceforth referred to as Grimm), and Hombroek U.S. Publication 2019/0093276 (henceforth referred to as Hombroek) as applied to claim 13 above, in further view of Chen et al. CN115491852 (henceforth referred to as Chen).
As to claim 14, Na, Kuwabara, Knight, Chua, Grimm, and Hombroek differ from the instant claim in failing to teach the cleaning device further includes an ultrasonic generator configured to emit ultrasonic waves to the polluted area and electrically connected to the controller, and wherein the controller is configured to control, based on the type and level of contamination detected by the sensor, the ultrasonic generator to adjust the intensity and time of the ultrasonic waves emitted to the polluted area.
Chen teaches a clothes care apparatus (paragraph [n0001] washing machine). Chen teaches the cleaning device further includes an ultrasonic generator configured to emit ultrasonic waves to the polluted area and electrically connected to the controller, and wherein the controller is configured to control, based on the type and level of contamination detected by the sensor, the ultrasonic generator to adjust the intensity and time of the ultrasonic waves emitted to the polluted area (paragraph [n0072] the vibration frequency, vibration time, and/or vibration mode of the ultrasonic generator’s vibrating end is evaluated and analyzed based on information obtained by the automatic scanning device step 301).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the clothes care apparatus as taught by Na, Kuwabara, Knight, Chua, Grimm and Hombroek with an ultrasonic generator in which the intensity and time of the ultrasonic waves can be adjusted as taught by Chen. Using an ultrasonic generator can aid to remove especially stubborn dirt, so as to achieve the purpose of fast and efficient cleaning of clothes (paragraph [n0072]). Additionally, having a controller control and adjust the ultrasonic waves frees the user’s hands to achieve fully automatic washing (paragraph [n0071]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Na et al. KR20210069461 (henceforth referred to as Na) in view of Kuwabara et al. JP2010220740 (henceforth referred to as Kuwabara) as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Choi U.S. Publication 2019/0239716 (henceforth referred to as Choi).
As to claim 15, Na and Kuwabara differ from the instant claim in failing to teach the cleaning device further includes an auxiliary sensor for detecting the polluted area to determine whether the cleaning of the polluted area is completed.
Choi teaches a cleaning apparatus (paragraph [0032] processing system 106 is coupled to imaging system 104 to process one or more images to determine a presence of a stain on an article). Choi teaches an auxiliary sensor for detecting the polluted area to determine whether the cleaning of the polluted area is completed (paragraph [0072] second imaging system 418 may be configured to capture of images of the dishware at different times during the cleaning process to determine whether the stains, dirt, or soils detected prior to beginning the cleaning process have been cleaned.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the clothes care apparatus as taught by Na and Kuwabara with an auxiliary sensor as taught by Choi. It would have been obvious to have an auxiliary sensor to confirm the cleanliness of an article.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Na et al. KR20210069461 (henceforth referred to as Na) in view of Kuwabara et al. JP2010220740 (henceforth referred to as Kuwabara) as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Kim KR102179135 (henceforth referred to as Kim).
As to claim 15, Na and Kuwabara differ from the instant claim in failing to teach the cleaning device further includes an auxiliary sensor for detecting the polluted area to determine whether the cleaning of the polluted area is completed.
Kim teaches a cleaning apparatus (paragraph [0001] washing machine). Kim teaches an auxiliary sensor for detecting the polluted area to determine whether the cleaning of the polluted area is completed (paragraph [0061] second pollution detection sensor 513).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the clothes care apparatus as taught by Na and Kuwabara with an auxiliary sensor as taught by Kim. It would have been obvious to have an auxiliary sensor to calculate the total pollution level (paragraph [0080]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Na et al. KR20210069461 (henceforth referred to as Na) in view of Kuwabara et al. JP2010220740 (henceforth referred to as Kuwabara) and Namito et al. JP2023067004 (henceforth referred to as Namito).
As to claim 18, Na teaches a clothes care apparatus comprising:
a main body forming a clothes management room that accommodates a clothes therein (FIG. 1 paragraph [0031] cabinet 10 can receive clothing), wherein an inner surface of the main body forms a support wall supporting the clothes and the main body is configured to spray into the clothes management room (paragraph [0085] spray device 92);
a cleaning device configured to press and rub against the polluted area (FIGS. 1-3 paragraph [0036] processing tool 50 that applies physical force to clothing); and
a moving device configured to move the cleaning device to allow the cleaning device to contact the polluted area (paragraph [0036] vertical moving device 60 moves the processing tool up and down).
Na differs from the instant claim in failing to teach that the spray is spraying plasma moisture air and detergent; and a sensor configured to detect a position of a polluted area of the clothes; wherein the moving device includes a first moving device arranged to extend in a first direction within the clothes management room, wherein the moving device includes a second moving device extending in a second direction intersecting the first direction and connected to the first moving device to be movable in a direction parallel to the first direction, wherein the moving device includes a third moving device connected to the second moving device so as to be movable in the direction parallel to the second direction, and configured to extend from another surface of the main body facing the inner surface in the third direction facing the support wall, and wherein the cleaning device is disposed at an end of the third moving device facing the support wall.
Kuwabara teaches a similar clothes care apparatus (paragraph [0001] plasma clothing washing apparatus). Kuwabara teaches spray is spraying plasma moisture air (paragraph [0020] oxygen is supplied to the plasma generation unit 5) and detergent (paragraph [0021] At step S2, detergent and water are sprayed into the chamber); and a sensor configured to detect a position of a polluted area of the clothes (paragraph [0031] dirt detection device 24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the clothes care apparatus as taught by Na with a plasma spray and a sensor as taught by Kuwabara. It would have been obvious to use a sensor to detect stains so that the treatment device can target the stain. Additionally, using plasma can result in a high cleaning effect than conventional methods (paragraph [0011]).
Namito teaches a clothes care apparatus (paragraph [0001] automatic washing device for clothing). Namito teaches
wherein the moving device includes a first moving device arranged to extend in a first direction within the clothes management room (FIGS. 10-13 paragraph [0059] Y-axis sliders 31),
wherein the moving device includes a second moving device extending in a second direction intersecting the first direction and connected to the first moving device to be movable in a direction parallel to the first direction (FIGS. 10-13 paragraph [0060] X-axis slider 32 is supported by Y-axis sliders 31. X-axis slider 32 can slide up and down in response to the operation of the actuator of the Y-axis slider 31, which is parallel to the first direction (Y-axis)),
wherein the moving device includes a third moving device connected to the second moving device so as to be movable in the direction parallel to the second direction (FIGS. 10-13 paragraph [0061] Z-axis slider 33 slides left and right in response to the operation of the actuator of the X-axis slider 32, which is parallel to the second direction (X-axis)), and configured to extend from another surface of the main body facing the inner surface in the third direction facing the support wall, and wherein the cleaning device is disposed at an end of the third moving device facing the support wall (FIGS. 10-13 paragraph [0060] Z-axis slider 33 extends in the front-to-back direction, with one end of it cantilevered to the X-axis slider 32 and the head support 34 installed at the other end. The cleaning head faces the support wall).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the clothes care apparatus as taught by Na with moving device as taught by Namito. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to have the moving devices to move the treatment head to the area of the clothing that needs to be treated.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Na et al. KR20210069461 (henceforth referred to as Na) in view of Kuwabara et al. JP2010220740 (henceforth referred to as Kuwabara), Namito et al. JP2023067004 (henceforth referred to as Namito), and Belitz et al. CN115989350 (henceforth referred to as Belitz).
As to claim 19, Na teaches a clothes care apparatus comprising:
a main body forming a clothes management room accommodating a clothes therein (FIG. 1 paragraph [0031] cabinet 10 can receive clothing), and configured to spray into the clothes management room (paragraph [0085] spray device 92);
a cleaning device configured to apply a physical force to the polluted area (FIGS. 1-3 paragraph [0036] processing tool 50 that applies physical force to clothing); and
a moving device connected to the cleaning device and configured to move the cleaning device (paragraph [0036] vertical moving device 60 moves the processing tool up and down).
Na differs from the instant claim in failing to teach that the spray is spraying plasma moisture air and detergent; and a sensor configured to detect a position of a polluted area of the clothes; wherein the movement of the cleaning device by the moving device includes moving to the position of the polluted area so as to contact the polluted area; wherein the movement of the cleaning device includes moving to a support wall, which is an inner surface of the main body formed on the opposite side of the cleaning device with respect to the clothes, so as to press the polluted area against the support wall, and moving in the direction in which the support wall extends to rub against the pressed polluted area.
Kuwabara teaches a similar clothes care apparatus (paragraph [0001] plasma clothing washing apparatus). Kuwabara teaches spray is spraying plasma moisture air (paragraph [0020] oxygen is supplied to the plasma generation unit 5) and detergent (paragraph [0021] At step S2, detergent and water are sprayed into the chamber); and a sensor configured to detect a position of a polluted area of the clothes (paragraph [0031] dirt detection device 24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the clothes care apparatus as taught by Na with a plasma spray and a sensor as taught by Kuwabara. It would have been obvious to use a sensor to detect stains so that the treatment device can target the stain. Additionally, using plasma can result in a high cleaning effect than conventional methods (paragraph [0011]).
Namito teaches a clothes care apparatus (paragraph [0001] automatic washing device for clothing). Namito teaches the movement of the cleaning device by the moving device includes moving to the position of the polluted area so as to contact the polluted area (FIG. 12 paragraphs [0113]-[0118] the cleaning head 20 is moved into position of the polluted area).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the clothes care apparatus as taught by Na with a way to move the cleaning device to the polluted area as taught by Namito as it would minimize the risk of spreading localized stains to other clothing and would also provide a more efficient cleaning process (paragraph [0035]).
Belitz teaches a clothes care apparatus (paragraph [n0001] garment processing device). Belitz teaches wherein the movement of the cleaning device includes moving to a support wall, which is an inner surface of the main body formed on the opposite side of the cleaning device with respect to the clothes (FIG. 19 paragraph [n0073] a pressure plate 89, which reads on the claimed support wall, is positioned on the side of the garment 5 opposite to the processing brush 17), so as to press the polluted area against the support wall, and moving in the direction in which the support wall extends to rub against the pressed polluted area (paragraph [n0073] the processing brush 17 presses against the pressure plate. The processing brush would be capable of pressing the polluted area against the support wall).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the clothes care apparatus as taught by Na with a support wall as taught by Belitz. It would have been obvious to one skilled to use a support wall as it would help to provide support against the processing brush (paragraph [n0073]) as the brush alone would just push the garment.
Conclusion
/L.G.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1711
/MICHAEL E BARR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1711