DETAILED ACTION
1. This communication is a first office action, non-final rejection on the merits. Claims 1-20, as originally filed, are currently pending and have been considered below.
Priority
2. Applicant's claim for domestic priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) is acknowledged. The application is filed on 10/31/2024 but claims the benefit of U.S. provisional application number 63/594794 filed on 10/31/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/14/2012 has been considered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Form PTO-1449 is signed and attached hereto.
Double Patenting
4. Claims 1, 16 and 19 of this application is patentably indistinct from claims 1, 17 and 19 of Application No. 18/933055. Pursuant to 37 CFR 1.78(e) or pre-AIA 37 CFR 1.78(b), when two or more applications filed by the same applicant contain patentably indistinct claims, elimination of such claims from all but one application may be required in the absence of good and sufficient reason for their retention during pendency in more than one application. Applicant is required to either cancel the patentably indistinct claims from all but one application or maintain a clear line of demarcation between the applications. See MPEP § 822.
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
5. Claims 1, 16 and 19 of the copending application (18/933055) as shown in the table below contains every element of claims 1, 17 and 19 of the instant application.
Claims of instant application 18/933347
Claims of copending application 18/933055
1. A container sensor device for detecting a thermal event in a container, comprising:
a housing having a base wall, a cover wall, and a hollow interior, and the base wall configured to be disposed adjacent an outer surface of the container;
a detection module disposed adjacent the housing, the detection module including a sensor packet including a sensor for detecting the thermal event, the sensor being configured to detect a member selected from a group consisting of heat, heat vented rise, smoke, humidity, pressure, tilt of the housing, and combinations thereof,
a controller in communication with the sensor packet, the controller configured to receive and process data from the sensor packet, a light source in communication with the controller, the light source configured to provide a visual alert upon receiving an alert from the controller that the sensor has detected a thermal event, an audio source in communication with the controller, the audio source configured to provide an audio alert upon receiving an alert from the controller that the sensor has detected a thermal event, and
a power source for supplying power to the detection module; and
a blanket including a temperature resistant material, the blanket formed to cover the container.
16. A system for detecting an occurrence of a thermal event, comprising:
a container with an outer surface and an opening formed therethrough, the container at risk of the thermal event; a container sensor device including a housing having a base wall, a cover wall, and a hollow interior, and the base wall configured to be disposed adjacent an outer surface of the container;
a detection module disposed adjacent the housing, the detection module including a sensor packet including a sensor for detecting the thermal event, the sensor being configured to detect a member selected from a group consisting of heat, heat vented rise, smoke, humidity, pressure, tilt of the housing, and combinations thereof,
a controller in communication with the sensor packet, the controller configured to receive and process data from the sensor packet, a light source in communication with the controller, the light source configured to provide a visual alert upon receiving an alert from the controller that the sensor has detected a thermal event, an audio source in communication with the controller, the audio source configured to provide an audio alert upon receiving an alert from the controller that the sensor has detected a thermal event, and
a power source for supplying power to the detection module; and
a blanket including a temperature resistant material, the blanket formed to cover the container; and
a user device in communication with the container sensor device and configured to receive a signal indicative of an alert from the container sensor device.
19. A method for detecting an occurrence of a thermal event, the method comprising steps of:
providing a container with an outer surface and an opening formed therethrough, the container at risk of the thermal event;
providing a container sensor device, including a housing having a base wall, a cover wall, and a hollow interior, and the base wall configured to be disposed adjacent an outer surface of the container;
a detection module disposed adjacent the housing, the detection module including a sensor packet including a sensor for detecting the thermal event, the sensor being configured to detect a member selected from a group consisting of heat, heat vented rise, smoke, humidity, pressure, tilt of the housing, and combinations thereof,
a controller in communication with the sensor packet, the controller configured to receive and process data from the sensor packet, a light source in communication with the controller, the light source configured to provide a visual alert upon receiving an alert from the controller that the sensor has detected a thermal event, an audio source in communication with the controller, the audio source configured to provide an audio alert upon receiving an alert from the controller that the sensor has detected a thermal event, and
a power source for supplying power to the detection module, and
a blanket including a temperature resistant material, the blanket formed to cover the container; installing the container sensor device onto the outer surface of the container adjacent to the opening formed in the container;
monitoring the container with the container sensor device; and
providing an alert upon detecting the thermal event while monitoring the container.
A smart fire blanket device for detecting a thermal event of a product, comprising:
a blanket including a temperature resistant material; and
a detection module coupled to the blanket, the detection module including a sensor packet including a sensor for detecting the thermal event, the sensor being configured to detect a member selected from a group consisting of heat, heat vented rise, smoke, humidity, pressure, tilt of the product, and combinations thereof,
a controller in communication with the sensor packet, the controller configured to receive and process data from the sensor packet, a light source in communication with the controller, the light source configured to provide a visual alert upon receiving an alert from the controller that the sensor has detected the thermal event, an audio source in communication with the controller, the audio source configured to provide an audio alert upon receiving an alert from the controller that the sensor has detected the thermal event, and
a power source for supplying power to the detection module.
17. A system for detecting a thermal event of a product, comprising:
a smart fire blanket device including a blanket including a temperature resistant material, and
a detection module coupled to the blanket, the detection module including a sensor packet including a sensor for detecting the thermal event, the sensor being configured to detect a member selected from a group consisting of heat, heat vented rise, humidity, pressure, tilt of the product, and combinations thereof,
a controller in communication with the sensor packet, the controller configured to receive and process data from the sensor packet, a light source in communication with the controller, the light source configured to provide a visual alert upon receiving an alert from the controller that the sensor has detected the thermal event, an audio source in communication with the controller, the audio source configured to provide an audio alert upon receiving an alert from the controller that the sensor has detected the thermal event, and
a power source for supplying power to the detection module; and
a user device in communication with the smart fire blanket device and configured to receive a signal indicative of an alert from the smart fire blanket device.
19. A method for detecting a thermal event of a product, the method comprising steps of:
providing a smart fire blanket device including a blanket including a temperature resistant material, and
a detection module coupled to the blanket, the detection module including a sensor packet including a sensor for detecting the thermal event, the sensor being configured to detect a member selected from a group consisting of heat, heat vented rise, humidity, pressure, tilt of the product, and combinations thereof,
a controller in communication with the sensor packet, the controller configured to receive and process data from the sensor packet, a light source in communication with the controller, the light source configured to provide a visual alert upon receiving an alert from the controller that the sensor has detected the thermal event, an audio source in communication with the controller, the audio source configured to provide an audio alert upon receiving an alert from the controller that the sensor has detected the thermal event, and
a power source for supplying power to the detection module;
providing the product; placing the smart fire blanket device over the product;
monitoring the product with the smart fire blanket device; and
providing an alert upon detecting the thermal event while monitoring the product.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over ATKINSON (US 20220111238 A1) (hereinafter ATKINSON) in view of Breed (US 20140067313 A1) (hereinafter Breed) and further in view of Balaji (US 20180374330
A1) (hereinafter Balaji).
Regarding claim 1, ATKINSON discloses a container sensor device for detecting a thermal event in a container (para 024, FIGS. 1A-2A, a system 20 includes a housing unit 22 made from a fire retardant or fireproof material, protect material in the event of a thermal event when outgassing from the hazardous product 260, Fig. 1A, housing unit 22 with base wall, cover wall, base wall as in Figure, para 30, housing unit 22, fire suppression system 36 coupled to a wall), comprising:
a detection module disposed adjacent the housing, the detection module including a sensor packet including a sensor for detecting the thermal event (para 27, system 20 include one or more sensors 34 (Fig. 2A- detection module) for detecting thermal event, temperature sensor detect increase in temperature, air pressure sensor detect an increase in air pressure, a smoke detector detect smoke resulting from thermal event, a thermal imaging device such as an infrared camera detect heat produced by the thermal event, chemical detector configured to detect gas concentrations within the housing unit, or any other desired sensor or device),
the sensor being configured to detect a member selected from a group consisting of heat, heat vented rise, smoke, humidity, pressure of the housing, and combinations thereof (Fig. 6, para 73, sensor 34 transmit—and processing device receive—thermal event information, such as temperature, pressure, gas concentrations, presence of smoke, or other desired thermal event information, para 27, one or more sensors 34 used to detect as temperature sensor, air pressure sensor, smoke detector, thermal imaging device such as infrared camera to detect heat, chemical detector detect gas concentrations within the housing unit, or any other desired sensor or device resulting from the thermal event),
a controller in communication with the sensor packet, the controller configured to receive and process data from the sensor packet (para 31, FIG. 6, system 20 include a processing device 44 such as processor, controllers, microcontrollers, micro-processors, processing device 44 receive and execute instructions and to receive thermal event information from senor 34, based on thermal event data determination, para 07, processing device to transmit, via communication system thermal event information to an external device),
a light source in communication with the controller, the light source configured to provide a visual alert upon receiving an alert from the controller that the sensor has detected a thermal event (para 34, alarm system 60 to provide audio or visual signals in response to sensor 34 detecting thermal event, visual signals provided by a rotating beacon 64 on top of housing unit 22, light coupled to housing unit 22, or any other desired visual device),
an audio source in communication with the controller, the audio source configured to provide an audio alert upon receiving an alert from the controller that the sensor has detected a thermal event (para 34, system 20 include an alarm system 60 and in communication with and provide audio or visual signals in response to sensor 34 detecting thermal event or processing device 44 determining presence of thermal event and audio signals made in response to sensor 34 detecting thermal event), and
a power source for supplying power to the detection module (para 32, system 20 include a power system 46 and provide power to system 20 to various electrical components, sensor 34, processing device 44, or any other desired electrical component); and
a blanket including a temperature resistant material, the blanket formed to cover the container (para 40, system 20 include a product containment system 86 to enclose hazardous product 26 in an insulated pouch 88 which made from material that is non-conductive, chemically resistant to corrosives, functions in a temperature range from −20° F. to 180° F., or have any other desired properties (i.e. temperature resistant material), para 118, system to enclose hazardous product in an insulated pouch, para 24, housing unit 22 made from a fire retardant or fireproof material, housing unit coated in a fire retardant or fireproof material (i.e. temperature resistant material)).
ATKINSON specifically fails to disclose a housing having a base wall, a cover wall, and a hollow interior, and the base wall configured to be disposed adjacent an outer surface of the container;
sensor being configured to detect tilt of the housing.
In analogous art, Breed discloses a housing having a base wall, a cover wall, and a hollow interior, and the base wall configured to be disposed adjacent an outer surface of the container (para 61, shipping container shown in FIG. 1 having a pair of opposed side walls, a pair of opposed front and rear walls, a roof and a floor, antennas 10, 12, 14 are arranged in the front wall, para 340, detect unauthorized entry into container, cutting or blasting through the container, ceiling, or floor of the container, para 307, container monitoring system, one or more ultrasonic transducers mounted on container adjacent container's ceiling in a protective housing);
sensor being configured to detect from tilt of the housing (para 335, Various sensors used to monitor motion of container and used gyroscopes, accelerometers and tilt sensors, and detect unexpected tilt angle of container to signify a dangerous situation of the container housing).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of system includes a fire suppression system for suppressing a thermal event within the housing unit disclosed by ATKINSON to use processing of data provided by the sensors for generating a warning when specific conditions are present which might be indicative of or lead to damage to the objects in the container as taught by Breed to monitor the status of the container interior or exterior until some event happens including the opening of the doors, the sensing of light or a change in the interior temperature of the container above a reference level and to immediately transmit a signal to the container owner that contents of the container are in danger of being destroyed through temperature or excessive motion [Breed, paragraph 332].
ATKINSON and Breed discloses container with housing and system to enclose hazardous product in an insulated pouch (Fig. 1A, of ATKINSON , housing unit 22, fire suppression system 36 coupled to a wall, para 37, wall 70 coated in a fire retardant or fireproof material, para 06, fire suppression materials disposed along top of an interior of the housing unit, para 118, system to enclose hazardous product in an insulated pouch, and Breed Fig. 1, shipping container shown in FIG. 1 having a pair of opposed side walls, a pair of opposed front and rear walls, a roof and a floor [061]) but fails to discloses housing having a hollow interior.
In analogous art, Balaji discloses housing having a hollow interior (para 35, FIGS. 1-4, fire detection device 100 comprises a container 102 such as a box having side walls that form an interior cavity, as presented in FIG. 1. container 102 may be any three-dimensional shape that is at least hollow to allow for storage of components or devices within the formed interior cavity, para 37, insulation 104 coupled to one or more sides of either the interior or the exterior of the container 102, provide physical and/or chemical barrier between surrounding environment and an interior of container 102, insulation 104 is heat-resistant or flame or fire resistant/retardant material).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of system includes a fire suppression system for suppressing a thermal event within the housing unit disclosed by ATKINSON and Breed to use processing of data provided by the sensors for generating a warning when specific conditions are present which might be indicative of or lead to damage to objects in the container as taught by Balaji to use fire detection device which employs various sensor devices (e.g., temperature, humidity, flame, smoke, gas, and the like) to collect environmental data and determine whether the detected environmental conditions indicate presence of or increased possibility of a fire for generating alerts based on detected environmental conditions. [Balaji, Abstract].
Regarding claim 2, ATKINSON discloses the container sensor device of claim 1, wherein the detection module further includes a transmitter in communication with the controller (para 07, processing device is further configured to execute the instructions to transmit, via the communication system, the product information and the thermal event information to an external device).
Regarding claim 3, ATKINSON discloses the container sensor device of claim 2, wherein the detection module is configured to transmit a signal by the transmitter indicative of the thermal event to a user device including at least one of a mobile phone and a networked computer (para 38, processing device 44 signal communication system 66 to transmit thermal event information indicating emergency to a remote device, such as a computer at a fire station, para 45, Upon receiving thermal event information from sensor 34 in the remote monitoring system 106 send thermal event information to remote communication system 67).
Regarding claim 4, ATKINSON fails to discloses the container sensor device of claim 1, wherein the light source includes an LED light.
In analogous art, Breed discloses the container sensor device of claim 1, wherein the light source includes an LED light (para 341, A light sensor which measures any part of the visible or infrared part of the spectrum and is calibrated to the ambient light inside the container when the door is closed and which then triggers when light is detected above ambient levels and door is closed).
Balaji also discloses output devices include LED, light, buzzer, bell, and/or other customer input/output device for communicating with one or more customers [059].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of system includes a fire suppression system for suppressing a thermal event within the housing unit disclosed by ATKINSON and Breed to use processing of data provided by the sensors for generating a warning when specific conditions are present which might be indicative of or lead to damage to objects in the container as taught by Balaji to use fire detection device which employs various sensor devices (e.g., temperature, humidity, flame, smoke, gas, and the like) to collect environmental data and determine whether the detected environmental conditions indicate presence of or increased possibility of a fire for generating alerts based on detected environmental conditions. [Balaji, Abstract].
Regarding claim 5, ATKINSON discloses the container sensor device of claim 1, wherein the audio source includes a piezoelectric speaker (para 34, The audio signals made in response to sensor 34 detecting the thermal event through speaker 62).
Breed discloses piezoelectric device which then outputs some electrical energy that can be sensed by the system electronics
Regarding claim 6, ATKINSON discloses the container sensor device of claim 1, wherein the power source includes a battery (para 32, battery 48 coupled to or located within housing unit 22 and can be located in communication with the battery charger 50, battery 48 provide power to system 20 in order for system 20 to function).
Regarding claim 7, ATKINSON discloses the container sensor device of claim 1, wherein the blanket includes a passage that corresponds with the housing when installed on the container (para 40, system 20 include a product containment system 86 to enclose hazardous product 26 in an insulated pouch 88, para 118, system to enclose hazardous product in an insulated pouch, para 24, housing unit 22 made from a fire retardant or fireproof material, housing unit coated in a fire retardant or fireproof material (i.e. temperature resistant material).
Regarding claim 8, ATKINSON discloses the container sensor device of claim 7, wherein the passage in the blanket is disposed around a perimeter of the housing of the container sensor device (para 118, system to enclose hazardous product in an insulated pouch, para 24, housing unit 22 made from a fire retardant or fireproof material, housing unit coated in a fire retardant or fireproof material).
Regarding claim 9, ATKINSON discloses the container sensor device of claim 1, further comprising multiple detection modules disposed at different locations on the container (para 27, system 20 can include one or more sensors 34 for detecting the thermal event, para 44, detection of thermal event in remote bins 104 communicated by communication system 66 of remote bins 104 to activate alarm system 60).
Regarding claim 10, ATKINSON discloses the container sensor device of claim 1, wherein the sensor packet is disposed on an inner surface of the container (para 39, to insert additional sensors to allow for monitoring of interior of housing unit 22, para 28, he system 20 can include multiple reservoirs 38 disposed within the housing unit 22).
Regarding claim 11, ATKINSON discloses the container sensor device of claim 1, wherein the sensor packet is in wired communication with the controller (para 35, system 66 transmit a signal to an external device in response to the sensor detecting the thermal event and communication with processing device 44, communication system 66 include transmitter and/or receiver; 5G wireless device; a radio device; or any other desired transmission device).
Regarding claim 12, ATKINSON discloses the container sensor device of claim 1, wherein the base wall of the housing includes an aperture (para 28, tubing 40 can be disposed within interior volume of housing unit 22, such as along top of interior of the housing unit 22, along a wall of the housing unit 22, or any other desired location).
Regarding claim 13, ATKINSON discloses the container sensor device of claim 1, wherein the cover wall includes a vent for allowing airflow into the hollow interior of the housing (para 27, air pressure sensor configured to detect increase in air pressure within housing unit 22, para 40, inflation by air blower 91 to form insulated pouches 88).
Regarding claim 14, ATKINSON discloses the container sensor device of claim 1, wherein the light source is disposed within the housing and the housing includes a housing opening disposed adjacent the light source to allow for the visual alert to be visible outside of the housing (para 34, alarm system 60 to provide audio or visual signals in response to sensor 34 detecting thermal event, visual signals provided by a rotating beacon 64 on top of housing unit 22, light coupled to housing unit 22, or any other desired visual device).
Regarding claim 15, ATKINSON discloses the container sensor device of claim 1, wherein the container includes a battery (para 32, system 20 include a power system 46 and provide power to system 20 to various electrical components, sensor 34, processing device 44, or any other desired electrical component or system).
Regarding claim 16, ATKINSON discloses a system for detecting an occurrence of a thermal event, comprising: a container with an outer surface and an opening formed therethrough, the container at risk of the thermal event (para 024, FIGS. 1A-2A, a system 20 includes a housing unit 22 made from a fire retardant or fireproof material, protect material in the event of a thermal event when outgassing from the hazardous product 260);
a detection module disposed adjacent the housing, the detection module including a sensor packet including a sensor for detecting the thermal event (para 27, system 20 include one or more sensors 34 (Fig. 2A- detection module) for detecting thermal event, temperature sensor detect increase in temperature, air pressure sensor detect an increase in air pressure, a smoke detector detect smoke resulting from thermal event, a thermal imaging device such as an infrared camera detect heat produced by the thermal event, chemical detector configured to detect gas concentrations within the housing unit, or any other desired sensor or device),
the sensor being configured to detect a member selected from a group consisting of heat, heat vented rise, smoke, humidity, pressure of the housing, and combinations thereof (Fig. 6, para 73, sensor 34 transmit—and processing device receive—thermal event information, such as temperature, pressure, gas concentrations, presence of smoke, or other desired thermal event information, para 27, one or more sensors 34 used to detect as temperature sensor, air pressure sensor, smoke detector, thermal imaging device such as infrared camera to detect heat, chemical detector detect gas concentrations within the housing unit, or any other desired sensor or device resulting from the thermal event),
a controller in communication with the sensor packet, the controller configured to receive and process data from the sensor packet (para 31, FIG. 6, system 20 include a processing device 44 such as processor, programmable controllers, microcontrollers, micro-processors, digital signal processors, processing device 44 receive and execute instructions and to receive thermal event information from the senor 34 and to receive information about thermal event, and to determine, based on thermal, para 07, processing device to transmit, via communication system thermal event information to an external device),
a light source in communication with the controller, the light source configured to provide a visual alert upon receiving an alert from the controller that the sensor has detected a thermal event, an audio source in communication with the controller (para 34, alarm system 60 to provide audio or visual signals in response to sensor 34 detecting thermal event, visual signals provided by a rotating beacon 64 on top of housing unit 22, light coupled to housing unit 22, or other desired visual device),
the audio source configured to provide an audio alert upon receiving an alert from the controller that the sensor has detected a thermal event (para 34, system 20 include an alarm system 60 and in communication with and responsive to sensor 34 or processing device 44 and to provide audio or visual signals in response to sensor 34 detecting the thermal event or the processing device 44 determining the presence of the thermal event and audio signals made in response to the sensor 34 detecting the thermal event), and
a power source for supplying power to the detection module (para 32, system 20 include a power system 46 and provide power to system 20 to various electrical components, sensor 34, processing device 44, or any other desired electrical component or system); and
a blanket including a temperature resistant material, the blanket formed to cover the container (para 40, system 20 include a product containment system 86 to enclose hazardous product 26 in an insulated pouch 88 which made from material that is non-conductive, chemically resistant to corrosives, functions in a temperature range from −20° F. to 180° F., or have any other desired properties (i.e. temperature resistant material), para 118, system to enclose hazardous product in an insulated pouch, para 24, housing unit 22 made from a fire retardant or fireproof material, housing unit coated in a fire retardant or fireproof material (i.e. temperature resistant material)); and
a user device in communication with the container sensor device and configured to receive a signal indicative of an alert from the container sensor device (para 34, sensor 34 detecting the thermal event or the processing device 44 determining the presence of the thermal event and sending a signal for alarm system to activate, para 47, sensor 34 for detecting the thermal event; the alarm system 60 for producing the alarm , para 101, an alarm system in communication with and responsive to the sensor and configured to provide audio and visual signals in response to the sensor detecting thermal event, para 71, alarm system 60 for producing alarm ; communication system 66 for transmitting product information and thermal event information).
ATKINSON specifically fails to disclose a container sensor device including a housing having a base wall, a cover wall, and a hollow interior, and the base wall configured to be disposed adjacent an outer surface of the container;
sensor being configured to detect tilt of the housing.
In analogous art, Breed discloses a container sensor device including a housing having a base wall, a cover wall, and the base wall configured to be disposed adjacent an outer surface of the container (para 61, shipping container shown in FIG. 1 having a pair of opposed side walls, a pair of opposed front and rear walls, a roof and a floor, the antennas 10, 12, 14 are arranged in the front wall, para 340, detect unauthorized entry into container, cutting or blasting through container, ceiling, or floor of the container, para 307, container monitoring system, ultrasonic transducers mounted on an interior part of container adjacent the container's ceiling in a protective housing);
sensor being configured to detect tilt of the housing (para 335, Various sensors that can be used to monitor the motion of the container include gyroscopes, accelerometers and tilt sensors, unexpected tilt angle of the container signify a dangerous situation that could lead to a rollover accident).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of system includes a fire suppression system for suppressing a thermal event within the housing unit disclosed by ATKINSON to use processing of data provided by the sensors for generating a warning when specific conditions are present which might be indicative of or lead to damage to the objects in the container as taught by Breed to monitor the status of the container interior or exterior until some event happens including the opening of the doors, the sensing of light or a change in the interior temperature of the container above a reference level and to immediately transmit a signal to the container owner that contents of the container are in danger of being destroyed through temperature or excessive motion [Breed, paragraph 332].
ATKINSON and Breed discloses container with housing and system to enclose hazardous product in an insulated pouch (Fig. 1A, of ATKINSON , housing unit 22, fire suppression system 36 coupled to a wall, para 37, wall 70 coated in a fire retardant or fireproof material, para 06, fire suppression materials disposed along top of an interior of the housing unit, para 118, system to enclose hazardous product in an insulated pouch, and Breed Fig. 1, shipping container shown in FIG. 1 having a pair of opposed side walls, a pair of opposed front and rear walls, a roof and a floor [061]) but fails to discloses housing having a hollow interior.
In analogous art, Balaji discloses housing having a hollow interior (para 35, FIGS. 1-4, fire detection device 100 comprises a container 102 such as a box having side walls that form an interior cavity, as presented in FIG. 1. container 102 may be any three-dimensional shape that is at least hollow to allow for storage of components or devices within the formed interior cavity, para 37, insulation 104 coupled to one or more sides of either the interior or the exterior of the container 102, provide physical and/or chemical barrier between surrounding environment and an interior of container 102, insulation 104 is heat-resistant or flame or fire resistant/retardant material).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of system includes a fire suppression system for suppressing a thermal event within the housing unit disclosed by ATKINSON and Breed to use processing of data provided by the sensors for generating a warning when specific conditions are present which might be indicative of or lead to damage to objects in the container as taught by Balaji to use fire detection device which employs various sensor devices (e.g., temperature, humidity, flame, smoke, gas, and the like) to collect environmental data and determine whether the detected environmental conditions indicate presence of or increased possibility of a fire for generating alerts based on detected environmental conditions. [Balaji, Abstract].
Regarding claim 17, ATKINSON discloses the system of claim 16, wherein the container holds a battery (para 32, system 20 include a power system 46 and provide power to system 20 to various electrical components, sensor 34, processing device 44, or any other desired electrical component or system).
Regarding claim 18, ATKINSON discloses the system of claim 16, wherein the housing is configured to be disposed within a recess on the outer surface of the container (para 37, housing unit 22 include a door 71 to allow for access to hazardous products 26, para 39, access panel 76 include a venting port 80 to release gasses and heat produced by the thermal event).
Regarding claim 19, ATKINSON discloses a method for detecting an occurrence of a thermal event, the method comprising steps of: providing a container with an outer surface and an opening formed therethrough, the container at risk of the thermal event (para 024, FIGS. 1A-2A, a system 20 includes a housing unit 22 made from a fire retardant or fireproof material, protect material in the event of a thermal event when outgassing from the hazardous product 260);
a detection module disposed adjacent the housing, the detection module including a sensor packet including a sensor for detecting the thermal event (para 27, system 20 include one or more sensors 34 (Fig. 2A- detection module) for detecting thermal event, temperature sensor detect increase in temperature, air pressure sensor detect an increase in air pressure, a smoke detector detect smoke resulting from thermal event, a thermal imaging device such as an infrared camera detect heat produced by the thermal event, chemical detector configured to detect gas concentrations within the housing unit, or any other desired sensor or device),
the sensor being configured to detect a member selected from a group consisting of heat, heat vented rise, smoke, humidity, pressure of the housing, and combinations thereof (Fig. 6, para 73, sensor 34 transmit—and processing device receive—thermal event information, such as temperature, pressure, gas concentrations, presence of smoke, or other desired thermal event information, para 27, one or more sensors 34 used to detect as temperature sensor, air pressure sensor, smoke detector, thermal imaging device such as infrared camera to detect heat, chemical detector detect gas concentrations within the housing unit, or any other desired sensor or device resulting from the thermal event),
a controller in communication with the sensor packet, the controller configured to receive and process data from the sensor packet (para 31, FIG. 6, system 20 include a processing device 44 such as processor, programmable controllers, microcontrollers, micro-processors, digital signal processors, processing device 44 receive and execute instructions and to receive thermal event information from the senor 34 and to receive information about thermal event, and to determine, based on thermal, para 07, processing device to transmit, via communication system thermal event information to an external device),
a light source in communication with the controller, the light source configured to provide a visual alert upon receiving an alert from the controller that the sensor has detected a thermal event (para 34, alarm system 60 to provide audio or visual signals in response to sensor 34 detecting thermal event, visual signals provided by a rotating beacon 64 on top of housing unit 22, light coupled to housing unit 22, or any other desired visual device),
an audio source in communication with the controller, the audio source configured to provide an audio alert upon receiving an alert from the controller that the sensor has detected a thermal event (para 34, system 20 include an alarm system 60 and in communication with and responsive to sensor 34 or processing device 44 and to provide audio or visual signals in response to sensor 34 detecting the thermal event or the processing device 44 determining the presence of the thermal event and audio signals made in response to the sensor 34 detecting the thermal event), and
a power source for supplying power to the detection module (para 32, system 20 include a power system 46 and provide power to system 20 to various electrical components, sensor 34, processing device 44, or any other desired electrical component or system), and
a blanket including a temperature resistant material, the blanket formed to cover the container (para 40, system 20 include a product containment system 86 to enclose hazardous product 26 in an insulated pouch 88 which made from material that is non-conductive, chemically resistant to corrosives, functions in a temperature range from −20° F. to 180° F., or have any other desired properties (i.e. temperature resistant material), para 118, system to enclose hazardous product in an insulated pouch, para 24, housing unit 22 made from a fire retardant or fireproof material, housing unit coated in a fire retardant or fireproof material (i.e. temperature resistant material));
monitoring the container with the container sensor device; and providing an alert upon detecting the thermal event while monitoring the container (para 34, sensor 34 detecting the thermal event or the processing device 44 determining the presence of the thermal event and sending a signal for alarm system to activate, para 47, sensor 34 for detecting the thermal event; the alarm system 60 for producing the alarm , para 101, an alarm system in communication with and responsive to the sensor and configured to provide audio and visual signals in response to the sensor detecting the thermal event, para 71, alarm system 60 for producing the alarm ; the communication system 66 for transmitting product information and thermal event information).
ATKINSON specifically fails to disclose providing a container sensor device, including a housing having a base wall, a cover wall, and a hollow interior, and the base wall configured to be disposed adjacent an outer surface of the container;
sensor being configured to detect tilt of the housing;
installing the container sensor device onto the outer surface of the container adjacent to the opening formed in the container.
In analogous art, Breed discloses providing a container sensor device, including a housing having a base wall, a cover wall, and the base wall configured to be disposed adjacent an outer surface of the container (para 61, shipping container shown in FIG. 1 having a pair of opposed side walls, a pair of opposed front and rear walls, a roof and a floor, the antennas 10, 12, 14 are arranged in the front wall, para 340, detect unauthorized entry into container, cutting or blasting through the container, ceiling, or floor of the container, para 307, container monitoring system, one or more ultrasonic transducers mounted on an interior part of the container adjacent the container's ceiling in a protective housing);
sensor being configured to detect from tilt of the housing (para 335, Various sensors that can be used to monitor the motion of the container include gyroscopes, accelerometers and tilt sensors, unexpected tilt angle of the container signify a dangerous situation that could lead to a rollover accident).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of system includes a fire suppression system for suppressing a thermal event within the housing unit disclosed by ATKINSON to use processing of data provided by the sensors for generating a warning when specific conditions are present which might be indicative of or lead to damage to the objects in the container as taught by Breed to monitor the status of the container interior or exterior until some event happens including the opening of the doors, the sensing of light or a change in the interior temperature of the container above a reference level and to immediately transmit a signal to the container owner that contents of the container are in danger of being destroyed through temperature or excessive motion [Breed, paragraph 332].
ATKINSON and Breed discloses container with housing and system to enclose hazardous product in an insulated pouch (Fig. 1A, of ATKINSON , housing unit 22, fire suppression system 36 coupled to a wall, para 37, wall 70 coated in a fire retardant or fireproof material, para 06, fire suppression materials disposed along top of an interior of the housing unit, para 118, system to enclose hazardous product in an insulated pouch, and Breed Fig. 1, shipping container shown in FIG. 1 having a pair of opposed side walls, a pair of opposed front and rear walls, a roof and a floor [061]) but fails to discloses housing having a hollow interior;
installing the container sensor device onto the outer surface of the container adjacent to the opening formed in the container.
In analogous art, Balaji discloses housing having a hollow interior (para 35, FIGS. 1-4, fire detection device 100 comprises a container 102 such as a box having side walls that form an interior cavity, as presented in FIG. 1. container 102 may be any three-dimensional shape that is at least hollow to allow for storage of components or devices within the formed interior cavity, para 37, insulation 104 coupled to one or more sides of either the interior or the exterior of the container 102, provide physical and/or chemical barrier between surrounding environment and an interior of container 102, insulation 104 is heat-resistant or flame or fire resistant/retardant material);
installing the container sensor device onto the outer surface of the container adjacent to the opening formed in the container (para 36, fire detection device 100 coupled or attached (e.g., adhesive material, bolts, screws, straps, and/or the like) to a surface of an environment of interest in which environmental data will be collected, fire detection device 100 placed or positioned within environment of interest (e.g., on the ground or other surface) (i.e. outer surface of the container), para 44, fire detection device 100 operatively coupled to an exterior surface of container 102).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of system includes a fire suppression system for suppressing a thermal event within the housing unit disclosed by ATKINSON and Breed to use processing of data provided by the sensors for generating a warning when specific conditions are present which might be indicative of or lead to damage to objects in the container as taught by Balaji to use fire detection device which employs various sensor devices (e.g., temperature, humidity, flame, smoke, gas, and the like) to collect environmental data and determine whether the detected environmental conditions indicate presence of or increased possibility of a fire for generating alerts based on detected environmental conditions. [Balaji, Abstract].
Regarding claim 20, ATKINSON discloses the method of claim 19, wherein the container holds a battery (para 32, system 20 include a power system 46 and provide power to system 20 to various electrical components, sensor 34, processing device 44, or any other desired electrical component or system).
Conclusion
/MIRZA F ALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688