DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(1) as being anticipated by STEIN et al. (US – 2013/0142671 A1).
As per claim 1, STEIN discloses Motor Vehicle System Device And Method For Operating A Motor Vehicle System Device comprising:
an electric machine electrically connectable to an electric power source (16, a drive device 16 which is designed as an electric motor, [0028], Fig: 1);
a brake compressor (4, Fig: 1) positioned in an air flow conduit (Fig: 1), the brake compressor being configured to pressurize a flow of air and to exhaust the pressurized flow of air (Compressor 4 is used for compressing fluid, particularly gas, for instance air, which is able to be supplied to it by a compressor inlet 6. Compressor 4 makes available the compressed fluid at a compressor outlet 7, [0025], Fig: 1);
an electrical brake resistor (28, Fig: 1) arrangement arranged in the air flow conduit at a position downstream the brake compressor, (In overpressure line 27 there is also provided a cross sectional adjustment device 28, [0032], therefore, 28 function as brake resistor); and
a compressor shaft (5, [0025], Fig: 1) mechanically connecting the electric machine (16) and the brake compressor (4) to each other (Fig: 1);
wherein the electric machine is configured to generate a torque on the compressor shaft for operating the brake compressor to pressurize the flow of air (Drive device 16 is operatively connected or able to be operatively connected to shaft 5, [0028], Fig: 1);
the braking arrangement further comprising:
an air bearing arrangement (13-15, Fig: 1), the air bearing arrangement being fluidly connectable to a pressurized brake air tank (22, Fig: 1) of the vehicle via an air bearing conduit (24, [0030] – [0034], Fig: 1);
wherein the air bearing arrangement is suspending the compressor shaft to at least one of the electric machine and the brake compressor ([0028] – [0033], Fig: 1).
As per claim 2, STEIN discloses an air bearing valve (25, Fig: 1) positioned in the air bearing conduit for controllable supply of a flow of pressurized air to the air bearing arrangement ([0032], Fig: 1).
As per claim 3, STEIN discloses a control unit connected to the air bearing valve;
the control unit being configured to control the air bearing valve between a first state in which the air bearing valve is closed and pressurized air is prevented from reaching the air bearing arrangement, and a second state in which the air bearing valve is open and pressurized air from the pressurized brake air tank is supplied to the air bearing arrangement (STEIN discloses “At a rotational speed of shaft 5 that is less than the minimum rotational speed, and even if bearings 13 to 15 are developed as fluid-static bearings, it is necessary, however, to provide, or at least increase the pressure present in bearing gap 21 by an external device”, [0032], therefore, it’s inherently disclose control unit for bearing control).
As per claim 7, STEIN discloses wherein the air bearing arrangement comprises an air journal bearing (13, 14, [0028] and [0030], Fig: 1).
As per claim 8, STEIN discloses wherein the air bearing arrangement comprises an air thrust bearing (13, 14, [0028] and [0030], Fig: 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over STEIN et al. (US – 2013/0142671 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hodgkinson Peter Leslie (GB – 2416806, from IDS).
As per claim 13, STEIN discloses all the structural elements of the claimed invention but fails to explicitly disclose a pressurized brake air tank arranged to supply pressurized air to a pneumatically controlled wheel brake connected to a wheel of the vehicle; and
the braking arrangement of claim 1, wherein the pressurized brake air tank is arranged in fluid communication with the air bearing arrangement.
Hodgkinson discloses Compressor Arrangement With Intercooler And Air Bearing comprising:
a pressurized brake air tank (Compressed air from the second stage impeller 15 passes through an after-cooler 24 which is also cooled by the fan 22, and from there to a water separator 26, an air drier assembly 27 and a filer 28 before being delivered via a non-return valve 29 to the reservoir (not shown), Page 6, Ln: 30 – Page 7, Ln: 2) arranged to supply pressurized air to a pneumatically controlled wheel brake connected to a wheel of the vehicle (Fig: 2); and
the braking arrangement of claim 1, wherein the pressurized brake air tank is arranged in fluid communication with the air bearing arrangement (6-7, Abstract, Page 5, Ln: 12-31, Claim 11, Fig: 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the motor vehicle system device of the STEIN to arrange the pressurized brake air tank arranged to supply pressurized air to a pneumatically controlled wheel brake connected to a wheel of the vehicle; and the braking arrangement of claim 1, wherein the pressurized brake air tank is arranged in fluid communication with the air bearing arrangement as taught by Hodgkinson in order to any contaminants from bearing assembly and assists in cooling the bearing.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 and 9-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Prior art and teaching reference fail to disclose a signal indicative of a desired vehicle speed for the vehicle; and control the air bearing valve to transition from the first state to the second state before the vehicle initiates a control of the vehicle speed (Claim 4), receive a signal indicative of an upcoming driving condition for the vehicle; determine a vehicle braking requirement for operating the vehicle during the upcoming driving condition;
compare the vehicle braking requirement with a predetermined threshold limit; and control the air bearing valve to assume the second state throughout the upcoming driving condition when the vehicle braking requirement exceeds the predetermined threshold limit (Claim 6), an air heating arrangement arranged in the air flow conduit at a position upstream the brake compressor for heating the air supplied to the brake compressor (Claim 9), an air flow restriction arrangement arranged in the air flow conduit at a position downstream the brake compressor (Claim 12).
Claim 5 depends on claim 4 and claims 10-11 depend on claim 9.
Double Patenting
Claims1, 7-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-5,7-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12168425.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because “A braking arrangement of vehicle” and “A method of controlling a braking arrangement of a vehicle” of claims 1, 7-14 of instant application are encompassed by claims 1, 4-5,7-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12168425.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
A: Loytty (US – 2018/0334927 A1),
B: Davidson et al. (US – 2016/0363003 A1), and
C: Saung Bae Cho (US – 2006/0137345 A1).
/SAN M AUNG/Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/Robert A. Siconolfi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616