DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed with respect to claims 1-15 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. The rejections are necessitated due to claim amendments.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3 and 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 8, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NOROUZZADEH et al. (Pub. No. US 2024/0104339 hereinafter “NOR”) in view of Anush et al. (“signal processing: image communication”: volume 28).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, NOR teaches a method for controlling an electronic apparatus for performing a computer vision task (classification) [Para. 46], the method comprising: receiving a corrupted image from a camera [Para. 46 “The system may include an input image 301 that is received from one or more sensors, such as a camera, radar, Lidar, etc. The hyper model 305 may identify the type of input corruption, e.g., motion blur or Gaussian noise.” And “The main classifier model 309 may perform classification on the input image”]; identifying a corruption type (type of input corruption) of the corrupted image (input image) from a plurality of potential corruption types (various corruptions) using a corruption identification module (hyper model 305) [Para. 46 “The hyper model 305 may identify the type of input corruption, e.g., motion blur or Gaussian noise. In one example, a simple classifier model that takes the Fourier transform of the input image as input and predicts the type of corruption in the image or if it is a clean image”, and Para. 48”]; obtaining normalisation parameters (BN statistics) associated with the identified corruption type from a codebook (lookup table) [Para. 46 “The system may include a BN statistics lookup table (T) 307 that contains corresponding values for each type of corruption.”; “Once the hyper model detects the corruption, it can dynamically choose (or generate) corresponding BN statistics (or, in a more general procedure, even parameters or architecture of the main model) from the lookup table in real-time to make the main model insensitive to that type of corruption”]; updating a computer vision model (pre-trained network), trained to perform the task (classification), by replacing normalisation parameters of the computer vision model with the obtained normalisation parameters (BN statistics) [Para. 24 “Given that corruption type can be easily detected using the Fourier domain, the system and method may adopt the BN statistic update method such that it can change the BN values dynamically based on the current corruption”; “Based on the detected corruption, the corresponding BN statistics are taken from the BN stat lookup table and the pre-trained network BNs are updated accordingly” and Para. 46 “The main classifier model 309 may perform classification on the input image”]; and performing the computer vision task (classification) using the updated computer vision model [Para. 24 “Finally, the original image is fed to the dynamically updated pre-trained network”; Para. 46 “Upon updating the model of the classifier 309, the classifier 309 may output the corresponding classification 311.”].
NOR teaches identifying of the corruption type [Para. 46].
However, NOR does not teach obtaining a probability of associated corruption of the corrupted image for each of the plurality of potential corruption types, and identifying a potential corruption type of the plurality of potential corruption types with the highest probability of associated corruption as being the corruption type of the corrupted image.
Anush teaches obtaining a probability of associated corruption of the corrupted image for each of the plurality of potential corruption types (probability distribution over all distortion types) , and identifying (is picked) a potential corruption type (distortion type) of the plurality of potential corruption types with the highest probability of associated corruption (maximum probability) as being the corruption type of the corrupted image [section 3.1 “Once trained, when fed with DIIVINE/ BRISQUE features, the SVM returns a distortion type and a probability distribution over all distortion types which corresponds to the predicted type and the confidence associated with the classification respectively. This predicted distortion type is used to select the right image repair algorithm” and 3.3 “Since there are multiple distortions in the image, the distortion type predicted to have the maximum probability of being present (as indicated by the classifier) is picked”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to modify NOR’s hyper-model corruption identification process by incorporating Moorthy’s multiclass probability output and maximum probability selection process so that a probability is obtained for reach candidate corruption type and the highest probability type is designated as the identified corruption type. This modification improves NOR by providing an explicit, confidence-based decision rule for selecting the corresponding corruption specific normalization parameters from the lookup table, thereby making the parameter selection process determinate and reproducible.
Regarding claim 6, NOR teaches wherein the computer vision model is a neural network model (DNN), and wherein the normalisation parameters include at least one of batch normalisation, BatchNorm, parameters or layer normalisation, LayerNorm, parameters [Para. 26 and 46].
Regarding claim 8, NOR teaches wherein the computer vision task is a computer vision task selected from a list of computer vision tasks including object detection, object recognition, semantic segmentation [Para. 26 and 30].
Claims 4, 5, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NOROUZZADEH et al. (Pub. No. US 2024/0104339 hereinafter “NOR”) in view of Anush et al. (“signal processing: image communication”: volume 28) further in view of Drolia et al. (Pub. No. US 2022/0114747).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, NOR teaches wherein the corruption identification module (hyper model) includes a machine learning model (DNN) trained to estimate a corruption type (type of corruption) using a corrupted image [Para. 26 and 46].
However, NOR in view of Anush doesn’t explicitly teach the rest of claim limitations.
Drolia teaches wherein identifying the corruption type of the corrupted image using a corruption identification module comprises: inputting the corrupted image (input image) to the machine learning model (artificial neural network) to estimate the corruption type (distortion type) from the corrupted image (input image) [Para. 31, 39 and 32].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify NOR in view of Anush’s corruption identification module (hyper model) by incorporating Drolia’s teaching of inputting the corrupted image (input image) to a machine learning model that outputs a corruption type, instead of feeding only a Fourier transform of the image to the corruption detector. This modification improves NOR by enabling direct learned corruption classification from camera images, thereby allowing the same BN-statics lookup process to operate when spatial image feature provide useful degradation information.
Claims 7 and 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NOROUZZADEH et al. (Pub. No. US 2024/0104339 hereinafter “NOR”) in view of Anush et al. (“signal processing: image communication”: volume 28) further in view of in view of LIM et al. (Pub. NO. US 2024/0119360).
Regarding claim 7, NOR teaches DNN trained network [Para. 26].
However, NOR in view of Anush doesn’t explicitly teach the neural network model is a convolutional neural network model.
LIM teaches the neural network model is a convolutional neural network model [para. 35].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify NOR in view of Anush’s DNN trained on the original vision task by implementing Lim’s teaching of a convolutional neural network model with batch-normalization processing for image-based inference. This medication improves NOR by using convolutional visual feature extraction for object detection/classification inputs, thereby improving suitability for camera image computer vision tasks.
Regarding claim 10, NOR in view of Anush doesn’t explicitly teach the claim limitations.
However, LIM teaches wherein the normalisation layers include at least one of batch normalisation, BatchNorm, layers and layer normalisation, LayerNorm, layers [Para. 39].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify NOR in view of Anush’s BN statistics lookup table and model update process by incorporating Lim’s teaching of normalization layers that use those statistics, thereby enabling predictable layer level adaption of the task model.
Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NOROUZZADEH et al. (Pub. No. US 2024/0104339 hereinafter “NOR”) in view of Anush et al. (“signal processing: image communication”: volume 28) further in view of in view of Segu et al. (Pub. No. US 2023/0122207).
Regarding claim 9, NOR teaches generating the codebook by: providing a pre-trained computer vision model (pre-trained model) and a training data set, wherein the training data set (train data) comprises, for each corruption type of a plurality of corruption types, a plurality of corrupted images and corresponding labels associated with the computer vision task the model has been trained to perform, re-training the pre-trained computer vision model, for each corruption type; generating the codebook to associate each recognizable corruption type to the corresponding normalisation layers parameters (BN statistics) [Para. 26, 6, and 46].
However, NOR in view of Anush doesn’t explicitly teach the rest of claim limitations.
Segu teaches using the plurality of corrupted images and corresponding labels (object categories) by updating only normalisation layers of the pre-trained computer vision model, extracting the normalisation layers of the re-trained computer vision model for each corruption type [Para. 33, 22, and 23].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify NOR in view of Anush to incorporate convolutional neural network, feature as taught by Segu; because the modification reduces retraining cost while preserving the task-model weights for corrupted image computer vision.
Regarding claim 11, NOR teaches generating the codebook (lookup table) by: providing a pre-trained computer vision model, corrupted images, and corresponding corruption type labels estimated by the corruption identification module, updating normalisation layers of the pre-trained computer vision model based on the corrupted images and the corresponding corruption type labels, extracting the updated normalisation layers for each estimated corruption type, and generating a codebook to associate each recognizable corruption type to the corresponding normalisation layers parameters [Para. 46, fig. 2 and related description].
However, NOR in view of Anush doesn’t explicitly teach updating normalisation layers using a test-time adaptation algorithm [Para. 23, 54, and 57].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify NOR in view of Anush’s BN-statistics lookup table and inference time update process by applying Segu’s test time adaptation algorithm to update the normalization layer parameters for test data grouped by NOR’s estimated corruption type, then storing those updated BN statistics in NOR’s lookup table for the corresponding type of corruption. This modification improves NOR by making the codebook entries target data adapted at inference time, thereby improving corrupted image robustness when the incoming corruption distribution changes.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SOLOMON G BEZUAYEHU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2666