DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (claims 1-7) in the reply filed on 7/27/26 is acknowledged. Claim 8-20 are canceled. Claims 21-33 are new. Claims 1-7 and 21-33 are pending and under examination
Claim Rejections – 35 USC 102 (AIA )
Claim(s) 1-7 and 21-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by US 6,074,270 to WILCOX.
Regarding claim 1, WILCOX teaches A neck assembly for a patient simulator, the neck assembly configured to control an orientation of a simulated head of the patient simulator (Abstract: doll having a natural appearance, a natural feel, and natural motion; FIG. 1-4 and col. 6, lines 4-7: Various combinations of these sections 210, 220 and components 230, 240, 250, 260 are used in dolls 10 to provide realistic motions to the limbs 20, 30, head 12, and body 14), comprising:
a first portion, a second portion, and a third portion (FIG. 1-4, ref. 230, 232: a first, second, and third component positioned between head 12 and section 210),
wherein the first portion comprises a first joint, wherein the first joint is rotatable around a first axis to cause movement of the simulated head in a frontal plane of the patient simulator (FIG. 1-4, ref. 230, 232: a first component, positioned between head 12 and section 210, comprising a first joint capable of being rotatable around a first axis to cause movement of the simulated head in a frontal plane of the patient simulator; col. 8, lines 12-22: head can be moved to each side),
wherein the second portion is connected to the first portion, wherein the connection between the second portion and the first portion comprises a second joint, wherein the second joint is rotatable around a second axis to cause movement of the simulated head in a sagittal plane (FIG. 1-4, ref. 230, 232: a second component, positioned between head 12 and section 210, comprising a second joint in connection with the first component and capable of being rotatable around a second axis to cause movement of the simulated head in a sagittal plane; col. 8, lines 12-22: head can be tipped toward the front or rear of the body), and
wherein the third portion is connected to the second portion, wherein the third portion comprises a third joint, wherein the third joint is rotatable around a third axis to cause movement of the simulated head in a transverse plane, wherein the third portion is fastened to the simulated head (FIG. 1-4, ref. 230, 232: a third component, positioned between head 12 and section 210, and as shown fastened to the simulated head, comprising a third joint in connection with the second component and capable of being rotatable around a third axis to cause movement of the simulated head in a transverse plane; col. 8, lines 12-22: head can be turned from side to side with relation to the body).
Regarding claim 21, WILCOX further teaches A patient simulator (Abstract: doll having a natural appearance, a natural feel, and natural motion), comprising: a simulated torso (FIG. 1-3, ref. 14: body); a simulated head (FIG. 1-3, ref. 12: head); and a neck assembly coupling the simulated head to the simulated torso (FIG. 1-3, showing assembly comprising head, neck and body),
the neck assembly configured to control an orientation of the simulated head of the patient simulator (FIG. 1-4 and col. 6, lines 4-7: Various combinations of these sections 210, 220 and components 230, 240, 250, 260 are used in dolls 10 to provide realistic motions to the limbs 20, 30, head 12, and body 14), the neck assembly comprising:
a first portion, a second portion, and a third portion (FIG. 1-4, ref. 230, 232: a first, second, and third component positioned between head 12 and section 210),
wherein the first portion comprises a first joint, wherein the first joint is rotatable around a first axis to cause movement of the simulated head in a frontal plane of the patient simulator (FIG. 1-4, ref. 230, 232: a first component, positioned between head 12 and section 210, comprising a first joint capable of being rotatable around a first axis to cause movement of the simulated head in a frontal plane of the patient simulator; col. 8, lines 12-22: head can be moved to each side),
wherein the second portion is connected to the first portion, wherein the connection between the second portion and the first portion comprises a second joint, wherein the second joint is rotatable around a second axis to cause movement of the simulated head in a sagittal plane (FIG. 1-4, ref. 230, 232: a second component, positioned between head 12 and section 210, comprising a second joint in connection with the first component and capable of being rotatable around a second axis to cause movement of the simulated head in a sagittal plane; col. 8, lines 12-22: head can be tipped toward the front or rear of the body), and
wherein the third portion is connected to the second portion, wherein the third portion comprises a third joint, wherein the third joint is rotatable around a third axis to cause movement of the simulated head in a transverse plane, wherein the third portion is fastened to the simulated head (FIG. 1-4, ref. 230, 232: a third component, positioned between head 12 and section 210, and as shown fastened to the simulated head, comprising a third joint in connection with the second component and capable of being rotatable around a third axis to cause movement of the simulated head in a transverse plane; col. 8, lines 12-22: head can be turned from side to side with relation to the body).
Regarding claim 29, WILCOX further teaches A method of controlling an orientation of a simulated head of a patient simulator, comprising: providing the patient simulator (Abstract: doll having a natural appearance, a natural feel, and natural motion) comprising: a simulated torso (FIG. 1-3, ref. 14: body);a simulated head (FIG. 1-3, ref. 12: head); and a neck assembly coupling the simulated head to the simulated torso, the neck assembly configured to control an orientation of the simulated head of the patient simulator (FIG. 1-4 and col. 6, lines 4-7: Various combinations of these sections 210, 220 and components 230, 240, 250, 260 are used in dolls 10 to provide realistic motions to the limbs 20, 30, head 12, and body 14), the neck assembly comprising: a first portion, a second portion, and a third portion (FIG. 1-4, ref. 230, 232: a first, second, and third component positioned between head 12 and section 210), wherein the first portion comprises a first joint, wherein the first joint is rotatable around a first axis to cause movement of the simulated head in a frontal plane of the patient simulator (FIG. 1-4, ref. 230, 232: a first component, positioned between head 12 and section 210, comprising a first joint capable of being rotatable around a first axis to cause movement of the simulated head in a frontal plane of the patient simulator; col. 8, lines 12-22: head can be moved to each side), wherein the second portion is connected to the first portion, wherein the connection between the second portion and the first portion comprises a second joint, wherein the second joint is rotatable around a second axis to cause movement of the simulated head in a sagittal plane (FIG. 1-4, ref. 230, 232: a second component, positioned between head 12 and section 210, comprising a second joint in connection with the first component and capable of being rotatable around a second axis to cause movement of the simulated head in a sagittal plane; col. 8, lines 12-22: head can be tipped toward the front or rear of the body), and wherein the third portion is connected to the second portion, wherein the third portion comprises a third joint, wherein the third joint is rotatable around a third axis to cause movement of the simulated head in a transverse plane, wherein the third portion is fastened to the simulated head (FIG. 1-4, ref. 230, 232: a third component, positioned between head 12 and section 210, and as shown fastened to the simulated head, comprising a third joint in connection with the second component and capable of being rotatable around a third axis to cause movement of the simulated head in a transverse plane; col. 8, lines 12-22: head can be turned from side to side with relation to the body); and selectively actuating one or more of the first portion, the second portion, or the third portion to selectively control the orientation of the simulated head of the patient simulator (FIG. 1-4 and col. 6, lines 4-7: Various combinations of these sections 210, 220 and components 230, 240, 250, 260 are used in dolls 10 to provide realistic motions to the limbs 20, 30, head 12, and body 14).
Regarding claim 2 and 22, WILCOX further teaches wherein the first portion is configured to be fastened to a simulated torso of the patient simulator (FIG. 1-4, ref. 230, 232: a first component fastened to body).
Regarding claim 3 and 23, WILCOX further teaches wherein the first joint is restricted to rotate through a total angle of less than 180 degrees (FIG. 1-4 and col. 6, lines 4-7: Various combinations of these sections 210, 220 and components 230, 240, 250, 260 are used in dolls 10 to provide realistic motions to the limbs 20, 30, head 12, and body 14; col. 8, lines 20-22: head 12 of a doll 10 comprises a predetermined range of motions […] over a range of about 180 degrees).
Regarding claim 4 and 24, WILCOX further teaches wherein the second joint is restricted to rotate through a total angle of less than 180 degrees (FIG. 1-4 and col. 6, lines 4-7: Various combinations of these sections 210, 220 and components 230, 240, 250, 260 are used in dolls 10 to provide realistic motions to the limbs 20, 30, head 12, and body 14; col. 8, lines 20-22: head 12 of a doll 10 comprises a predetermined range of motions […] over a range of about 180 degrees).
Regarding claim 5 and 25, WILCOX further teaches wherein the third joint is restricted to rotate through a total angle of less than 200 degrees (FIG. 1-4 and col. 6, lines 4-7: Various combinations of these sections 210, 220 and components 230, 240, 250, 260 are used in dolls 10 to provide realistic motions to the limbs 20, 30, head 12, and body 14; col. 8, lines 20-22: head 12 of a doll 10 comprises a predetermined range of motions […] over a range of about 180 degrees).
Regarding claim 6 and 26, WILCOX further teaches wherein the first joint, second joint, and third joint are configured to be selectively actuated (4A-4D: ref. 230, 232).
Regarding claim 7, WILCOX further teaches wherein the neck assembly is configured for an adult-sized patient simulator or a child-size patient simulator (FIG. 1, 7, and 8; col. 1, line 67-col. 2, line 2: doll representing a human; col. 3, lines 63-67: capable of any shape).
Regarding claim 27, WILCOX further teaches wherein the neck assembly is configured for an adult-sized patient simulator (FIG. 1, 7, and 8; col. 1, line 67-col. 2, line 2: doll representing a human; col. 3, lines 63-67: capable of any shape).
Regarding claim 28, WILCOX further teaches wherein the neck assembly is configured for a child-size patient simulator (FIG. 1, 7, and 8; col. 1, line 67-col. 2, line 2: doll representing a human; col. 3, lines 63-67: capable of any shape).
Regarding claim 32, WILCOX further teaches wherein the patient simulator is an adult-sized patient simulator (FIG. 1, 7, and 8; col. 1, line 67-col. 2, line 2: doll representing a human; col. 3, lines 63-67: capable of any shape).
Regarding claim 33, WILCOX further teaches wherein the patient simulator is a child-size patient simulator (FIG. 1, 7, and 8; col. 1, line 67-col. 2, line 2: doll representing a human; col. 3, lines 63-67: capable of any shape).
Regarding claim 30 and 31, WILCOX further teaches wherein the selectively actuating comprises: selectively actuating the first joint to a first rotational position within a range of rotational positions of less than 180 degrees (FIG. 1-4 and col. 6, lines 4-7: Various combinations of these sections 210, 220 and components 230, 240, 250, 260 are used in dolls 10 to provide realistic motions to the limbs 20, 30, head 12, and body 14; col. 8, lines 20-22: head 12 of a doll 10 comprises a predetermined range of motions […] over a range of about 180 degrees); selectively actuating the second joint to a second rotational position within a range of rotational positions of less than 180 degrees (FIG. 1-4 and col. 6, lines 4-7: Various combinations of these sections 210, 220 and components 230, 240, 250, 260 are used in dolls 10 to provide realistic motions to the limbs 20, 30, head 12, and body 14; col. 8, lines 20-22: head 12 of a doll 10 comprises a predetermined range of motions […] over a range of about 180 degrees); and selectively actuating the third joint to a third rotational position within a range of rotational positions of less than 200 degrees (FIG. 1-4 and col. 6, lines 4-7: Various combinations of these sections 210, 220 and components 230, 240, 250, 260 are used in dolls 10 to provide realistic motions to the limbs 20, 30, head 12, and body 14; col. 8, lines 20-22: head 12 of a doll 10 comprises a predetermined range of motions […] over a range of about 180 degrees).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, including:
US 5486127 to WOLFE (Abstract: coupling components of toy assemblages, educational models, hobby constructions, component attachments, or the like together using a compact single point snap together axial connector)
US 2807119 to BEEBE (col. 1, lines 1-10: doll head mounting)
US 2021115 to JACKSON (col. 1, lines 1-10: articulating structural parts)
US 1441164 to ROBERT (col. 1, lines 1-21: toy with articulated parts)
US 5531625 to ZHONG (Abstract: universal joint includes a number of couplers)
US 5620352 to TZONG (Abstract: flexible tube includes a number of joint members)
US 6033284 to RODRIGUEZ (Abstract: articulated structure)
US 6537130 to LEE (Abstract: support system).
/JAMES B HULL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715