Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the line quality of figures, numerals and lead lines are faint and lend themselves to poor reproductive quality. Additionally, figures 2, 5, 6, and 9 are not done in solid black lines.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Harwood (EP1213417, cited in the IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Harwood teaches an access control housing for an access control user interface, the housing 30 comprising: a key interface seat (14, 10’) having a key module connector 14 and a key module receiving frame 10’, wherein the key module connector comprises a power connection (14, 15) for providing power to a key module (the plug/socket connection supplies power from the battery/PCB, see paragraph 15), and a data connection (14, 15) for providing key module data to a main controller (input singals from the module will pass to the PCB through the plug/socket, see paragraph 15), wherein the key module receiving frame is adapted to removably receive a key module selected from a group of different key modules (four different activation modules are adapted to be received in the aperture or receiving frame 10’, see Figs. 1-12) .
Regarding claim 2, Harwood teaches the access control where the different key modules have different sizes, and wherein the key module receiving frame is interchangeable so that the key interface seat is adapted to hold key modules of different sizes (the proximity module, the fingerprint scanning module and the keypad module are inherently involve different physical sizes, see Figs. 1-12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harwood in view of Braun (US20130201646)
Regarding claim 3, Gosterisli teaches the access control housing where the different key modules have different sizes (Bluetooth or RFID, these technologies inherently involve modules of different physical sizes). Harwood does explicitly teach the key module receiving frame being resizable. However, Braun teaches an adapter apparatus that comprises a receiving frame 102 that is resizable modules or cards of different sizes (Fig. 5 and paragraph 35). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Braun in the device of Harwood to better accommodate different sizes of the key module.
Conclusion
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gosterisli (US20150193998).
Regarding claim 1, Gosterisli teaches an access control housing for an access control user interface, the housing 130 comprising: a key interface seat having a key module connector (110, 210) and a key module receiving frame 120, wherein the key module connector comprises a power connection for providing power to a key module (the encoder units are described as being physically and commutatively linked to the access-control electronics, and must be powered to perform the encoding, data exchange and credentials writing function, see paragraphs 14-15), and a data connection 315 for providing key module data to a main controller (paragraph 21), wherein the key module receiving frame is adapted to removably receive a key module selected from a group of different key modules (the design of the modular allows different modules to be swapped without replacing the housing or electronic, and an optional securing mechanism 160 further confirm removable reception, see Figs. 1-3 and paragraphs 14-16).
Regarding claim 2, Gosterisli teaches the access control housing where the different key modules have different sizes, and wherein the key module receiving frame 120 is interchangeable so that the key interface seat is adapted to hold key modules of different sizes (it supports different encoding technologies such as Bluetooth or RFID, these technologies inherently involves modules of different physical sizes, see paragraphs 14-16).
Regarding claim 3, Gosterisli teaches the access control housing where the different key modules have different sizes (Bluetooth or RFID, these technologies inherently involves modules of different physical sizes), and wherein the key module receiving frame 120 is resizable (resizable is interpreted as capable of accommodating modules of difference sizes via adapters or guides or design) so that the key interface seat is adapted to hold key modules of different sizes (the frame 120 accepts “appropriately diminished” modular encoder units of different types/sizes and includes guide element such as rail/groove and fastening elements, which enable to hold key modules of different sizes, see paragraphs 14-16).
/AHMED M SAEED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831