DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/19/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant argues that the as Claim 5 is cancelled, the 112b rejection is now moot. In response to the argument, Examiner respectfully agrees. The previous 112b rejection of Claim 5 is withdrawn.
Applicant argues that prior art of record does not teach on the new independent claims 21, 28, 35. In response to the argument, Examiner respectfully disagrees. The original claims 1-20 are cancelled and new claims 21-41 are under examination. These amendments change the scope of the invention. However, Richardson teaches on the newly presented claims. Richardson teaches on a presence state that has two main modes. These modes can be interpreted as a first and second parent state. Each of these parent states have respective child state(s) and determinations are made as to whether these child state(s) are satisfied (which may trigger an action or not). The claim elements are broadly recited with no limiting of definition for the terms parent state, child state. Richardson teaches on these elements as recited. Richardson teaches that the first and second parent state are different and the respective child state(s) are different. Please see rejection below for details on the art mapping as the claim limitations and scope are new.
Applicant argues that the as Claim 20 is cancelled, the 103 rejection is now moot. In response to the argument, Examiner respectfully agrees. The previous 103 rejection of Claim 20 is withdrawn.
Please see updated rejection below: Claim(s) 21-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2018/0348718 Al (Richardson).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 22-24, 29-31, 36-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 recites the limitation “the other device” in line 9. This renders the claim unclear as is there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 22 depends on Claim 21. Claim 21 recites “receiving from another device”. Previous limitations do not recite “other device”. This same rejection applies to Claims 23, 29-30, 36-37.
Claim 24 recites the limitation “the parent state” in line 9. This renders the claim unclear as is there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 24 recites in previous limitations “first parent state”. Claim 24 depends on Claim 23[Wingdings font/0xE0]Claim 21. Claim 23 and Claim 21 recite “respective parent state”, “first parent state”, “second parent state”. It is unclear to which of these “the parent state” is referring back to. For examination purposes, it will be read as “the first parent state”. This same rejection applies to Claims 31, 38.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 21-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2018/0348718 Al (Richardson).
Regarding Claim 21:
Richardson teaches A method, comprising: by a controller device:
while an environment is configured to be in a respective parent state, receiving, from another device separate from the controller device, a status signal; ([0046] geo fence based home automation. [0051] Accessory device 204(1) controlled by any of controllers 202(1)-202(3) and/or coordinator 210. A user state for each of a plurality of users (and their corresponding controller devices) can be tracked and stored. The coordinator device can then determine a presence state (e.g., who is home) for the home environment to determine whether an action should occur ( e.g., turn the lights off when nobody is home) or not occur (e.g., leave the lights on because other users are home).)
in response to receiving the status signal:
in accordance with a determination that the respective parent state is a first parent state (ie. home), determining whether the status signal satisfies a child state of the first parent state; ([0055] Referring to FIG. 3D, user 340(1) may be a resident of home environment 206 and by crossing geo-fence 330, may trigger any preferred number of accessories that may include turning on lights (e.g., accessory 204(1)), opening a garage door (e.g., accessory 204(2)), unlocking one or more door locks (e.g., accessory 204(3)), setting a new temperature on a thermostat (e.g., accessory 204(4)), or the like. The automation can be associated with controller 202(1) (user 340(1)) and operated by coordinator 210. [0056] signal from a gardener at a side gate.)
and in accordance with a determination that the respective parent state is a second parent state (ie. away), determining whether the status signal satisfies a child state of the second parent state, ([0051][0052] some users are still at home, are all users away?)
wherein the second parent state is different from the first parent state, and wherein the child state of the second parent state is different from the child state of the first parent state; ([0052] Once registered, coordinator 210 can track a user state for each of the users, which may correspond to whether their corresponding controller device is at the specified location (e.g., within geo-fence boundary 330 or "home") or away from the specified location (e.g., not within geo-fence boundary 330 or "away").) First parent state: at home. First child state: within geo-fence boundary 330. Second parent state: away from home. Second child state: not within geo-fence boundary 330.
in response to determining that the status signal satisfies the child state of the first parent state, transmitting, to one or more devices in the environment, a first instruction to change a setting; ([0055] Referring to FIG. 3D, user 340(1) may be a resident of home environment 206 and by crossing geo-fence 330, may trigger any preferred number of accessories that may include turning on lights (e.g., accessory 204(1)), opening a garage door (e.g., accessory 204(2)), unlocking one or more door locks (e.g., accessory 204(3)), setting a new temperature on a thermostat (e.g., accessory 204(4)), or the like. The automation can be associated with controller 202(1) (user 340(1)) and operated by coordinator 210. [0056] signal from a gardener at a side gate.)
and in response to determining that the status signal satisfies the child state of the second parent state, transmitting, to one or more devices in the environment, a second instruction to change a setting different from the first instruction to change a setting. ([0052] When the presence state indicates that all users are "away," then the operational state change of accessory 204(1) may proceed (e.g., turn the lights off).)
Regarding Claim 28:
Richardson teaches A controller device (ie. coordinator device), comprising: a memory configured to store computer-executable instructions; and one or more processors in communication with the memory and configured to access the memory and execute the computer-executable instructions ([0104] storage device 812 can store one or more application and/or operating system programs to be executed by processing subsystem 810, including programs to implement various operations described above as being performed by a coordinator. [0124] processors.) to:
while an environment is configured to be in a respective parent state, receive, from another device separate from the controller device, a status signal; ([0046] geo fence based home automation. [0051] Accessory device 204(1) controlled by any of controllers 202(1)-202(3) and/or coordinator 210. A user state for each of a plurality of users (and their corresponding controller devices) can be tracked and stored. The coordinator device can then determine a presence state (e.g., who is home) for the home environment to determine whether an action should occur ( e.g., turn the lights off when nobody is home) or not occur (e.g., leave the lights on because other users are home).)
in response to receiving the status signal:
in accordance with a determination that the respective parent state is a first parent state, determine whether the status signal satisfies a child state of the first parent state; ([0055] Referring to FIG. 3D, user 340(1) may be a resident of home environment 206 and by crossing geo-fence 330, may trigger any preferred number of accessories that may include turning on lights (e.g., accessory 204(1)), opening a garage door (e.g., accessory 204(2)), unlocking one or more door locks (e.g., accessory 204(3)), setting a new temperature on a thermostat (e.g., accessory 204(4)), or the like. The automation can be associated with controller 202(1) (user 340(1)) and operated by coordinator 210. [0056] signal from a gardener at a side gate.)
and in accordance with a determination that the respective parent state is a second parent state, determine whether the status signal satisfies a child state of the second parent state, ([0051][0052] some users are still at home, are all users away?)
wherein the second parent state is different from the first parent state, and wherein the child state of the second parent state is different from the child state of the first parent state; ([0052] Once registered, coordinator 210 can track a user state for each of the users, which may correspond to whether their corresponding controller device is at the specified location (e.g., within geo-fence boundary 330 or "home") or away from the specified location (e.g., not within geo-fence boundary 330 or "away").) First parent state: at home. First child state: within geo-fence boundary 330. Second parent state: away from home. Second child state: not within geo-fence boundary 330.
in response to determining that the status signal satisfies the child state of the first parent state, transmit, to one or more devices in the environment, a first instruction to change a setting; ([0055] Referring to FIG. 3D, user 340(1) may be a resident of home environment 206 and by crossing geo-fence 330, may trigger any preferred number of accessories that may include turning on lights (e.g., accessory 204(1)), opening a garage door (e.g., accessory 204(2)), unlocking one or more door locks (e.g., accessory 204(3)), setting a new temperature on a thermostat (e.g., accessory 204(4)), or the like. The automation can be associated with controller 202(1) (user 340(1)) and operated by coordinator 210. [0056] signal from a gardener at a side gate.)
and in response to determining that the status signal satisfies the child state of the second parent state, transmit, to one or more devices in the environment, a second instruction to change a setting different from the first instruction to change a setting. ([0052] When the presence state indicates that all users are "away," then the operational state change of accessory 204(1) may proceed (e.g., turn the lights off).)
Regarding Claim 35:
Richardson teaches A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon program instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a controller device (ie. coordinator device), cause the controller device to perform operations ([0104] storage device 812 can store one or more application and/or operating system programs to be executed by processing subsystem 810, including programs to implement various operations described above as being performed by a coordinator. [0124] processors.) comprising:
while an environment is configured to be in a respective parent state, receiving, from another device separate from the controller device, a status signal; ([0046] geo fence based home automation. [0051] Accessory device 204(1) controlled by any of controllers 202(1)-202(3) and/or coordinator 210. A user state for each of a plurality of users (and their corresponding controller devices) can be tracked and stored. The coordinator device can then determine a presence state (e.g., who is home) for the home environment to determine whether an action should occur ( e.g., turn the lights off when nobody is home) or not occur (e.g., leave the lights on because other users are home).)
in response to receiving the status signal:
in accordance with a determination that the respective parent state is a first parent state, determining whether the status signal satisfies a child state of the first parent state; ([0055] Referring to FIG. 3D, user 340(1) may be a resident of home environment 206 and by crossing geo-fence 330, may trigger any preferred number of accessories that may include turning on lights (e.g., accessory 204(1)), opening a garage door (e.g., accessory 204(2)), unlocking one or more door locks (e.g., accessory 204(3)), setting a new temperature on a thermostat (e.g., accessory 204(4)), or the like. The automation can be associated with controller 202(1) (user 340(1)) and operated by coordinator 210. [0056] signal from a gardener at a side gate.)
and in accordance with a determination that the respective parent state is a second parent state, determining whether the status signal satisfies a child state of the second parent state, ([0051][0052] some users are still at home, are all users away?)
wherein the second parent state is different from the first parent state, and wherein the child state of the second parent state is different from the child state of the first parent state; ([0052] Once registered, coordinator 210 can track a user state for each of the users, which may correspond to whether their corresponding controller device is at the specified location (e.g., within geo-fence boundary 330 or "home") or away from the specified location (e.g., not within geo-fence boundary 330 or "away").) First parent state: at home. First child state: within geo-fence boundary 330. Second parent state: away from home. Second child state: not within geo-fence boundary 330.
in response to determining that the status signal satisfies the child state of the first parent state, transmitting, to one or more devices in the environment, a first instruction to change a setting; ([0055] Referring to FIG. 3D, user 340(1) may be a resident of home environment 206 and by crossing geo-fence 330, may trigger any preferred number of accessories that may include turning on lights (e.g., accessory 204(1)), opening a garage door (e.g., accessory 204(2)), unlocking one or more door locks (e.g., accessory 204(3)), setting a new temperature on a thermostat (e.g., accessory 204(4)), or the like. The automation can be associated with controller 202(1) (user 340(1)) and operated by coordinator 210. [0056] signal from a gardener at a side gate.)
and in response to determining that the status signal satisfies the child state of the second parent state, transmitting, to one or more devices in the environment, a second instruction to change a setting different from the first instruction to change a setting. ([0052] When the presence state indicates that all users are "away," then the operational state change of accessory 204(1) may proceed (e.g., turn the lights off).)
Regarding Claims 22, 29, 36:
Richardson teaches the inventions of claims 21, 28, 35 as described.
Richardson teaches wherein the status signal includes an indication of whether the other device is within a threshold distance from a location, and wherein determining whether the status signal satisfies the child state of the second parent state is based on whether the other device is within the threshold distance from the location. ([0052] FIG. 3C, controller 202(1) leaves the bounded region defined by geo-fence 330 and sends a boundary-crossing signal to coordinator 210.) Geo fence is a threshold distance, a boundary crossing is when the user and their respective controller cross the threshold distance from home.
Regarding Claims 23, 30, 37:
Richardson teaches the inventions of claims 21, 28, 35 as described.
Richardson teaches wherein the status signal is a first status signal, and wherein the other device is a first other device, the method further comprising: before receiving the first status signal, receiving, from a second other device separate from the controller device, a second status signal separate from the first status signal, wherein the second status signal includes an indication of whether the event occurred (ie. crossing of the geo-fence 330) within a threshold distance (ie. geo-fence 330) from a location (ie. home), ([0055] Referring to FIG. 3D, user 340(1) may be a resident of home environment 206 and by crossing geo-fence 330, may trigger any preferred number of accessories that may include turning on lights (e.g., accessory 204(1)), opening a garage door (e.g., accessory 204(2)), unlocking one or more door locks (e.g., accessory 204(3)), setting a new temperature on a thermostat (e.g., accessory 204(4)), or the like. The automation can be associated with controller 202(1) (user 340(1)) and operated by coordinator 210. [0056] signal from a gardener at a side gate.)
and wherein the environment is configured to be in the respective parent state (ie. at home, away from home) based on whether the event occurred within the threshold distance from the location. ([0052] Once registered, coordinator 210 can track a user state for each of the users, which may correspond to whether their corresponding controller device is at the specified location (e.g., within geo-fence boundary 330 or "home") or away from the specified location (e.g., not within geo-fence boundary 330 or "away"). The presence state, as depicted in FIG. 3C, shows that other users are "home" and the action ( e.g., turning off accessory 204(1)) is ignored by coordinator 210, resulting in the lights staying on.)
Regarding Claims 24, 31, 38:
Richardson teaches the inventions of claims 23, 30, 37 as described.
Richardson teaches wherein the environment is configured to be in the first parent state based on: determining, based on the first status signal, that the first other device is not within the threshold distance from the location; ([0052] FIG. 3C, controller 202(1) leaves the bounded region defined by geo-fence 330 and sends a boundary-crossing signal to coordinator 210. Instead of immediately switching an operational state of accessory 204(1), coordinator 210 can first check all current user states and update the presence state for home environment 206. When the presence state indicates that all users are "away," then the operational state change of accessory 204(1) may proceed (e.g., turn the lights off).)
determining, based on the second status signal, that a person is within the threshold distance from the location; ([0055] Referring to FIG. 3D, user 340(1) may be a resident of home environment 206 and by crossing geo-fence 330, may trigger any preferred number of accessories that may include turning on lights (e.g., accessory 204(1)), opening a garage door (e.g., accessory 204(2)), unlocking one or more door locks (e.g., accessory 204(3)), setting a new temperature on a thermostat (e.g., accessory 204(4)), or the like. The automation can be associated with controller 202(1) (user 340(1)) and operated by coordinator 210.)
and determining, based on (1) the person being within the threshold distance from the location and (2) the first parent state being an at-location state associated with any one or more persons being at the location, that a set of one or more criteria for the first parent state is satisfied. ([0052] Once registered, coordinator 210 can track a user state for each of the users, which may correspond to whether their corresponding controller device is at the specified location (e.g., within geo-fence boundary 330 or "home") or away from the specified location (e.g., not within geo-fence boundary 330 or "away"). The presence state, as depicted in FIG. 3C, shows that other users are "home" and the action ( e.g., turning off accessory 204(1)) is ignored by coordinator 210, resulting in the lights staying on.)
Regarding Claims 25, 32, 39:
Richardson teaches the inventions of claims 23, 30, 37 as described.
Richardson teaches wherein: the environment is configured to be in the first parent state based on:
determining, based on the first status signal, that the first other device is not within the threshold distance from the location; ([0052] FIG. 3C, controller 202(1) leaves the bounded region defined by geo-fence 330 and sends a boundary-crossing signal to coordinator 210. Instead of immediately switching an operational state of accessory 204(1), coordinator 210 can first check all current user states and update the presence state for home environment 206. When the presence state indicates that all users are "away," then the operational state change of accessory 204(1) may proceed (e.g., turn the lights off).)
determining, based on the second status signal, whether a first set of one or more criteria and a second set of one or more criteria are satisfied; the second set of one or more criteria is different from the first set of one or more criteria; ([0055][0056] determination as to whether criteria is satisfied. [0060] Automation can be controlled on a per-user level and per-home level of control, which may be referred to as "activation granularity." In per-user level activation, an automation can be triggered every time a user included in the automation arrives or leaves a corresponding geo-triggered boundary.) Criteria is based on the user as to authentication and on what level, access to all areas or access to some areas.
and in accordance with a determination that the first set of one or more criteria is satisfied and the second set of one or more criteria is not satisfied, determining that the first parent state is unauthenticated; in accordance with a determination that the first parent state is unauthenticated, the first instruction to change a setting is an instruction to change a second setting; ([0056] In contrast, user 340(2) may be a gardener (i.e., non-resident of home environment 206). When user 340(2) and corresponding controller 202(2) cross geo-fence 330, a boundary-crossing signal may be sent to coordinator 210 to unlock a side gate (e.g., accessory 204(5)). Thus, the gardener is granted automatic access to the backyard, but cannot edit the access and control other parameters of home automation system 300(4).)
and in accordance with a determination that the first set of one or more criteria is satisfied and the second set of one or more criteria is satisfied, determining that the first parent state is authenticated; in accordance with a determination that the first parent state is authenticated, the first instruction to change a setting is an instruction to change a first setting; and the second setting is different from the first setting. ([0060] Automation can be controlled on a per-user level and per-home level of control, which may be referred to as "activation granularity." In per-user level activation, an automation can be triggered every time a user included in the automation arrives or leaves a corresponding geo-triggered boundary. In per-home level activation, the automation can be triggered on boundary changes, e.g., when the first of certain selected users arrives home or when the last of the selected users leaves home. Any number of users can be included in the "selected" group of users. [0056] the gardener is granted automatic access to the backyard, but cannot edit the access and control other parameters of home automation system 300(4).) The settings vary per user. The unauthorized version of the parent state is interpreted as allowing some access at the location but not access to all. The authorized version of the parent state is interpreted as allowing complete access to the user at the location.) The settings that are changed are based per the user and the level of authentication.
Regarding Claims 26, 33, 40:
Richardson teaches the inventions of claims 23, 30, 37 as described.
Richardson teaches wherein determining that the status signal satisfies the child state of the first parent state is satisfied based on the second status signal. ([0055] Referring to FIG. 3D, user 340(1) may be a resident of home environment 206 and by crossing geo-fence 330, may trigger any preferred number of accessories that may include turning on lights (e.g., accessory 204(1)), opening a garage door (e.g., accessory 204(2)), unlocking one or more door locks (e.g., accessory 204(3)), setting a new temperature on a thermostat (e.g., accessory 204(4)), or the like. The automation can be associated with controller 202(1) (user 340(1)) and operated by coordinator 210. [0056] signal from a gardener at a side gate.)
Regarding Claims 27, 34, 41:
Richardson teaches the inventions of claims 23, 30, 37 as described.
Richardson teaches wherein the second status signal includes an indication of movement in or around the location or an indication of recognition of a face of a person. ([0055] Referring to FIG. 3D, user 340(1) may be a resident of home environment 206 and by crossing geo-fence 330, may trigger any preferred number of accessories that may include turning on lights (e.g., accessory 204(1)), opening a garage door (e.g., accessory 204(2)), unlocking one or more door locks (e.g., accessory 204(3)), setting a new temperature on a thermostat (e.g., accessory 204(4)), or the like. The automation can be associated with controller 202(1) (user 340(1)) and operated by coordinator 210. [0056] signal from a gardener at a side gate. [0046] Other signals could be included if the user's device detects nearby accessories that are known to be at the home, or if an accessory in the location (e.g., home) recognizes a particular user ( e.g., security camera).)
Conclusion & Contact Information
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RACHEL J HACKENBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454