DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) were submitted on 06/20/2025, 10/09/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites limitations “the criteria for an unauthenticated version of the parent state” and “the criteria for an authenticated version of the parent state” (respectively) in lines 11 and 14. This renders the claim unclear as there is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. Previous limitations do not recite “a criteria for an unauthenticated version of the parent state” and “a criteria for an authenticated version of the parent state”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2018/0348718 Al (Richardson).
Regarding Claim 1:
Richardson teaches A method comprising:
receiving, by a controller device (ie. coordinator device) and from a first user proxy device (ie. user controller), a first status signal that indicates whether the first user proxy device is associated with a state determined from a hierarchy of potential states, ([0046] geo fence based home automation. [0051] Accessory device 204(1) controlled by any of controllers 202(1)-202(3) and/or coordinator 210. A user state for each of a plurality of users (and their corresponding controller devices) can be tracked and stored. The coordinator device can then determine a presence state (e.g., who is home) for the home environment to determine whether an action should occur ( e.g., turn the lights off when nobody is home) or not occur (e.g., leave the lights on because other users are home).)
the controller device (ie. coordinator device) being configured to send instructions to one or more devices associated with the controller device to enable settings on the one or more devices based at least in part on the state; ([0033] The protocol can further define message formats for controller 102 to send command-and-control messages ("requests" or "control signals") to accessory 112 ( or other accessories) and for accessory 112 to send response messages to controller 102. Instead of immediately switching an operational state of accessory 204(1), coordinator 210 can first check all current user states and update the presence state for home environment 206.)
determining, by the controller device, the state from the hierarchy of potential states by at least:
determining, by the controller device, that a criteria for a parent state (ie. at home or away, parent presence state) of the hierarchy of potential states is satisfied based at least in part on the first status signal, the parent state being associated with a child state (ie. child state, who is at home?); ([0052] Once registered, coordinator 210 can track a user state for each of the users, which may correspond to whether their corresponding controller device is at the specified location (e.g., within geo-fence boundary 330 or "home") or away from the specified location (e.g., not within geo-fence boundary 330 or "away").)
receiving, by the controller device, a second status signal; ([0052] FIG. 3C, controller 202(1) leaves the bounded region defined by geo-fence 330 and sends a boundary-crossing signal to coordinator 210. Instead of immediately switching an operational state of accessory 204(1), coordinator 210 can first check all current user states and update the presence state for home environment 206. When the presence state indicates that all users are "away," then the operational state change of accessory 204(1) may proceed (e.g., turn the lights off).)
determining, by the controller device, whether a second criteria for the child state is satisfied based at least in part on the second status signal; ([0051][0052] some users are still at home, are all users away?) The second status signal is user crossing a boundary leaving, second criteria is determining child state for if all users are away or not.
in accordance with a determination that the second criteria is not satisfied, determining, by the controller device, that the state corresponds to the parent state; ([0052] The presence state, as depicted in FIG. 3C, shows that other users are "home" and the action ( e.g., turning off accessory 204(1)) is ignored by coordinator 210, resulting in the lights staying on.)
and in accordance with a determination that the second criteria is satisfied, determining, by the controller device, that the state corresponds to the child state; ([0052] When the presence state indicates that all users are "away," then the operational state change of accessory 204(1) may proceed (e.g., turn the lights off).)
and determining, by the controller device, the settings for the one or more devices based at least in part on the state; and transmitting, by the controller device to the one or more devices, instructions to enable the settings on the one or more devices. ([0033] The protocol can further define message formats for controller 102 to send command-and-control messages ("requests" or "control signals") to accessory 112 ( or other accessories) and for accessory 112 to send response messages to controller 102. The command-and-control messages can allow controller 102 to interrogate the current state of accessory characteristics and in some instances to modify the characteristics (e.g., modifying the power characteristic can turn an accessory off or on). [0034] The protocol can further provide notification mechanisms that allow accessory 112 ( or other accessories) to selectively notify controller 102 in the event of a state change.)
Regarding Claim 9:
Richardson teaches A controller device (ie. coordinator device), comprising: a memory configured to store computer-executable instructions; and one or more processors in communication with the memory and configured to access the memory and execute the computer-executable instructions ([0104] storage device 812 can store one or more application and/or operating system programs to be executed by processing subsystem 810, including programs to implement various operations described above as being performed by a coordinator. [0124] processors.) to:
receive, from a first user proxy device (ie. user controller), a first status signal that indicates whether the first user proxy device is associated with a state determined from a hierarchy of potential states, ([0046] geo fence based home automation. [0051] Accessory device 204(1) controlled by any of controllers 202(1)-202(3) and/or coordinator 210. A user state for each of a plurality of users (and their corresponding controller devices) can be tracked and stored. The coordinator device can then determine a presence state (e.g., who is home) for the home environment to determine whether an action should occur ( e.g., tum the lights off when nobody is home) or not occur (e.g., leave the lights on because other users are home).)
the controller device (ie. coordinator device) being configured to send instructions to one or more devices associated with the controller device to enable settings on the one or more devices based at least in part on the state; ([0033] The protocol can further define message formats for controller 102 to send command-and-control messages ("requests" or "control signals") to accessory 112 ( or other accessories) and for accessory 112 to send response messages to controller 102. [0052] Instead of immediately switching an operational state of accessory 204(1), coordinator 210 can first check all current user states and update the presence state for home environment 206.)
determine the state from the hierarchy of potential states by at least:
determine that a criteria for a parent state (ie. at home or away, parent presence state) of the hierarchy of potential states is satisfied based at least in part on the first status signal, the parent state being associated with a child state (ie. child state, who is at home?); ([0052] Once registered, coordinator 210 can track a user state for each of the users, which may correspond to whether their corresponding controller device is at the specified location (e.g., within geo-fence boundary 330 or "home") or away from the specified location (e.g., not within geo-fence boundary 330 or "away").)
receive a second status signal; ([0052] FIG. 3C, controller 202(1) leaves the bounded region defined by geo-fence 330 and sends a boundary-crossing signal to coordinator 210. Instead of immediately switching an operational state of accessory 204(1), coordinator 210 can first check all current user states and update the presence state for home environment 206. When the presence state indicates that all users are "away," then the operational state change of accessory 204(1) may proceed (e.g., turn the lights off).)
determine whether a second criteria for the child state is satisfied based at least in part on the second status signal; ([0051][0052] some users are still at home, are all users away?) The second status signal is user crossing a boundary leaving, second criteria is determining child state for if all users are away or not.
in accordance with a determination that the second criteria is not satisfied, determine that the state corresponds to the parent state; ([0052] The presence state, as depicted in FIG. 3C, shows that other users are "home" and the action ( e.g., turning off accessory 204(1)) is ignored by coordinator 210, resulting in the lights staying on.)
and in accordance with a determination that the second criteria is satisfied, determine that the state corresponds to the child state; ([0052] When the presence state indicates that all users are "away," then the operational state change of accessory 204(1) may proceed (e.g., turn the lights off).)
and determine the settings for the one or more devices based at least in part on the state; and transmit, to the one or more devices, instructions to enable the settings on the one or more devices. ([0033] The protocol can further define message formats for controller 102 to send command-and-control messages ("requests" or "control signals") to accessory 112 ( or other accessories) and for accessory 112 to send response messages to controller 102. The command-and-control messages can allow controller 102 to interrogate the current state of accessory characteristics and in some instances to modify the characteristics (e.g., modifying the power characteristic can turn an accessory off or on). [0034] The protocol can further provide notification mechanisms that allow accessory 112 ( or other accessories) to selectively notify controller 102 in the event of a state change.)
Regarding Claim 14:
Richardson teaches A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored thereon program instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a controller device ([0104] storage device 812 can store one or more application and/or operating system programs to be executed by processing subsystem 810, including programs to implement various operations described above as being performed by a coordinator.), cause the controller device to perform operations comprising:
receiving, from a first user proxy device (ie. user controller), a first status signal that indicates whether the first user proxy device is associated with a state determined from a hierarchy of potential states, ([0046] geo fence based home automation. [0051] Accessory device 204(1) controlled by any of controllers 202(1)-202(3) and/or coordinator 210. A user state for each of a plurality of users (and their corresponding controller devices) can be tracked and stored. The coordinator device can then determine a presence state (e.g., who is home) for the home environment to determine whether an action should occur ( e.g., tum the lights off when nobody is home) or not occur (e.g., leave the lights on because other users are home).)
the controller device (ie. coordinator device) being configured to send instructions to one or more devices associated with the controller device to enable settings on the one or more devices based at least in part on the state; ([0033] The protocol can further define message formats for controller 102 to send command-and-control messages ("requests" or "control signals") to accessory 112 ( or other accessories) and for accessory 112 to send response messages to controller 102. [0052] Instead of immediately switching an operational state of accessory 204(1), coordinator 210 can first check all current user states and update the presence state for home environment 206.)
determining the state from the hierarchy of potential states by at least:
determining that a criteria for a parent state (ie. at home or away, parent presence state) of the hierarchy of potential states is satisfied based at least in part on the first status signal, the parent state being associated with a child state (ie. child state, who is at home?); ([0052] Once registered, coordinator 210 can track a user state for each of the users, which may correspond to whether their corresponding controller device is at the specified location (e.g., within geo-fence boundary 330 or "home") or away from the specified location (e.g., not within geo-fence boundary 330 or "away").)
receiving a second status signal; ([0052] FIG. 3C, controller 202(1) leaves the bounded region defined by geo-fence 330 and sends a boundary-crossing signal to coordinator 210. Instead of immediately switching an operational state of accessory 204(1), coordinator 210 can first check all current user states and update the presence state for home environment 206. When the presence state indicates that all users are "away," then the operational state change of accessory 204(1) may proceed (e.g., turn the lights off).)
determining whether a second criteria for the child state is satisfied based at least in part on the second status signal; ([0051][0052] some users are still at home, are all users away?) The second status signal is user crossing a boundary leaving, second criteria is determining child state for if all users are away or not.
in accordance with a determination that the second criteria is not satisfied, determining that the state corresponds to the parent state; ([0052] The presence state, as depicted in FIG. 3C, shows that other users are "home" and the action ( e.g., turning off accessory 204(1)) is ignored by coordinator 210, resulting in the lights staying on.)
and in accordance with a determination that the second criteria is satisfied, determining that the state corresponds to the child state; ([0052] When the presence state indicates that all users are "away," then the operational state change of accessory 204(1) may proceed (e.g., turn the lights off).)
and determining the settings for the one or more devices based at least in part on the state; and transmitting, to the one or more devices, instructions to enable the settings on the one or more devices. ([0033] The protocol can further define message formats for controller 102 to send command-and-control messages ("requests" or "control signals") to accessory 112 ( or other accessories) and for accessory 112 to send response messages to controller 102. The command-and-control messages can allow controller 102 to interrogate the current state of accessory characteristics and in some instances to modify the characteristics (e.g., modifying the power characteristic can turn an accessory off or on). [0034] The protocol can further provide notification mechanisms that allow accessory 112 ( or other accessories) to selectively notify controller 102 in the event of a state change.)
Regarding Claim 2:
Richardson teaches on the invention of Claim 1 as described.
Richardson teaches wherein the second status signal indicates whether the first user proxy device is within a threshold distance from a location. ([0052] FIG. 3C, controller 202(1) leaves the bounded region defined by geo-fence 330 and sends a boundary-crossing signal to coordinator 210.) Geo fence is a threshold distance, a boundary crossing is when the user and their respective controller cross the threshold distance from home.
Regarding Claim 3:
Richardson teaches on the invention of Claim 2 as described.
Richardson teaches further comprising receiving, by the controller device, a third status signal from a third device of the one or more devices associated with the location, the third status signal indicating an event occurred (ie. crossing of the geo-fence 330) within a second threshold distance (ie. geo-fence 330) from the location (ie. home). ([0055] Referring to FIG. 3D, user 340(1) may be a resident of home environment 206 and by crossing geo-fence 330, may trigger any preferred number of accessories that may include turning on lights (e.g., accessory 204(1)), opening a garage door (e.g., accessory 204(2)), unlocking one or more door locks (e.g., accessory 204(3)), setting a new temperature on a thermostat (e.g., accessory 204(4)), or the like. The automation can be associated with controller 202(1) (user 340(1)) and operated by coordinator 210. [0056] signal from a gardener at a side gate.)
Regarding Claim 4:
Richardson teaches on the invention of Claim 3 as described.
Richardson teaches wherein determining that the criteria for the parent state of the hierarchy of potential states is satisfied is further based at least in part on the third status signal, wherein determining that the criteria for the parent state of the hierarchy of potential states is satisfied further includes:
determining, by the controller device, that the first user proxy device is not within the threshold distance from the location based at least in part on the second status signal; ([0052] FIG. 3C, controller 202(1) leaves the bounded region defined by geo-fence 330 and sends a boundary-crossing signal to coordinator 210. Instead of immediately switching an operational state of accessory 204(1), coordinator 210 can first check all current user states and update the presence state for home environment 206. When the presence state indicates that all users are "away," then the operational state change of accessory 204(1) may proceed (e.g., turn the lights off).)
determining, by the controller device, that a person is within the threshold distance from the location based at least in part on the third status signal; ([0055] Referring to FIG. 3D, user 340(1) may be a resident of home environment 206 and by crossing geo-fence 330, may trigger any preferred number of accessories that may include turning on lights (e.g., accessory 204(1)), opening a garage door (e.g., accessory 204(2)), unlocking one or more door locks (e.g., accessory 204(3)), setting a new temperature on a thermostat (e.g., accessory 204(4)), or the like. The automation can be associated with controller 202(1) (user 340(1)) and operated by coordinator 210.)
and determining, by the controller device, that the criteria for the parent state is satisfied based on the person being within the threshold distance from the location, the parent state (ie. presence state) being an at-location state associated with any one or more persons being at the location. ([0052] Once registered, coordinator 210 can track a user state for each of the users, which may correspond to whether their corresponding controller device is at the specified location (e.g., within geo-fence boundary 330 or "home") or away from the specified location (e.g., not within geo-fence boundary 330 or "away"). The presence state, as depicted in FIG. 3C, shows that other users are "home" and the action ( e.g., turning off accessory 204(1)) is ignored by coordinator 210, resulting in the lights staying on.)
Regarding Claim 5:
Richardson teaches on the invention of Claim 3 as described.
Richardson teaches wherein determining that the criteria for the parent state of the hierarchy of potential states is satisfied is further based at least in part on the third status signal, wherein determining that the criteria for the parent state of the hierarchy of potential states is satisfied further includes:
determining, by the controller device, that the first user proxy device is not within the threshold distance from the location based on the second status signal; ([0052] FIG. 3C, controller 202(1) leaves the bounded region defined by geo-fence 330 and sends a boundary-crossing signal to coordinator 210. Instead of immediately switching an operational state of accessory 204(1), coordinator 210 can first check all current user states and update the presence state for home environment 206. When the presence state indicates that all users are "away," then the operational state change of accessory 204(1) may proceed (e.g., turn the lights off).)
determining, by the controller device, whether a first threshold criteria and a second threshold criteria are satisfied based at least in part on the third status signal; ([0055][0056] determination as to whether criteria is satisfied. [0060] Automation can be controlled on a per-user level and per-home level of control, which may be referred to as "activation granularity." In per-user level activation, an automation can be triggered every time a user included in the automation arrives or leaves a corresponding geo-triggered boundary.)
and in accordance with a determination that the first threshold criteria is satisfied (ie. user is at home) and the second threshold criteria is not satisfied (ie. user is not a resident), determining, by the controller device, that the criteria for an unauthenticated version of the parent state is satisfied (ie. side gate may be unlocked); ([0056] In contrast, user 340(2) may be a gardener (i.e., non-resident of home environment 206). When user 340(2) and corresponding controller 202(2) cross geo-fence 330, a boundary-crossing signal may be sent to coordinator 210 to unlock a side gate (e.g., accessory 204(5)). Thus, the gardener is granted automatic access to the backyard, but cannot edit the access and control other parameters of home automation system 300(4).)
and in accordance with a determination that the first threshold criteria is satisfied and the second threshold criteria is satisfied, determining, by the controller device, that the criteria for an authenticated version of the parent state is satisfied, ([0055] Referring to FIG. 3D, user 340(1) may be a resident of home environment 206 and by crossing geo-fence 330, may trigger any preferred number of accessories that may include turning on lights (e.g., accessory 204(1)), opening a garage door (e.g., accessory 204(2)), unlocking one or more door locks (e.g., accessory 204(3)), setting a new temperature on a thermostat (e.g., accessory 204(4)), or the like. The automation can be associated with controller 202(1) (user 340(1)) and operated by coordinator 210.)
wherein determining the settings for the one or more devices is based further at least in part on whether the parent state is the unauthenticated version or the authenticated version. ([0060] Automation can be controlled on a per-user level and per-home level of control, which may be referred to as "activation granularity." In per-user level activation, an automation can be triggered every time a user included in the automation arrives or leaves a corresponding geo-triggered boundary. In per-home level activation, the automation can be triggered on boundary changes, e.g., when the first of certain selected users arrives home or when the last of the selected users leaves home. Any number of users can be included in the "selected" group of users. [0056] the gardener is granted automatic access to the backyard, but cannot edit the access and control other parameters of home automation system 300(4).) The settings vary per user. The unauthorized version of the parent state is interpreted as allowing some access at the location but not access to all. The authorized version of the parent state is interpreted as allowing complete access to the user at the location.
Regarding Claim 6:
Richardson teaches on the invention of Claim 3 as described.
Richardson teaches wherein determining that the criteria for the parent state of the hierarchy of potential states is satisfied is further based at least in part on the third status signal. ([0055] Referring to FIG. 3D, user 340(1) may be a resident of home environment 206 and by crossing geo-fence 330, may trigger any preferred number of accessories that may include turning on lights (e.g., accessory 204(1)), opening a garage door (e.g., accessory 204(2)), unlocking one or more door locks (e.g., accessory 204(3)), setting a new temperature on a thermostat (e.g., accessory 204(4)), or the like. The automation can be associated with controller 202(1) (user 340(1)) and operated by coordinator 210. [0056] In contrast, user 340(2) may be a gardener (i.e., non-resident of home environment 206). When user 340(2) and corresponding controller 202(2) cross geo-fence 330, a boundary-crossing signal may be sent to coordinator 210 to unlock a side gate (e.g., accessory 204(5)).)
Regarding Claim 7:
Richardson teaches on the invention of Claim 3 as described.
Richardson teaches wherein determining that the second criteria for the child state is satisfied is further based at least in part on the third status signal. ([0055] Referring to FIG. 3D, user 340(1) may be a resident of home environment 206 and by crossing geo-fence 330, may trigger any preferred number of accessories that may include turning on lights (e.g., accessory 204(1)), opening a garage door (e.g., accessory 204(2)), unlocking one or more door locks (e.g., accessory 204(3)), setting a new temperature on a thermostat (e.g., accessory 204(4)), or the like. The automation can be associated with controller 202(1) (user 340(1)) and operated by coordinator 210. [0056] signal from a gardener at a side gate.)
Regarding Claim 8:
Richardson teaches on the invention of Claim 3 as described.
Richardson teaches wherein the third status signal is an indication of either movement in or around the location, or recognition of a face of a person. ([0055] Referring to FIG. 3D, user 340(1) may be a resident of home environment 206 and by crossing geo-fence 330, may trigger any preferred number of accessories that may include turning on lights (e.g., accessory 204(1)), opening a garage door (e.g., accessory 204(2)), unlocking one or more door locks (e.g., accessory 204(3)), setting a new temperature on a thermostat (e.g., accessory 204(4)), or the like. The automation can be associated with controller 202(1) (user 340(1)) and operated by coordinator 210. [0056] signal from a gardener at a side gate. [0046] Other signals could be included if the user's device detects nearby accessories that are known to be at the home, or if an accessory in the location (e.g., home) recognizes a particular user ( e.g., security camera).)
Regarding Claim 10:
Richardson teaches on the invention of Claim 9 as described.
Richardson teaches wherein the second status signal indicates whether the first user proxy device is within a threshold distance from a location. ([0052] FIG. 3C, controller 202(1) leaves the bounded region defined by geo-fence 330 and sends a boundary-crossing signal to coordinator 210.) Geo fence is a threshold distance, a boundary crossing is when the user and their respective controller cross the threshold distance from home.
Regarding Claim 11:
Richardson teaches on the invention of Claim 10 as described.
Richardson teaches wherein the one or more processors is further configured to access the memory and execute the computer-executable instructions to receive a third status signal from a second user proxy device, the third status signal indicating whether the second user proxy device ([0056] gardener controller device) is within the threshold distance from the location. ([0055] Referring to FIG. 3D, user 340(1) may be a resident of home environment 206 and by crossing geo-fence 330, may trigger any preferred number of accessories that may include turning on lights (e.g., accessory 204(1)), opening a garage door (e.g., accessory 204(2)), unlocking one or more door locks (e.g., accessory 204(3)), setting a new temperature on a thermostat (e.g., accessory 204(4)), or the like. The automation can be associated with controller 202(1) (user 340(1)) and operated by coordinator 210. [0056] signal from a gardener at a side gate.)
Regarding Claim 12:
Richardson teaches on the invention of Claim 11 as described.
Richardson teaches wherein determining that the criteria for the parent state of the hierarchy of potential states is satisfied is further based at least in part on the third status signal. ([0055] Referring to FIG. 3D, user 340(1) may be a resident of home environment 206 and by crossing geo-fence 330, may trigger any preferred number of accessories that may include turning on lights (e.g., accessory 204(1)), opening a garage door (e.g., accessory 204(2)), unlocking one or more door locks (e.g., accessory 204(3)), setting a new temperature on a thermostat (e.g., accessory 204(4)), or the like. The automation can be associated with controller 202(1) (user 340(1)) and operated by coordinator 210. [0056] In contrast, user 340(2) may be a gardener (i.e., non-resident of home environment 206). When user 340(2) and corresponding controller 202(2) cross geo-fence 330, a boundary-crossing signal may be sent to coordinator 210 to unlock a side gate (e.g., accessory 204(5)).)
Regarding Claim 13:
Richardson teaches on the invention of Claim 12 as described.
Richardson teaches wherein determining that the second criteria for the child state is satisfied is further based at least in part on the third status signal. ([0055] Referring to FIG. 3D, user 340(1) may be a resident of home environment 206 and by crossing geo-fence 330, may trigger any preferred number of accessories that may include turning on lights (e.g., accessory 204(1)), opening a garage door (e.g., accessory 204(2)), unlocking one or more door locks (e.g., accessory 204(3)), setting a new temperature on a thermostat (e.g., accessory 204(4)), or the like. The automation can be associated with controller 202(1) (user 340(1)) and operated by coordinator 210. [0056] signal from a gardener at a side gate.)
Regarding Claim 15:
Richardson teaches on the invention of Claim 14 as described.
Richardson teaches wherein the second status signal indicates whether the first user proxy device is within a threshold distance from a location. ([0052] FIG. 3C, controller 202(1) leaves the bounded region defined by geo-fence 330 and sends a boundary-crossing signal to coordinator 210.) Geo fence is a threshold distance, a boundary crossing is when the user and their respective controller cross the threshold distance from home.
Regarding Claim 16:
Richardson teaches on the invention of Claim 15 as described.
Richardson teaches wherein the operations further comprise receiving a third status signal from the first user proxy device, the third status signal indicating that a user associated with the first user proxy device is intending to go to the location (ie. direction of crossing the geo-fence towards or away from home). ([0055] Referring to FIG. 3D, user 340(1) may be a resident of home environment 206 and by crossing geo-fence 330, may trigger any preferred number of accessories that may include turning on lights (e.g., accessory 204(1)), opening a garage door (e.g., accessory 204(2)), unlocking one or more door locks (e.g., accessory 204(3)), setting a new temperature on a thermostat (e.g., accessory 204(4)), or the like. The automation can be associated with controller 202(1) (user 340(1)) and operated by coordinator 210. [0005] When the user is close to home (e.g., as determined by a boundary of a geo-fence being crossed), a specified device (e.g., lights) can be configured to automatically turn on. Similarly, when a user leaves their home ( e.g., as determined by the geo-fence boundary being crossed in the opposite direction), the specified device can be turned off.)
Regarding Claim 17:
Richardson teaches on the invention of Claim 16 as described.
Richardson teaches wherein determining that the second criteria for the child state is satisfied is further based at least in part on the third status signal. ([0055] Referring to FIG. 3D, user 340(1) may be a resident of home environment 206 and by crossing geo-fence 330, may trigger any preferred number of accessories that may include turning on lights (e.g., accessory 204(1)), opening a garage door (e.g., accessory 204(2)), unlocking one or more door locks (e.g., accessory 204(3)), setting a new temperature on a thermostat (e.g., accessory 204(4)), or the like. The automation can be associated with controller 202(1) (user 340(1)) and operated by coordinator 210. [0056] In contrast, user 340(2) may be a gardener (i.e., non-resident of home environment 206). When user 340(2) and corresponding controller 202(2) cross geo-fence 330, a boundary-crossing signal may be sent to coordinator 210 to unlock a side gate (e.g., accessory 204(5)).)
Regarding Claim 18:
Richardson teaches on the invention of Claim 15 as described.
Richardson teaches wherein the location is one of: a building, a portion of a building, or a room of the building. ([0055] Referring to FIG. 3D, user 340(1) may be a resident of home environment 206 and by crossing geo-fence 330, may trigger any preferred number of accessories that may include turning on lights (e.g., accessory 204(1)), opening a garage door (e.g., accessory 204(2)), unlocking one or more door locks (e.g., accessory 204(3)), setting a new temperature on a thermostat (e.g., accessory 204(4)), or the like. The automation can be associated with controller 202(1) (user 340(1)) and operated by coordinator 210.)
Regarding Claim 19:
Richardson teaches on the invention of Claim 14 as described.
Richardson teaches wherein the second criteria are satisfied, the child state being a transition state associated with a transition criteria (ie. user is not home, user is home) and a timer (ie. time of day), (Fig 10, Time Automation. [0100] User interfaced screen 1000(2) shows an example of various options available when the "time of day occurs" option is selected in screen 1000(1). The user can select the time of day (e.g., sunrise, 30 minutes before sunset, a particular time of day, etc.), how often to repeat the automation ( e.g., which days of the week), and how to "restrict" the location,)
and wherein the operations further comprise: determining whether the transition criteria is satisfied prior to an expiration of the timer; ([0099][0100] User interfaced screen 1000(2) shows an example of various options available when the "time of day occurs" option is selected in screen 1000(1). The user can select the time of day (e.g., sunrise, 30 minutes before sunset, a particular time of day, etc.), how often to repeat the automation ( e.g., which days of the week), and how to "restrict" the location, which may correspond to the presence value.)
in accordance with a determination that the transition criteria is not satisfied (ie. no one is home) prior to the expiration of the timer, determining the state is a second child state (ie. no one is home) of the parent state (ie. home); ([0100] Referring to screen 1000(2), the user selects "only when somebody is home," thereby requiring that the automation can be triggered based on the set time, but only is set when a user is home, and further sets the automation to occur "30 minutes before sunset.".)
and in accordance with a determination that the transition criteria is not satisfied (ie. no one is home) prior to the expiration of the timer, determining the state is the parent state ([0052] “away” parent presence state). ([0100] Other selections include "only when I am home," which can correspond to a user with full privileges ( or any suitable level of privileges); "only when nobody is home," which can correspond to when no identified users are home ( e.g., users with registered mobile devices) or when no people are detected (e.g., both registered and unregistered, such as guests); "only when I am not home," which can correspond to a person with a particular set of privileges is not home.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0348718 Al (Richardson) in view of US 20180091326 A1 (McLaughlin).
Regarding Claim 20:
Richardson teaches on the invention of Claim 14 as described.
Richardson teaches on second status signal related to the child state ([0055][0056] movement of the user) and on bedroom accessories that can be controlled ([0101]). However, Richardson is silent on wherein the second status signal indicates that a user associated with the first user proxy device is going to sleep, and the child state being a going-to-sleep state.
McLaughlin teaches, in the same field of endeavor, on a resident device automatically generating scene suggestions and/or trigger suggestions based on historical data aggregated from multiple user devices, Abstract.
McLaughlin also teaches wherein the second status signal indicates that a user associated with the first user proxy device is going to sleep, and the child state being a going-to-sleep state. ([0095] The historical data may indicate that a particular accessory state change always or mostly precedes a particular event. For example, the user may typically lock the front door before going to sleep. User device 302 can predict when the user will go to sleep and automatically lock the front door in anticipation of the user sleeping. [0099] user device 302 may be configured to determine when the user is sleeping.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Richardson per McLaughlin to include wherein the second status signal indicates that a user associated with the first user proxy device is going to sleep, and the child state being a going-to-sleep state. This would have been advantageous as discussed above, as it would allow the modified system to include states of resting/sleeping as this would allow for a more complete and accurate assessment for controlling accessory settings (ie. lighting, noise).
Conclusion & Contact Information
/RACHEL J HACKENBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454