Detailed Office Action
Applicant’s amendment and arguments dated 7/24/2026 have been entered and fully considered. Claim 1 is amended. Claims 1-5 remain pending.
Response to Amendment and Arguments
Amendment to claim 1 is acknowledged. This amendment is addressed below in the 35 USC 103 section over a new prior art.
The Examiner maintains the double patenting rejection previously set forth in the non-final office action of 4/24/2026, since no argument, as yet, has been presented disputing this rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHO (US-2018/0226623 – of record), hereinafter CHO, in view of TAKAMORI (US-2023/0275319), hereinafter TAKAMORI. Note that the italicized text below are the instant claims.
Regarding claim 1, CHO discloses An electrode assembly, comprising a plurality of electrodes arranged in a stack along a stacking axis with a respective separator portion positioned between each of the electrodes in the stack, the plurality of electrodes including a top one of the plurality of electrodes positioned at a top of the stack along the stacking axis, an intermediate one of the plurality of electrodes positioned between the top electrode and the bottom electrode along the stacking axis, and a bottom one of the plurality of electrodes positioned at a bottom of the stack along the stacking axis, and the separator portions including a top one of the separator portions abutting the top electrode, an intermediate one of the separator portions abutting the intermediate electrode, and a bottom one of the separator portions abutting the bottom electrode {[abstract], [FIG. 1] note the vertical axis of the stack, top electrode, bottom electrode and intermediate electrodes 110 each abutting a separator 120},
wherein the deviations between the air permeability of the intermediate separator portion and the air permeability of the top separator portion or the bottom separator portion of 1 square inch under the pressure condition of 0.05 MPa and at room temperature is less than 20 sec/100ml {[0034] note all separators 120 are the same, thus the deviation between air permeability is near zero that meets this limitation}.
CHO, however, is silent on the last limitation of claim 1 reciting “and wherein the air permeability of the intermediate separator portion is lower than the air permeability of the top separator portion or the bottom separator portion”. The Examiner notes that as shown above the differences between the air permeability of the top, intermediate, and bottom separators of CHO is near zero that allows for further modification to CHO’s electrode assembly to impart small differences between these air permeabilities.
The Examiner also notes that without showing unexpected results, the claimed lower air permeability of the intermediate separator cannot be considered critical. As a matter of fact, throughout the instant disclosure, it is highly emphasized that the main purpose of the invention is to obtain uniform properties for all the separators and therefore, lower air permeability of the intermediate separator is not recognized as critical.
In the same field of endeavor that is related to separators for energy storage device, TAKAMORI teaches that the parameter of air permeability of the separator can be adjusted to prevent self-discharges (limit of the low values) and also obtain satisfactory air permeability (limit of high values) {[0199]}. Therefore, TAKAMORI recognizes this parameter as a result effective variable, affecting the performance of the battery or the energy storage device.
It is well established that determination of optimum values of result-effective variables (in this case the air permeability of various separators on battery performance) is within the skill of one practicing in the art {see MPEP 2144.05 (ll)(B)}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have optimized all the air permeabilities of various separators, which is a result-effective variable through routine experimentation to have determined the optimum performance of the battery, which in some cases, may result in slightly lower intermediate separator air permeability as compared to the top and/or bottom separators.
Regarding claims 2-4, CHO discloses wherein the air permeability of the top separator portion of 1 square inch under the pressure condition of 0.05 MPa and at room temperature is less than 120 sec/100ml (claims 2), wherein the air permeability of the intermediate separator portion of 1 square inch under the pressure condition of 0.05 MPa and at room temperature is less than 120 sec/100ml (claim 3), wherein the air permeability of the bottom separator portion of 1 square inch under the pressure condition of 0.05 MPa and at room temperature is less than 120 sec/100ml (claim 4) {[0053]}.
The Examiner notes that the unit of air permeability disclosed by CHO maybe different from the instant claim, however both recite a range of a less than a value, thus overlapping.
In the case where the claimed values encompass or equal to the ranges disclosed by CHO, the instant claims 2-4 are anticipated.
In the case where the ranges disclosed by CHO encompasses the claimed ranges, A prima facie case of obviousness is established since a claimed narrow range is within a broad prior art range {see MPEP 2144.05 (I)}.
In the alternative, and as discussed above under claim 1, TAKAMORI recognizes air permeability as a result effective variable and therefore as outlined above, obtaining appropriate values is within the skill of an artisan.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of CHO and TAKAMORI as applied to claim 1 above, and further as evidenced by CHUN (US-2020/0227788 – of record), hereinafter CHUN. The Examiner notes that CHUN is an evidentiary document and not a prior art rejection.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of CHO and TAKAMORI discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Furthermore and regarding claim 5, CHO discloses wherein the intermediate separator portion is adhered to the intermediate electrode to a degree that it would take a first peel force per 55 mm width of the intermediate separator portion applied to an edge of the intermediate separator portion in order to peel the intermediate separator portion away from the intermediate electrode at a speed of 100 mm/min along the stacking axis, wherein the top and bottom separator portions are adhered to the respective top and bottom electrodes to a degree that it would take a second peel force per 55 mm width of the respective top and bottom separator portions applied to an edge of the respective top and bottom separator portion in order to peel the respective top and bottom separator portion away from the respective top and bottom electrode at a speed of 100 mm/min along the stacking axis, and wherein a difference between the first peel force and the second peel force is less than 15 gf/20 mm {[abstract], [FIG. 1]; note as evidenced by CHUN in its abstract, all the stack together is hot pressed, thus each of the top, bottom and intermediate separator is adhered to its respective electrode under the same condition(s), thus the difference between the peel force to sperate the separator from its respective electrode is near zero and that meets the limitations above}.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 16-19 of copending Application No. 18/403,361 (hereinafter APPL361), in view of TAKAMORI.
All the limitations of claim 1 is claimed by claim 16 of APPL361, except for the last amended limitation of “and wherein the air permeability of the intermediate separator portion is lower than the air permeability of the top separator portion or the bottom separator portion”.
In the same field of endeavor that is related to separators for energy storage device, TAKAMORI teaches that the parameter of air permeability of the separator can be adjusted to prevent self-discharges (limit of the low values) and also obtain satisfactory air permeability (limit of high values) {[0199]}. Therefore, TAKAMORI recognizes this parameter as a result effective variable, affecting the performance of the battery or the energy storage device.
It is well established that determination of optimum values of result-effective variables (in this case the air permeability of various separators on battery performance) is within the skill of one practicing in the art {see MPEP 2144.05 (ll)(B)}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have optimized all the air permeabilities of various separators, which is a result-effective variable through routine experimentation to have determined the optimum performance of the battery, which in some cases, may result in slightly lower intermediate separator air permeability as compared to the top and/or bottom separators.
Claims 2-4 are claimed by claims 17-18 of APPL361.
Claim 5 is claimed by claim 19 of APPL361.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S. BEHROOZ GHORISHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748