DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-12 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP3231901 in view of CZ282262.
Regarding claim 1, EP3231901 teaches:
1. A spinning line unit for forming a fiber tow, said spinning line unit comprising:
a dissolver unit arranged for dissolution of cellulose pulp in an alkaline aqueous solvent to form a cellulose spin dope composition (EP3231901: paras. 0023 and 0047; figs 1-2; aqueous NaOH constitutes the aqueous alkaline solvent);
a spinning unit arranged for spinning the cellulose spin dope composition in an alkaline aqueous coagulation bath having a pH of more than 7.0, to produce a fiber tow (EP3231901: paras. 0023 and 0047; figs 1-2; aqueous Na2CO3 constitutes the alkaline aqueous coagulation bath, wherein sodium carbonate has a conventionally known pH of 11-12);
an arrangement for stretching (EP3231901: paras.0009, 0028, 0038 and 0047; figs 1-2; stretching is performed on the fiber after the coagulation bath); and
a washing line comprising several washing units arranged in sequence for washing of the produced fiber tow (EP3231901: paras.0028, 0038 and 0047; figs 1-2; the fibers are washed in a series of washing stages).
However, EP3231901 does not teach a washing line having a washing liquid having gradually lower alkalinity. CZ282262 teaches producing an elongated cellulosic fiber by spinning and then washing in a series of washers with each subsequent washer having a washing liquid of lower alkalinity in order to form a fiber having an improved fibrillation resistance (abstract; summary of the invention section; short specification including the teaching that the pH of the baths gradually decreases from about 8.5 until it reaches a pH of 5.5 in the last bath; fig 1). Since EP3231901 and CZ282262 are analogous with washing an elongated cellulosic fiber in a series of washing stages, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to arrange the series of washers of EP3231901 to have the gradual lower alkalinity as taught by CZ282262 in order to improve the fibrillation resistance of the fibers of EP3231901.
Regarding claim 2, such is taught by EP3231901 since sodium carbonate inherently has a pH of 11-12 (EP3231901: paras. 0023 and 0047; figs 1-2; aqueous Na2CO3 constitutes the alkaline aqueous coagulation bath).
Regarding claim 3, such is taught by EP3231901 (EP3231901: paras. 0038; figs 1-2).
Regarding claims 4-5, EP3231901 does not teach the exact number of washing units. However, five or seven washing units are well-known in the cellulose fiber production art for its effectiveness at removing solvents. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate five or seven washing units in the process of EP3231901 in order to ensure a substantial complete removal of solvents from the fibers.
Regarding claim 6, such is taught by EP3231901 (EP3231901: paras. 0038 and 0047; figs 1-2).
Regarding claim 7, such is taught by EP3231901 (EP3231901: paras. 0038 and 0047; figs 1-2).
Regarding claim 8, such is taught by EP3231901 (EP3231901: paras. 0038 and 0047; figs 1-2).
Regarding claim 9, EP3231901 teaches a drying step that inherently includes a drying unit (para. 0038) but does not teach the claimed drying unit. Drying units are well-known in the cellulose fiber production art to ensure the integrity of the fiber prior to subsequent operations such as cutting. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate a drying unit in the process of EP3231901 in order to ensure the integrity of the fiber tow before it is subsequently processed like cutting.
Regarding claim 10, EP3231901 does not teach crimping unit. Crimping units are well-known in the cellulose fiber production art to ensure cohesion and evenness of the fiber. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate a crimping unit in the process of EP3231901 in order to ensure the production of fibers having good internal cohesion and evenness.
Regarding claim 11, EP3231901 does not teach a cutting unit. Cutting units are well-known in the cellulose fiber production art to provide staple fibers. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate a cutting unit in the process of EP3231901 in order to produce staple fibers.
Regarding claim 12, such is taught by EP3231901 (EP3231901: paras. 0030-0031 and 0044; figs 1-2).
Regarding claim 21, such is taught by EP3231901 (EP3231901: para. 0013; aqueous solvent has a preferred temperature of -8C to -2C).
Claim(s) 13-16,18, and 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP3231901 in view of CZ282262.
Regarding claim 13, EP3231901 teaches:
13. A spinning line unit for forming a fiber tow, said spinning line unit comprising:
a dissolver unit arranged for dissolution of cellulose pulp in an alkaline aqueous solvent to form a cellulose spin dope composition (EP3231901: paras. 0023 and 0047; figs 1-2; aqueous NaOH constitutes the aqueous alkaline solvent);
a spinning unit arranged for spinning the cellulose spin dope composition in an alkaline aqueous coagulation bath having a pH of more than 7.0 to produce a fiber tow (EP3231901: paras. 0023 and 0047; figs 1-2; aqueous Na2CO3 constitutes the alkaline aqueous coagulation bath); and
a washing line, wherein the spinning line unit also comprises one or more stretch control units for controlling the stretching for elongation (EP3231901: paras.0009, 0028, 0038 and 0047; figs 1-2; stretching is performed on the fiber after the coagulation bath; washing is performed in a series of washing stages).
However, EP3231901 does not teach a washing line having a washing liquid having gradually lower alkalinity. CZ282262 teaches producing an elongated cellulosic fiber by spinning and then washing in a series of washers with each subsequent washer having a washing liquid of lower alkalinity in order to form a fiber having an improved fibrillation resistance (abstract; summary of the invention section; short specification including the teaching that the pH of the baths gradually decreases from about 8.5 until it reaches a pH of 5.5 in the last bath; fig 1). Since EP3231901 and CZ282262 are analogous with washing an elongated cellulosic fiber in a series of washing stages, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to arrange the series of washers of EP3231901 to have the gradual lower alkalinity as taught by CZ282262 in order to improve the fibrillation resistance of the fibers of EP3231901.
Regarding claim 14, EP3231901 does not teach crimping unit. Crimping units are well-known in the cellulose fiber production art to ensure cohesion and evenness of the fiber. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate a crimping unit in the process of EP3231901 in order to ensure the production of fibers having good internal cohesion and evenness.
Regarding claim 15, EP3231901 does not teach a cutting unit. Cutting units are well-known in the cellulose fiber production art to provide staple fibers. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate a cutting unit in the process of EP3231901 in order to produce staple fibers.
Regarding claim 16, such is taught by EP3231901 (EP3231901: paras. 0038; figs 1-2).
Regarding claim 18, EP3231901 does not teach the exact number of washing units. However, at least five washing units are well-known in the cellulose fiber production art for its effectiveness at removing solvents. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate five or seven washing units in the process of EP3231901 in order to ensure a substantial complete removal of solvents from the fibers.
Regarding claim 22, such is taught by EP3231901 (EP3231901: para. 0013; aqueous solvent has a preferred temperature of -8C to -2C).
Regarding claim 23, such is taught by EP3231901 (EP3231901: para. 0033; sodium carbonate is conventionally known to have a typical pH of 11-12)
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP3231901.
19. A spinning line unit for forming a fiber tow, said spinning line unit comprising:
a dissolver unit arranged for dissolution of cellulose pulp in an alkaline aqueous solvent, preferably in a cold alkaline aqueous solvent at a temperature of 0ºC or lower, to form a cellulose spin dope composition (EP3231901: paras. 0023 and 0047; figs 1-2; aqueous NaOH constitutes the aqueous alkaline solvent);
a spinning unit arranged for spinning the cellulose spin dope composition in an alkaline aqueous coagulation bath having a pH of more than 7.0 to produce a fiber tow (EP3231901: paras.0028, 0038 and 0047; figs 1-2; the dilution of the NaOH entrained within the fibers during each washing step of the consecutive washing steps constitutes the claimed consecutive lower alkalinity);
an arrangement for stretching (EP3231901: paras.0009, 0028, 0038 and 0047; figs 1-2; stretching is performed on the fiber after the coagulation bath); and
a washing line, wherein the spinning unit also comprises means for enabling zinc to diffuse out from the fiber tow and precipitate in a washing liquid, and for precipitated zinc to follow the washing line, for recycling and reuse of zinc in the dissolver unit (EP3231901: paras.0025, 0028, 0030-0033, 0038,0044, and 0047; figs 1-2).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP3231901 in view of WO2018/169479.
Regarding claim 20, EP3231901 teaches:
A spinning line unit for forming a fiber tow, said spinning line unit comprising:
a dissolver unit arranged for dissolution of cellulose pulp in an alkaline aqueous solvent to form a cellulose spin dope composition (EP3231901: paras. 0023 and 0047; figs 1-2; aqueous NaOH constitutes the aqueous alkaline solvent);
a spinning unit arranged for spinning the cellulose spin dope composition in an alkaline aqueous coagulation bath having a pH of more than 7.0 to produce a fiber tow (EP3231901: paras.0028, 0038 and 0047; figs 1-2; the dilution of the NaOH entrained within the fibers during each washing step of the consecutive washing steps constitutes the claimed consecutive lower alkalinity);
an arrangement for stretching (EP3231901: paras.0009, 0028, 0038 and 0047; figs 1-2; stretching is performed on the fiber after the coagulation bath); and
a washing line (EP3231901: paras.0009, 0028, 0038 and 0047; figs 1-2)
wherein the spinning line unit comprises a drying step that inherently includes a drying unit (EP3231901: para. 0038).
However, EP3231901 does not teach a fiber tow drying unit adapted to perform a drying operation in which the fiber tow is dried in an unconstrained fashion, substantially free from sharp bends, to allow free shrinkage substantially without tension in the fiber direction, for the production of a washed and dried fiber tow. WO2018/169479 teaches drying a fiber tow within a drying unit in order to increase tensile strength and cellulose crystallinity of the fiber tow (pg 6: last paragraph-pg 7: first paragraph). Since EP3231901 and WO2018/169479 are analogous with respect to producing cellulose fiber tows, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate a drying unit as taught by WO2018/169479 in order to increase tensile strength and cellulose crystallinity of the fiber tow.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-12,13-16,18,19,20, and 21-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Google result showing that sodium carbonate has a conventionally known pH of 11-12, i.e. a pH of at least 10.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
EHL
/EDMUND H LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744