Election/Restrictions
Claims 21-23 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on August 20, 2026, wherein they elected Species C (figures 8-9) and identified claims 14-20 and 24-33 as reading on the elected species.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed October 31, 2024, fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Specifically, The IDS of 10/31/2024 lists three Mexican Office Actions as NPL (cite nos. 119-121) but has not provided a translation for any of the documents.
Additionally, it is noted that the IDS of June 4, 2026, does not appear to cite any relevant patents or publications as all eight (8) references are directed to either a fastener or fixing plug. Examiner has crossed through the references as not considered.
If the applicant did intend for the references of 6/4/2026 to be cited, an explanation of their relevance is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-20 and 24-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leng (US 11,142,949) in view of Lorentsson et al. (US pub 2020/0247220).
Leng discloses: 14. An extension ladder (“stretchable ladder”) comprising:
a base section (outer ladder, figure 1) having a first base rail and second base rail (opposing rails 20 of outer ladder, figure 1) and a plurality of base rungs (60, figure 1) between the first base rail and second base rail (figure 1);
the first base rail including a guide groove (formed by hook 36, figure 4, see below) extending along at least a portion of a length of the first base rail (figure 4);
a fly section (inner ladder, figure 1) having a first fly rail and second fly rail (opposing rails 10 of inner ladder, figure 1) and a plurality of fly rungs (40) between the first fly rail and second fly rail (figure 1); and
the first fly rail (20, figure 4) including a guide bracket (14, figure 4) having an engagement portion (portion of 14 parallel to wall 22, figure 4, see below) extending into the guide groove (figure 4, see below) and configured to slide along the guide groove (formed by 36) as the fly section moves relative to the base section to maintain the fly section in alignment with the base section (col. 3, lines 24-28).
Leng does not disclose the guide bracket (14) including at least one spring to maintain contact between the engagement portion and the guide groove.
However, Lorentsson et al. teach: the guide bracket (540, figure 10) including at least one spring (546a, 547a, 590a, 592a; figure 12) to maintain contact between the engagement portion (594, figure 10) and the guide groove (570, figures 10, 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the guide bracket of Leng with at least one spring to maintain contact between the engagement portion and the guide groove, as taught by Lorentsson et al., so as to limit movement in the lateral directions (with respect to the longitudinal sliding direction) so as to better control the sliding movement of the rails.
The above combination of Leng in view of Lorentsson et al. would result in:
15. The extension ladder of claim 14 wherein the at least one spring includes one or more deflectable tabs (546a, 547a, 590a, 592a; figure 12, Lorentsson et al.) of the engagement portion (figure 12, Lorentsson et al.).
16. The extension ladder of claim 14 wherein the at least one spring includes a first deflectable tab (546a, figure 13, Lorentsson et al.) on a first side of the engagement portion (figure 13, Lorentsson et al.) and a second deflectable tab (547a, Lorentsson et al.) on a second side of the engagement portion opposite the first side (figure 13, Lorentsson et al.).
17. The extension ladder of claim 14 wherein the at least one spring includes a deflectable tab (592a, Lorentsson et al.) at a terminal end of the engagement portion (figure 12, Lorentsson et al.).
18. The extension ladder of claim 14 wherein the guide bracket (540, figure 10, Lorentsson et al.) includes a support portion (horizontal portion of 540 onto which 594 is attached) extending from the first fly rail (when applied in combination with Leng) and a spring bracket (594, figure 10) including the at least one spring secured to an end of the support portion opposite the first fly rail (figure 10).
19. The extension ladder of claim 14 wherein the guide bracket (540, Lorentsson et al.) includes a first portion secured to the first fly rail (just as one end of 540 is secured to 15) and a second portion extending outward of the first fly rail to the engagement portion (figure 10, Lorentsson et al.).
20. The extension ladder of claim 14 wherein the guide bracket has an L-shape cross-section (Leng figure 4)
24. The extension ladder of claim 14 wherein the second base rail includes a second guide groove (figure 1 of Leng shows both base rails having the same construction) extending along at least a portion of a length of the second base rail (figure 4, same construction for both base rails); and
wherein the second fly rail includes a second guide bracket having a second engagement portion extending into the second guide groove and configured to slide along the second guide groove as the fly section moves relative to the base section (figure 1 of Leng shows both fly rails having the same construction), the second guide bracket maintaining the fly section in alignment with the base section (Leng, col. 3, lines 24-28), the second guide bracket including at least one spring to maintain contact between the second engagement portion and the second guide groove (when in combination with the engagement portion of Lorentsson et al, as taught in claim 1; note that both Leng and Lorentsson et al. teach guide brackets fitting into guide channels on both sides of their sliding members)
25. The extension ladder of claim 14 wherein the guide bracket includes a support portion (540, Lorentsson et al.) extending from the first fly rail (when applied to Leng) and a spring bracket (594, Lorentsson et al.) and the at least one spring includes a first deflectable tab (546a Lorentsson et al.) on a first side of the engagement portion (figures 12-13 Lorentsson et al.), a second deflectable tab (547a Lorentsson et al.) on a second side of the engagement portion opposite the first side (figures 12-13), and a third deflectable tab (592a Lorentsson et al.) oriented orthogonal to the first deflectable tab and the second deflectable tab (figures 12-13).
26. Leng discloses: An extension ladder (“stretchable ladder”) comprising:
a base section (outer ladder, figure 1) having a first base rail and second base rail (opposing rails 20 of outer ladder, figure 1) and a plurality of base rungs (60, figure 1) between the first base rail and second base rail (figure 1), the first base rail including a groove (formed by hook 36, figure 4, see below) extending along at least a portion of a length of the first base rail (figure 4);
a fly section (inner ladder, figure 1) movable relative to the base section, the fly section having a first fly rail and second fly rail (opposing rails 10 of inner ladder, figure 1) and a plurality of fly rungs (40) between the first fly rail and second fly rail (figure 1); and
the fly section (20, figure 4) including a guide bracket (14, figure 4) having an engagement portion (portion of 14 parallel to wall 22, figure 4, see below) engaging the groove of the first base rail (figure 4, see below) to guide movement of the fly section relative to the base section (col. 3, lines 24-28).
Leng does not disclose the engagement portion conformable to a shape of the groove to maintain contact between the engagement portion and the groove as the fly section moves relative to the base section.
However, Lorentsson et al. teach: the engagement portion (594, see below) conformable to a shape of the groove (via spring tabs 546a, 547a, 590a, 592a; figure 12) to maintain contact between the engagement portion and the groove (figure 11) as the fly section (window 15) moves relative to the base section (window guide).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the guide bracket of Leng with an engagement portion conformable to a shape of the groove to maintain contact between the engagement portion and the groove, as taught by Lorentsson et al., so as to limit movement in the lateral directions (with respect to the longitudinal sliding direction) so as to better control the sliding movement of the rails.
27. The extension ladder of claim 26 wherein the engagement portion (594 Lorentsson et al.) includes one or more deflectable tabs (546a, 547a, 590a, 592a; figure 12, Lorentsson et al.) to contact the groove (figure 11 Lorentsson et al).
28. The extension ladder of claim 27 wherein the one or more deflectable tabs (546a, 547a, 590a, 592a; figure 12, Lorentsson et al.) contact the groove and space a remainder of the guide bracket (540) from contact with the first base rail (figure 11, Lorentsson et al.)
29. The extension ladder of claim 26 wherein the engagement portion (594) includes a first deflectable tab (546a, figure 13, Lorentsson et al.) on a first side of the engagement portion (figure 13, Lorentsson et al.) and a second deflectable tab (547a, Lorentsson et al.) on a second side of the engagement portion opposite the first side (figure 13, Lorentsson et al.).
30. The extension ladder of claim 26 wherein the engagement portion (594) includes a deflectable tab (592a) at a terminal end of the engagement portion (figures 12-13, Lorentsson et al.).
31. The extension ladder of claim 26 wherein the guide bracket (540, figure 10, Lorentsson et al.) includes a support portion (horizontal portion of 540 onto which 594 is attached) extending from the first fly rail (when applied in combination with Leng) and a spring bracket (clamping portions of 594) including the engagement portion (tabs of 594) secured to an end of the support portion opposite the first fly rail (figure 10 Lorentsson et al.).
32. The extension ladder of claim 26 wherein the groove includes a first portion (578, Lorentsson et al.) and an opposite second portion (574, Lorentsson et al.) limiting lateral movement of the guide bracket (figure 11), the engagement portion being conformable in a lateral direction to maintain contact with at least one of the first portion and second portion of the groove (figure 11).
33. The extension ladder of claim 32 wherein the groove includes a third portion (576 Lorentsson et al.) between the first portion and second portion (figure 11) limiting transverse movement of the guide bracket (figure 11), the engagement portion being conformable in a transverse direction to maintain contact with the third portion of the groove (figure 11).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
COLLEEN M. CHAVCHAVADZE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3634
/COLLEEN M CHAVCHAVADZE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634