DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is responsive to communication received 10/31/2024 – application papers received, including IDS; and 01/13/2025 – Response to Notice to File Corrected Application Papers, including replacement drawing.
Drawings
The drawings (FIGS. 1 and 3-8) were received on 10/31/2024. These drawings are acceptable.
The replacement drawing (FIG. 2) was received 01/13/2025. This drawing is acceptable.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
FOLLOWING IS AN ACTION ON THE MERITS:
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
The Supreme Court in KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper "functional approach" to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham. The key to supporting any rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is the clear articulation of the reason(s) why the claimed invention would have been obvious. The Supreme Court in KSR noted that the analysis supporting a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 should be made explicit. In Ball Aerosol v. Ltd. Brands, 555 F.3d 984, 89 USPQ2d 1870 (Fed. Cir. 2009), the Federal Circuit offered additional instruction as to the need for an explicit analysis. The Federal Circuit explained that the Supreme Court’s requirement for an explicit analysis does not require record evidence of an explicit teaching of a motivation to combine in the prior art.
"[T]he analysis that "should be made explicit" refers not to the teachings in the prior art of a motivation to combine, but to the court’s analysis. . . . Under the flexible inquiry set forth by the Supreme Court, the district court therefore erred by failing to take account of 'the inferences and creative steps,' or even routine steps, that an inventor would employ and by failing to find a motivation to combine related pieces from the prior art." Ball Aerosol, 555 F.3d at 993, 89 USPQ2d at 1877.
The Federal Circuit’s directive in Ball Aerosol was addressed to a lower court, but it applies to Office personnel as well. When setting forth a rejection, Office personnel are to continue to make appropriate findings of fact as explained in MPEP § 2141 and § 2143, and must provide a reasoned explanation as to why the invention as claimed would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. This requirement for explanation remains even in situations in which Office personnel may properly rely on intangible realities such as common sense and ordinary ingenuity.
I. EXEMPLARY RATIONALES
Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Claims 1-3, 7-8, 11-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPN 5,800,297 to Aldstadt in view of US PUBS 2011/0117336 to Savagian et al (hereinafter referred to as “Savagian”) and also in view of US PUBS 2023/0285839 to Finlayson et al (hereinafter referred to as “Finlayson”).
As to independent claim 1, Aldstadt shows a kit (10; FIG. 1) for constructing a sports court comprising: a package (i.e., container 12; FIG. 1); and a plurality of tape lines (14-30) positioned in the package (12), the plurality of tape lines (14-30) including longer length lines that provide sidelines, medium length lines that provide baselines and kitchen lines, and shorter lines that provide service lines (i.e., Aldstadt notes that the tape lines may be fashioned according to the court designations used for various sports including tennis and other related sports (i.e., col. 2, lines 26-31; and col. 3, lines 26-36), each of the plurality of tape lines including an adhesive side (i.e., col. 3, lines 42-49).
Aldstadt differs from the claimed invention in that Aldstadt does not explicitly disclose “an opposite slip-resistant side, wherein indicia are included on the slip-resistant side of at least some of the plurality of tape lines to indicate connection locations to other of the plurality
of tape lines, and wherein the sidelines are a first color, the baselines are a second color that is different from the first color, and the service lines are a third color that is different from the first color and the second color”. It is noted that Aldstadt does recognize that the tape lines may include a desired texture (i.e., col. 2, lines 15-19) and that the tape lines may be provided with indicia formed thereon to help a user arrange the tape lines in the proper orientation to form the markings on the court (i.e., col. 4, lines 44-46). In an analogous art concerned with tape lines that are configured to be adhered to a flooring surface, Savagian shows it to be old to take advantage of a non-skid coating on one side of a tape and adhesive material on an opposite side of the tape in order to enhance the safety of the end user (i.e., paragraph [0032] and FIG. 1E). It is noted that Savagian further provides for suitable graphics (i.e., layer 12) provided on the tape to be displayed to the user (i.e., paragraphs [0020], [0026] and FIG. 1). In view of the teaching in Savagian, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device in Aldstadt by providing a slip-resistant side to the tape lines (14-20) located opposite to the adhesive side, the motivation being to provide an enhanced degree of safety when a player walks or runs across the lines placed on the playing court. As for the various claimed, color requirements for the tape lines, Aldstadt already recognizes that the tape lines may incorporate features to provide good visibility (e.g., color; see col. 4, lines 6-11). In addition, Finlayson is cited to show that it is old in the art to provide strips that are placed on a surface to mark a surface with designations commonly applied to a pickleball court, with one or more colors to denote various sides or areas or boundaries of the court (i.e., see FIG. 1 and paragraph [0018]). Also, note that Finlayson teaches that the strips used to mark a court may include color to mark points of intersection of the various strips (i.e., see paragraph [0018] in Finlayson). In view of the combined teachings in Aldstadt, Savagian and Finlayson, providing the slip-resistant feature to the tape in Aldstadt in combination with suitable indicia on the tape would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as the use of graphics and more particularly the incorporation of color as part of a tape would have enhanced the ability of the end user to more easily see the tape lines and to more readily identify the different areas of the court. In view of the combined teachings in Aldstadt, Savagian and Finlayson, providing the tape in Aldstadt in combination with suitable indicia on the tape (e.g., indicia to establish connection locations) would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as the use of indicia would have facilitated the placement and assembly of the tape lines for marking the court boundaries.
As to claim 2, Aldstadt includes a pre-measured string or tape measure or conventional measuring device (i.e., col. 4, lines 40-44). Clearly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a string or tape measure that accounts for measurements related to the combined length(s) of the various lines or boundary markings that are to be presented on the court, simply as a matter of convenience for outlining the positions of the tape lines.
As to claim 3, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included tape lines that represent “two sidelines, four baselines, and two service lines”, as these “lines” are representative of known boundary designations in court games such as tennis and pickleball. Note that Aldstadt discloses that the kit may include tapes representing the lines on a tennis court (i.e., col. 2, lines 26-31; and col. 3, lines 26-36). In addition, Finlayson teaches that the various ‘tapes’ or fabric strips are fabricated and sized to represent the lines on a pickleball court (i.e., see paragraphs [0005], [0017] and [0018]).
As to claim 7, Aldstadt discloses a peel-away backing is arranged on the adhesive side
of each of the plurality of tape lines (i.e., col. 3, lines 42-65).
As to claim 8, FIG. 1 in Aldstadt shows a box (i.e., container 12; FIG. 1).
As to independent claim 11, Aldstadt shows a kit (10; FIG. 1) for constructing a sports court comprising: a package (i.e., container 12; FIG. 1); and a plurality of tape lines (14-30) positioned in the package (12), the plurality of tape lines (14-30) including lines of a first length, lines of a second length and lines of a third length (i.e., Aldstadt notes that the tape lines may be fashioned according to the court designations used for various sports including tennis and other related sports (i.e., col. 2, lines 26-31; and col. 3, lines 26-36), each of the plurality of tape lines including an adhesive side (i.e., col. 3, lines 42-49). Aldstadt also includes a pre-measured string or tape measure or conventional measuring device (i.e., col. 4, lines 40-44). Clearly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a string or tape measure that accounts for “a fourth length that is greater than the first length” so that measurements related to the combined lengths of the various first, second and third lengths of lines or boundary markings that are to be presented on the court may be more easily measured and arranged on the court, simply as a matter of convenience.
Although Aldstadt does not explicitly detail the claimed “connection locations” when discussing the indica on the tape lines, Aldstadt does disclose that the tape lines may include indicia to assist the consumer in laying out and applying the same to the playing surface (i.e., see col. 1, line 66 through col. 2, line 22). Moreover, Savagian further provides for suitable graphics (i.e., layer 12) to be displayed to the user (i.e., paragraphs [0020], [0026] and FIG. 1). In addition, Finlayson is cited to show that it is old in the art to provide strips that are placed on a surface to mark a surface with designations commonly applied to a pickleball court, with one or more colors to denote various sides or areas or boundaries of the court (i.e., see FIG. 1 and paragraph [0018]). Also, note that Finlayson teaches that the strips used to mark a court may include color to mark points of intersection of the various strips (i.e., see paragraph [0018] in Finlayson). In view of the combined teachings in Aldstadt, Savagian and Finlayson, providing the tape in Aldstadt in combination with suitable indicia on the tape (e.g., indicia to establish connection locations) would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as the use of indicia would have facilitated the placement and assembly of the tape lines for marking the court boundaries.
As to claim 12, Aldstadt discloses a peel-away backing is arranged on the adhesive side
of each of the plurality of tape lines (i.e., col. 3, lines 42-65).
As to claims 13-16, it is noted that Aldstadt does recognize that the tape lines may include a desired texture (i.e., col. 2, lines 15-19) and that the tape lines may be provided with indicia formed thereon to help a user arrange the tapes in the proper orientation to form the court (i.e., col. 4, lines 44-46). In an analogous art concerned with tape lines that are configured to be adhered to a flooring surface, Savagian shows it to be old to take advantage of a non-skid coating on one side of a tape and adhesive material on an opposite side of the tape in order to enhance the safety of the end user (i.e., paragraph [0032] and FIG. 1E). It is noted that Savagian further provides for suitable graphics (i.e., layer 12) to be displayed to the user (i.e., paragraphs [0020], [0026] and FIG. 1). In view of the teaching in Savagian, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device in Aldstadt by providing a slip-resistant side to the tape lines (14-20) located opposite to the adhesive side, along with indicia provided on the side having the slip-resistant feature, the motivation being to provide an enhanced degree of safety when a player walks or runs across the lines placed on the playing court and to enable the player to easily view the indicia. More specific to claims 14-16, note that Finlayson teaches that the strips used to mark a court may include color to mark points of intersection of the various strips (i.e., see paragraph [0018] in Finlayson). Insofar as the use of a specific “four indicia” and “one center indicia” (claim 14) and/or “first color” and “second color” (claims 15-16), the use of specific graphics and more particularly the incorporation of color would have enhanced the ability of the end user to more easily see the tape lines and to more readily identify the different areas of the court and thus set up and lay a pattern on a court in the correct orientation for a specific court game. Such a modification of the Aldstadt to include the features of claims 14-16, given the combined teachings of Aldstadt, Savagian and Finlayson, would have involved combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
As to claim 17, Aldstadt notes that the tape lines may be fashioned according to the court designations used for various sports including tennis and other related sports (i.e., col. 2, lines 26-31; and col. 3, lines 26-36. In addition, Finlayson is cited to show that it is old in the art to provide strips that are placed on a surface to mark a surface with designations commonly applied to a pickleball court (i.e., see FIG. 1 and paragraph [0018]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device in Aldstadt by supplying tape lines indicative of “two sidelines, four baselines, and two service lines” to accommodate the laying out of a common pattern on a court for playing pickleball.
As to claim 18, in addition to the comments for claim 17 hereinabove, note that Aldstadt teaches that the tape lines may be provided with reflective properties (i.e., see Abstract, along with col. 2, line 19 and lines 35-37 in Aldstadt).
As to claim 20, Aldstadt does not explicitly disclose “a slip-resistant material”. It is noted that Aldstadt does recognize that the tape lines may include a desired texture (i.e., col. 2, lines 15-19) and that the tape lines may be provided with indicia formed thereon to help a user arrange the tapes in the proper orientation to form the court (i.e., col. 4, lines 44-46). In an analogous art concerned with tape lines that are configured to be adhered to a flooring surface, Savagian shows it to be old to take advantage of a non-skid coating on one side of a tape and adhesive material on an opposite side of the tape in order to enhance the safety of the end user (i.e., paragraph [0032] and FIG. 1E). It is noted that Savagian further provides for suitable graphics (i.e., layer 12) to be displayed to the user (i.e., paragraphs [0020], [0026] and FIG. 1). In view of the teaching in Savagian, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device in Aldstadt by providing a slip-resistant side to the tape lines (14-20) located opposite to the adhesive side, the motivation being to provide an enhanced degree of safety when a player walks or runs across the lines placed on the playing court. As for the “rectangular shapes” of the first indicia and the second indicia, note that at least Savagian obviates the use of designs such as geometric figures as part of the graphics associated with the tape lines (i.e., see paragraph [0026] in Savagian). Thus, the use of “rectangular shapes” for the first indicia and the second indicia would have involved an obvious design choice.
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPN 5,800,297 to Aldstadt in view of US PUBS 2011/0117336 to Savagian et al (hereinafter referred to as “Savagian”) and also in view of US PUBS 2023/0285839 to Finlayson et al (hereinafter referred to as “Finlayson”) and also in view of US PUBS 2019/0321713 to Hackenberger et al (hereinafter referred to as “Hackenberger”).
As to claim 4, Savagian renders it obvious to size the tape lines to a width of between
one inch and four inches (i.e., paragraph [0006]). Tapes dimensioned to a width within the claimed range would have been more easily viewed by a player during the game. Tapes dimensioned within the claimed range would also have been consistent with prescribed sizing by the USAPA, which regulates sizing of court markings for pickleball (i.e., see paragraph [0007] in Hackenberger). In view of the teachings in Savagian and Hackenberger, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device in Aldstadt by sizing the tape lines to a width between one inch and four inches for better visibility and for conformance with official rules of a particular court game such as pickleball.
As to claim 5, Aldstadt in view of Savagian and Finlayson collectively disclose a pickleball court (i.e., see at least paragraphs [0003], [0005], [0010], [0018] and [0022] in Finlayson). However, the combination of Aldstadt, Savagian and Finlayson does not explicitly disclose “wherein the sidelines are between forty-three feet six inches and forty-four feet in length, wherein the baselines are between nineteen feet six inches and twenty feet in length, and wherein the services lines are between fourteen feet six inches and fifteen feet in length”. These measurements are common in designating the lengths of the lines used on a regulation pickleball court. Also, see FIGS. 1A, and 1C along with paragraphs [0004], [0007] and [0025] in Hackenberger. In view of the above reasoning and the further teaching in Hackenberger, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device in Alstadt by dimensioning the tape lines to conform to the common lengths of the various “lines” used in pickleball in order to more accurately depict the sizes of the various sections of the court according to the rules associated for a particular sport (i.e., in this case, pickleball).
As to claim 6, Aldstadt includes a pre-measured string or tape measure or conventional measuring device (i.e., col. 4, lines 40-44). Clearly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a string or tape measure that accounts for measurements related to the combined length(s) of the various lines or boundaries markings that are to be presented on the court, simply as a matter of convenience in marking the locations of the tape lines as the court is assembled.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPN 5,800,297 to Aldstadt in view of US PUBS 2011/0117336 to Savagian et al (hereinafter referred to as “Savagian”) and also in view of US PUBS 2023/0285839 to Finlayson et al (hereinafter referred to as “Finlayson”) and also in view of USPN 4,834,392 to Nixon.
As to claim 9, Aldstadt, while disclosing that a net is provided around which the tape lines may be positioned (i.e., col. 5, line 18 through col. 6, line 3), does not explicitly disclose “at least two paddles and a net positioned in the box”. Nixon shows it to be old in the art to provide a kit that includes marking lines, a net and paddles so that a court game may be conveniently set-up (i.e., see FIGS. 2-3 along with the Abstract, and col. 2, line 54 through col. 3, line 22). In view of the teaching in Nixon, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device in Aldstadt by including at least two paddles and a net within the container (12) for the convenience of a player such that a court game may be set-up in its entirety using one kit that holds all of the necessary components to play a particular court game.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPN 5,800,297 to Aldstadt in view of US PUBS 2011/0117336 to Savagian et al (hereinafter referred to as “Savagian”) and also in view of US PUBS 2023/0285839 to Finlayson et al (hereinafter referred to as “Finlayson”) and also in view of USPN 4,834,392 to Nixon and also in view of US PUBS 2013/0029794 to Kortegast.
As to claim 10, Aldstadt, as modified by Savagian, Finlayson and Nixon, lacks “printed instructions for assembly of the sports court positioned in the box”. Here, Kortegast shows it to be old in the art to provide a court game in a kit fashion along with instructions (i.e., see FIGS. 1-2; and paragraphs [0021] – [0022]). It is also noted that many commercially-available games are provided with an instruction manual or sheet to advise the user of any warnings or dangers associated with use and/or misuse of the game and/or to instruct a user how to assemble and use the components of the game. In view of the teaching in Kortegast and the above reasoning, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device in Aldstadt by including instructions as part of the kit so that a player would have been clearly made aware of how to set-up and use the game and its components.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPN 5,800,297 to Aldstadt in view of US PUBS 2023/0285839 to Finlayson et al (hereinafter referred to as “Finlayson”).
As to independent claim 19, Aldstadt shows a kit (10; FIG. 1) for constructing a sports court comprising: a package (i.e., container 12; FIG. 1); and a plurality of tape lines (14-30) positioned in the package (12). It is noted that Aldstadt does recognize that the tape lines may include a desired texture (i.e., col. 2, lines 15-19) and that the tape lines may be provided with indicia formed thereon to help a user arrange the tape lines in the proper orientation to form the markings on the court (i.e., col. 4, lines 44-46). However, Aldstadt does not explicitly disclose “sidelines having a first primary color, baselines having a second primary color, and service lines having a third primary color, each of the plurality of tape lines including an adhesive side and an opposite side, the plurality of sidelines including first indicia defined by the second primary color, and the plurality of base lines including second indicia defined by the third primary color” (emphasis added). Here, Finlayson is cited to show that it is old in the art to provide strips that are placed on a surface to mark a surface with designations commonly applied to a pickleball court, with one or more colors to denote various sides or areas or boundaries of the court (i.e., see FIG. 1 and paragraph [0018]). In view of the combined teachings in Aldstadt and Finlayson, providing the tape lines in Aldstadt with suitable indicia in the form of one or more of a first color, a second color and a third color on the tape lines would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as the use of graphics and more particularly the incorporation of color would have enhanced the ability of the end user to more easily see the tape lines and to more readily identify the different areas of the court.
Claim Objections - Minor
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 2, “one inches” should read --one inch--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 13, line 1, is “indicia” referring to the indicia already recited in claim 11, line 8? Or, is a different indicia being referenced?
As to claim 14, line 2, is “connection locations” referring to the connection locations already recited in claim 11, line 9? Or, is a different connection locations being referenced?
As to claim 14, line 3, is the “one center indicia” referring to the same one center indicia in line 2? Or, is a different one center indicia being referenced?
As to claims 15-16, these claims share the indefiniteness of claim 14.
Further References of Interest
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fig. 1 in Moore (‘484);
Fig. 1 and claim 1 in Kayser shows a tape for outlining a tennis court;
Moore (‘799) shows a marking tape;
Healy discusses a marking tape;
Pearson shows a tape for marking a court game;
Abbott shows a court construction using tape;
See the Abstract in Scarpa;
Brown shows a kit including flexible tape and a net for constructing a tennis court game;
See Figs. 2 and 4 in Moore (‘359);
Leonard discusses instructions for assembly and play of a court game;
See Fig. 1 in McNutt;
Kessler shows a kit having paddles for a net game;
Fig. 1 I Kanda;
See “Background of the Invention” in Winter, which discusses roughened lines on a court game;
Trotman shows a kit with a net assembly;
In Aldstadt (‘095), see Fig. 7 and the discussion on col. 6, line 17 through col. 8, line 26;
Deppen shows a kit with paddles;
See the Abstract in Cengarle;
Lessack shows a ball game kit;
See FIGS. 1A-2B and the Abstract in Savagian;
Johnson shows a ball-tossing kit;
Risi shows slip-resistant tape lines (Fig. 5);
Berk shows a pickleball training device;
Fig. 1 in Di Laura;
Fig. 2 and the Abstract in Ho;
WO-2007150029-A2 reveals a field boundary tape system;
GB-258879-A shows a tennis tape;
GB-160309-A is related to marking a tennis court;
DE-4237204-C2 shows a court line marking system; and
DE-202015000453-U1 shows marking lines.
Conclusion
SEBASTIANO PASSANITI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3711
/SEBASTIANO PASSANITI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711