DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A – Figs. 1-2 and 4 an claims 1-15 in the reply filed on January 16, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 16-20 is/are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Reference characters 102, 112 and 122 (in Fig. 1) have NO lead lines; therefore, it is unclear as to which structure(s) they are referring to or referencing.
Reference character 110 (in Fig. 1) is pointing to the wrong structure. It is currently pointing to the rim (of the bottom end) NOT the diameter of the bottom end.
Reference character 204 (in Fig. 2) has NO lead lines; therefore, it is unclear as to which structure(s) they are referring to or referencing.
Reference characters 404 (in Fig. 4) has NO lead lines; therefore, it is unclear as to which structure(s) they are referring to or referencing.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: as noted in the drawing objections above. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 9 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, ln. 1, the preamble currently reads “A cap for an alcohol bottle comprising;” should be change to “A cap for an alcohol comprising[[;]]:” to correct the typographical error.
In claim 9, ln. 1, the preamble currently reads “A cap for an alcohol bottle comprising;” should be change to “A cap for an alcohol comprising[[;]]:” to correct the typographical error.
The forgoing analysis may not be exhaustive. Applicant should carefully proofread all claims and make all necessary corrections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In claim 7, ln. 1-2, the phrase, “…a plurality of LEDs extending around a terminal edge of said tapered wall…” renders the claim to be vague and indefinite because it is unclear from the original disclosure as to how the plurality of LEDs will work or powered WITHOUT any corresponding circuitry or power source provided. Further clarification is required. An art rejection is provided as best understood by the examiner; emphasis added.
In claim 15, ln. 1-2, the phrase, “…a plurality of LEDs extending around a terminal edge of said tapered wall…” renders the claim to be vague and indefinite because it is unclear from the original disclosure as to how the plurality of LEDs will work or powered WITHOUT any corresponding circuitry or power source provided. Further clarification is required. An art rejection is provided as best understood by the examiner; emphasis added.
Claims 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 and its dependents are indefinite because it is not clear whether claim 1 is drawn to the sub-combination of: a cap FOR an alcohol bottle, OR whether the claim is drawn to the combination of: a cap AND an alcohol bottle and its corresponding structures (i.e. neck and threads). This is because while some portion of the claim indicate that what is claimed is the sub-combination (see claim 1, ln. 1-2, “for an alcohol bottle” and “for sealing on a neck of a bottle”), other portions of the claim indicate that what is claimed is the combination (see claim 1, ln. 11, requiring “wherein said plurality of threads matingly engage a plurality of threads on an alcohol bottle”). It is noted further in connection with this limitation that it is by now well settled that features not claimed may not be relied upon in support of patentability. In this office action, the alcohol bottle and its corresponding structure(s) is presumed not to be claimed in order for the examiner to give the claim its broadest reasonable interpretation. Accordingly, all references in the claim to the alcohol bottle and its corresponding structure(s) are considered to be merely functional. On the other hand, clarification of the scope of claim(s) is/are required.
In claim 1, ln. 2 and 11, the phrases in each instance, “…a bottle…” and “...an alcohol bottle…” renders the claim to be vague and indefinite because it is unclear if the applicant is encompassing the same “an alcohol bottle” (of ln. 1) OR different “bottle(s)” in these occurrences. Therefore, it is unclear as to which aforementioned structure(s) is being encompassed with such language. Further clarification is required.
In claim 2, ln. 1-3, the phrases, “…a top end of the alcohol bottle…”, “…the plurality of threads of the alcohol bottle…” and “…the alcohol bottle…” renders the claim to be vague and indefinite because the applicant HAS NOT positively recited the alcohol bottle and its corresponding structure(s) per se in claim 1 (which claim 2 depends from). Therefore, it is unclear as to which aforementioned structure(s) is being encompassed with such language. Further clarification is required.
In claim 4, ln. 2, the phrase, “…the top end of the alcohol bottle…” renders the claim to be vague and indefinite because the applicant HAS NOT positively recited the alcohol bottle and its corresponding structure(s) per se in claims 1-3 (which claim 4 depends from). Therefore, it is unclear as to which aforementioned structure(s) is being encompassed with such language. Further clarification is required.
In claim 8, ln. 1, the phrase, “…said sealable shot cap…” lacks antecedent basis and renders the claims to be vague and indefinite because it is unclear as to which aforementioned structure(s) is being encompassed with such language. Further clarification is required.
Claim 9 and its dependents are indefinite because it is not clear whether claim 1 is drawn to the sub-combination of: a cap FOR an alcohol bottle, OR whether the claim is drawn to the combination of: a cap AND an alcohol bottle and its corresponding structures (i.e. neck and threads). This is because while some portion of the claim indicate that what is claimed is the sub-combination (see claim 9, ln. 1-2, “for an alcohol bottle” and “for sealing on a neck of a bottle”), other portions of the claim indicate that what is claimed is the combination (see claim 9, ln. 11, requiring “wherein said plurality of threads matingly engage a plurality of threads on an alcohol bottle”). It is noted further in connection with this limitation that it is by now well settled that features not claimed may not be relied upon in support of patentability. In this office action, the alcohol bottle and its corresponding structure(s) is presumed not to be claimed in order for the examiner to give the claim its broadest reasonable interpretation. Accordingly, all references in the claim to the alcohol bottle and its corresponding structure(s) are considered to be merely functional. On the other hand, clarification of the scope of claim(s) is/are required.
In claim 9, ln. 2 and 11, the phrases in each instance, “…a bottle…” and “...an alcohol bottle…” renders the claim to be vague and indefinite because it is unclear if the applicant is encompassing the same “an alcohol bottle” (of ln. 1) OR different “bottle(s)” in these occurrences. Therefore, it is unclear as to which aforementioned structure(s) is being encompassed with such language. Further clarification is required.
In claim 10, ln. 2-3, the phrases, “…a top end of the alcohol bottle…”, “…the plurality of threads of the alcohol bottle…” and “…the alcohol bottle…” renders the claim to be vague and indefinite because the applicant HAS NOT positively recited the alcohol bottle and its corresponding structure(s) per se in claim 9 (which claim0 10 depends from). Therefore, it is unclear as to which aforementioned structure(s) is being encompassed with such language. Further clarification is required.
In claim 12, ln. 2, the phrase, “…the top end of the alcohol bottle…” renders the claim to be vague and indefinite because the applicant HAS NOT positively recited the alcohol bottle and its corresponding structure(s) per se in claims 9-11 (which claim 12 depends from). Therefore, it is unclear as to which aforementioned structure(s) is being encompassed with such language. Further clarification is required.
As for claims 2-8 and 10-15, due to their dependencies from claims 1 and 9 (respectively), they too have these deficiencies.
Examiner's note: The forgoing analysis may not be exhaustive. Applicant should carefully proofread all claims and make all necessary corrections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohn (US 20080011710 A1 – art of record; hereinafter Cohn) in view of Wall (US 2804103 A; hereinafter Wall).
Regarding claim 1, Cohn teaches a cap for an alcohol bottle comprising;
a shot cap (5) having a plurality of threads (10; for sealing on a neck of a bottle);
wherein said shot cap having a tapered wall extending from a circular top closed end to a circular bottom open end;
wherein said circular top closed end having a first diameter;
wherein said circular bottom open end having a second diameter;
wherein said first diameter is less than said second diameter;
wherein said plurality of threads extend around an inner surface of said tapered wall proximal to said circular top closed end;
wherein said plurality of threads matingly engage a plurality of threads on an alcohol bottle (Cohn [0010-0012] and Fig. 1).
However, Cohn fails to teach wherein said shot cap having a plurality of measures, and further wherein said plurality of measures selected from the group consisting of 1.50-ounce, 1.00-ounce, 0.75-ounce, and 0.50-ounce.
Wall is in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, which is a measuring threaded cap or closure. Wall teaches a measuring threaded cap embodiment (10; as shown in Figs. 1-2) comprising:
a cap having a plurality of threads (15; for sealing on a neck of a bottle (16));
wherein said cap having a circular top closed end to a circular bottom open end;
wherein said cap having a plurality of measures (i.e. in the form of series of marks or graduations (22));
wherein said plurality of threads extend around an inner surface proximal to said circular top closed end;
wherein said plurality of threads matingly engage with a plurality of threads on the bottle; and
wherein said plurality of measures selected from the group consisting of 0.50 oz, 1.00 oz or 1.50 oz (Wall Col. 2 ln. 30-48).
With this in mind, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the shot cap (of Cohn) with a similar plurality of measures (as taught by Wall) to allow the user to dispense exact amount of content from the bottle.
Regarding claim 9, Cohn teaches a cap for an alcohol bottle comprising;
a shot cap (5) having a plurality of threads (10; for sealing on a neck of a bottle);
wherein said shot cap having a tapered wall extending from a circular top closed end to a circular bottom open end;
wherein said circular top closed end having a first diameter;
wherein said circular bottom open end having a second diameter;
wherein said first diameter is less than said second diameter;
wherein said plurality of threads extend around an inner surface of said tapered wall proximal to said circular top closed end;
wherein said plurality of threads matingly engage a plurality of threads on an alcohol bottle; and
wherein said shot cap having a material of translucent plastic (Cohn [0010-0012] and Fig. 1).
However, Cohn fails to teach wherein said shot cap having a plurality of measures, wherein said plurality of measures and a liquid contained in said shot cap are visible through said tapered wall; and further wherein said plurality of measures selected from the group consisting of 1.50-ounce, 1.00-ounce, 0.75-ounce, and 0.50-ounce.
Wall is in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, which is a measuring threaded cap or closure. Wall teaches a measuring threaded cap embodiment (10; as shown in Figs. 1-2) comprising:
a cap having a plurality of threads (15; for sealing on a neck of a bottle (16));
wherein said cap having a circular top closed end to a circular bottom open end;
wherein said cap having a plurality of measures (i.e. in the form of series of marks or graduations (22));
wherein said plurality of threads extend around an inner surface proximal to said circular top closed end;
wherein said plurality of threads matingly engage with a plurality of threads on the bottle; and
wherein said plurality of measures selected from the group consisting of 0.50 oz, 1.00 oz or 1.50 oz (Wall Col. 2 ln. 30-48).
With this in mind, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the shot cap (of Cohn) with a similar plurality of measures (as taught by Wall) to allow the user to dispense exact amount of content from the bottle.
Regarding claims 2 and 10, modified Cohn as above further teaches wherein said circular top closed end rests on a top end of the alcohol bottle when said plurality of threads are fully engaged with the plurality of threads of the alcohol bottle to seal the alcohol bottle (Cohn [0010-0012]).
Regarding claims 3 and 11, modified Cohn as above further teaches wherein said plurality of threads originate at a periphery adjacent to said circular top closed end (see Cohn Fig. 1).
Claims 4-6, 8 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the applied references (as applied to claims 1 and 9 above) and further in view of Earls (US 4273247 A; hereinafter Earls).
Regarding claims 4 and 12, modified Cohn as above further teaches all the structural limitations as set forth in claims 1 and 9 (respectively), except for wherein said circular top closed end having an inner surface including a liner for providing a seal with the top end of the alcohol bottle.
Earls is in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, which is a cap assembly. Earls teaches a cap assembly comprising:
a cap (i.e. the combination of cup (11) AND bottle cap (21)) having a plurality of threads (22; for sealing a neck (18) of a bottle (12));
wherein said cap having a tapered wall (27) extending from a circular top closed end (26) to a circular bottom open end;
wherein said circular top closed end having a first diameter;
wherein said circular bottom open end having a second diameter;
wherein said first diameter is less than said second diameter;
wherein said plurality of threads extend around an inner surface of said tapered wall proximal to said circular top closed end;
wherein said plurality of threads matingly engage a plurality of threads (19) on the bottle; and wherein said circular top closed end having an inner surface including a liner (see annotated Earls Figs. 2 below) for providing a seal with a top end of the bottle (Earls Col. 2 ln. 48 – Col. 3 ln. 50 and Col. 3 ln. 60-68 and Figs. 1-3 and 5).
With this in mind, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inner surface of the said circular top closed end (of Cohn) with a similar liner (as taught by Earls) as additional seal which acts as a tamper-evident feature (to let the user know if the bottle has been previously opened).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, modified Cohn as above further teaches wherein said shot cap having a volume of at least one ounce (Cohn [0012]).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, modified Cohn as above further teaches wherein said tapered wall having said plurality of measures including 0.50 oz and 1.00 oz (see Wall Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 8, modified Cohn as above further teaches wherein said [sealable] shot cap having a material selected from the group consisting of a metal or a plastic (Cohn [0012]).
Claims 7 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the applied references (as applied to claims 6 and 14 above) and further in view of Chang (US 8403514 B2; hereinafter Chang).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Cohn as above teaches all the structural limitations as set forth in claims 6 and 14 (respectively), except for wherein said tapered wall having a plurality of LEDs extending around a terminal edge of said tapered wall.
Chang is in the same filed of endeavor as the claimed invention, which is an illuminated beverage container (i.e. cup or glass). Chang teaches a cup (10) having a tapered wall (11 and 113) extending from a circular top closed end (112) to a circular bottom open end (111);
wherein said circular top closed end having a first diameter;
wherein said circular bottom open end having a second diameter;
wherein said first diameter is less than said second diameter; and
wherein said tapered wall having a plurality of LEDs (125) extending around a terminal edge (i.e. adjacent to the circular bottom open end (111)) of said tapered wall (Chang Col. 1 ln. 25 – Col. 2 ln. 36 and Figs. 1-2).
With this in mind, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the terminal edge of said tapered wall (of Cohn) with similar plurality of LEDs (as taught by Chang) to allow the user to easily locate the overall cap or glass.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited documents are listed on the attached PTO-892 form.
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the applicant, in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or prior art(s) disclosed by the Examiner (in the attached PTO-892 form).
/B. V. P./
Examiner, Art Unit 3736
/ORLANDO E AVILES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3736