DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 13-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (US 2022/0344528).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a metal-semiconductor contact structure in Figures 1 and 4,
wherein the metal-semiconductor contact structure comprises a metal electrode (silver first electrode 13) and a semiconductor layer (silicon doped emitter 11) in contact with each other (Figure 1, [30] and [36]), the metal electrode (13) has a metal element (silver, [36]), the semiconductor layer (11) has a semiconductor element (silicon) and a doping element for doping the semiconductor layer ([36] and [34], emitter is a silicon semiconductor with a doping element);
a contact interface between the metal electrode (13) and the semiconductor layer (11) has holes (openings for the conductive structure reads on “holes”) and a conductive structure (171, 131, 132) (Figures 1 and 4 and [30], [36], [39], [46]), the holes are formed in a glass frit (16) (Figure 4 and [46]), the conductive structure comprises a conductive eutectic (171) adjacent to the semiconductor layer (11), and a conductive crystal extending (131, 132) from the conductive eutectic (171) into the holes (Figure 4 and [30], [36], [39], [46] and [78], the conductive eutectic is a silver- silicon eutectic and the conductive crystals are silver microcrystals), the conductive eutectic (171) comprises a eutectic formed by the metal element (silver) and the semiconductor element (silicon) ([30] and [36], silver silicon eutectic), the conductive crystal (131, 132) comprises a crystal formed by crystallization of the metal element ([78], silver microcrystals formed during processing).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Zhang additionally discloses that the metal-semiconductor contact structure has a first conductive region and a second conductive region outside the first conductive region (Figures 1 and 4), the first conductive region has the holes (openings) and the conductive structure (Figure 4), the second conductive region has the glass frit (16) and metal particles ([37]-[38]), the glass frit (16) is in contact with the semiconductor layer (11) through a portion of a passivation layer (12) on the semiconductor layer (Figures 1, 4 and [37]);
wherein the metal particles form a direct conductive contact with the semiconductor layer (11) through the portion of the passivation layer (12) (Figure 1, 4, [37] and [76]-[77]);
the metal particles and the conductive crystal have a same metal element (silver nanoparticles and silver microcrystals, [37]).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Zhang additionally discloses that the conductive crystal (131, 132) is contained in the holes (Figure 4 and [46]).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Zhang additionally discloses that the conductive crystal (131, 132) comprises a crystalline main chain and a crystalline side chain extending from the crystalline main chain toward a direction different from a growth direction of the crystalline main chain (Figures 1 and 4, [42], [44], [46] and [85], see branched and bifurcating crystal structure).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Zhang additionally discloses that a size of the conductive crystal is 10 nm to 100 nm ([42], see diameter of 15nm, 30nm or 35nm and length of 0.1 µm (100nm)).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Zhang additionally discloses that the metal electrode (13) is a silver electrode and an aluminum impurity content of the silver electrode is less than 0.1wt% ([36], the metal electrode can be pure silver).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Zhang additionally discloses a solar cell (Figures 1 and 4 and [30]), wherein the solar cell comprises the metal-semiconductor contact structure as set forth above (Figures 1 and 4).
Regarding claim 14, Zhang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Zhang additionally discloses that the solar cell further comprises: a silicon substrate (10) having the light-receiving surface with a textured surface structure ([31]-[33] and [57]-[58]); wherein the metal-semiconductor contact structure is provided on the light-receiving surface and/or a backlight surface of the silicon substrate (Figure 1), the semiconductor layer (11) of the metal- semiconductor contact structure is provided close to the silicon substrate (10) (Figure 1), and the semiconductor layer (11) also has the textured surface structure ([34], emitter layer 11 can also be textured).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Zhang additionally discloses that the textured surface structure is a pyramid structure ([34] and [57]), and the holes in the metal-semiconductor contact structure are located at and near a spire of the pyramid structure ([57] and [78], the pyramid structure is located at the interface of the emitter layer and the metal layer and thus the holes are necessarily located “at and near” a spire of the pyramid structure. A spire can be interpreted as any portion of the pyramid structure that is not flat.).
Regarding claim 16, Zhang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Zhang additionally discloses that the solar cell is a TOPCon cell (Figure 6 and [51]) and the solar cell comprises:
a silicon substrate (20) ([51], [33] and [62]);
a PN junction region ([57], [62] and [34], emitter forms a pn junction with the substrate), a first passivation layer (12, [35]), and a first metal electrode (13) sequentially provided on a light-receiving surface of the silicon substrate in a direction away from the light- receiving surface ([36]), wherein the PN junction region is a first semiconductor layer (11) ([33]-[34], emitter can be a doped portion of semiconductor substrate or a separate semiconductor layer);
a passivation contact structure (interface passivation layer 241 and field passivation layer 242), a second passivation layer (silicon nitride layer 243) and a second metal electrode (silver electrode 25) sequentially provided on a backlight surface of the silicon substrate (20) in a direction away from the backlight surface ([51]), wherein the passivation contact structure comprises a tunneling passivation layer (interface passivation layer 241 which is a silicon dioxide tunnel oxide, [35], [51] and [63]) provided close to the silicon substrate (20) and a doped silicon layer (242) provided away from the silicon substrate ([63], doped polysilicon layer), the doped silicon layer (242) has a same conductivity type as the silicon substrate (20) ([51] and [63], the field passivation layer has a same conductivity type as the substrate), and the doped silicon layer is a second semiconductor layer ([51 and [63]);
the first metal electrode (13) penetrates the first passivation layer (12) into contact with the first semiconductor layer (11) so that the PN junction region and the first metal electrode (13) form the metal- semiconductor contact structure (Figure 6 and [53]), and/or,
the second metal electrode (25) penetrates the second passivation layer (243) into contact with the doped silicon layer (242) so that the doped silicon layer and the second metal electrode form the metal-semiconductor contact structure (Figure 6 and [51]-[52]);
wherein, the first semiconductor layer (11) is formed by performing thermal diffusion of the doping element to the silicon substrate ([58] and [34]), or the first semiconductor layer is a doped polysilicon layer or a doped amorphous silicon layer deposited on the light-receiving surface of the silicon substrate ([33]-[34]); and/or,
the first passivation layer (12) is one or more of an aluminum oxide layer, a silicon oxide layer, a silicon oxynitride layer, and a silicon nitride layer deposited on the PN junction region ([35], silicon dioxide); and/or,
the tunneling passivation layer (241) is at least one of a silicon oxide layer, an amorphous silicon layer, a polycrystalline silicon layer, and a silicon carbide layer ([51], silicon dioxide); and/or,
the second passivation layer (243) is one or more of a silicon oxide layer, a silicon oxynitride layer, and a silicon nitride layer deposited on the second semiconductor layer (242) (Figure 6 and [51], silicon nitride on doped polysilicon).
Regarding claim 20, Zhang discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Zhang additionally discloses a photovoltaic module, wherein the photovoltaic module comprises the solar cell as set forth above ([18]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Zhang does not disclose that a contact interface between the metal electrode and the semiconductor layer has holes and a conductive structure, the holes are formed in a glass frit, the conductive structure comprises a conductive eutectic adjacent to the semiconductor layer, and a conductive crystal extending from the conductive eutectic into the holes, the conductive eutectic comprises a eutectic formed by the metal element and the semiconductor element, the conductive crystal comprises a crystal formed by crystallization of the metal element.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Zhang discloses a contact interface between the metal electrode (13) and the semiconductor layer (11) has holes (openings for the conductive structure reads on “holes”) and a conductive structure (171, 131, 132) (Figures 1 and 4 and [30], [36], [39], [46]), the holes are formed in a glass frit (16) (Figure 4 and [46]), the conductive structure comprises a conductive eutectic (171) adjacent to the semiconductor layer (11), and a conductive crystal extending (131, 132) from the conductive eutectic (171) into the holes (Figure 4 and [30], [36], [39], [46] and [78], the conductive eutectic is a silver- silicon eutectic and the conductive crystals are silver microcrystals), the conductive eutectic (171) comprises a eutectic formed by the metal element (silver) and the semiconductor element (silicon) ([30] and [36], silver silicon eutectic), the conductive crystal (131, 132) comprises a crystal formed by crystallization of the metal element ([78], silver microcrystals formed during processing).
Applicant further argues that the "first eutectic 171" of Zhang is a eutectic mixture, not a eutectic crystal. A eutectic mixture is a physical blend of two substances, whereas the "conductive eutectic" of the present application is a eutectic crystal, which involves the doping of two different atoms at the crystal structure level. The "first eutectic 171" of Zhang is primarily formed during the sintering process, with a maximum temperature of only 850°C (see paragraphs [0075] to [0078] of the specification of Zhang), which is insufficient to reach the melting point of silver-silicon (961C). Therefore, the "first eutectic 171" of Zhang is merely a mixture of silver and silicon. In contrast, the claimed invention employs a "corona discharge-like principle" that can instantaneously reach nearly 2000°C, providing sufficient temperature for silver and silicon to cool and crystallize.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “a eutectic crystal”, “a eutectic crystal, which involves the doping of two different atoms at the crystal structure level” and a “corona discharge-like principle that can instantaneously reach nearly 2000°C, providing sufficient temperature for silver and silicon to cool and crystallize”) are not recited in the rejected claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The claims do not require a “eutectic crystal” or doping of two different atoms at the crystal structure level” nor do the claims require any particular method of manufacturing. The claims simply require “a conductive eutectic” and “a conductive crystal extending from the conductive eutectic into the holes, the conductive eutectic comprises a eutectic formed by the metal element and the semiconductor element, the conductive crystal comprises a crystal formed by crystallization of the metal element”. The eutectic material disclosed by Zhang is a conductive eutectic (171) comprising a eutectic formed by the metal element (silver) and the semiconductor element (silicon) ([30] and [36], silver silicon eutectic) which reads on the claim limitations.
Applicant additionally argues that the "conductive crystal" of the present application is not equivalent to the "first crystal structure 131" or "second crystal structure 132" of Zhang, as their extension directions are entirely different. Applicant argues that Zhang does not disclose that the "the conductive structure comprises a conductive eutectic adjacent to the semiconductor layer, and a conductive crystal extending from the conductive eutectic into the holes".
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Zhang discloses a conductive crystal extending (131, 132) from the conductive eutectic (171) into the holes (Figure 4 and [30], [36], [39], [46] and [78], the conductive eutectic is a silver- silicon eutectic and the conductive crystals are silver microcrystals). The openings for the conductive structure including the conductive crystal read on the “holes” and are not required to extend in any particular direction. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a particular extension direction of the conductive crystal and “the conductive eutectic has lower contact resistivity than the non- eutectic state of the metal nanoparticle and the semiconductor material, that is, the conductive eutectic has lower contact resistivity”) are not recited in the rejected claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The structure recited in the instant specification may be different than the structure disclosed in Zhang; however, such differences are irrelevant unless they are required by the claims. Applicant’s arguments do not specifically point out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the Zhang reference and the arguments are not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LINDSEY A BUCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728