Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ray (WO 2021207501) in view of Oyman (US 2021/0006614).
For claims 1 and 5, Ray discloses an encoding and decoding method comprising ([0002] This disclosure relates to point cloud encoding and decoding):
decoding geometry data of point cloud data in a bitstream ([0041] The G-PCC decoder may decode a point of the point cloud data based on the number of probes in the azimuth direction of the second laser); and
decoding attribute data of the point cloud data ([0022] FIG. 2 is a block diagram illustrating an example Geometry Point Cloud Compression (G-PCC) encoder.),
wherein the decoding the geometry data includes generating a predictive tree ([0080] Octree synthesis unit 306 may synthesize an octree based on syntax elements parsed from the geometry bitstream. In instances where surface approximation is used in the geometry bitstream, surface approximation synthesis unit 310 may determine a surface model based on syntax elements parsed from the geometry bitstream and based on the octree)
based on an azimuth for the geometry data ( [0093] As shown in FIG.5, while capturing points, each laser 504 of laser package 500 rotates around a z axis 508. The information about how many probes (scanning instant) each of lasers 504 performs in one full turn (360 degrees), i.e., the information about scanning in azimuth or phi direction, can be used to improve the x and y plane position of planar mode, and similarly for x- and y- position bits for IDCM (see e.g., Sébastien Lasserre, Jonathan Taquet, “[GPCC][CE 13.22 related] The new azimuthal coding mode,” ISO/IEC JTC1/SC29/WG11 MPEG/m51596, Brussels, BE, Jan.2020).),
Ray does not expressly disclose wherein the bitstream includes type information related to the predictive tree.
Oyman teaches wherein the bitstream includes type information related to the predictive tree. ([0036] The V-PCC unit header describes the V-PCC unit type. Currently, five different unit types are supported. The sequence parameter set (SPS) unit type describes the entire V-PCC bitstream and its subcomponents).
It would be obvious to combine the origin point teachings of Oyman to comply with G-PCC coding standards.
For claims 3 and 7, Ray discloses wherein the bitstream includes information related to the azimuth for the geometry data ( [0093] As shown in FIG.5, while capturing points, each laser 504 of laser package 500 rotates around a z axis 508. The information about how many probes (scanning instant) each of lasers 504 performs in one full turn (360 degrees), i.e., the information about scanning in azimuth or phi direction, can be used to improve the x and y plane position of planar mode, and similarly for x- and y- position bits for IDCM (see e.g., Sébastien Lasserre, Jonathan Taquet, “[GPCC][CE 13.22 related] The new azimuthal coding mode,” ISO/IEC JTC1/SC29/WG11 MPEG/m51596, Brussels, BE, Jan.2020).).
For claims 4 and 8, Ray discloses wherein the point cloud data is acquired based on a laser sensor and points of the geometry data have laser angles ([0004] In general, this disclosure describes techniques for coding of laser angles for angular and azimuthal modes in the Geometry-based Point Cloud Compression (G-PCC) standard that is being developed within the 3-dimensional graphics (3DG) working group of the Motion Picture Experts Group (MPEG),
wherein the points are re-ordered based on the laser angles([0105] The laser angles may be arranged in a sorted format, e.g., the angles are monotonically increasing or decreasing with the array index. If not arranged in this format, a preprocessing of the input can be possible to sort the angles prior to coding.) and
wherein a predictive tree for the points is generated ([0080] Octree synthesis unit 306 may synthesize an octree based on syntax elements parsed from the geometry bitstream. In instances where surface approximation is used in the geometry bitstream, surface approximation synthesis unit 310 may determine a surface model based on syntax elements parsed from the geometry bitstream and based on the octree).
Ray does not expressly disclose wherein a point is selected as an origin for points of the geometry data in response to the point having a laser angle of 90 degree and a left position.
Oyman teaches wherein a point is selected as an origin for points of the geometry data in response to the point having a laser angle of 90 degree and a left position ([0073] cc.coverageInfo@center_azimuth O Range is Specifies the azimuth of the centre point of [−180* 2.sup.−16, 180* 2.sup.−16] the sphere region in units of 2.sup.−16 degrees relative to the global coordinate axes. When not present, cc.coverageInfo@centre_azimuth is inferred to be equal to 0. cc.coverageInfo@center_elevation O Range is Specifies the elevation of the centre point of [−90* 2.sup.−16, 90* 2.sup.−16] the sphere region in units of 2.sup.−16 degrees relative to the global coordinate axes.). It would be obvious to combine the origin point teachings of Oyman to comply with G-PCC coding standards.
Claims 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ray (WO 2021207501) and Oyman (US 2021/0006614) in view of Vosoughi (US 20200013215).
For claims 2 and 6, while Ray does not Vosoughi teaches wherein points of the geometry data are sorted based on an order of Morton codes ([0060] In accordance with an embodiment, the flat geometry code 310A may be generated in accordance with a Morton order (or a Z-order). The encoder circuitry 206 may be configured to generate the flat geometry code 310A in accordance with the Morton order.). It would be obvious to combine the Morton code teachings of Vosoughi to increase coding efficiency.
For claims 9 and 10, Ray and Oyman disclose the claimed limitations as discussed for corresponding limitations in claim 1 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Boivin; Samuel et al. US 20150084951 A1 SYSTEM FOR MIXING OR COMPOSITING IN REAL-TIME, COMPUTER GENERATED 3D OBJECTS AND A VIDEO FEED FROM A FILM CAMERA
WOO; Haena US 20200013221 A1 XR DEVICE AND METHOD FOR CONTROLLING THE SAME
ZHANG DEJUN et al. KR 20210030440 A Point cloud encoding method, point cloud decoding method, encoder, and decoder
/NEIL R MIKESKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485