DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 2, the term “,RS,” in line 11 should be changed to “(RS)” to clarify that the term is intended to be an acronym of the term “reference signal” in the same manner as recited in claim 11.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitations of “one or more of the common signal or channel transmissions" in lines 2-3, and “one or more of the common signal or channel receptions” in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitations of “one or more of the common signal or channel transmissions" in lines 5-6, and “one or more of the common signal or channel receptions” in lines 6-7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 10, 12-14, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xie et al. (.US 2025/0386296 A1)(hereinafter “Xie”).
Regarding claim 1, Xie discloses a wireless communication method comprising:
transmitting, by a wireless communication terminal (Fig. 2: terminal device 110) to a wireless communication node (Fig. 2: network device 120), a wake-up request comprising wake-up information in one or more wake-up occasions (Fig. 2, [0113]-[0115]: the terminal device 110 may transmit 260 a wake up request to the network device 120. Upon selection of the at least one SSB, the terminal device 110 may determine an occasion from at least one occasion in the time window corresponding to the at least one SSB. Then the terminal device 110 may transmit the wake up request on the determined occasion.) to indicate the wireless communication node to perform one or more operations ([0114]: in some embodiments where occasions in a time window are associated with SSBs, the terminal device 110 may select at least one SSB from the SSBs. In some embodiments, the terminal device 110 may select the at least one of the SSBs that has reference signal receiving power (RSRP) higher than or equal to threshold power. In some embodiments, the terminal device 110 may select any of the SSBs if no SSB have RSRP higher than or equal to the threshold power. In some embodiments, the terminal device 110 may terminate transmission of the wake up request if no SSB have RSRP higher than or equal to the threshold power. [0135]: in some embodiments, if the terminal device 110 receives an SSB from the cell 121, the terminal device 110 may determine that wake up of the cell 121 is successful. In some embodiments, if the terminal device 110 detects regular SSB transmission, the terminal device 110 may determine that wake up of the cell 121 is successful.).
Regarding claim 3, Xie discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Xie also discloses wherein the wake-up request is not detected by the wireless communication node within a validation time of the wake-up request ([0139]: in some embodiments, if the terminal device 110 does not receive any SSBs from the cell 121, the terminal device 110 may determine that wake up of the cell 121 is unsuccessful. [0143] in some embodiments, if wake up of the cell 121 is unsuccessful, the terminal device 110 may re-initiate the wake up request after at least a predetermined period of time. [0144]: in some embodiments, the predetermined period of time may be a configured or predefined time length. In some embodiments, the predetermined period of time may be a predetermined number of time windows. In some embodiments, the predetermined period of time may be a predetermined number of switch periods. It is to be understood that the predetermined period of time may be determined in any other suitable ways.), or the one or more operations are restarted when a new wake-up request is detected within a validation time of the wake-up request (an alternative limitation not given mapping in the claims), or
the wake-up information in the new wake-up request is ignored when the new wake-up request is detected within a validation time of the wake-up request (an alternative limitation not given mapping in the claims).
Regarding claim 4, Xie discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Xie also discloses wherein the wake-up occasions are associated with at least one of: a cycle of the one of the wake-up occasions ([0204]: in some embodiments, the time window comprises occasions associated with synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel blocks (SSBs), and wherein transmitting the wake up request comprises: selecting at least one SSB from the SSBs; determining an occasion from at least one occasion in the time window corresponding to the at least one SSB; and transmitting the wake up request on the determined occasion. [0165]: in some embodiments where the time window comprises occasions associated with SSBs, the terminal device 110 may select at least one SSB from the SSBs; determine an occasion from at least one occasion in the time window corresponding to the at least one SSB; and transmit the wake up request on the determined occasion. [0166]: in some embodiments, the terminal device 110 may transmit the wake up request during a time window in a switch period.), indication information transmitted from the wireless communication node to the wireless communication terminal (an alternative limitation not given mapping in the claims), a random access channel (RACH) occasion ([0072]: in some alternative embodiments, the starting position of the time window may be determined by reusing physical random access channel (PRACH) resources.), a paging occasion ([0071]: in some alternative embodiments, the information for determining the starting position of the time window may comprise an offset to a paging occasion (PO)/paging transmission window (PTW). For example, the offset to a PO/PTW may be a time offset to the first or last subframe of each PO/PTW.), a paging frame (PF) (an alternative limitation not given mapping in the claims), or a paging early indication (PEI) (an alternative limitation not given mapping in the claims), wherein the cycle of the wake-up occasions is associated with at least one of: a high layer parameter ([0082]: in some embodiments, a RRC_CONNECTED UE may inform a network B upon decision of waking up a network A. In some embodiments, up to implementation, a RRC_CONNECTED UE may transmit a wake up request during an inactive period or an off duration. Examiner notes that RRC is a higher layer parameter.), a paging cycle (an alternative limitation not given mapping in the claims), an SSB transmission period ([0165]: in some embodiments where the time window comprises occasions associated with SSBs, the terminal device 110 may select at least one SSB from the SSBs; determine an occasion from at least one occasion in the time window corresponding to the at least one SSB; and transmit the wake up request on the determined occasion.), a discovery burst duty cycle (an alternative limitation not given mapping in the claims), or a predetermined value ([0171]: in some embodiments, if wake up of the first cell is unsuccessful, the terminal device 110 may further re-initiate the wake up request after at least a predetermined period of time. In some embodiments, the predetermined period of time may comprise a predetermined number of time windows; or a predetermined number of switch periods.).
Regarding claim 5, Xie discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Xie also discloses wherein the wake-up request is transmitted according to at least one of: a measurement result (an alternative limitation not given mapping in the claims), a random access requirement, a data transmission requirement, a state of the wireless communication node (Fig. 2, [0104]: the network device 120 (e.g., the cell 121) may make 220 a decision of changing from a lighter energy saving mode to a deeper energy saving mode, for example, changing from a normal mode to a deep sleep mode. Accordingly, the network device 120 may transmit 230, to the terminal device 110, information (for convenience, also referred to as second information herein) of the change from a lighter energy saving mode to a deeper energy saving mode. [0113]: the terminal device 110 may transmit 260 a wake up request to the network device 120 based on the configuration for wake up of the first cell (e.g., the cell 121) provided by the network device 120.), the one or more wake-up occasions are enabled (an alternative limitation not given mapping in the claims), or an event that the wireless communication terminal fails to detect a common signal within a duration ([0143]: in some embodiments, if wake up of the cell 121 is unsuccessful, the terminal device 110 may re-initiate the wake up request after at least a predetermined period of time.).
Regarding claim 10, a wireless communication method comprising:
receiving, by a wireless communication node (Fig. 2: network device 120) from a wireless communication terminal (Fig. 2: terminal device 110), a wake-up request comprising wake-up information in one or more wake-up occasions (Fig. 2, [0113]-[0115]: the terminal device 110 may transmit 260 a wake up request to the network device 120. Upon selection of the at least one SSB, the terminal device 110 may determine an occasion from at least one occasion in the time window corresponding to the at least one SSB. Then the terminal device 110 may transmit the wake up request on the determined occasion.); and
performing, by the wireless communication node, one or more operations according to the wake-up request (Fig. 9, [0175]-[0179]: at block 910, the network device 130 transmits a configuration for wake up of a first cell (e.g., the cell 121 of the network device 120), the configuration comprising at least one of the following: a first configuration for transmission of a wake up request; or a second configuration for detection of a change of an operation mode of the first cell from a first mode to a second mode, the first mode having deeper energy saving than the second mode. Fig. 2, [0124]-[0125]: after transmitting the wake-up request, the terminal 110 may detect 270 a change of an operation mode of the cell 121. [0135]: in some embodiments, if the terminal device 110 receives an SSB from the cell 121, the terminal device 110 may determine that wake up of the cell 121 is successful. In some embodiments, if the terminal device 110 detects regular SSB transmission, the terminal device 110 may determine that wake up of the cell 121 is successful.).
Regarding claim 12, Xie discloses all features of claim 10 as outlined above.
Xie further discloses wherein the wake-up request is not detected by the wireless communication node within a validation time of the wake-up request ([0139]: in some embodiments, if the terminal device 110 does not receive any SSBs from the cell 121, the terminal device 110 may determine that wake up of the cell 121 is unsuccessful. [0143] in some embodiments, if wake up of the cell 121 is unsuccessful, the terminal device 110 may re-initiate the wake up request after at least a predetermined period of time. [0144]: in some embodiments, the predetermined period of time may be a configured or predefined time length. In some embodiments, the predetermined period of time may be a predetermined number of time windows. In some embodiments, the predetermined period of time may be a predetermined number of switch periods. It is to be understood that the predetermined period of time may be determined in any other suitable ways.),
or the one or more operations are restarted when a new wake-up request is detected within a validation time of the wake-up request (an alternative limitation not given mapping in the claims), or
the wake-up information in the new wake-up request is ignored when the new wake-up request is detected within a validation time of the wake-up request (an alternative limitation not given mapping in the claims).
Regarding claim 13, Xie discloses all features of claim 10 as outlined above.
Xie also discloses wherein the wake-up occasions are associated with at least one of: a cycle of the one of the wake-up occasions ([0204]: in some embodiments, the time window comprises occasions associated with synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel blocks (SSBs), and wherein transmitting the wake up request comprises: selecting at least one SSB from the SSBs; determining an occasion from at least one occasion in the time window corresponding to the at least one SSB; and transmitting the wake up request on the determined occasion. [0165]: in some embodiments where the time window comprises occasions associated with SSBs, the terminal device 110 may select at least one SSB from the SSBs; determine an occasion from at least one occasion in the time window corresponding to the at least one SSB; and transmit the wake up request on the determined occasion. [0166]: in some embodiments, the terminal device 110 may transmit the wake up request during a time window in a switch period.), indication information transmitted from the wireless communication node to the wireless communication terminal (an alternative limitation not given mapping in the claims), a random access channel (RACH) occasion ([0072]: in some alternative embodiments, the starting position of the time window may be determined by reusing physical random access channel (PRACH) resources.), a paging occasion ([0071]: in some alternative embodiments, the information for determining the starting position of the time window may comprise an offset to a paging occasion (PO)/paging transmission window (PTW). For example, the offset to a PO/PTW may be a time offset to the first or last subframe of each PO/PTW.), a paging frame (PF), or a paging early indication (PEI) (an alternative limitation not given mapping in the claims), wherein the cycle of the wake-up occasions is associated with at least one of: a high layer parameter ([0082]: in some embodiments, a RRC_CONNECTED UE may inform a network B upon decision of waking up a network A. In some embodiments, up to implementation, a RRC_CONNECTED UE may transmit a wake up request during an inactive period or an off duration. Examiner notes that RRC is a higher layer parameter.), a paging cycle (an alternative limitation not given mapping in the claims), an SSB transmission period ([0165]: in some embodiments where the time window comprises occasions associated with SSBs, the terminal device 110 may select at least one SSB from the SSBs; determine an occasion from at least one occasion in the time window corresponding to the at least one SSB; and transmit the wake up request on the determined occasion.), a discovery burst duty cycle (an alternative limitation not given mapping in the claims), or a predetermined value ([0171]: in some embodiments, if wake up of the first cell is unsuccessful, the terminal device 110 may further re-initiate the wake up request after at least a predetermined period of time. In some embodiments, the predetermined period of time may comprise a predetermined number of time windows; or a predetermined number of switch periods.).
Regarding claim 14, Xie discloses all features of claim 10 as outlined above.
The wireless communication method of claim 10,
Xie also discloses wherein the wake-up request is transmitted according to at least one of: a measurement result (an alternative limitation not given mapping in the claims), a random access requirement, a data transmission requirement, a state of the wireless communication node (Fig. 2, [0104]: the network device 120 (e.g., the cell 121) may make 220 a decision of changing from a lighter energy saving mode to a deeper energy saving mode, for example, changing from a normal mode to a deep sleep mode. Accordingly, the network device 120 may transmit 230, to the terminal device 110, information (for convenience, also referred to as second information herein) of the change from a lighter energy saving mode to a deeper energy saving mode. [0113]: the terminal device 110 may transmit 260 a wake up request to the network device 120 based on the configuration for wake up of the first cell (e.g., the cell 121) provided by the network device 120.), the one or more wake-up occasions are enabled (an alternative limitation not given mapping in the claims), or an event that the wireless communication terminal fails to detect a common signal within a duration ([0143]: in some embodiments, if wake up of the cell 121 is unsuccessful, the terminal device 110 may re-initiate the wake up request after at least a predetermined period of time.); or
wherein the wake-up request is carried by a sequence-based signal, wherein a generation of the wake-up request is related to at least one of: a state identification, a common signal transmission period index, a root sequence index, or an initialization seed (an alternative limitation not given mapping in the claims).
Regarding claim 19, Xie discloses a wireless communication terminal (Fig. 2: terminal device 110 ), comprising:
a transceiver (Fig. 10, [0188]-[0189]: the device 1000 can be considered a further example implementation of the terminal device 110. The device 1000 includes a transmitter (TX) and receiver (RX) 1040.); and
a processor (Fig. 10, [0189]: the device 1000 includes a processor 1010) configured to:
transmit, via the transceiver to a wireless communication node, a wake-up request comprising wake-up information in one or more wake-up occasions (Fig. 2, [0113]-[0115]: the terminal device 110 may transmit 260 a wake up request to the network device 120. Upon selection of the at least one SSB, the terminal device 110 may determine an occasion from at least one occasion in the time window corresponding to the at least one SSB. Then the terminal device 110 may transmit the wake up request on the determined occasion.) to indicate the wireless communication node to perform one or more operations ([0114]: in some embodiments where occasions in a time window are associated with SSBs, the terminal device 110 may select at least one SSB from the SSBs. In some embodiments, the terminal device 110 may select the at least one of the SSBs that has reference signal receiving power (RSRP) higher than or equal to threshold power. In some embodiments, the terminal device 110 may select any of the SSBs if no SSB have RSRP higher than or equal to the threshold power. In some embodiments, the terminal device 110 may terminate transmission of the wake up request if no SSB have RSRP higher than or equal to the threshold power. [0135]: in some embodiments, if the terminal device 110 receives an SSB from the cell 121, the terminal device 110 may determine that wake up of the cell 121 is successful. In some embodiments, if the terminal device 110 detects regular SSB transmission, the terminal device 110 may determine that wake up of the cell 121 is successful.).
Regarding claim 20, Xie discloses all features of claim 10 as outlined above.
Xie also discloses a wireless communication node (Fig. 2: network device 120.), comprising: a transceiver (Fig. 10, [0188]-[0189]: the device 1000 can be considered a further example implementation of the network device 120. The device 1000 includes a transmitter (TX) and receiver (RX) 1040.); and a processor configured to perform the wireless communication method of claims 10 (Fig. 10, [0189]-[0190]: the device 1000 includes a processor 1010. A memory 1010 stores at least a part of a program 1030. The program 1030 is assumed to include program instructions that, when executed by the associated processor 1010, enable the device 1000 to operate in accordance with the embodiments of the present disclosure, as discussed herein with reference to FIGS. 1 to 9. The embodiments herein may be implemented by computer software executable by the processor 1010 of the device 1000, or by hardware, or by a combination of software and hardware. The processor 1010 may be configured to implement various embodiments of the present disclosure. Furthermore, a combination of the processor 1010 and memory 1020 may form processing means 1050 adapted to implement various embodiments of the present disclosure. ).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 9, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie in view of Cheng et al. (US 2026/0129572 A1)(hereinafter “Cheng”)(claims priority to US Provisional Application 63/321856 filed 03/21/2022 which provides support for the relied upon disclosure).
Regarding claim 6, Xie discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Xie does not specifically disclose wherein the wireless communication terminal performs at least one of the following operations before transmitting the wake-up request: receiving SSBs with a pre-defined cycle, receiving SSBs N times before the one or more wake-up occasions, receiving a Tracking Reference Signal (TRS), before the one or more wake-up occasions, receiving a discovery burst before the one or more wake-up occasions, receiving one or more on-demand RS before the one or more wake-up occasions, or receiving a light SSB before the one or more wake-up occasions. However, Cheng discloses wherein the wireless communication terminal performs at least one of the following operations before transmitting the wake-up request: receiving SSBs with a pre-defined cycle (Fig. 11, [0065]: The sleeping cell may broadcast SSB using a long period, e.g., 160 ms, rather than a normal period of 20 ms to the UE prior to the UE transmitting a wake-up signal in a PRACH preamble. [0061]: If the UE receives the specific PRACH configuration, the UE may use the specific PRACH configuration as a BS-WUS to wake up a sleeping cell. The sleeping cell may determine whether to wake up based on the number of detected PRACH preambles from the UE.), receiving SSBs N times before the one or more wake-up occasions (an alternative limitation not given mapping in the claims), receiving a Tracking Reference Signal (TRS), before the one or more wake-up occasions (an alternative limitation not given mapping in the claims), receiving a discovery burst before the one or more wake-up occasions (an alternative limitation not given mapping in the claims), receiving one or more on-demand RS before the one or more wake-up occasions (an alternative limitation not given mapping in the claims), or receiving a light SSB before the one or more wake-up occasions (an alternative limitation not given mapping in the claims).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform before transmitting the wake-up request by the wireless communication terminal as taught by Xie, receiving SSBs with a pre-defined cycle, as taught by Cheng. Doing so allows for providing information to facilitate connecting the wireless communication terminal to the wireless communication node after wake-up (see Cheng [0054].).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Xie discloses all features of claims 1 and 10 as outlined above.
Xie does not specifically disclose wherein the wake-up information is carried by one or more random-access preambles with at least one of: a specific PRACH preamble format, a specific Radio Network Temporary Identifier, (RNTI), or a PRACH resource. However, Cheng discloses wherein the wake-up information is carried by one or more random-access preambles with at least one of: a specific PRACH preamble format (Fig. 9, [0061]: if the UE receives the specific PRACH configuration, the UE may use the specific PRACH configuration as a BS-WUS to wake up a sleeping cell. The sleeping cell may determine whether to wake up based on the number of detected PRACH preambles from the UE.), a specific Radio Network Temporary Identifier, (RNTI), or a PRACH resource.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wake-up request transmitted by the wireless communication terminal as taught by Xie, to be carried by one or more random-access preambles with a specific PRACH preamble format, as taught by Cheng. Doing so allows for providing information to facilitate connecting the wireless communication terminal to the wireless communication node after wake-up (see Cheng [0054].).
Regarding claim 15, Xie discloses all features of claim 10 as outlined above.
Xie does not specifically disclose wherein the wireless communication node performs at least one of the following operations before the wake-up occasions: transmitting SSBs with a pre-defined cycle, transmitting SSBs N times before the one or more wake-up occasions, transmitting a Tracking Reference Signal (TRS) before the one or more wake-up occasions, transmitting a discovery burst before the one or more wake-up occasions, transmitting one or more on-demand RS before the one or more wake-up occasions, or transmitting a light SSB before the one or more wake-up occasions. However, Cheng discloses wherein the wireless communication node performs at least one of the following operations before the wake-up occasions: transmitting SSBs with a pre-defined cycle (Fig. 11, [0065]: The sleeping cell may broadcast SSB using a long period, e.g., 160 ms, rather than a normal period of 20 ms to the UE prior to the UE transmitting a wake-up signal in a PRACH preamble. [0061]: If the UE receives the specific PRACH configuration, the UE may use the specific PRACH configuration as a BS-WUS to wake up a sleeping cell. The sleeping cell may determine whether to wake up based on the number of detected PRACH preambles from the UE.), transmitting SSBs N times before the one or more wake-up occasions (an alternative limitation not given mapping in the claims), transmitting a Tracking Reference Signal (TRS) before the one or more wake-up occasions (an alternative limitation not given mapping in the claims), transmitting a discovery burst before the one or more wake-up occasions (an alternative limitation not given mapping in the claims), transmitting one or more on-demand RS before the one or more wake-up occasions(an alternative limitation not given mapping in the claims), or transmitting a light SSB before the one or more wake-up occasions (an alternative limitation not given mapping in the claims).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform before the wake-up occasions as taught by Xie, transmitting SSBs with a pre-defined cycle, as taught by Cheng. Doing so allows for providing information to facilitate connecting the wireless communication terminal to the wireless communication node after wake-up (see Cheng [0054].).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8 and 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cheng et al. (US 20250261117 A1) – Upper Layer Aspects of UL Wakeup Signal (WUS) For GNB Paging Power Saving In Idle/Inactive State – discloses receiving a configuration for uplink (UL) wake-up signal (WUS) resources by a UE and transmitting a UL WUS to a gNB by the UE.
Abotabl et al. (US 2024/0073819 A1) – Wake-Up Signal Traffic Indication Techniques For Wireless Communications – discloses that a network entity may use a lower power sleep procedure to reduce power consumption, and monitor for a wake-up signal (WUS) from UE during configured WUS occasions.
/MICHAEL WAYNE MADDOX/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463