Application Status
Claims 1-9 are pending and have been examined in this application
This communication is the first action on the merits
Claims 1-9 are rejected herein
Information Disclosure Statement
As of the date of this action, an information disclosure statement (IDS) has been filed on 10/31/2024 and reviewed by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites the limitation “having damping means that absorb the vibrations produced.” The Examiner is interpreting that this limitation invokes 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "having damping means that absorb the vibrations produced" and "by attachment with damping means" " in lines 2 and 5 respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. The Examiner suggests these be amended to “having a damping means that absorbs the vibrations produced” and “by attachment with the damping means” respectively.
Claim 9 recites “devices attached according to a distribution in the panels of the solar tracker according to a vibration calculation along the solar tracker.” It is unclear whether “attached” is being used as functional language as an intended use or if the structure is positively claimed. If the Applicant intended to claim the sub-combination, the Examiner suggests the use of the term “configure.”
Claims 2-8 are rejected based on their dependencies.
Appropriate correction/explanation is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 6, 7, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bowser (US Pat. No. 2854100 A).
Regarding claim 1, Bowser teaches a vibration damping system, for those vibrations that are produced in a solar tracker, by means of at least one damping device (vibrating damping device shown in Fig 3.) having damping means (ports 58 and 60 and their respective springs 74 and 76) that absorb the vibrations produced (damping device has the capability to absorb vibrations produced), wherein the damping device is removably attachable on at least one panel of the solar tracker (damping device has the capability of being removed from a solar tracker), the damping device comprising at least one mass (mass 68) movably suspended along a cavity (air chambers 62 and 64) of the device by attachment with damping means (ports 58 and 60 are attached to coil springs 74 and 76 respectively and each of the springs is attached to mass 68) , and the mass being movable within the cavity perpendicular to the panel in the operative position (mass has the capability to be moved within the open space and to move perpendicular relative to a solar tracker).
NOTE: The “solar tracker” is being interpreted as fully within the intended use language “for those vibrations that are produced in a solar tracker” and is therefore not a positively claimed structure in the claim.
Regarding claim 5, Bowser teaches the damping system according to claim 1, wherein the damping means of the device comprise at least a first elastic element (spring 74) attachable to an upper portion of the cavity (spring 74 attaches to cap member 16 at the upper portion of the cavity) which attaches the suspended mass at its other end (mass 68 is located at the bottom end of spring 74).
Regarding claim 6, Bowser teaches the damping system according to claim 5, wherein the damping means of the device comprise a second elastic element (spring 76) for attaching the mass to a lower portion of the cavity (attaches to the bottom portion of cavity at cap 18).
Regarding claim 7, Bowser teaches the damping system according to claim 1, wherein lateral walls (closed cylinder 12 and cap members 16 and 18) of the cavity are configured for the displacement of the mass within the cavity perpendicular to the panel (lateral walls have the capacity to be perpendicular to the panel).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowser(US Pat. No. 2854100 A ) in view of Wieser (US Pat. No. US 20100032256 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Bowser teaches the damping system according to claim 1. Bowser does not teach that the damping device is attachable to the panel in its frame by means of nesting provided by an attachment groove. Wieser teaches a device capable of being attached to the panel in its frame by means of nesting provided by an attachment groove (attachment grove can be defined by the area between the carrier element 12 and the top of the vibration mass 14, shown as groove A in the figure below). Bowser and Wieser are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem-solving area e.g. attaching a damper to another object. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the damping device attachable to the frame of a panel by means of nesting provided by an attachment groove. The motivation would have been to use the damping device to reduce vibrations in the panel.
Regarding claim 3, Bowser as modified teaches the damping system according to claim 2, wherein the groove is adjustable to the dimensions of the frame (groove A is adjustable to the dimensions of the frame due to the elastic connection of spring arrangement 20; Wieser).
Regarding claim 4, Bowser as modified teaches the damping system according to claim 3, wherein the groove comprises an elastic joint for adjustment to the dimensions of the frame (groove A is comprises an elastic joint for adjustment to the dimensions of the frame due to the elastic connection of spring arrangement 20; Wieser).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowser(US Pat. No. 2854100 A ).
Regarding claim 8, Bowser teaches the damping system according to claim 1, comprising at least two damping devices attachable on a panel symmetrically with respect to the shaft of the solar tracker (MPEP 2144.04, In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960), the mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced; both damping devices have the capability to be attached on a panel symmetrically with respect to the shaft of the solar tracker).
Regarding claim 9, Bowser teaches the damping system according to claim 1, comprising a plurality of damping devices attached according to a distribution in the panels of the solar tracker according to a vibration calculation along the solar tracker (For the plurality of damping devices, see MPEP 2144.04, In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960), the mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced; intended use: the damping devices of Bowser are capable of being attached to the panels of the solar tracker according to a vibration calculation along the solar tracker).
Conclusion
/W.D.J./ Examiner, Art Unit 3631
/Muhammad Ijaz/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631