DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application discloses and claims only subject matter disclosed in prior application, and names the inventor or at least one joint inventor named in the prior application. Accordingly, this application may constitute a continuation or divisional. Should applicant desire to claim the benefit of the filing date of the prior application, attention is directed to 35 U.S.C. 120, 37 CFR 1.78, and MPEP § 211 et seq. The presentation of a benefit claim may result in an additional fee under 37 CFR 1.17(w)(1) or (2) being required, if the earliest filing date for which benefit is claimed under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) and 1.78(d) in the application is more than six years before the actual filing date of the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS)s submitted on 03/03/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Instant application
US12170764
US11930167
US11533478
Claim 21: A method for video encoding in a video encoder, the method comprising: determining an intra prediction angle based on a predetermined plurality of intra prediction modes and a corresponding predetermined plurality of intra prediction angles, the determined intra prediction angle corresponding to an intra prediction mode that is a directional intra prediction mode and not a planar intra prediction mode, the intra prediction angle being (i) beyond a bottom left direction 45 degrees from a horizontal diagonal mode; or (ii) beyond a top right direction 45 degrees from the horizontal diagonal mode; and encoding at least one sample of a block in a video sequence based on the intra prediction angle that is determined to correspond to the intra prediction mode.
Claim 21: A method of processing visual media data, the method comprising: performing a conversion between a visual media file and a bitstream of visual media data according to a format rule, wherein the bitstream includes a block of the visual media data encoded based on an intra prediction angle corresponding to an intra prediction mode that is a directional intra prediction mode and not a planar intra prediction mode, the intra prediction angle being (i) beyond a bottom left direction 45 degrees from horizontal mode, or (ii) beyond a top right direction 45 degrees from the horizontal mode, and the bitstream includes the intra prediction mode based on a predetermined plurality of intra prediction modes and a corresponding predetermined plurality of intra prediction angles, the intra prediction mode corresponding to the intra prediction angle of the block.
Claim 21: A method for video encoding, the method comprising:
determining an intra prediction angle corresponding to an intra prediction mode that is a
directional intra prediction mode and not a planar intra prediction mode, the intra prediction
angle being (i) beyond a bottom left direction 45 degrees from horizontal mode, or (ii) beyond a
top right direction 45 degrees from the horizontal mode;
encoding at least one sample of a block based on the intra prediction angle in a
bitstream; and encoding the intra prediction mode in the bitstream based on a relationship between a predetermined plurality of intra prediction modes and a corresponding predetermined plurality of intra prediction angles, the intra prediction mode corresponding to the determined intra prediction angle, wherein the predetermined plurality of intra prediction modes includes ten intra prediction modes that are beyond the bottom left direction; and the predetermined plurality of intra prediction modes includes ten intra prediction modes that are beyond the top right direction.
Claim 1: A method for video decoding in a video decoder, the method comprising: decoding a coded video sequence to obtain an intra prediction mode that is a directional intra prediction mode and not a planar intra prediction mode; determining an intra prediction angle, based on a predetermined plurality of intra prediction modes and a corresponding predetermined plurality of intra prediction angles, the determined intra prediction angle corresponding to the obtained intra prediction mode, the intra prediction angle being (i) beyond a bottom left direction 45 degrees from horizontal diagonal mode, or (ii) beyond a top right direction 45 degrees from horizontal diagonal mode; and reconstructing at least one sample of a block based on the intra prediction angle that is determined to correspond to the obtained intra prediction mode.
Claims 21-40 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims presented in U.S. Patents identified in the above table. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to signal the coding parameters in the bitstream.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-22, 25, 30 and 37-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ramasubramonian et al. (US20200007870) (hereinafter Ram).
Regarding claim 21, Ram discloses a method for video encoding in a video encoder, the method comprising: determining an intra prediction angle based on a predetermined plurality of intra prediction modes and a corresponding predetermined plurality of intra prediction angles, the determined intra prediction angle corresponding to an intra prediction mode that is a directional intra prediction mode and not a planar intra prediction mode, the intra prediction angle being (i) beyond a bottom left direction 45 degrees from a horizontal diagonal mode; or (ii) beyond a top right direction 45 degrees from the horizontal diagonal mode [Figs. 3-7, 0108, 0134-0148, 0157; determine intra prediction mode and angle including beyond 45 degrees in horizontal and vertical directions].
encoding at least one sample of a block in a video sequence based on the intra prediction angle that is determined to correspond to the intra prediction mode [ABS, 0022-0023, 0053-0055; coding video data utilizing a variety of parameters including intra prediction angle and mode].
Regarding claim 22, Ram discloses wherein a relationship between the predetermined plurality of intra prediction modes and the corresponding predetermined plurality of intra prediction angles is a look-up table [Figs. 3-7, 0134-0148, 0157-0164; using table of intra prediction modes and angles during coding process].
Regarding claim 25, Ram discloses encoding the at least one sample of the block that is a non-square block based on the relationship between the predetermined plurality of intra prediction modes and the predetermined plurality of intra prediction angles [Figs. 3-7, 0082-0087 0134-0148, 0157-0164; coding blocs that are square and non-square].
Regarding claim 30, Ram discloses wherein the intra prediction modes go below mode 2 of an HEVC (High Efficiency Video Coding) standard; and the intra prediction modes go above mode 34 of the HEVC standard [Figs. 3-7, 0108, 0134-0148, 0157; determine intra prediction mode and angle including beyond 45 degrees in horizontal and vertical directions].
Regarding claim 37, Ram discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions which when executed by a processor cause the processor to perform an encoding method comprising (Fig. 1; CRM):
determining an intra prediction angle based on a predetermined plurality of intra prediction modes and a corresponding predetermined plurality of intra prediction angles, the determined intra prediction angle corresponding to an intra prediction mode that is a directional intra prediction mode and not a planar intra prediction mode, the intra prediction angle being (i) beyond a bottom left direction 45 degrees from a horizontal diagonal mode; or (ii) beyond a top right direction 45 degrees from the horizontal diagonal mode [Figs. 3-7, 0108, 0134-0148, 0157; determine intra prediction mode and angle including beyond 45 degrees in horizontal and vertical directions].
encoding at least one sample of a block in a video sequence based on the intra prediction angle that is determined to correspond to the intra prediction mode [ABS, 0022-0023, 0053-0055; coding video data utilizing a variety of parameters including intra prediction angle and mode].
transmitting a bitstream including the video sequence [0098; outputting bitstream with coded video data].
Regarding claim 38, Ram discloses wherein a relationship between the predetermined plurality of intra prediction modes and the corresponding predetermined plurality of intra prediction angles is a look-up table [Figs. 3-7, 0134-0148, 0157-0164; using table of intra prediction modes and angles during coding process].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 23-24, 26-29, 31-36 and 39-40 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims including the resolution of any double patenting issues and any 35 USC 101/112 issues.
Conclusion
/TALHA M NAWAZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483