DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-7 and 9-21 are pending and have been examined in this application. As of the date of this application, the Information Disclosure Statement(s) (IDS) filed on 07/17/2025 and 09/24/2026 has/have been taken into account.
Response to Amendment
In the amendment dated 08/21/2026, the following has occurred: Claims 3, 7 have been amended; Claim 8 has been canceled; Claims 9-21 have been added. The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that: "Brunner does not disclose securing projections extending downwardly from the mounting platform 340". - The examiner respectfully disagrees as Brunner discloses in paragraph [0147] that the main body is secured to a carrying surface by fasteners extendable through openings in the body, these fasteners read on the recitation of downwardly extending projections.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 7 and 15-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Additionally, the amendment has overcome the 112 rejections set forth in the previous action.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “said second tab disposed at a location which is laterally inward of said tab”. This should read “said second tab disposed at a location which is laterally inward of said first tab” (emphasis added).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brunner et al. (US 2021/0214132) in view of Ostergren (US 8,979,460).
In regards to Claim 7, Brunner discloses an adaptor comprising: a main body (Brunner: Fig. 14A-14B; 340); a peripheral ledge (Brunner: Fig. 14A-14B; 348) formed on said main body and extending adjacent one lateral side of said main body; a slider (Brunner: Fig. 14A-14B; 350) slidably disposed on an opposite lateral side of said main body, said slider having a slider body slidable between an outer position relative to said main body and an inward position relative to said main body, said slider body including a laterally inwardly extending tab; and a plurality of securing projections extending downwardly from said main body (Brunner: [0147]); wherein, a container (Brunner: Fig. 14B, 17A-17B; 302) having a first step extending downwardly from a lateral side and a container second step extending downwardly (Brunner: Fig. 14B, 17A-17B; 310) from an opposite lateral side can be secured to said main body with said first container first step secured beneath said peripheral ledge and said first container second step secured beneath said tab (Brunner: [0148]-[0149]).
Brunner fails to explicitly disclose securing projections including a pair of bent wings configured to engage a panel. However, Ostergren teaches a securing projection (Ostergren: Fig. 2; 1) including pair of bent wings (Ostergren: Fig. 2; 7) configured to engage a panel.
Brunner and Ostergren are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem solving area e.g. securing components to vehicles. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the securing projections of Ostergren to mount the main body in Brunner, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a securing projection that is less time consuming to use than more conventional fasteners and provides an improved aesthetic appearance (Ostergren: Col. 1, Ln. 19-27).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brunner et al. (US 2021/0214132) in view of Ostergren (US 8,979,460) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Li et al. (US 2022/0396985).
In regards to Claim 17, Brunner, as modified, teaches the adaptor recited in claim 7, but fails to disclose a latch mechanism including a center lock movable between a raised position and a lowered position.
However, Li teaches a latch mechanism (Li: Fig. 4, 7, 9; 33, 36) including a center lock (Li: Fig. 4, 7, 9; 33) movable between a raised position and a lowered position.
Brunner and Li are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem solving area e.g. stackable container systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the adaptor in Brunner with the latch from Li, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a means of securing a slider in a pulled out state without retracting, thereby making the latches more convenient to use (Li: [0016]).
Claims 17, 19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brunner et al. (US 2021/0214132) in view of Ostergren (US 8,979,460) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Cai (US 2021/0155373).
In regards to Claim 17, Brunner, as modified, teaches the adaptor recited in claim 7, but fails to disclose a latch mechanism including a center lock movable between a raised position and a lowered position.
However, Cai teaches a latch mechanism (Cai: Fig. 11; 35, 350) including a center lock (Cai: Fig. 11; 35, 350) movable between a raised position and a lowered position.
Brunner and Cai are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem solving area e.g. stackable container systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the adaptor in Brunner with the latch mechanism from Cai, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a means of holding the slider in locked and unlocked positions, thereby preventing unwanted movement of the slider (Cai: [0029]).
In regards to Claim 19, Brunner, as modified, teaches the adaptor recited in claim 17, wherein said latch mechanism further includes a lock lever (Cai: Fig. 11; 35) carrying said center lock (Cai: Fig. 11; 350), said lock lever being configured to pivot between a raised position and a lowered position.
In regards to Claim 21, Brunner, as modified, teaches the adaptor recited in claim 7, wherein said main body defines a slide channel, but fails to disclose said slider includes a plurality of tabs received in said slide channel to guide sliding movement of said slider between said outer position and said inward position.
However Cai a slider including a plurality of tabs (Cai: Annotated Fig. 11; T) received in said slide channel (Cai: Annotated Fig. 9; C) to guide sliding movement of said slider between said outer position and said inward position.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the adaptor in Brunner with slide channel and tab connection from Cai, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a specific means of guiding the movement of the slider and preventing unwanted detachment in a vertical direction from the adaptor (Cai: [0029]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-6 and 9-14 are allowed.
Claims 15-16, 18, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Annotated Figures
I: Cai; Fig. 9
II: Cai; Fig. 11
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 for cited references.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Taylor Morris/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631