DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-18 and 20, in the reply filed on 05-12-2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 19 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05-12-2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9-11, and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Frebourg ‘820 (US 2021/0101820 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Frebourg ‘820 teaches a transfer device comprising:
a suction table (structure above glass 1, Figs. 1-2)
the suction table has a first edge-region (region forming skirt 12) and a second edge-region (outer portion of upper mold 9), and the first edge region surrounds the second edge region (“skirt 12 encircles the upper mold 9”, ¶ [0037])
the suction table defines:
a first suction groove that is defined in the first edge-region (downward-facing opening of skirt 12)
a plurality of first suction holes that are defined in the second edge-region (orifices 11 in outer portion of upper mold 9)
a first suction channel that is in communication with the first suction groove and is used for providing a first negative pressure (horizontal channel connected to opening of skirt 12 and or channel proximate reference number 13, with arrows showing air flow, Fig. 1; ¶ [0037])
a second suction channel that is in communication with the plurality of first suction holes and is used for providing a second negative pressure (horizontal channel and/or vertical channel above orifices 11, with arrows showing air flow, Fig. 1; ¶ [0037])
the first negative pressure and the second negative pressure are used for sucking at least one glass sheet on the transfer device (¶ [0037]).
Regarding claim 9, Frebourg ‘820 further teaches the first suction groove (downward-facing opening of skirt 12) has an inner groove-wall (wall of the opening of skirt 12 facing upper mold 9, Fig. 1) and an outer groove-wall (wall of the opening of skirt 12 proximate the lead line for reference number 12, Fig. 1), the inner groove-wall is closer to the second edge region than the outer groove-wall (the wall facing upper mold 9 is closer to orifices 11 in outer portion of upper mold 9 than the wall proximate lead line 12, Fig. 1), and in a direction opposite to a direction in which the first suction groove extends toward the first suction channel, the outer groove-wall exceeds the inner groove-wall (wall proximate lead line 12 extends down lower than the wall facing upper mold 9 in the orientation of Fig. 1, which is a direction away from the horizontal channel connected to opening of skirt 12 and or the channel proximate reference number 13).
Regarding claims 10-11, the recitations of the at least one glass sheet constitute material worked upon by the claimed apparatus. It has been held that inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims. See MPEP 2115. Thus the defining of a height of the outer groove-wall and the inner-groove wall defined relative to the material worked upon also does not impart patentability to the claims.
Regarding claim 14, Frebourg ‘820 further teaches the suction table is further provided with a first boss (outer portion of upper mold 9, Fig. 1) and a second boss (outer wall of the opening of skirt 12 proximate the lead line for reference number 12, Fig. 1), the first suction groove being defined between the first boss and the second boss (downward-facing opening of skirt 12, Fig. 1), the second boss is located at an outer side of the first suction groove (outer wall of the opening of skirt 12 proximate lead line 12 is at an outer side of the downward-facing opening of skirt 12, Fig. 1), and in a direction opposite to a direction in which the first suction groove extends toward the first suction channel, the second box exceeds the first boss (wall proximate lead line 12 extends down lower than the outer portion of upper mold 9 in the orientation of Fig. 1, which is a direction away from the horizontal channel connected to opening of skirt 12 and or the channel proximate reference number 13).
Regarding claim 15, Frebourg ‘820 further teaches the first boss has a suction contact surface (lower surface of upper mold 9), and the plurality of first suction holes extend through the suction contact surface (orifices 11 in outer portion of upper mold 9 extend through the lower surface of upper mold 9, Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-6, 8, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frebourg ‘820 (US 2021/0101820 A1) in view of Zhou ‘616 (CN 112047616 A - English language translation attached herewith and referenced herein).
Regarding claim 2, Frebourg ‘820 is silent regarding the suction table further define a plurality of second suction holes and a third suction channel as claimed. In analogous art of glass sheet suction devices, Zhou ‘616 suggests a suction table having a central region (central sub-space 311, Figs. 3-5) and a second edge-region surrounding the central region (sub-central sub-space 312, Figs. 3-5), as well as a first edge-region surrounding the second edge-region (edge subspaces 31 including 313, 314, 315, and 316, Figs. 3-5). A plurality of second suction holes are defined in the central region (through holes 22 in central sub-space 311, Figs. 3-5) and are in communication with a third suction channel (air extraction duct 200 connected to central sub-space 311, Fig. 3), and are used for providing a third negative pressure (p. 7, lines 32-41). Zhou ‘616 also suggests a first suction channel that is in communication with the first edge-region and is used for providing a first negative pressure (air extraction duct 200 connected to edge subspaces 31, Fig. 3; p. 7, lines 32-41) and a second suction channel that is in communication with a plurality of first suction holes in the second edge-region and is used for providing a second negative pressure (air extraction duct 200 connected to sub-central sub-space 312 in communication with through holes 22 in sub-central sub-space 312, Fig. 3; p. 7, lines 32-41). Zhou ‘616 suggests that this configuration is advantageous because it allows for adjusting the vacuum force applied to different portions of the glass for more precise shaping (p. 7, lines 32-41; p. 8, lines 11-23). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Frebourg ‘820 by making the suction table further define a plurality of second suction holes and a third suction channel as claimed for the benefit of allowing for adjusting the vacuum force applied to different portions of the glass for more precise shaping, as suggested by Zhou ‘616.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, the particular negative pressures and vacuum pressure values constitute manners of operating the claimed apparatus. The structure of Frebourg ‘820 and Zhou ‘616 as described above would be capable of functioning in the manner claimed, as in Frebourg ‘820 and Zhou ‘616, the vacuums are drawn through independent suction channels, and Zhou ‘616 further suggests that the vacuum pressure of each region is independently set in order to achieve more precise shaping at different portions of the glass (p. 7, lines 32-41; p. 8, lines 11-23). See MPEP 2114.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, the claimed glass sheets and silica fume particles constitute material worked upon by the claimed apparatus. It has been held that inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims. See MPEP 2115.
Regarding claim 8, Zhou ‘616 further suggests the plurality of second suction holes are arranged in an array, and the array has the number of row greater than 1 and the number of columns greater than 1 (through holes 22 in central sub-space 311, Figs. 4-5).
Regarding claim 18, Frebourg ‘820 and Zhou ‘616 suggest the first suction channel, first negative pressure, second suction channel, second negative pressure, third suction channel, and third negative pressure as described above. Frebourg ‘820 (¶ [0021], [0025]) and Zhou ‘616 (p. 2, lines 16-19; p. 3, lines 49-55) both describe that some vacuum suction structure is in communication with the suction channels to provide the negative pressures, though not specifically illustrated. Whatever vacuum suction structure is in communication with the suction channels and provide the negative pressures as suggested by Frebourg ‘820 and Zhou ‘616 may be defined as the claimed vacuum suction device.
Claim(s) 12 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frebourg ‘820 (US 2021/0101820 A1) in view of Siskos ‘698 (US 2005/0235698 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Frebourg ‘820 is silent regarding a plurality of first communicating holes being defined at a groove bottom of the first suction groove. In analogous art of glass sheet suction devices, Siskos ‘698 suggests a plurality of first communicating holes that are defined at a groove bottom of a first suction groove (passageways 44 defined at a groove bottom of channel 42, Figs. 1-2, 10, 15), and a first suction channel is in communication with the first suction groove through the plurality of first communicating holes (plenum 46/conduit 48, Figs. 1-2, 10, 15; ¶ [0040]). The first communication holes and first suction groove of Siskos ‘698 create the same effect as the first suction groove of Frebourg ‘820 of establishing a negative air pressure in the apparatus at a periphery and urging the glass sheet against the shaping member (Siskos ‘698 ¶ [0044]-[0045]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Frebourg ‘820 with a plurality of first communicating holes being defined at a groove bottom of the first suction groove, the first suction channel being in communication with the first suction groove through the plurality of first communicating holes, as a substation of structures which establish a negative air pressure in the apparatus at a periphery and urge the glass sheet against the shaping member, as suggested by Siskos ‘698.
Regarding claim 16, Frebourg ‘820 is silent regarding the first boss being covered by a flexible mold textile, the flexible mold textile being configured to isolate the suction contact surface from the at least one glass sheet. Siskos ‘698 suggests covering a suction contact surface by a flexible mold textile, the flexible mold textile being configured to isolate the suction contact surface from at least one glass sheet, for the benefit of eliminating hole markings caused by contact of the glass surface with suction holes (¶ [0061]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Frebourg ‘820 by covering the first box by a flexible mold textile, the flexible mold textile being configured to isolate the suction contact surface from the at least one glass sheet, for the benefit of eliminating hole markings caused by contact of the glass surface with suction holes, as suggested by Siskos ‘698.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frebourg ‘820 (US 2021/0101820 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Frebourg ‘820 is silent regarding the plurality of first suction holes having cross-sectional areas that are not completely identical, and/or the plurality of first suction holes being nonuniformly distributed in the second edge-region. The plurality of first suction holes can either have cross-sectional areas that are completely identical or that are not completely identical. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try either option of the two finite options, including the plurality of first suction holes having cross-sectional areas that are not completely identical, with a predictable result of drawing a suction through the plurality of first suction holes. The remaining limitations are recited as optional.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balduin ‘722 (US 2008/0134722 A1) in view of Frebourg ‘820 (US 2021/0101820 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Balduin ‘722 teaches:
a transfer device (top form 11, Fig. 3)
a heating device (“tunnel oven”, ¶ [0019]; tunnel oven 10) configured to heat at least one glass sheet to have a temperature greater than or equal to 500°C (¶ [0019]
a pre-forming mold (pre-bending skeleton 14, Fig. 3) configured to perform preliminary bending forming on at least one glass sheet having the temperature greater than or equal to 500°C, to obtain at least one preliminary bent glass sheet having the temperature greater than or equal to 500°C (¶ [0019], [0038])
a final-forming mold (bottom mold 12) configured to perform final bending forming on at least one preliminary bent glass sheet having the temperature greater than or equal to 500°C, to obtain at least one final bent glass sheet having the temperature greater than or equal to 500°C (¶ [0016], [0038])
the transfer device (top form 11, Fig. 3) configured to transfer at least one preliminary bent glass sheet from the pre-forming mold to the final-forming mold (Figs. 3a-3c; ¶ [0038]), and configured to transfer at least one final bent glass sheet from the final-forming mold to the pre-forming mold or an annealing ring (¶ [0020], [0023]-[0024], [0038])
an annealing device configured to anneal and cool the at least one final bent glass sheet having the temperature greater than or equal to 500°C (“cooling zone”, ¶ [0020], [0023], [0038]).
Balduin ‘722 is silent regarding the transfer device comprising a suction table having the structure as claimed. However, Balduin ‘722 teaches that top form 11 has a skirt 3 in an exterior edge region, which defines a first suction groove in a first edge-region (¶ [0036]; Figs. 1, 3), and Balduin ‘722 further suggests that top form 11 may be a full surface form instead of a frame (¶ [0014]). In analogous art of glass sheet suction devices, Frebourg ‘820 suggests:
a suction table (structure above glass 1, Figs. 1-2)
the suction table has a first edge-region (region forming skirt 12) and a second edge-region (outer portion of upper mold 9), and the first edge region surrounds the second edge region (“skirt 12 encircles the upper mold 9”, ¶ [0037])
the suction table defines:
a first suction groove that is defined in the first edge-region (downward-facing opening of skirt 12)
a plurality of first suction holes that are defined in the second edge-region (orifices 11 in outer portion of upper mold 9)
a first suction channel that is in communication with the first suction groove and is used for providing a first negative pressure (horizontal channel connected to opening of skirt 12 and or channel proximate reference number 13, with arrows showing air flow, Fig. 1; ¶ [0037])
a second suction channel that is in communication with the plurality of first suction holes and is used for providing a second negative pressure (horizontal channel and/or vertical channel above orifices 11, with arrows showing air flow, Fig. 1; ¶ [0037])
the first negative pressure and the second negative pressure are used for sucking at least one glass sheet on the transfer device (¶ [0037]).
The suction table of Frebourg ‘820 is a full surface form used in a process of shaping at least one glass sheet (Abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Balduin ‘722 with the suction table as suggested by Frebourg ‘820 as an alternative structure of full surface top form for suctioning and shaping at least one glass sheet.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art does not fairly teach or suggest each of the plurality of first suction holes having a larger cross-sectional area than each of the plurality of second suction holes, or each of the plurality of first communicating holes having a larger cross-sectional area than each of the plurality of first suction holes. The relevant prior art does not discuss defining cross-sectional areas of the respective holes relative to one another. While changing sizes of holes individually may be considered as being within the ordinary skill in the art, it is not necessarily obvious to require that all of one group of holes has a different size than all of another group of holes without some particular motivation to do so.
Conclusion
/ERIN SNELTING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1741