DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, 7, 3, 5, 8, 9, 10, 11, 14, 17, (1, 15), 1, 1, 2, 1, 4, 14 and 17 respectively of U.S. Patent No. 11,513,170. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of claims 1 - 20 of an instant application encompasses the boundaries of the claims 1 - 17. The claims in the instant application define an invention that is merely an obvious variation of an invention claimed in the patent.
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims (1, 2), 3, 6, 10, 4, 5, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, (1, 17), 2, 7, 3, 8, 9, 15 and 16 respectively of U.S. Patent No. 11,698,421. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of claims 1 - 20 of an instant application encompasses the boundaries of the claims 1 - 18. The claims in the instant application define an invention that is merely an obvious variation of an invention claimed in the patent.
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 - 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,164,008. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of claims 1 - 20 of an instant application encompasses the boundaries of the claims 1 - 11. The claims in the instant application define an invention that is merely an obvious variation of an invention claimed in the patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13 - 16 and 19 - 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ausserlechner (2016/0148731).
As to claim 13, Ausserlechner discloses a magnet arrangement for a position sensor device and to a corresponding position sensor device using a magnet arrangement comprising disposing a magnetic field sensor (11) proximate to a two-dimensional (2D) surface magnet array (10, 24, 94, [0018]); wherein the 2D surface magnet array (10, 24, 94, [0018]) and the at least one magnetic field sensor (11) are in a specific relative orientation such that a relative trajectory of the at least one magnetic field sensor (11) is configured to be at a tilted, acute angle θ with respect to a length direction of a plurality adjacent magnetized tracks of the 2D surface magnet array (10, 24), (Fig. 1), [0033], wherein the at least one magnetic field sensor (11) is configured to output at least one periodic sine signal and at least one periodic cosine signal in response to relative movement along the relative trajectory, such that the at least one magnetic field sensor allows for an absolute position measurement of the 2D surface magnet array relative to the at least one magnetic field sensor within the period of the sine and the cosine signal, wherein in response to relative movement along the relative trajectory [0035], the at least one magnetic field sensor (11) is configured to generate (15) a periodic position signal having a period Pθ that depends, at least in part, upon the width W and the tilted, acute angle θ according to the equation in claim 13 [0037], [0042] - [0048], [0056].
As to claim 14, Ausserlechner discloses that the relative trajectory comprises the 2D surface magnet array (72) rotating relative to the at least one magnetic field sensor (11), (Fig. 7 and [0060)]).
As to claim 15, Ausserlechner discloses that the 2D surface magnet array (72, 82) comprises an axial cylindrical helical multipole magnet array (200) having an outer radius R (Fig. 7 and 8, [0064)).
As to claim 16, Ausserlechner discloses that the 2D surface magnet array (72, 82) is a radial disk spiral multipole magnet array (72, 82) having an outer radius R (Fig. 7 and 8).
As to claim 19, Ausserlechner discloses that the at least one magnetic field sensor (11) is configured to output at least one periodic sine signal in response to relative movement along the relative trajectory (Fig. 1, 2).
As to claim 20, Ausserlechner discloses that the movable device (90) and the fixed device (95), the movable device (90) having a predetermined trajectory relative to the fixed device (95) with a constant airgap between the fixed (95) and movable devices (90), wherein the at least one magnetic field sensor (11) is fixedly coupled to one of the fixed device (95) and the movable device, and the 2D surface magnet array (24; 20, 21) is fixedly coupled to the other of the fixed device (95) and the movable device (90).
Prior Art of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
NAKANISHI et al. (2024/0159569) is cited for its disclosure of a rotation angle sensor and calibration method of rotation angle sensor.
/REENA AURORA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858