DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8-10, 16, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ma et al. US 20260213912.
Regarding claim 1, one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media having instructions that, when executed, cause processing circuitry to: receive configuration information that indicates a slot index and a symbol index; and determine one or more sub-band full duplex (SBFD) symbols within a time division duplex (TDD) uplink (UL)-downlink (DL) pattern period based on the configuration information (a UE is provided with a UE specific UL/DL configuration via radio resource control (RRC) signaling such as tdd-UL-DL-ConfigDedicated, para. 0053, a UE specific UL/DL configuration may indicate a set of slot configurations and for each slot configuration from the set of slot configurations, a slot index for a slot, a set of symbols for a slot, where if symbols = allDownlink, all symbols in the slot are downlink and if symbols = allUplink, all symbols in the slot are uplink, para. 0054-0059, for each slot having a corresponding index provided by the slot index in the UE specific UL/DL configuration, the UE applies a format according to the corresponding set of symbols for the slot, para. 0062).
Regarding claim 8, The one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media of claim 1 wherein the slot index and the symbol index correspond to one or more guard symbols, and wherein the one or more guard symbols are within downlink (DL) symbols or flexible (X) symbols (the flexible symbols can also serve as a guard period for a UE to switch from DL reception to UL transmission, para. 0043).
Regarding claim 9, The one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media of claim 1, wherein the configuration information is included in a TDD-UL-DL-ConfigCommon information element, the TDD-UL-DL-ConfigCommon information element being separate from an SBFD configuration indication (a TDD-UL-DL-ConfigCommon can be provided to a UE through system information, the configuration indicating a a number of downlink slot, a number of downlink symbols, a number of uplink slots and a number of uplink symbols, para. 0045-0049).
Claims 10, 16 and 20 are rejected under the same rationale
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 7, 11, 15, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma in view of Deogun et al. US 20260255390.
Regarding claim 2, The one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media of claim 1, wherein the slot index is a first slot index and the symbol index is a first symbol index, wherein the configuration information further indicates a second slot index and a second symbol index (specific UL/DL configuration may indicate a set of slot configurations and for each slot configuration from the set of slot configurations, a slot index for a slot, a set of symbols for a slot, para. 0054-0056).
Ma does not expressly disclose wherein the first slot index and the first symbol index indicate first one or more guard symbols before the one or more SBFD symbols, and wherein the second slot index and second symbol index indicate second one or more guard symbols after the one or more SBFD symbols.
Deogun discloses frequency resources are configured for communication in full duplex slots that include frequency resources for an uplink subband and/or frequency resources for a downlink subband, Abstract. Deogun discloses the base station implements a ‘guard’ period or ‘LBT’ period, at an appropriate timing, during which it ceases DL transmissions temporarily and the timing could be configurable relative to the subframe/slot/symbol boundaries, such as the DL guard period occurs just before the start of UL transmission instances, para. 0219. Before the filing of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Ma to include Deogun’s guard period timing. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so to sense interference before initiating communication, para. 0219.
Regarding claim 7, The one or more non-transitory, computer readable media of claim 1, Ma discloses the slot index and the symbol index but does not expressly disclose corresponding to one or more guard symbols, and wherein the configuration information further indicates a guard time indication for the one or more guard symbols. Deogun discloses frequency resources are configured for communication in full duplex slots that include frequency resources for an uplink subband and/or frequency resources for a downlink subband, Abstract. Deogun discloses the base station implements a ‘guard’ period or ‘LBT’ period, at an appropriate timing, during which it ceases DL transmissions temporarily and the timing could be configurable relative to the subframe/slot/symbol boundaries, such as the DL guard period occurs just before the start of UL transmission instances, para. 0219. Before the filing of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Ma to include Deogun’s guard period timing. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so to sense interference before initiating communication, para. 0219.
Claims 11,15 and 17 are rejected under the same rationale.
Claim(s) 3, 12, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma in view of Deogun in view of Zhou et al. US 20240405962.
Regarding claim 3, The one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media of claim 2, Ma and Deogun do not explicitly disclose wherein the first one or more guard symbols correspond to a first transition from first one or more non-SBFD symbols to the one or more SBFD symbols, and wherein the second one or more guard symbols correspond to a second transition from the one or more SBFD symbols to second one or more non-SBFD symbols.
Zhou discloses a slot includes both SBFD and non-SBFD symbols, in accordance with symbol-level TDD UL/DL configuration. Zhou discloses in the slot, Figure 12, element 1200, initial one or more symbols are non-SBFD symbols, element 1202, followed with guard symbols and then remaining symbols, element 1204, can be configured as SBFD symbols, a guard period may be needed between the SBFD symbols and the non-SBFD symbols of the slot to allow for the transition between the SBFD symbols and the non-SBFD symbols of the slot, para. 0109, 0111, Figure 11. Before the filing of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Ma and Deogun to include Zhou’s symbol configuration. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so to improve speed and data carrying capacity of communications and improve efficiency of the use of shared communications mediums, para. 0003.
Claims 12 and 18 are rejected under the same rationale.
Claim(s) 4-5, 13, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma in view of Zhou.
Regarding claim 4, The one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media of claim 1, Ma discloses the slot index and the symbol index but does not expressly disclose indicate oner more guard symbols for a transition between SBFD symbols and non-SBFD symbols, and wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the processing circuitry to: utilize the configuration information for performance of the transition, the one or more guard symbols for the transition. Zhou discloses a slot includes both SBFD and non-SBFD symbols, in accordance with symbol-level TDD UL/DL configuration. Zhou discloses in the slot, Figure 12, element 1200, initial one or more symbols are non-SBFD symbols, element 1202, followed with guard symbols and then remaining symbols, element 1204, can be configured as SBFD symbols, a guard period may be needed between the SBFD symbols and the non-SBFD symbols of the slot to allow for the transition between the SBFD symbols and the non-SBFD symbols of the slot, para. 0109, 0111, Figure 11. Before the filing of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Ma to include Zhou’s symbol configuration. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so to improve speed and data carrying capacity of communications and improve efficiency of the use of shared communications mediums, para. 0003.
Regarding claim 5, The one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media of claim 1, Ma discloses the slot index and the symbol index but does not expressly disclose included as part of an SBFD configuration within a TDD-UL-DL pattern. Zhou discloses the slots, Figure 11, 1100 and Figure 12, element 1200, includes both SBFD and non-SBFD symbols, in accordance with symbol-level TDD UL/DL configuration, para. 0108-0109. Before the filing of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Ma to include Zhou’s symbol configuration. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so to improve speed and data carrying capacity of communications and improve efficiency of the use of shared communications mediums, para. 0003.
Claims 13 and 19 are rejected under the same rationale.
Claim(s) 6, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma in view of Song et al. US 20260089045.
Regarding claim 6, The one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media of claim 1, Ma does not expressly disclose wherein the slot index is included in a slot offset indication, and wherein the symbol index is included in a symbol offset indication. Song discloses the UE may receive slot offset and symbol offset information indicating a start slot/start symbol of the SBFD time duration from the configuration information, and may specify a slot after the slot offset from the start slot of the time resource period as the start slot of the SBFD, and may specify a symbol after the symbol offset from the first symbol of the start slot of the SBFD as the start symbol of the SBFD, para. 0171. Before the filing of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Ma to include Song’s SBFD configuration. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so to dynamically change traffic in both DL and UL directions and provide low latency in packet transmission, para. 0130.
Claim 14 is rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lu et al. US 20250184975 discloses a network device sends first signaling and second signaling to a terminal device, the second signaling indicates a terminal device supporting SBFD to configure types of all symbols in a first slot configuration periodicity by using the first signaling, or the second signaling indicates a terminal device supporting SBFD to configure the types of all the symbols in the first slot configuration periodicity by using a first configuration policy that is an uplink-downlink slot configuration policy dedicated to a terminal device supporting SBFD.
Abdelghaffar et al. US 20250112744 discloses a user equipment receives an indication of resource parameters for performing sounding reference signal transmissions during a slot comprising at least one subband full-duplex symbol and at least one non-subband full-duplex symbol.
/MELANIE JAGANNATHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468