Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,145,065. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application recite the same essential subject matter covering similar but not identical scope.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stalker (US 6394904) in view of Krishnamurthy (US 20190060760)
In claims 1 and 14, Stalker discloses
implement one or more coaching actions that modify a set of player inputs under one or more associated conditions (column 4 lines 62-67, column 5 lines 1-17)
Generating at least one virtual avatar within a virtual environment during a gameplay session, wherein the at least one virtual avatar is configured for cooperative gameplay control by a first source device that receives input from a player and a second source device that receives input in accordance with the coaching model (column 4 lines 62-67, column 5 lines 1-17)
Identifying that a set of inputs received from the first source device is associated with an intent to perform a virtual action within the virtual environment based on one or more current conditions, wherein the received set of inputs is incomplete or erroneous in relation to the virtual action (column 5 lines 45-59, the responses are compared to parameters considered to be correct for the current condition.)
Modifying the received set of inputs based on the intended virtual action and a set of AI based inputs from the second source device and (column 5 lines 45-51, the students response is ignored when it is contrary to the trainers and thus deemed incorrect)
Initiating performance of the virtual action by the at least one virtual avatar within the virtual environment in accordance with the modified set of inputs (column 4 likes 62-67, column 1 lines 1-67, column 6 lines 1-4)
Stalker fails to disclose storing an artificial intelligence(AI)-based coaching model in memory, wherein the AI based coaching model is used for the coaching input, however Krishnamurthy discloses an AI based coaching model which determines correct inputs, identifies incomplete or erroneous inputs, and suggests modifications to inputs (paragraphs 22, 27, 28 discloses an AI agent which describes specific inputs such as “move to the right and hold the X button on the joystick to have a straight shot”, paragraph 37 discloses that wrong or unsuccessful attempts may result in the AI agent being called upon). This teaches the invention as claimed in combination as, Stalker discloses the invention as claimed, but with a human trainer, and Krishnamurthy teaches an AI trainer which is aware of the context and inputs as well as whether inputs are erroneous or unsuccessful. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Stalker with Krishnamurthy in order to allow for automation of the training portion of the invention described in Stalker.
In claims 2 and 15, Krishnamurthy discloses capturing one or more sets of inputs associated with the virtual action from a plurality of different source devices associated with different users during different gameplay sessions (paragraph 52)
In claim 3, Krishnamurthy discloses identifying a sequence and timing associated with the set of inputs and one or more conditions of the gameplay (paragraph 52)
In claim 4, Krishnamurthy discloses tracking metadata for each of the conditions identified for the gameplay sessions (paragraph 52, it is noted by examiner that metadata is just data)
In claim 5, Krishnamurthy discloses storing in memory a content control profile that includes the sequence and timing of the sets of inputs and updating the content control profile with one or more new sets of inputs received under similar conditions (paragraph 28 discloses the sequence and timing of sets of inputs including multiple sets under similar conditions)
In claim 6, Krishnamurthy discloses customizing the content control profile to a specific source device based on historical data associated with the specific source device (paragraph 28 discloses that the assistance is based on experience level of the user)
In claim 7, Krishnamurthy includes a pattern of inputs associated with the one or more conditions in the virtual environment (paragraph 22 discloses prediction of the players experience level)
In claim 8, Stalker discloses modifying the received set of inputs is further based on a combination of one or more inputs from the plurality of different source devices (column 4 lines 62-67, column 5 lines 1-17)
In claim 9, Stalker in view of Krishnamurthy discloses supplementing the modified set of inputs based on the inputs stored in the content control profile (Stalker discloses supplementing the modified set of inputs based on inputs from the second player as per column 4 lines 62-67, column 5 lines 1-17, Krishnamurthy discloses the inputs stored in the content control profile as per paragraph 28, as such this combination would teach the invention as described in Stalker but with the secondary player’s inputs being received from the AI agent’s stored inputs of Krishnamurthy)
In claims 10 and 16, Stalker discloses modifying the received set of inputs includes combining the received set of inputs and the set of AI based inputs into a combination set of inputs (column 4 lines 62-67, column 5 lines 1-17)
In claims 11 and 17, Stalker discloses identifying that the combination set of inputs is erroneous or incomplete (column 5 lines 45-59)
In claims 12 and 18, Krishnamurthy discloses using the set of AI based control inputs from the second source device as a fallback in accordance with a specified level of control (column 4 lines 62-67, column 5 lines 1-67, column 6 lines 1-4)
In claims 13 and 19, Krishnamurthy discloses prioritizing the received set of inputs from the first source device (column 5 lies 3-17, “the system could be configured so that only the first controller could influence some parameters”, column 5 lines 32-45, the training rule set determines which controls are prioritized, which may be the student’s controls)
Conclusion
/THOMAS H HENRY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715