Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, Hendry fails to disclose or suggest "obtaining an access unit from a point cloud data bitstream".
Examiner disagrees, Hendry discloses obtain an access unit from a point cloud data bitstream (0085; 0093; 0222; 0236);
Applicants specification says “[0093]An access unit is a media data pertaining to a particular composition time in a media stream.”
The types of information that can be in a point cloud bitstream of Hendry can satisfy this definition and be considered an access unit like the metadata that can include geometry and attribute slices.
Applicant argues, Hendry fails to disclose or suggest "extracting a slice data unit from the access unit, wherein the slice data unit comprises a slice header and a slice payload"
Examiner disagrees, Hendry discloses extract a slice data unit from the access unit, wherein the slice data unit comprises a slice header and a slice payload (0304-7);
The types of information that can be considered an access unit are as the paragraphs are the reference for fig. 32 which shows geometry and attribute slice (headers and data) as part of the payload.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 11, 13-15, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hendry et al. US 2025/0005804
Hendry discloses:
13. and under similar rationale 1. An apparatus comprising: a processor (0009; 0011); and a memory storing instructions operative (0009; 0011), when executed by the processor, to cause the apparatus to: obtain an access unit from a point cloud data bitstream (0085; 0093; 0222; 0236); extract a slice data unit from the access unit, wherein the slice data unit comprises a slice header and a slice payload (0304-7); determine a slice data unit type for the slice data unit (0304-7); parse the slice header based on the slice data unit type (Fig. 13: 1335; Fig. 18; 0240-1; 0304-7); parse the slice payload based on the slice data unit type (Fig. 13: 1335; attribute and geometry; Fig. 18; 0240-1; 0304-7); and generate point cloud data using the parsed slice payload (Fig. 13: renderer 1360; Fig. 18; 0240-1; 0304-7).
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the slice data unit type is determined to correspond to either geometry data or attribute data (0304-7).
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the slice payload comprises a slice geometry payload (0304-7).
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the slice payload comprises a slice geometry payload with octree occupancy data (Fig. 6; 0119-22).
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the slice payload comprises a slice geometry payload organized on a per-depth level basis (Fig. 27-8 and related text e.g. 0291-2).
7. The method of claim 1, wherein parsing the slice payload comprises splitting the slice payload into two or more sub-slices (0304-7; 0357-60).
8. The method of claim 1, wherein the slice payload comprises a slice attribute payload (0304-7).
11. The method of claim 1, further comprising: obtaining a parameter set from the point cloud data bitstream; extracting a parameter from the parameter set; and configuring a decoder based on the extracted parameter (Figs. 13, 17; 0232-6).
14. A method comprising: obtaining point cloud data (0085; 0093; 0222; 0236); segmenting the point cloud data into one or more data slices (0304-7); performing a slice assembly process for each of the one or more data slices, wherein the slice assembly process performed for a current slice of the one or more data slices comprises: determining a point cloud data type for the current slice (Fig. 13: 1335; Fig. 18; 0240-1; 0304-7); generating a slice header for the current slice based on the point cloud data type (Fig. 13: 1335; Fig. 18; 0240-1; 0304-7); generating a slice payload for the current slice based on the point cloud data type (Fig. 13: renderer 1360; Fig. 18; 0240-1; 0304-7); and assembling the slice header and the slice payload together as a slice data unit for the current slice (Fig. 13: renderer 1360; Fig. 18; 0240-1; 0304-7); and generating an access unit using one or more of the slice data units (Fig. 13: renderer 1360; Fig. 18; 0240-1; 0304-7).
15. The method of claim 14, wherein the slice payload comprises one of a slice geometry payload, a slice geometry payload with octree occupancy, and a slice geometry payload organized on a per-depth level basis (0304-7).
17. The method of claim 14, wherein the slice payload comprises point cloud data for two or more sub-slices (0304-7; 0357-60).
18. The method of claim 14, wherein the slice payload comprises one of slice geometry data and slice attribute data (0304-7).
19. The method of claim 14, further comprising: obtaining a parameter used for configuring a decoder; and generating a parameter set using the obtained parameter (Figs. 13, 17; 0232-6).
20. The method of claim 14, further comprising streaming the access unit via a bitstream (0072).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 9-10, 12, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hendry in view of Pang et al. US 2025/0373863.
4. The method of claim 3,
Hendry does not explicitly disclose the following, however Pang teaches wherein the slice geometry payload comprises explicit hyperprior data, and wherein the explicit hyperprior data aggregates two or more point cloud features (0062-3; 0069; 0097; 0124-31).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the reference(s) as above in order to analyze and utilize the distribution of the feature so as to perform efficient arithmetic coding of the feature (Pang 0086-7)
9. The method of claim 8,
Hendry does not explicitly disclose the following, however Pang teaches wherein the slice attribute payload comprises explicit hyperprior data and wherein the explicit hyperprior data aggregates two or more attributes (0062-3; 0069; 0097; 0124-31).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the reference(s) as above in order to analyze and utilize the distribution of the feature so as to perform efficient arithmetic coding of the feature (Pang 0086-7)
10. The method of claim 1,
Hendry does not explicitly disclose the following, however Pang teaches wherein the slice payload comprises a slice attribute payload with octree occupancy data (0304-7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the reference(s) as above in order to analyze and utilize the distribution of the feature so as to perform efficient arithmetic coding of the feature (Pang 0086-7)
12. The method of claim 1,
Hendry does not explicitly disclose the following, however Pang teaches wherein generating point cloud data using the parsed slice payload comprises synthesizing hyperprior data using the parsed slice payload (Fig. 10; 0088-9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the reference(s) as above in order to analyze and utilize the distribution of the feature so as to perform efficient arithmetic coding of the feature (Pang 0086-7)
16. The method of claim 14,
Hendry does not explicitly disclose the following, however Pang teaches wherein the slice payload comprises explicit hyperprior data, and wherein the explicit hyperprior data aggregates two or more point cloud features (0062-3; 0069; 0097; 0124-31).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill before the effective filing date to modify the reference(s) as above in order to analyze and utilize the distribution of the feature so as to perform efficient arithmetic coding of the feature (Pang 0086-7)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH W BECKER/ Examiner, Art Unit 2483