DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EL Perkouss et al. (US 2025/0106676).
Regarding claim 1, El Perkouss discloses a network device (fig. 1), comprising: a network controller configured to provide access to a network including a set of Access Points (APs), wherein the set of APs is associated with a plurality of radios (i.e., the controller 104 may be in communication with one or more switches 108 and/or wireless Access Points (APs) 106 a-c. Switches 108 and wireless APs 106 a-c provide network connectivity to various client devices 110 a-j [0024]-[0026]); a processor (inherent feature); and a memory communicatively coupled to the processor (inherent feature in network configuration), wherein the memory comprises a Radio Resource Management (RRM) logic (controller 104 manage all devices in fig. 1, thus corresponding to the function of RRM) configured to: allocate a first channel width to the plurality of radios for one or more data exchange operations (i.e., the AP may: (1) while performing non-ranging Wi-Fi operations over a WLAN channel of a first bandwidth [0019]); determine that the set of APs is enabled for a ranging operation (i.e., determine whether a second bandwidth is clear of priority traffic [0019], [0024]-[0026]) and allocate a second channel width to a set of radios of the plurality of radios for the ranging operation, wherein the second channel width is different from the first channel width (i.e., wherein the second bandwidth is wider than the first bandwidth (in various examples, a dedicated antenna of the AP may perform the regulatory-compliance traffic check repetitively); (2) responsive to receiving a Wi-Fi ranging request (e.g., a ranging request to initiate an FTM session) and determining the second bandwidth is clear of priority traffic (e.g., clear of radar), modify the WLAN channel from the first bandwidth to the second bandwidth to serve the Wi-Fi ranging request (e.g., perform an FTM session) [0019], [0024]-[0026]).
Claims 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ZHOU et al. (US 2020/0217946).
Regarding claim 13, ZHOU teaches a network device, comprising: a set of radios chains (fig, 1, 130A-130H); a processor (120); and a memory communicatively coupled to the processor, wherein the memory comprises a Radio Resource Management (RRM) logic (the network device capable of managing/splitting wireless radio chains [0008]) configured to: operate a first subset of radios of the set of radios at a first channel width for one or more data exchange operations (considered the second subset for first subset to service existing client devices in exchanging data [0008]); receive a ranging request for a ranging operation (i.e., the first subset (considered as the second subset) of wireless radio chains may service the ranging measurement request [0008]); and operate a second subset of radios of the set of radios at a second channel width for the ranging operation, wherein the second channel width is different from the first channel width (i.e., In the case of a permanently split first subset of wireless radio chains and second subset of wireless radio chains, the network device may utilize the first subset of wireless radio chains exclusively for ranging measurement requests. The first subset of wireless radio chains, for ranging measurement requests, may operate at a different channel than the second subset of wireless radio chains, for providing wireless access service for the client devices associated with the wireless network [0008]-[0010], [0015]-[0016]).
Regarding claim 14, ZHOU further teaches receive an association request from a client device ([0017]); and transmit, to the client device, an indication that the first subset of radios is configured for the one or more data exchange operations in response to receiving the association request (i.e., he plurality of wireless radio chains (such as wireless radio chains 130A, 1308, 130C, and 130D) not split for the ranging measurement request may continue to provide service to client devices 160 associated with the wireless network 180 [0017]).
Regarding claim 15, ZHOU further teaches at least one of a Basic Service Set Identifier (BSSID) of the network device or channel information associated with the first subset of radios (i.e., client devices 160 operating at a channel associated with the wireless network 180 [0017]).
Regarding claim 16, ZHOU further teaches the ranging request is received from a client device (i.e., At block 210, the networking device 110 may receive a ranging measurement request for a client device 150 [0021]), and the RRM logic is further configured to transmit, to the client device, an indication that the second subset of radios is configured for the ranging operation (i.e., At block 210, the networking device 110 may receive a ranging measurement request for a client device 150. An upper layer appliance 140 may send the ranging measurement request to the networking device 110 [0021]).
Regarding claim 17, ZHOU further teaches at least one of a Basic Service Set Identifier (BSSID) of the network device or channel information associated with the second subset of radios (i.e., client devices 160 operating at a channel associated with the wireless network 180 [0017]).
Regarding claim 18, ZHOU further teaches prohibit transmission of an announcement indicating availability of the second subset of radios for the one or more data exchange operations in response to operating the second subset of radios at the second channel width (i.e., he system 110 may utilize TxBF. In such examples, in response to a ranging measurement request, the processor 120 of the system 110 may disable TxBF. The processor 120 may suspend TxBF to ensure that service to existing client devices 160 is not affected. In response to the fulfillment of the ranging measurement request, the processor 120 of the system 110 may re-enable TxBF. Once the full set of the plurality of wireless radio chains 130 is available, the processor 120 may re-enable TxBF [0019], [0038]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over El Perkouss et al. US 2025/0106676) in view of Lee et al. (US 2010/0278060).
Regarding claim 11, El Perkouss teaches to control one or more radios, of the plurality of radios that are excluded from the set of radios, to prohibit transmission of a ranging capability announcement.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Lee teaches Other nodes stop data transmission/reception until the ranging measurement procedure is disabled and stays in a waiting state. When the ranging measurement procedure is disabled, the coordinator node 105 sets up the field of the ranging broadcast field 314 as "0" to notify the end of the ranging measurement to the nodes of the piconet 100, and transmits the data frame to the nodes ([0063]). When the ranging measurement procedure is disabled, the mobile node 104 and the 1.sup.st to n.sup.th reference nodes 101 to 103 transmit a frame initializing the bit of the location flag field 316 as "0" to the coordinator node 105. In order to notify to the nodes on the piconet 100 that the ranging measurement procedure is disabled, the coordinator node 105 transmits an MAC frame and allows data transmission of the nodes ([0067]). Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention to have implemented the technique of Lee within the system of El Perkouss in order to prevent data collisions and network errors during the active ranging phase. Thus, keep data moving smoothly without confusion.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over El Perkouss et al. (US 2025/0106676) in view of Mueller (US 2018/ 0248663).
Regarding claim 12, Perkouss teaches all the limitations above except utilize a Machine Learning (ML) model to allocate the second channel width to the set of radios.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Mueller teaches the use of artificial intelligence in communication system wherein the network device can receive first allocation information indicating a first allocation of bandwidth. Moreover, the network device can receive first usage information indicating a first unused portion of first allocated bandwidth. The network device can reallocate the unused bandwidth to a first logical channel comprising a plurality of physical channels to a plurality of MU MIMO APs. The MU MIMO APs can then enable access to the first logical channel for a UE. The UE access to the first logical channel can be via a plurality of wireless links to the plurality of MU MIMO Aps ([0018]) and wherein a first allocation of bandwidth of the first access network connection is allocated to a first subscriber; and in response to determining a first unused portion of the first allocation of bandwidth: determining a second channel comprising a second access point device comprising a second access network connection between the second access point device and a second network device, wherein the second access network connection is different from the first access network connection, and wherein a second allocation of bandwidth of the second access network connection is allocated to a second subscriber ([claim 1]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Mueller within the system ElPerkouss in order to use multipath transport to spread data across to improve overall network efficiency.
Claims and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over El Perkouss et al. US 2025/0106676) in view of Shah et al. (US 2018/0332583).
Regarding claim, 19, El Perkouss teaches a method, comprising: acquiring first channel requirement information associated with a data exchange operation (i.e., The access point normally runs regular network traffic on a narrow channel, while performing non-ranging Wi-Fi operations over a WLAN channel of a first bandwidth [0019]) and second channel requirement information associated with a ranging operation (i.e., responsive to receiving a Wi-Fi ranging request (e.g., a ranging request to initiate an FTM session) and determining the second bandwidth is clear of priority traffic (e.g., clear of radar), modify the WLAN channel from the first bandwidth to the second bandwidth to serve the Wi-Fi ranging request (e.g., perform an FTM session) [0019]); receiving ranging data associated with a set of Access Points (APs) for a plurality of historical ranging events; and controlling the first channel requirement information, the second channel requirement information, and the ranging data, wherein one or more radios of the set of APs to utilize a target channel width for the ranging operation, and the target channel width is different from a channel width associated with the data exchange operation (i.e., the AP may: (1) while performing non-ranging Wi-Fi operations over a WLAN channel of a first bandwidth, perform a regulatory-compliance traffic check (e.g., a DFS CAC) to determine whether a second bandwidth is clear of priority traffic (e.g., radar), wherein the second bandwidth is wider than the first bandwidth (in various examples, a dedicated antenna of the AP may perform the regulatory-compliance traffic check repetitively); (2) responsive to receiving a Wi-Fi ranging request (e.g., a ranging request to initiate an FTM session) and determining the second bandwidth is clear of priority traffic (e.g., clear of radar), modify the WLAN channel from the first bandwidth to the second bandwidth to serve the Wi-Fi ranging request (e.g., perform an FTM session); and (3) upon completed service of the Wi-Fi ranging request, restore the WLAN channel to the first bandwidth for performing non-ranging Wi-Fi operations. Accordingly, the AP can serve Wi-Fi ranging requests with improved precision over WLAN channels (e.g., DFS channels) that require a regulatory-compliance traffic check to be performed before transmitting over the WLAN channels [0019]).
El Perkouss does not specifically teach receiving ranging data associated with a set of Access Points (APs) for a plurality of historical ranging events.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Shah teaches a Wi-Fi access point that uses past channel-scan results from itself and from nearby access points to decide which 5 GHz channels are worth checking, and which ones can be skipped. The access point can receive historical scan information directly from other access points or through a coordination server ([0016]-[0024]). access point (AP) may use historical Dynamic Frequency Selection (DFS) monitoring information to make a decision of whether to perform a DFS procedure on a particular channel. The historical information can be obtained from other APs, such as from other nearby APs. In this manner, historical DFS monitoring information, which was previously measured by the AP or by a nearby AP, can be used to improve the likelihood that a decision to perform the DFS procedure will result in a determination that a particular channel is useable ([abstr.]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the Dynamic Frequency Selection taught by Shah within the system of El Perkouss in order to reduce wasted radio time and improve channel choice in crowded or radar-prone 5 GHz environments.
Regarding claim 20, El Perkouss in view of Shah teaches all the limitations above. El Perkouss further teaches the ranging data for a historical ranging event of the plurality of historical ranging events comprises at least one of: a client device identifier, a channel number, a channel width, a mode of ranging, a count of frames exchanged in the historical ranging event, or an outcome of the historical ranging event (i.e., data structure 500 may include a number of records, each of which may be associated with a particular AP 210. Each record may include AP identifier field 510, AP location field 520, and DFS channel scan information field 530 [0040]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JEAN A GELIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643