Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 20240349269 to Molanvianjazi et al (support found in Provisional Applications No. 63459212, 63464134, and 63545274).
Referring to claim 1, Molanvianjazi et al disclose in Figures 1-11 a UE, comprising:
A memory (memory 360).
One or more processors (processor 340) configured to, when executing instructions stored in the memory, cause the UE to (processor 340 executes instructions stored in memory 360 to perform UE functions):
Receive, from a PCell of a network, RRC configuration information. Sections 0098, 0193, 0509, 0514, 0522-0524, 0534-0536, 0556, 0603-0615, and 0620-0639: PCell of the network transmits RRC configuration information to UE, wherein the RRC configuration information configures a DCI indicating SCell dormancy.
Determine, based on the RRC configuration information, that DCI to be received from the PCell is to include an indication of dormancy for at least one SCell of the network via at least one repurposed DCI field of the DCI. Sections 0509, 0522-0524, 0534-0536, 0556, and 0603-0613: PCell of the network transmits RRC configuration information to UE, wherein the RRC configuration information configures a DCI indicating SCell dormancy. SCell dormancy indication can be provided to UE by repurposing DCI fields per RRC configuration to indicate dormancy of at least one SCell.
Receive (step 620), from the PCell, the DCI including the indication of dormancy for the at least one SCell (Sections 0090, 0099, 0100, 0510, 0511, 0554, 0555, 0560-0567, 0571-0574, 0576-0579, 0601, 0604, 0608-0617, 0620, 0686-0688, 0703, 0705-0707, 0709, 0711, and 0716). Step 610: UE is configured a number of sets of cells for multi-cell scheduling. Step 620: UE receives a PDCCH from the PCell that provides a DCI format 1_3. Step 650: UE determines that the DCI format 1_3 provides SCell dormancy indication by repurposing DCI fields per RRC configuration to indicate dormancy of at least one SCell.
Communicate with the network according to the indication of dormancy (Sections 0090, 0099, 0100, 0510, 0511, 0554, 0555, 0560-0567, 0571-0574, 0576-0579, 0601, 0604, 0608-0617, 0620, 0686-0688, 0703, 0705-0707, 0709, 0711, and 0716). SCell dormancy indication is provided to UE via a DCI format to indicate to UE to switch to a dormant BWP from another BWP or vice versa when communicating with the network. UE uses the SCell dormancy indication to communicate with the network. Refer to Sections 0023-0722.
Referring to claim 2, Molanvianjazi et al disclose in Figures 1-11 wherein the at least one SCell comprises at least one SCG. Sections 0080, 0143, 0206, 0212, 0217, 0261, 0262, 0326, 0425, 0426, 0539, and 0556: an SCell can comprise a SCG. Refer to Sections 0023-0722.
Referring to claim 3, Molanvianjazi et al disclose in Figures 1-11 wherein the at least one repurposed DCI field comprises a repurposed field of DCI format 1_3. Sections 0100, 0554, 0555, 0567, 0571-0576, 0594, 0604, 0686-0688, 0705, 0709, and 0711: The network repurposes DCI fields of the DCI format 1_3 to provide a bitmap for SCell dormancy indication. Refer to Sections 0023-0722.
Referring to claim 4, Molanvianjazi et al disclose in Figures 1-11 wherein the at least one repurposed DCI field comprises at least one of: a field for a modulation and coding scheme for transport block 1; a field for a new data indicator of transport block 1; a field for a redundance version of transport block 1; and a field for a HARQ process number. Sections 0090 and 0560-0566: DCI fields that are repurposed to provide a bitmap for SCell dormancy indication include one or more of the following fields: modulation and coding scheme of transport block 1, new data indicator of transport block 1, redundancy version of transport block 1, and HARQ process number. Refer to Sections 0023-0722.
Referring to claim 5, Molanvianjazi et al disclose in Figures 1-11 wherein the UE is configured to determine a number of bits (a 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5 bits bitmap), of the at least one repurposed DCI field, to be used in the DCI to indicate the dormancy of the at least one SCell based on a number of DormancyGroupID parameters (the number of different DormancyGroupID(s)) of the RRC configuration information (higher layer parameter dormancyGroupWithinActiveTime). Sections 0425, 0426, 0539, and 0556: The SCell dormancy indication field of the repurposed DCI field includes a 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5 bits bitmap determined according to the number of different DormancyGroupID(s) provided by higher layer parameter dormancyGroupWithinActiveTime, where each bit corresponds to one of the SCell group(s) configured by higher layers parameter dormancyGroupWithinActiveTime, with MSB to LSB of the bitmap corresponding to the first to last configured SCell group in ascending order of DormancyGroupID. Refer to Sections 0023-0722.
Referring to claim 6, Molanvianjazi et al disclose in Figures 1-11 wherein a MSB bit to a LSB, of the number of bits, is mapped to a first SCell indicated by a first DormancyGroupID parameter of the
RRC to a last SCell indicated by a last DormancyGroupID parameter of the RRC. Sections 0425-0427, 0539, and 0556: The SCell dormancy indication field of the repurposed DCI field includes a 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5 bits bitmap determined according to the number of different DormancyGroupID(s) provided by higher layer parameter dormancyGroupWithinActiveTime, where each bit corresponds to one of the SCell group(s) configured by higher layers parameter dormancyGroupWithinActiveTime, with MSB to LSB of the bitmap corresponding to the first to last configured SCell group in ascending order of DormancyGroupID. Refer to Sections 0023-0722.
Referring to claim 9, Molanvianjazi et al disclose in Figures 1-11 wherein:
A first number of bits, of a total number of bits of the at least one repurposed DCI field, is
configured to indicate dormancy for a number of SCells. Sections 0577, 0579, 0601, 0620-0634, 0706, 0709, 0711, and 0714: Bits of a repurposed DCI field are used to indicate dormancy of a number of SCells or groups of SCells. For example: DCI fields that are repurposed to provide a bitmap for SCell dormancy indication (claimed “dormancy for a number of SCells”) include one or more of the following fields: modulation and coding scheme of transport block 1, new data indicator of transport block 1, redundancy version of transport block 1, and HARQ process number.
A second number of bits, of a total number of bits of the at least one repurposed DCI field, is
configured to indicate dormancy for at least one SCell group. Sections 0425, 0426, 0539, 0577, 0601, 0620-0634, and 0692: Bits of a repurposed DCI field are used to indicate dormancy of a number of SCells or groups of SCells. For example: a 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5 bits bitmap determined according to the number of different DormancyGroupID(s) provided by higher layer parameter dormancyGroupWithinActiveTime, where each bit corresponds to one of the SCell group(s) (claimed “indicate dormancy for at least one SCell group”) configured by higher layers parameter dormancyGroupWithinActiveTime.
The at least one SCell group is indicated by a DormancyGroupID parameter of the RRC
configuration information. Sections 0425, 0426, 0539, and 0556: a 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5 bits bitmap determined according to the number of different DormancyGroupID(s) provided by higher layer parameter dormancyGroupWithinActiveTime (claimed “RRC configuration information”), where each bit corresponds to one of the SCell group(s) configured by higher layers parameter dormancyGroupWithinActiveTime. Each SCell group is indicated by a DormancyGroupID, in the form of SCell dormancy groups with DormancyGroupIDs. Refer to Sections 0023-0722.
Referring to claim 15, Molanvianjazi et al disclose in Figures 1-11 wherein the UE is further configured to: communicate, to the PCell, UE capability information comprising a maximum number of SCells for which SCell dormancy may be indicated via repurposed DCI fields. Sections 0551, 0576, 0600-0603, and 0695: UE reports a capability to indicate whether the UE supports SCell dormancy indication based on an explicit field in DCI format 1_3; UE reports a capability to indicate whether the UE supports SCell dormancy indication by repurposing certain fields from a DCI format 1_3. UE also reports N, wherein N is a maximum number of supported SCells provided by UE capability, since there are N configured SCells that require SCell dormancy indication. Refer to Sections 0023-0722.
Referring to claim 16, Molanvianjazi et al disclose in Figures 1-11 wherein a base station (BS), comprising:
A memory (memory 230).
One or more processors (processor 225) configured to, when executing instructions stored in the memory, cause the base station to (processor 225 executes instructions stored in memory 230 to perform BS functions):
Receive, from a UE, UE capability information. Sections 0551, 0576, 0602, and 0701: UE reports a capability to indicate whether the UE supports SCell dormancy indication based on an explicit field in DCI format 1_3; UE reports a capability to indicate whether the UE supports SCell dormancy indication by repurposing certain fields from a DCI format 1_3.
Communicate (step 620), to the UE, DCI comprising an indication of dormancy for at least one SCell via repurposing at least one DCI field. Sections 0509, 0522-0524, 0534-0536, 0556, and 0603-0613: PCell of the network transmits RRC configuration information to UE, wherein the RRC configuration information configures a DCI indicating SCell dormancy. SCell dormancy indication can be provided to UE by repurposing DCI fields per RRC configuration to indicate dormancy of at least one SCell. Sections 0090, 0099, 0100, 0510, 0511, 0554, 0555, 0560-0567, 0571-0574, 0576-0579, 0601, 0604, 0608-0617, 0620, 0686-0688, 0703, 0705-0707, 0709, 0711, and 0716; and step 610: UE is configured a number of sets of cells for multi-cell scheduling. Step 620: UE receives a PDCCH from the PCell that provides a DCI format 1_3. Step 650: UE determines that the DCI format 1_3 provides SCell dormancy indication by repurposing DCI fields per RRC configuration to indicate dormancy of at least one SCell.
Communicate with the network according to the indication of dormancy (Sections 0090, 0099, 0100, 0510, 0511, 0554, 0555, 0560-0567, 0571-0574, 0576-0579, 0601, 0604, 0608-0617, 0620, 0686-0688, 0703, 0705-0707, 0709, 0711, and 0716). SCell dormancy indication is provided to UE via a DCI format to indicate to UE to switch to a dormant BWP from another BWP or vice versa when communicating with the network. UE uses the SCell dormancy indication to communicate with the network. Refer to Sections 0023-0722.
Referring to claim 17, Molanvianjazi et al disclose in Figures 1-11 wherein the base station (Section 033: BS, which can also be a gNB) is configured to operate as a PCell to the UE. Sections 0100, 0545, 0554, and claims 15-20 of Molanvianjazi et al: BS operates as a PCell to UE. Refer to Sections 0023-0722.
Referring to claim 18, Molanvianjazi et al disclose in Figures 1-11 wherein the base station is further configured to: determine, based on the UE capability information, that the UE is capable of receiving the indication of dormancy for at least one SCell via repurposed DCI fields. Sections 0551, 0576, 0602, and 0701: UE reports a capability to indicate whether the UE supports SCell dormancy indication based on an explicit field in DCI format 1_3; UE reports a capability to indicate whether the UE supports SCell dormancy indication by repurposing certain fields from a DCI format 1_3. BS receives the capability information from UE, and determines that UE is capable of receiving the indication of dormancy for at least one SCell via repurposed DCI fields based on the capability information. Refer to Sections 0023-0722.
Referring to claim 19, Molanvianjazi et al disclose in Figures 1-11 wherein the base station is further configured to: communicate, to the UE RRC configuration information comprising dormancy information for at least one SCell. Sections 0098, 0193, 0509, 0514, 0522-0524, 0534-0536, 0556, 0603-0615, and 0620-0639: PCell (BS) of the network transmits RRC configuration information to UE, wherein the RRC configuration information configures a DCI indicating SCell dormancy. SCell dormancy indication can be provided to UE by repurposing DCI fields per RRC configuration to indicate dormancy of at least one SCell. Sections 0090, 0099, 0100, 0510, 0511, 0554, 0555, 0560-0567, 0571-0574, 0576-0579, 0601, 0604, 0608-0617, 0620, 0686-0688, 0703, 0705-0707, 0709, 0711, and 0716; and step 610: UE is configured a number of sets of cells for multi-cell scheduling. Step 620: UE receives a PDCCH from the PCell that provides a DCI format 1_3. Step 650: UE determines that the DCI format 1_3 provides SCell dormancy indication by repurposing DCI fields per RRC configuration to indicate dormancy of at least one SCell. Refer to Sections 0023-0722.
Referring to claim 20, Molanvianjazi et al disclose in Figures 1-11 a method (performed by UE), comprising:
Receiving, from a PCell of a network, RRC configuration information. Sections 0098, 0193, 0509, 0514, 0522-0524, 0534-0536, 0556, 0603-0615, and 0620-0639: PCell of the network transmits RRC configuration information to UE, wherein the RRC configuration information configures a DCI indicating SCell dormancy.
Determining, based on the RRC configuration information, that DCI to be received from the PCell is to include an indication of dormancy for at least one SCell of the network via at least one repurposed DCI field of the DCI. Sections 0509, 0522-0524, 0534-0536, 0556, and 0603-0613: PCell of the network transmits RRC configuration information to UE, wherein the RRC configuration information configures a DCI indicating SCell dormancy. SCell dormancy indication can be provided to UE by repurposing DCI fields per RRC configuration to indicate dormancy of at least one SCell.
Receiving (step 620), from the PCell, the DCI including the indication of dormancy for the at least one SCell (Sections 0090, 0099, 0100, 0510, 0511, 0554, 0555, 0560-0567, 0571-0574, 0576-0579, 0601, 0604, 0608-0617, 0620, 0686-0688, 0703, 0705-0707, 0709, 0711, and 0716). Step 610: UE is configured a number of sets of cells for multi-cell scheduling. Step 620: UE receives a PDCCH from the PCell that provides a DCI format 1_3. Step 650: UE determines that the DCI format 1_3 provides SCell dormancy indication by repurposing DCI fields per RRC configuration to indicate dormancy of at least one SCell.
Communicating with the network according to the indication of dormancy (Sections 0090, 0099, 0100, 0510, 0511, 0554, 0555, 0560-0567, 0571-0574, 0576-0579, 0601, 0604, 0608-0617, 0620, 0686-0688, 0703, 0705-0707, 0709, 0711, and 0716). SCell dormancy indication is provided to UE via a DCI format to indicate to UE to switch to a dormant BWP from another BWP or vice versa when communicating with the network. UE uses the SCell dormancy indication to communicate with the network. Refer to Sections 0023-0722.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20240349269 to Molanvianjazi et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20220053542 to Xu et al.
Referring to claim 7, Molanvianjazi et al do not disclose wherein a number of fields, of the at least one repurposed DCI field, is based on a number of bits used to indicate the dormancy of the at least one SCell.
Xu et al disclose in Figures 1-18 and Sections 0117-0122, 0130-0133, 0151-0155, 0162, and 0163 wherein BS repurposes a DCI field to indicate SCell dormancy. Figure 3 and Section 0154: The dormancy indication DCI 301 may include a number of fields repurposed to convey the dormancy indication 305-b of 16 bits, each field allocating a number of bits to the dormancy indication 305-b. For example, BS repurposes a MCS field 310-b including five bits, a NDI field 310-c including one bit, a RV field 310-d including two bits, a HARQ field 310-e including four bits, and an antenna ports field 310-f including at least four bits. So: the number of fields (310-b to 310-f) is based on the number of bits (total number of bits 16 and number of bits per field) to indicate SCell dormancy. Refer to Sections 0072-0351. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein a number of fields, of the at least one repurposed DCI field, is based on a number of bits used to indicate the dormancy of the at least one SCell. One would have been motivated to do so to ensure that there are enough bits to indicate the dormancy of an SCell based on the number of bits.
Referring to claim 8, Molanvianjazi et al do not disclose wherein unused bits, of the at least one repurposed DCI field, are reserved or set to a default value.
Xu et al disclose in Figures 1-18 and Sections 0117-0122, 0130-0133, 0151-0155, 0162, and 0163 wherein BS repurposes a DCI field to indicate SCell dormancy. Figure 3 and Section 0155: the dormancy indication DCI 301 may include at least two bits that are unused by the dormancy indication 305-b; BS uses one or more of the at least two unused bits to indicate whether the dormancy indication 305-b indicates a dormancy status for control channel resources or for SCells (claimed “wherein unused bits, of the at least one repurposed DCI field, are reserved”; “reserved” to indicate whether the dormancy indication indicates a dormancy status for control channel resources or for SCells). Refer to Sections 0072-0351. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein unused bits, of the at least one repurposed DCI field, are reserved or set to a default value (not in reference, claim is in “or” form). One would have been motivated to do so so BS can use unused bits to indicate whether the dormancy indication indicates a dormancy status for control channel resources or for SCells, thereby allowing UE to differentiate between dormancy statuses for control channel resources and SCells.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20240349269 to Molanvianjazi et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20230155747 to Choi et al.
Molanvianjazi et al do not disclose wherein the indication of dormancy for the at least one SCell corresponds to a rule defining a maximum number of SCells, of a total number of SCells, for which dormancy is to be indicated.
Choi et al disclose in Figures 1-26 and Sections 0346, 0347, 0353, and 0357 wherein in a DCI format, the length of the bitmap of Scell dormancy indication is equal to the maximum number of configured Scells. For example with 8 configured Scells, UE needs the bitmap of up to 8 bits. Fields of the DCI format are repurposed as a bitmap of Scell dormancy indication. For example in a DCI format, the MCS field is 5 bits, the NDI field is 1 bit, the RV field is 2 bits, the HPN field is 4 bits, the antenna ports field is 4 bits, and the DMRS initialization field is 1 bit, totaling 17 bits so the dormancy state of a maximum of 17 Scells can be indicated through the bitmap (claimed “maximum number of SCells, of a total number of SCells”, wherein the “maximum number of SCells” and the “total number of SCells” can be the same). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the indication of dormancy for the at least one SCell corresponds to a rule defining a maximum number of SCells, of a total number of SCells, for which dormancy is to be indicated. One would have been motivated to do so so that BS can indicate a maximum number of SCells for which dormancy is to be indicated to ensure that UE is notified of dormancy status of the maximum number of SCells.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20240349269 to Molanvianjazi et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20230074847 to Zhou et al.
Molanvianjazi et al do not disclose wherein a number of bits of the at least one repurposed DCI field comprises: a first number of bits is configured to indicate an SCell subset of the at least one SCell; and second number of bits is configured to indicate a dormancy for each SCell of the indicated
SCell subset.
Zhou et al disclose in Figures 1-3 and Sections 0021-0035 wherein a bit corresponds to a SCell sub-group, which can comprise for example, SCell 1 and SCell 2 (claimed “a first number of bits is configured to indicate an SCell subset of the at least one SCell”). Sections 0042-0047: each SCell is associated with a bitmap, wherein a dormancy state of one or more SCells in one SCell sub-group is indicated by the bit (claimed “second number of bits is configured to indicate a dormancy for each SCell of the indicated SCell subset”). Refer to Sections 0015-0107. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein a number of bits of the at least one repurposed DCI field comprises: a first number of bits is configured to indicate an SCell subset of the at least one SCell; and second number of bits is configured to indicate a dormancy for each SCell of the indicated SCell subset. One would have been motivated to do so so that BS can update to UE an SCell subset and the dormancy status of each SCell in the SCell subset to facilitate data communication on each SCell in the SCell subset.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 20240349269 to Molanvianjazi et al in view of U.S. Publication No. 20260173109 to Jiang et al.
Molanvianjazi et al disclose in Figures 1-11 wherein the UE is further configured to: communicate, to the PCell, UE capability information comprising an indication that the UE
supports an indication of SCell dormancy via repurposed DCI fields ... Sections 0551, 0576, 0602, and 0701: UE reports a capability to indicate whether the UE supports SCell dormancy indication based on an explicit field in DCI format 1_3; UE reports a capability to indicate whether the UE supports SCell dormancy indication by repurposing certain fields from a DCI format 1_3. Refer to Sections 0023-0722.
Molanvianjazi et al do not disclose wherein the UE is further configured to: communicate, to the PCell, UE capability information comprising an indication that the UE supports an indication of SCell dormancy via repurposed DCI fields when an antenna port field is not configured as a Type 2 field.
Jiang et al disclose in Figures 1-9 and Sections 0041, 0048, 0049, 0073, 0080, 0081, 0191, and claims 18-19 of Jiang et al wherein antenna port field can be type 1A or type 2; when the antenna port field is type 1A (claimed “when an antenna port field is not configured as a Type 2 field”), the field is used for SCell dormancy indication. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the UE is further configured to: communicate, to the PCell, UE capability information comprising an indication that the UE supports an indication of SCell dormancy via repurposed DCI fields when an antenna port field is not configured as a Type 2 field. One would have been motivated to do so that UE can support an indication of SCell dormancy via repurposed DCI fields when an antenna port field is not configured as a Type 2 field, thereby increasing system flexibility by supporting another antenna port field types.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Publication No. 20260180843 to Abdelghaffar et al disclose in Figures 1-10 and Sections 0051-0052, 0065, and 0071-0089 wherein the SCell dormancy indication may be indicated by repurposing an MCS field, an NDI field, an RV field, a HARQ process number field, and/or an antenna port field in a DCI format 1_1. Refer to Sections 0026-0152.
U.S. Publication No. 20210329677 to Huang et al disclose in Figures 1-13 and Sections 0354-0361 and 0409 wherein for case when PDCCH with DCI format 1-1 is used for indicating dormancy for SCells, and when UE is indicated that the PDCCH is not used for PDSCH scheduling: the explicit information field for SCell dormancy indication is a bitmap of length N1 where N1 is the number of configured Scells for the UE, and each bit in the bitmap corresponds to one configured SCell; the following fields are re-purposed in the PDCCH for dormancy indication—MCS (5), NDI (1), RV (2), HARQ process number (4), and Antenna port(s) (at least 4). Refer to Sections 0021-0731.
U.S. Publication No. 20210176012 to Xu et al disclose in Figures 1-6 and Sections 0044, 0058, and 0062 wherein a DCI message includes one or more fields that have usable bits for the SCell dormancy indication and/or the HARQ feedback indication when the DCI message does not schedule data. Refer to Sections 0023-0089.
/Christine Ng/
Examiner, AU 2464
September 28, 2026