DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 11-14, and 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Gibson et al. (US 20130139822 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Gibson discloses a patient interface ([0077] mask system 210; figure 11-12) for treatment of sleep disordered breathing (see [0002]), the patient interface comprising:
a plenum chamber ([0078] Central portion 250 adjacent the patient's airways and defining the breathing chamber may be laminated or otherwise sealed. Connection ring 295 is positioned to receive an air delivery tube and deliver breathable gas to the sealed chamber; figure 12) pressurisable to a therapeutic pressure of at least 4 cmH2O above ambient air pressure ([0003] Patient interfaces, such as a full-face or nasal mask systems, for use with positive airway pressure (PAP) devices in the treatment of Sleep Disordered Breathing (SDB), typically include a soft face-contacting portion, such as a cushion, and a rigid or semi-rigid shell or frame. In use, the interface is held in a sealing position by headgear so as to enable a supply of air at positive pressure (e.g., 2-30 cm H.sub.2O) to be delivered to the patient's airways), said plenum chamber including a plenum chamber inlet port sized and structured to receive a flow of air at the therapeutic pressure for breathing by a patient ([0078] Connection ring 295 is positioned to receive an air delivery tube and deliver breathable gas to the sealed chamber; figure 12);
a seal-forming structure constructed and arranged to form a seal with a region of the patient’s face surrounding an entrance to the patient’s airways ([0077] the mask system 210 includes a cushion region 230 adapted to define a breathing chamber and form a seal with the patient's face ; figure 11-12), said seal-forming structure having a hole therein such that the flow of air at said therapeutic pressure is delivered to at least an entrance to the patient’s nares (see figure 12, central opening at cushion portion 230 defining breathing chamber at central portion 250), the seal-forming structure constructed and arranged to maintain said therapeutic pressure in the plenum chamber throughout the patient’s respiratory cycle in use ([0078] Outer fabric layer 231 and an inner cushioning layer 232 forming the cushioning region 230 are positioned about or around the patient's airways);
a positioning and stabilising structure configured to provide a force to hold the seal-forming structure in a therapeutically effective position on the patient’s head (see figure 11), the positioning and stabilising structure comprising a strap ([0077]FIG. 11 shows a mask system 210 with a one piece construction including a composite having an outer fabric layer and an inner cushioning layer within the fabric layer) configured to be arranged, in use, so that an anterior portion of the strap is positioned anterior to the patient’s face in use (front portion of mask system 210 positioned in front of patient's face. see figure 11 and Examiner Annotations 1 below, "anterior portion of the strap");
Examiner Annotations 1
a vent to allow a continuous flow of gases exhaled by the patient from an interior of the plenum chamber to ambient ([0077] A tube connector (e.g., connection ring 295) may be provided to the cushion region 230 for connecting an elbow or air delivery tubing; figure 11. [0070] In an example, the elbow 90 may include one or more vent holes 91 (e.g., see FIGS. 6 and 7) to permit the exhaust of gases from the mask system; figure 7), said vent being configured to maintain the therapeutic pressure in the plenum chamber in use (elbow 90 including vent holes 91 provided at connection ring 295, see figure 7and 11);
wherein the anterior portion of the strap is shaped to form the plenum chamber (see figure 11-12 and Examiner Annotations 1 above, "anterior portion of the strap" forms the breathing chamber defined by central portion 250);
wherein the seal-forming structure is formed by (see figure 11-12 and Examiner Annotations 1 above, cushion region 230 is formed by the "anterior portion of the strap" defined by the front portion of mask system 210 positioned in front of patient's face) or provided to the anterior portion of the strap (see figure 11-12 and Examiner Annotations 1 above, cushion region 230 including outer fabric layer 231 and an inner cushioning layer 232 is provided to the "anterior portion of the strap" defined by the front portion of the mask system 210 positioned in front of patient's face).
Regarding claim 4, Gibson discloses the patient interface of claim 1, wherein the seal-forming structure is attached to the anterior portion of the strap ([0077] a mask system 210 with a one piece construction including a composite having an outer fabric layer and an inner cushioning layer within the fabric layer. see [0078] and figure 12, inner cushioning layer 232 is attached to the outer fabric layer 231 of the anterior portion of the strap).
Regarding claim 5, Gibson discloses the patient interface of claim 1, wherein the seal-forming structure comprises a cushion attached to the anterior portion of the strap (see [0078] and figure 12, inner cushioning layer 232 is attached to the outer fabric layer 231 of the anterior portion of the strap 210) configured to sealingly engage the patient’s face in use ([0078] Outer fabric layer 231 and an inner cushioning layer 232 forming the cushioning region 230 are positioned about or around the patient's airways; figure 12).
Regarding claim 6, Gibson discloses the patient interface of claim 5, wherein the cushion is formed from foam ([0035] In an example, the composite may be formed of a foam and a fabric, with the foam being completely encapsulated or contained within the fabric. The foam may be laminated to, insert molded on, compressed, or otherwise attached to the fabric. [0039] Preferably, the cushioning component may include at least one layer or filler within the fabric layer. Preferably, at least one layer is a foam. The foam may be a silicone foam (e.g., biocompatible so suitable for use in the air path) or a polyurethane foam. [0077] a mask system 210 with a one piece construction including a composite having an outer fabric layer and an inner cushioning layer within the fabric layer. Examiner notes that while [0039] is describing components of the embodiment shown in figure 1-9, the embodiment of figure 11-12 comprises the same details except what is disclosed as being different, such as the exclusion of seal and frame module 50 as stated in [0076]).
Regarding claim 7, Gibson discloses the patient interface of claim 1, wherein the anterior portion of the strap is shaped to form the seal-forming structure (see figure 11 and Examiner Annotations 1 above, "anterior portion of the strap" is shaped to form the cushion region 230).
Regarding claim 11, Gibson discloses the patient interface of claim 1, wherein the strap comprises an inwardly facing layer configured to contact the patient’s head in use ([0077] a mask system 210 with a one piece construction including a composite having an outer fabric layer and an inner cushioning layer within the fabric layer...a headgear region 240 (with upper and lower straps 242, 244 as described above); figure 11. Examiner notes that the strap at a headgear region 240 (with upper and lower straps 242, 244) only comprises the outer fabric layer that contacts the patient's head) and being formed from a textile material (Examiner notes that fabric is a textile material).
Regarding claim 12, Gibson discloses the patient interface of claim 1, wherein the strap comprises a resiliently compressible inner cushion layer ([0077] a mask system 210 with a one piece construction including a composite having an outer fabric layer and an inner cushioning layer within the fabric layer. [0078] Outer fabric layer 231 and an inner cushioning layer 232 forming the cushioning region 230 are positioned about or around the patient's airways).
Regarding claim 13, Gibson discloses the patient interface of claim 12, wherein the inner cushion layer is formed from foam ([0035] In an example, the composite may be formed of a foam and a fabric, with the foam being completely encapsulated or contained within the fabric. The foam may be laminated to, insert molded on, compressed, or otherwise attached to the fabric. [0039] Preferably, the cushioning component may include at least one layer or filler within the fabric layer. Preferably, at least one layer is a foam. The foam may be a silicone foam (e.g., biocompatible so suitable for use in the air path) or a polyurethane foam. [0077] a mask system 210 with a one piece construction including a composite having an outer fabric layer and an inner cushioning layer within the fabric layer. Examiner notes that while [0039] is describing components of the embodiment shown in figure 1-9, the embodiment of figure 11-12 comprises the same details except what is disclosed as being different, such as the exclusion of seal and frame module 50 as stated in [0076]).
Regarding claim 14, Gibson discloses the patient interface of claim 12, wherein the inner cushion layer comprises a varying thickness forming the shape of the seal-forming structure (see figure 12, varying thickness of inner cushioning layer 232 conforming to shape of user's face) or of a portion of the strap to which the seal-forming structure is attached.
Regarding claim 19, Gibson discloses the patient interface of claim 1, wherein the strap comprises a resiliently compressible outer cushion layer ([0077] a mask system 210 with a one piece construction including a composite having an outer fabric layer and an inner cushioning layer within the fabric layer. [0078] Outer fabric layer 231 and an inner cushioning layer 232 forming the cushioning region 230 are positioned about or around the patient's airways. Examiner notes that the inner cushioning layer 232 of the mask system 210 forms an outermost layer facing the patient's face).
Regarding claim 20, Gibson discloses the patient interface of claim 19, wherein the outer cushion layer is formed from foam ([0035] In an example, the composite may be formed of a foam and a fabric, with the foam being completely encapsulated or contained within the fabric. The foam may be laminated to, insert molded on, compressed, or otherwise attached to the fabric. [0039] Preferably, the cushioning component may include at least one layer or filler within the fabric layer. Preferably, at least one layer is a foam. The foam may be a silicone foam (e.g., biocompatible so suitable for use in the air path) or a polyurethane foam. [0077] a mask system 210 with a one piece construction including a composite having an outer fabric layer and an inner cushioning layer within the fabric layer. Examiner notes that while [0039] is describing components of the embodiment shown in figure 1-9, the embodiment of figure 11-12 comprises the same details except what is disclosed as being different, such as the exclusion of seal and frame module 50 as stated in [0076]).
Regarding claim 21, Gibson discloses the patient interface of claim 20, wherein the strap comprises an outwardly facing layer configured to face away from the patient’s head in use and being formed from a textile material ([0077] a mask system 210 with a one piece construction including a composite having an outer fabric layer and an inner cushioning layer within the fabric layer. see figure 12 and Examiner Annotations 1 above, outer surface of outer fabric layer 231 at anterior portion of strap is configured to face away from a patient's head. Examiner notes that fabric is a textile material).
Regarding claim 22, Gibson discloses the patient interface of claim 1, wherein the strap comprises lateral portions on either lateral side of the anterior portion (lateral portion of mask system 210 defined by upper and lower straps 242 and 244. see figure 11 and Examiner Annotations 2 below, "lateral portion"), the lateral portions being substantially flat at least at rest (see figure 9 and 15).
Examiner Annotations 2
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gibson et al. (US 20130139822 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Gibson discloses the patient interface of claim 1, wherein the strap comprises a semi-rigid support member.
However, Gibson teaches, in the embodiment of the strap in figure 1-9, wherein the strap comprises a semi-rigid support member ([0042] As shown in FIG. 4, the cushion region 30 may also include a structural component 35 that provides support to the cushioning component 31 so that the cushion can be positioned so as to engage with the patient's face. The structural component (also referred to as a stiff element, rigid element, or rigidizer) may provide structural support to help prevent the cushion from flexing or bending out of contact with the patient's face…the structural component may be formed of a textile or foam that has been thermoformed or embossed to create a dense or stiffer section of textile or foam. [0043] The structural component may influence the position of the cushion component. For example, the structural component may be curved, for example to the contours of a person's face, so that when in contact with the cushion component, the cushion is also curved; figure 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the cushion region of the strap of Gibson to implement a structural component made of a semi-rigid material, such as a dense or stiffer section of textile or foam, in order to provide structural support to help prevent the cushion from flexing or bending out of contact with the patient's face, as taught by Gibson [0042-0043].
Regarding claim 16, Gibson discloses the patient interface of claim 1, but is silent as to wherein the strap comprises a substantially inextensible layer.
However, Gibson teaches, in the embodiment of the strap (headgear and cushion module 20) in figure 1-9, wherein the strap comprises a substantially inextensible layer ([0042] As shown in FIG. 4, the cushion region 30 may also include a structural component 35 that provides support to the cushioning component 31 so that the cushion can be positioned so as to engage with the patient's face. The structural component (also referred to as a stiff element, rigid element, or rigidizer) may provide structural support to help prevent the cushion from flexing or bending out of contact with the patient's face…the structural component may be formed of a textile or foam that has been thermoformed or embossed to create a dense or stiffer section of textile or foam. [0043] The structural component may influence the position of the cushion component. For example, the structural component may be curved, for example to the contours of a person's face, so that when in contact with the cushion component, the cushion is also curved).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the cushion region of the strap of Gibson to implement a structural component layer as a stiff element, rigid element, or rigidizer formed of a dense or stiffer section of textile or foam, in order to provide structural support to help prevent the cushion from flexing or bending out of contact with the patient's face, as taught by Gibson [0042-0043].
Regarding claim 17, modified Gibson teaches the patient interface of claim 16, wherein the substantially inextensible layer comprises a pair of high strength portions provided adjacent to the anterior portion on respective sides of the anterior portion and having a higher strength than adjacent portions of the substantially inextensible layer ([0047] The structural component may have varying hardness or stiffness zones that may create regions having more support of the cushion component, and other regions having less support for the cushion component. For example, the structural component may have a lower stiffness at the nose bridge to accommodate varying nose bridge sizes, and may have a higher stiffness at the corners of the nose or chin region to ensure stability and anchoring of the cushion component at the boney regions of the face. Examiner notes the zone of higher stiffness at the corners of the nose or chin region constitute the pair of high strength portions provided adjacent the anterior portion on both the left and right sides of the anterior portion).
Regarding claim 18, modified Gibson teaches the patient interface of claim 17, wherein the high strength portions are provided at or proximate to an inferior edge of the strap (see [0047], higher stiffness at the chin region ).
Claim(s) 2-3 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gibson et al. (US 20130139822 A1) as applied to claim 1 and 7 respectively above, and further in view of Scheiner et al. (US 20220072344 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Gibson discloses the patient interface of claim 1, but is silent as to wherein the anterior portion of the strap is thermoformed into a three-dimensional shape defining the plenum chamber.
See figure 11-12 and Examiner Annotations 1 above, "anterior portion of the strap" forms the breathing chamber defined by central portion 250.
Gibson teaches [0034] The headgear and cushion module 20 includes a composite including an outer fabric or textile layer that provides an exterior surface of the module and an inner conformable, cushioning, and flexible layer or filler encapsulated or contained within the fabric layer. In an example, the fabric and filler (e.g., including cushioning and structural components) may include a single piece construction (e.g., made by laminating, heat pressing, welding, sewing, etc. components together). [0077] For example, FIG. 11 shows a mask system 210 with a one piece construction including a composite having an outer fabric layer and an inner cushioning layer within the fabric layer.
Additionally, Scheiner teaches a patient interface (figure 4-12) wherein an anterior portion of the strap is thermoformed into a three-dimensional shape defining the plenum chamber ([0206] In certain forms, a single piece of material (e.g., semi-rigid or rigid material) may be used to construct the cup-shaped body 3010. A thermoforming process may be used to maintain the shape of the material in the cupped shape (e.g., regardless of whether the mask 3000 is in use; figure 5-1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the anterior portion of the strap of Gibson to be constructed by a single piece of material using a thermoforming process in order to maintain the shape of the material in the cupped shape at the patient's face, as taught by Scheiner [0206].
Regarding claim 3, modified Gibson teaches the patient interface of claim 3, Gibson teaches wherein the anterior portion of the strap comprises a concave portion defining the plenum chamber (see figure 12, concave portion at patient's nares and mouth defining the breathing chamber at central portion 250).
Regarding claim 8, Gibson discloses the patient interface of claim 7, but is silent as to wherein the anterior portion of the strap is thermoformed into a three-dimensional shape defining the plenum chamber and forming the seal-forming structure.
See figure 11-12 and Examiner Annotations 1 above, "anterior portion of the strap" forms the cushion region 230 and forms the breathing chamber defined by central portion 250.
Gibson teaches [0034] The headgear and cushion module 20 includes a composite including an outer fabric or textile layer that provides an exterior surface of the module and an inner conformable, cushioning, and flexible layer or filler encapsulated or contained within the fabric layer. In an example, the fabric and filler (e.g., including cushioning and structural components) may include a single piece construction (e.g., made by laminating, heat pressing, welding, sewing, etc. components together). [0077] For example, FIG. 11 shows a mask system 210 with a one piece construction including a composite having an outer fabric layer and an inner cushioning layer within the fabric layer.
Additionally, Scheiner teaches a patient interface (figure 4-12) wherein an anterior portion of the strap is thermoformed into a three-dimensional shape defining the plenum chamber ([0206] In certain forms, a single piece of material (e.g., semi-rigid or rigid material) may be used to construct the cup-shaped body 3010. A thermoforming process may be used to maintain the shape of the material in the cupped shape (e.g., regardless of whether the mask 3000 is in use; figure 5-1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the anterior portion of the strap of Gibson to be constructed by a single piece of material using a thermoforming process in order to maintain the shape of the material in the cupped shape at the patient's face, as taught by Scheiner [0206].
Regarding claim 9, modified Gibson teaches the patient interface of claim 8, Gibson teaches wherein the anterior portion of the strap comprises a concave portion defining the plenum chamber (see figure 12 and Examiner Annotations 3 below, "concave portion" at patient's nares and mouth defining the breathing chamber at central portion 250) and a convex portion provided around a periphery of the concave portion configured to engage the patient’s face to form the seal-forming structure (see figure 12 and Examiner Annotations 3 below, "convex portion" surrounding patient's nares and mouth and engaging the patient's upper nose and chin).
Examiner Annotations 3
Regarding claim 10, modified Gibson teaches the patient interface of claim 9, wherein the strap is thicker in the convex portion than in the concave portion (see Examiner Annotations 3 above, "convex portion" includes the inner cushioning layer 232, thus making it thicker than the "concave portion").
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gibson et al. (US 20130139822 A1) as applied to claim 22 above, and further in view of Groll et al. (US 9981104 B1) and Scheiner et al. (US 20220072344 A1).
Regarding claim 23, Gibson discloses the patient interface of claim 22, but is silent as to wherein the strap comprises a thermoformed hinge portion between the anterior portion and the lateral portions of the strap.
However, Groll teaches a patient interface (figure 1-6) comprising a mask in the form of a strap (20; figure 1-6) wherein the strap comprises a hinge portion between the anterior portion and the lateral portions of the strap (In order to push the oral interface 400 closer to the face, an inner edge 420 of the cloth transition portion 140 of the mask (as seen on FIG. 3a) is sewn from the outside of the mask onto the oral portion 60, which then overlaps the oral interface 400 slightly so that a small amount of additional force is applied to the oral interface 400 when the mask 20 is in place to assist in maintaining the desired seal during therapy; figure 3a; col 7 ln 1-8. Examiner notes inner edge 420 acts as a hinge for positioning the anterior front portion and the lateral side portion of the mask 20 onto the user's face).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the strap of Gibson to implement a hinge transition structure between the anterior portion and the lateral portions of the strap in order to position the mask onto the user's face, as taught by Groll col 7 ln 1-8.
Gibson teaches [0034] The headgear and cushion module 20 includes a composite including an outer fabric or textile layer that provides an exterior surface of the module and an inner conformable, cushioning, and flexible layer or filler encapsulated or contained within the fabric layer. In an example, the fabric and filler (e.g., including cushioning and structural components) may include a single piece construction (e.g., made by laminating, heat pressing, welding, sewing, etc. components together). [0077] For example, FIG. 11 shows a mask system 210 with a one piece construction including a composite having an outer fabric layer and an inner cushioning layer within the fabric layer.
Additionally, Scheiner teaches a patient interface (figure 4-12) wherein [0206] In certain forms, a single piece of material (e.g., semi-rigid or rigid material) may be used to construct the cup-shaped body 3010. A thermoforming process may be used to maintain the shape of the material in the cupped shape (e.g., regardless of whether the mask 3000 is in use (see [0206] and figure 5-1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the strap of modified Gibson, including the modified hinge portion, to be constructed by a single piece of material using a thermoforming process as a known process for forming a single piece construction, as taught by Scheiner [0206].
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gibson et al. (US 20130139822 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Greenberg et al. (US 20130306077 A1) and Scheiner et al. (US 20220072344 A1).
Regarding claim 24, Gibson discloses the patient interface of claim 1, but is silent as to wherein the strap comprises a fastening portion at an end of the strap configured to attach to another portion of the strap to secure the strap around the patient’s head, wherein each fastening portion comprises a plurality of thermoformed indexing portions.
However, Greenberg teaches a patient interface (figure 1-10) comprising a strap (headgear component 16; figure 1-3) wherein the strap comprises a fastening portion at an end of the strap configured to attach to another portion of the strap to secure the strap around the patient’s head ([0029] The fit and tension provided by each of coupled lower strap members 24A, 24B and coupled crown strap members 26A, 26B is selectively adjustable by way of a hook and loop fastening system, such as VELCRO.RTM.. In particular, the exterior of the end of each of first lower strap member 24A and first crown strap member 26A includes a hook fastener portion, and a corresponding loop fastener portion is provided on the exterior of each of first lower strap member 24A and first crown strap member 26A at a position spaced from the hook fastener portion; figure 1-3), wherein each fastening portion comprises a plurality of indexing portions ([0030] each of lower strap member 24A and crown strap member 26A may be threaded through the respective looped connecting element 28, 30 and then bent back on itself in order to adhere the hook fastener portion to the loop fastener portion at a selected location and couple to the components together; figure 1-3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the strap of Gibson to implement a fastening portion at the end of the upper and lower straps comprising a hook fastener portion and a corresponding loop fastener portion in order to provide a selectively adjustable fastening arrangements to the strap, as taught by Greenberg [0030].
Gibson teaches [0034] The headgear and cushion module 20 includes a composite including an outer fabric or textile layer that provides an exterior surface of the module and an inner conformable, cushioning, and flexible layer or filler encapsulated or contained within the fabric layer. In an example, the fabric and filler (e.g., including cushioning and structural components) may include a single piece construction (e.g., made by laminating, heat pressing, welding, sewing, etc. components together). [0077] For example, FIG. 11 shows a mask system 210 with a one piece construction including a composite having an outer fabric layer and an inner cushioning layer within the fabric layer.
Additionally, Scheiner teaches a patient interface (figure 4-12) wherein [0206] In certain forms, a single piece of material (e.g., semi-rigid or rigid material) may be used to construct the cup-shaped body 3010. A thermoforming process may be used to maintain the shape of the material in the cupped shape (e.g., regardless of whether the mask 3000 is in use (see [0206] and figure 5-1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the strap of modified Gibson, including the fastening portions, to be constructed by a single piece of material using a thermoforming process as a known process for forming a single piece construction, as taught by Scheiner [0206].
Claim(s) 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gibson et al. (US 20130139822 A1), Greenberg et al. (US 20130306077 A1), and Scheiner et al. (US 20220072344 A1) as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of Huddart et al. (US 20170274167 A1)
Regarding claim 25, modified Gibson teaches the patient interface of claim 24, but is silent as to wherein each fastening portion comprises at least one embossed indexing portion and at least one debossed indexing portion.
However, Huddart teaches a strap comprising embossed and debossed features ([0984] FIGS. 242A-O illustrates an intra-moulded strap 7602 with the features 7652 embossed on the strap 7602. Similar to intra-moulded straps previously described, the strap 7602 may comprise a semi-rigid plastic core 7612 that is covered by a fabric skin 7614. The features 7652 may be embossed during the intra-moulding process such that the features 7652 may be integrally applied to the headgear without a separate manufacturing step or process (i.e., reduces manufacturing steps and cost); figure 242A-242G).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the fastening arrangement of the straps of modified Gibson to implement the hook fastening feature to be debossed onto the strap and the loop fastening feature to be embossed onto the strap, or vice versa, in order to integrally apply the features to the headgear without a separate manufacturing step or process (i.e., reduces manufacturing steps and cost), as taught by Huddart [0984].
Regarding claim 26, modified Gibson teaches the patient interface of claim 25, wherein the at least one debossed indexing portion comprises a hook material attached thereto and configured to form a hook-and-loop connection with the at least one embossed indexing portion (see modification of claim 25 above, "the hook fastening feature to be debossed onto the strap and the loop fastening feature to be embossed onto the strap").
Conclusion
/M.I.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/VALERIE L WOODWARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785