DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Although the claims at issue in this application are not exactly identical, however, they are not patentably distinct from each other as indicated below, also through 35 USC § 102 and 35 USC § 103 Rejections.
Regarding Claim-1, HUANG et. al. [US 20210385940 A1], in the Claim Set- 1 through 20, discloses that an electronic device, comprising: a substrate; a conductive element, disposed on the substrate and having a side wall , wherein the conductive element comprises: a first layer, having a first thickness; and a second layer (5, Paragraph [0018]), disposed on the first layer having a second thickness, wherein the second thickness is greater than the first thickness; and an insulating layer, disposed on the conductive element (2), wherein at least a portion of the side wall is uneven (annotated Fig-1), and a portion of the insulating layer is disposed corresponding to the side wall (annotated Fig., 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims -1, 2, 3, 6, 8, 9- are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by- TAKAMI [JP 2004140243 A], also, [JP 4127377B2].
Regarding Claim-1, TAKAMI [JP 2004140243 A], Figures- 1, 2, & 3(a) – 3(f), discloses that an electronic device, comprising: a substrate (4); a conductive element (2), disposed on the substrate (4) and having a side wall (annotated Fig-3), wherein the conductive element (2) comprises: a first layer, having a first thickness (4, 5 to 50 μm); and a second layer (5, Paragraph [0018]), disposed on the first layer having a second thickness, wherein the second thickness is greater than the first thickness (10 to 80 μm, Paragraph [0020]); and an insulating layer (1), disposed on the conductive element (2), wherein at least a portion of the side wall is uneven (annotated Fig-1), and a portion of the insulating layer is disposed corresponding to the side wall (annotated Fig., 7).
Regarding Claim-2, TAKAMI [JP 2004140243 A], Figures- 1, 2, & 3(a) – 3(f), discloses that the portion of the insulating layer is uneven (annotated Fig-1).
Regarding Claim-3, TAKAMI [JP 2004140243 A], Figures- 1, 2, & 3(a) – 3(f), discloses that a recessed portion of the side wall is corresponding to a bumped portion of the insulating layer (1).
Regarding Claim-6, TAKAMI [JP 2004140243 A]- in Paragraph [0004] and in Claims listed, discloses that a material of the second layer is different from a material of the first layer.
Regarding Claim-8, TAKAMI [JP 2004140243 A], Figures- 1, 2, & 3(a) – 3(f), there is a gap between the insulating layer and the conductive element (7, annotated Picture-2).
Regarding Claim-9, TAKAMI [JP 2004140243 A], Figures- 1, 2, & 3(a) – 3(f), that the, wherein the conductive element further comprises a top side and a bottom side (of conducting element-2), wherein the side wall (side surface 2, side wall) connects the top side and the bottom side, wherein a first line connects a first point and a second point on the side wall, wherein a second line is defined as a line that starts from the second point and substantially parallel to an upper surface of the substrate (Layer 5), wherein the first point is the junction of the top side and the side wall, and the second point is the junction of the bottom side and the side wall (annotated Figure 3(f)), and wherein an angle between a first line and a second line (Line-2a at annotated Fig. 3(c))- ranges from 60 to 120 degrees ((Line-2a at annotated Fig. 3(c)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims- 4, 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TAKAMI (JP 2004140243 A)- in view of KONDO, Hitoshi (US 20130062108 A1).
Regarding Claim-4, TAKAMI (JP 2004140243 A)- does not disclose the conductive element further comprising: a third layer, wherein the second layer is disposed between the first layer and the third layer.
However, KONDO, Hitoshi (US 20130062108 A1), Figure-1, discloses that the conductive element further comprising: a third layer (21b), wherein the second layer is disposed between the first layer and the third layer (11, 21a, 21b). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use- a third layer, wherein the second layer is disposed between the first layer and the third layer in order to suppresses the occurrence of warping to stabilize the behavior under a high temperature environment as disclosed by Konda- in the section called- ADVANTAGE.
Regarding Claim-5, TAKAMI (JP 2004140243 A)- does not disclose that the third layer has a third thickness, and the second thickness is greater than the third thickness.
However, KONDO, Hitoshi (US 20130062108 A1), Figures- 1, discloses that the third layer has a third thickness (21b), and the second thickness (21a) is greater than the third thickness (21b)- refer to the annotated Figue-1. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use- that a third layer has a third thickness, and the second thickness is greater than the third thickness, in order to suppresses the occurrence of warping to stabilize the behavior under a high temperature environment as disclosed by Konda- in the section called- ADVANTAGE.
KONDO, Hitoshi (US 20130062108 A1), Figure-1:
Claim-7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TAKAMI (JP 2004140243 A)- in view of Koike et al., [US 20040171214 A1]-
Regarding Claim-7, TAKAMI [JP 2004140243 A]- does not disclose that the material of the second layer comprises aluminum, and the material of the first layer comprises of titanium or molybdenum. However, Koike et al., [US 20040171214 A1]- discloses that that the material of the second layer comprises aluminum, and the material of the first layer comprises of titanium or molybdenum as presented in Claim-3 of this prior art of the reference invention.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use multiple or, plurality of conductive layers to form a for a solid electrolyte layer comprised of an organic semiconductor and a top electrode layer comprised of metal on top as disclosed by Koike et al., in paragraph [0038].
Conclusion
/OBAIDUL GANI/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/STANLEY TSO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847