DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: The Examiner finds “for facilitating an adjustability and/or expandability thereof” to not really make sense. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by TentCraft Connecting Clamp [reference U on the 892].
Regarding claim 1, TentCraft teaches at 0:03 in the video [annotated below], a modular outdoor shelter system (A), comprising: a first modular outdoor structure (B), the first modular outdoor structure (B) including: at 0:36 in the video [also annotated below], a first plurality of corner support members (C) disposed at respective corners of the first modular outdoor structure (B); a first plurality of roof beam members (D), the first plurality of roof beam members (D) supported on the first plurality of corner support members (C); and a first roof structure (E), the first roof structure (E) supported on the first plurality of roof beam members (D); and a second modular outdoor structure (B’), the second modular outdoor structure (B’) including: a second plurality of corner support members (C’) disposed at respective corners of the second modular outdoor structure (B’); a second plurality of roof beam members (D’), the second plurality of roof beam members (D’) supported on the second plurality of corner support members (C’); and a second roof structure (E’), the second roof structure (E’) supported on the plurality or roof beam members (D’); wherein the first modular outdoor structure (B) is structurally configured to fit together with the second modular outdoor structure (B’) so as to form a single continuous outdoor structure.
Regarding claim 4, TentCraft teaches at 0:03 in the video [annotated above], at least one of the first modular outdoor structure (B) and the second modular outdoor structure (B’) comprises one or more roof brackets or clips (F) for attaching the first modular outdoor structure (B) to the second modular outdoor structure (B’).
Regarding claim 5, TentCraft teaches at 0:03 in the video [annotated above], at least one of the first modular outdoor structure (B) and the second modular outdoor structure (B’) comprises one or more corner support brackets or clips (F) for attaching the first modular outdoor structure (B) to the second modular outdoor structure (B’).
Regarding claim 6, TentCraft teaches at 0:03 in the video [annotated above], at least one of the first modular outdoor structure (B) and the second modular outdoor structure (B’) comprises one or more universal connector brackets (F) for attaching the first modular outdoor structure (B) to the second modular outdoor structure (B’).
Regarding claim 7, TentCraft teaches at 0:17 in the video, the one or more universal connector brackets (F) are configured to slip on from over or under at least one of the first plurality of roof beam members (D) and at least one of the second plurality of roof beam members (D’) to secure the first modular outdoor structure (B) to the second modular outdoor structure (B’).
Regarding claim 8, TentCraft teaches at 0:20 in the video, the one or more universal connector brackets (F) are configured to be secured in place by a plurality of screws.
Regarding claim 9, TentCraft teaches at 0:26 in the video, the one or more universal connector brackets (F) are adjustable and/or expandable to accommodate different sized roof beams members.
Regarding claim 10, TentCraft teaches at 0:26 in the video, the one or more universal connector brackets (F) comprise one or slots for facilitating an adjustability and/or expandability thereof.
Regarding claim 15, TentCraft teaches at 0:03 in the video [annotated above], at least one of the first modular outdoor structure (B) and the second modular outdoor structure (B’) is a gazebo with a single-tiered pyramid hip roof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TentCraft Connecting Clamp in view of TentCraft 2017 [reference V on the 892].
Regarding claim 2, TentCraft teaches a modular outdoor shelter but only shows first and second modular outdoor shelters. TentCraft 2017 shows at 1:10 of the video, four modular outdoor structures configured to structurally fit together to form a single continuous outdoor structure. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine three modular outdoor shelters to create an even bigger modular outdoor shelter system.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TentCraft Connecting Clamp in view of US Patent # 10,641,003 to Macias.
Regarding claim 3, TentCraft teaches a modular outdoor shelter system but does not teach the second roof structure overhangs the first roof structure. However, Macias teaches in Figure 9, a second roof structure (904) overhangs a first roof structure (902) so as to prevent or at least partially prevent weather precipitation [rainwater (Abstract)] from entering a covered area formed by the single continuous outdoor structure. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine TentCraft with Macias and have a reasonable expectation of success because Macias teaches the overhang prevents rainwater from cascading over the sides of the canopy (Abstract).
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TentCraft Connecting Clamp in view of US Patent Application Publication # 2018/0073719 to Bliss.
Regarding claims 11-14, TentCraft teaches a modular outdoor shelter system but does not teach strip lighting. However, Bliss teaches in Figures 2 and 7, strip lighting (30) extending vertically [above the ground] along a length of a corner support member (10/32) [for supporting a corner of an umbrella]; wherein the strip lighting (30) comprises a plurality of LEDs (16); wherein the strip lighting (30) further comprises one or more solar panels (Paragraph 0001) and one or more rechargeable battery packs (Paragraph 0023) for powering the strip lighting (Paragraph 0023), the one or more solar panels configured to charge the one or more rechargeable battery packs (Paragraph 0023) and/or power the strip lighting when sunlight is available (Paragraph 0003), and the one or more rechargeable battery packs configured to power the strip lighting when sunlight is not available (Paragraph 0002); wherein the strip lighting further comprises one or more electrical plugs [AC outlet (Paragraph 0045)] for electrically coupling the strip lighting to a power source (Paragraph 0045). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine TentCraft with Bliss and have a reasonable expectation of success because Bliss teaches the lighting system allows activities to continue into the night (Paragraph 0002).
Conclusion
/ANDREW J TRIGGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635