DETAILED ACTION
Summary
2. This office action for US Patent application 18/934,050 is responsive to communications filed on 03/06/2026, in response to the Non-Final Rejection of 12/09/2026. Claims 1-4, 11-13, and 20 have been amended. Currently, claims 1-20 are pending and are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
3. In response to communication filed on 03/06/2026, the claim objections with respect to claims 2 and 12 have been withdrawn in view of the amendment and remarks.
4. Applicant's Remarks see pages 7-9, with respect to the amendment and argument have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Applicant amends and urges that cited reference does not teach or suggest “generating, based on video content, one or more film grain parameters associated with the video content” as amended in claim 1 (see pages 7-8: Applicant’s remarks). The examiner respectively disagrees. Norkin explicitly discloses the film grain modeling application generates a variety of film grain parameters that model film grain in source video content. For each media title, the video streaming service provider transmits the film grain parameters along with the encoded video content to client devices (e.g., see paragraph 0018). Paragraph 0029 further discloses that the compute instance 110(1) is configured to generate any number of film grain parameter sets 170 based on the source video content 102 and the de-noised video content 122. The film grain parameters set 170 includes film grain parameters that model the film grain.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Norkin (US 2019/0066272A1) (hereinafter Norkin) (cited by IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Norkin discloses a computer-implemented method for transmitting film grain parameters to one or more client devices for use when playing back video content (e.g., see Fig. 1; abstract), the method comprising:
generating, based on video content, one or more film grain parameters associated with the video content (e.g., see paragraphs 0018-0021: The film grain modeling application generates a variety of film grain parameters that model film grain in source video content. For each media title, the video streaming service provider transmits the film grain parameters along with the encoded video content to client devices; also see paragraphs 0029, 0030, 0040),
generating, based on one or more film grain parameters associated with video content (e.g., see Fig. 1: template parameter, scaling parameter; paragraphs 0038, 0040), one or more compact representations of the one or more film grain parameters (e.g., see Fig. 1: film grain parameter set; paragraphs 0029, 0030, 0040); and
transmitting the one or more compact representations to a client application executing on a client device (e.g., see Fig. 1, paragraph 0030), wherein the client application adds film grain to the video content, for playback, based on the one or more compact representations (e.g., see Fig. 1, paragraphs 0058-0061: film grain synthesizer 186).
Regarding claim 2, Norkin discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the one or more film grain parameters define a plurality of scaling functions indicating how values associated with the film grain are scaled for different resolutions of video content (e.g., see abstract, Fig. 1, paragraphs 0048-0051: linear scaling function), and the one or more compact representations include one or more linear function coefficients for predicting at least one predicted scaling function based on a first scaling function included in the plurality of scaling functions (e.g., see paragraphs 0042, 0044, 0060: linear function coefficients such as correlation coefficients; also see paragraphs 0089, 0098).
Regarding claim 3, Norkin discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein the one or more compact representation further include one or more residuals between the at least one predicted scaling function (e.g., see paragraphs 0038, 0039, 0041: residual data 150; also see Fig. 2, paragraphs 0074, 0075) and at least one corresponding scaling function included in the plurality of scaling functions (e.g., see abstract, Fig. 1, paragraphs 0048-0051: linear scaling function).
Regarding claim 4, Norkin discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein the one or more compact representation further include a lossy encoding (e.g., see Fig. 1: encoder/decoder) of one or more residuals (e.g., see paragraphs 0038, 0039, 0041: residual data 150; also see Fig. 2, paragraphs 0074, 0075) between the at least one predicted scaling function and at least one corresponding scaling function included in the plurality of scaling functions (e.g., see abstract, Fig. 1, paragraphs 0048-0051: linear scaling function).
Regarding claim 5, Norkin discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the one or more film grain parameters include a set of x-coordinate values associated with a scaling function (e.g., see Fig. 2: x & y coordinates), and wherein the one or more compact representations include a set of increments associated with the set of x-coordinate values (e.g., see paragraphs 0055, 0056, 0074).
Regarding claim 6, Norkin discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 5, wherein the set of increments is represented as a set of differences from an offset (e.g., see paragraphs 0050, 0051, 0052: offset; also see paragraphs 0053, 0055, 0064).
Regarding claim 7, Norkin discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 5, wherein a first increment included in the set of increments is represented using fewer bits than a second increment included in the set of increments (e.g., see paragraphs 0006, 0064: number of bits).
Regarding claim 8, Norkin discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the one or more film grain parameters include a set of coefficients of an autoregressive model e.g., see paragraphs 0005, 0031, 0032: auto-regressive model; also see paragraphs 0042, 0044), and each coefficient included in the set of coefficients is represented in the one or more compact representations using a number of bits (e.g., see paragraphs 0006, 0064: number of bits) that is determined based on a range associated with the set of coefficients (e.g., see paragraphs 0042, 0044, 0060: linear function coefficients such as correlation coefficients; also see paragraphs 0089, 0098).
Regarding claim 9, Norkin discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting metadata to the client device specifying the one or more compact representations (e.g., see paragraphs 0003, 0004, 0008: metadata such as media title; Fig. 1, paragraphs 0024, 0025, 0030; Fig. 4, paragraphs 0082, 0085, 0086).
Regarding claim 10, Norkin discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the one or more film grain parameters define at least one scaling function (e.g., see abstract, Fig. 1, paragraphs 0048-0051: linear scaling function), and one or more y-coordinate values (e.g., see Fig. 2: x, y coordinate values; paragraphs 0055, 0056, 0074) of the at least one scaling function are represented in the one or more compact representations as one or more differences from an offset (e.g., see paragraphs 0050, 0051, 0052: offset; also see paragraphs 0053, 0055, 0064).
Regarding claim 11, this claim is one or more non-transitory computer-readable media claim of a method version as applied to claim 1 above, wherein the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media performs the same limitations cited in claim 1, the rejections of which are incorporated herein. Furthermore, Norkin discloses a processor, memory, and storage device (see Fig. 1, paragraphs 0034-0037, 0115).
Regarding claim 12, it contains the limitations of claims 2 and 11, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Regarding claim 13, it contains the limitations of claims 3 and 11, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Regarding claim 14, it contains the limitations of claims 5 and 11, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Regarding claim 15, it contains the limitations of claims 6-7 and 14, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Regarding claim 16, it contains the limitations of claims 8 and 11, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Regarding claim 17, it contains the limitations of claims 9 and 11, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Regarding claim 20, this claim is a system claim of a method version as applied to claim 1 above, wherein the system performs the same limitations cited in claim 1, the rejections of which are incorporated herein. Furthermore, Norkin discloses a processor, memory, and storage device (see Fig. 1, paragraphs 0034-0037, 0115).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claim 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Norkin (US 2019/0066272A1) in view of Helmrich et al., (US 2020/0389673A1) (hereinafter Helmrich) (cited by IDS).
Regarding claim 18, Norkin does not explicitly disclose the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 11, wherein the one or more compact representations include a variable-length encoding of at least one of the one or more film grain parameters.
However, Helmrich discloses wherein the one or more compact representations include a variable-length encoding of at least one of the one or more film grain parameters (e.g., see paragraphs 0289, 0340: noise parameters are coded differentially across all CTUs and TUs using mapped unary coding and CABAC coding)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Norkin to add the teachings of Helmrich as above, in order to provide an encoder apparatus for encoding a picture into a data stream is configured to determine at least one noise parameter providing noise information on the transform within the zero-quantized portion (see abstract: Helmrich).
Regarding claim 19, Norkin does not explicitly disclose the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 11, wherein the one or more compact representations include at least one exp-Golomb code.
However, Helmrich discloses wherein the one or more compact representations include at least one exp-Golomb code (e.g., see paragraphs 0289, 0340: CABAC encoding implies the presence of exp-Golomb codes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Norkin to add the teachings of Helmrich as above, in order to provide an encoder apparatus for encoding a picture into a data stream is configured to determine at least one noise parameter providing noise information on the transform within the zero-quantized portion (see abstract: Helmrich).
Conclusion
11. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ON S MUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486