DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 and 9-15 of U.S. Patent No. 9,275,492. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current claims merely broaden the scope of the patented claims, i.e. the patented claims teach each of the limitations of the current claims (or a trivial variation), and therefore the patented claims anticipate the current claims.
Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 10,614,622. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current claims merely broaden the scope of the patented claims, i.e. the patented claims teach each of the limitations of the current claims (or a trivial variation), and therefore the patented claims anticipate the current claims.
Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,393,165. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current claims merely broaden the scope of the patented claims, i.e. the patented claims teach each of the limitations of the current claims (or a trivial variation), and therefore the patented claims anticipate the current claims.
Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,159,347. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current claims merely broaden the scope of the patented claims, i.e. the patented claims teach each of the limitations of the current claims (or a trivial variation), and therefore the patented claims anticipate the current claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claims 1-5, 7-13, and 15 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Foran et al. (US 5,684,939; hereinafter “Foran”).
Regarding claim 1, Foran discloses A method for processing a plurality of sample points of a computer graphics image (“a color value stored in the image memory to be assigned to the supersamples in a region,” abstract), the method comprising (see Fig. 10): processing a primitive which does not overlap all the sample points of the plurality of sample points (“If a new polygon covers a subset of the sample locations,” col. 13, lines 5-10) by writing to a memory (“stores a separate color value for each sample,” col. 13, lines 10-15), when the only sample points not located within the primitive are sample points for which a value of a previous primitive has been stored (the claimed “when” limitation does not have a corresponding counterfactual in the claim; the writing to memory of Foran happens in both the claimed “when” circumstances and other circumstances, and therefore it teaches this claim limitation), a value of the primitive for each sample point located within the primitive (“stores a separate color value for each sample,” col. 13, lines 10-15) for which the value of the previous primitive is not stored (the claimed “for which” limitation does not have a corresponding counterfactual in the claim, where a different action is required for other sample point locations; the value of the primitive in Foran is stored for all sample points covered by that primitive, whether or not a value of a previous primitive is stored there), wherein at least one of the sample points located within the primitive is also located within the previous primitive (the states S3 and S5 of Fig. 10 illustrate that a newly-received primitive overlaps with the previous primitive).
Regarding claim 2, Foran discloses wherein the previous primitive is processed, by: storing in the memory, when all the sample points are located within said previous primitive, a value for the previous primitive for a smaller number of the sample points than the total number of the sample points, and storing data indicating that all the sample points are located within the previous primitive (“the mode identifier so as to determine whether the pixel to be displayed is Uncovered by a polygon, or entirely or partially covered by one or more polygons … allows a pixel's color information to be kept in an abbreviated form where a single color value is maintained,” col. 10, lines 45-55).
Regarding claim 3, Foran discloses wherein the smaller number of the sample points is one (“allows a pixel's color information to be kept in an abbreviated form where a single color value is maintained,” col. 10, lines 45-55).
Regarding claim 4, Foran discloses wherein the value for the previous primitive and the value for the primitive comprises a colour value (“the color value for all sample locations,” col. 12, lines 35-40).
Regarding claim 5, Foran discloses wherein the data indicating that all the sample points are located within the previous primitive comprises a flag (“mode identifier,” col. 10, lines 45-55).
Regarding claim 7, it is rejected using the same citations and rationales described in the rejection of claim 1, with the additional limitations of a memory; a processor unit (see Foran, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, it is rejected using the same citations and rationales described in the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 9, Foran discloses wherein the processor unit comprises one or more programmable processors (“display generating software application programs,” col. 13, lines 55-60; “at least one image processor,” abstract).
Regarding claim 10, Foran discloses wherein the processor unit comprises an input processor (“The geometry subsystem receives … graphical data,” col. 3, lines 40-45), an output processor (“The content of this memory is then read out to the display subsystem and converted into display signals for output to the display,” col. 5, lines 15-20) and a multisample processor (“a 16-bit supersample coverage mask is derived by the scan conversion subsystem,” col. 4, lines 5-10).
Regarding claims 11-13, they are rejected using the same citations and rationales described in the rejections of claims 3-5, respectively.
Regarding claim 15, it is rejected using the same citations and rationales described in the rejection of claim 1, with the additional limitation of A non-transitory storage medium having stored thereon computer readable instructions that, when executed at a computer system, cause the computer system to process (“a graphics subsystem, interconnected between a host processor of an appropriate computer system,” Foran, col. 3, lines 20-25).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foran in view of King et al. (US 7,479,965; hereinafter “King”).
Regarding claim 6, Foran does not disclose wherein the flag comprises a single bit, because the mode bit of Foran is 2 bits, which allows for the 5 different states described in Table 4. Foran discloses that “any arbitrary level of complexity could have been chosen” (col. 11, lines 10-15), meaning more or fewer mode bits can be used.
In the same art of multisample anti-aliasing, King teaches wherein the flag comprises a single bit (“This bit indicates whether the needed data is stored in a compressed or uncompressed format,” col. 9, lines 40-45).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of King to Foran. The motivation would have been for “improving the efficiency of various circuits and methods used by a graphics processor integrated circuit” (King, col. 1, lines 10-15).
Regarding claim 14, it is rejected using the same citations and rationales described in the rejection of claim 6.
Conclusion
/RYAN MCCULLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611