DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi et al (CN 115166908 A) in view of Liu et al (US 2003/0099434 A1), and further in view of Kitachi (JP 62-19818).
Regarding claim 1, Shi discloses (Figs. 2 and 3; Abstract; para. 0018 – 0024) a WDM device (demultiplexer), comprising (see annotated Fig. 2 below):
a dual fiber collimator 5 (“5-double optical fibre collimator” at para. 0013);
a roof prism 1 (“1-triangular prism” at para. 0013);
a wavelength/spectral filter 2; and
a single fiber collimator 6 (“6-single optical fibre collimator” at para. 0013),
wherein the filter 2 is attached to the roof prism 1 (via lining glass tube 3).
Shi teaches that the disclosed device is configured to demultiplex/split two wavelengths of light (e.g., l1 and l2) that are launched through one of the fibers (e.g., the bottom fiber) of the dual fiber collimator 5 and reach the wavelength/spectral filter 2 which passes one of the wavelengths (e.g., l2) and reflects the other wavelength l1 into the other fiber (the top of the dual fiber collimator 5, as illustrated in annotated Fig. 2 below (“one optical fiber input signal through the triangular prism 1 to adjust the angle, then reaches the filter sheet 2, transmission wavelength signal through the filter sheet 2 coupling into the single optical fiber collimator 6, reflected wavelength signal again through the triangular prism 1 coupling the double optical fiber collimator 5 of the other one optical fiber, finishing the wave
splitting process” at para. 0020).
Annotated Fig. 2 of Shi.
Shi does not teach that (i) the disclosed WDM device can have another spectral filter (passing l1) and that (ii) the wavelength/spectral filter 2 can be attached directly to the roof prism 1. However, Liu and Kitachi provide features (i) and (ii) respectively, as detailed below.
As for feature (i), Liu discloses (Fig. 5; Abstract; para. 0031) a WDM device that is configured to as both a demultiplexer and a multiplexer and comprises two spectral filters (e.g., the lowermost filter 502,504), the two filters passing different wavelengths (l1 and l2 respectively, as seen in Fig. 5; para. 0031) and reflecting other wavelengths: filter 502 passes l1 and reflects l2. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the WDM device of Shi an further comprise, in accordance with the teachings of Liu, another spectral filter that is configured to be complementary to that wavelength/spectral filter 2 and passes l1, while reflecting l2. The benefits are an additional functionality (multiplexing) and reduced crosstalk between signals/channels at l1 and l2. As seen in Fig. 5 of Liu, such filter is disposed in front of a fiber-optic collimator: the filter 504 is disposed downstream of the filter 502 and in front of the collimator 2.
As for feature (ii), while the Shi – Liu combination does not illustrate that spectral filters can be directly attached to a roof prism and an optical fiber collimator, Kitachi discloses (Fig. 1; Sections “Overview” and “Constitution”) a WDM device (multiplexer/demultiplexer) comprising an optical fiber collimator 27 with a directly attached spectral filter 32 and a roof prism 30 with spectral filters 33,34 directly attached to both faces of the roof prism 30.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that a first filter (passing l2) of the Shi – Liu combination can be attached directly to the single fiber collimator 6 and a second filter (passing l1) can be directly attached to the roof prism, as a suitable/workable design choice that is explicitly illustrated by Kitachi and minimizes the size/footprint of the WDM device.
In light of the foregoing analysis, the Shi – Liu – Kitachi combination teaches expressly or renders obvious all of the recited limitations.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, the Shi – Liu – Kitachi combination considers (Fig. 1 of Kitachi) that the second filter can be directly attached to a flat side of the roof prism and/or a roof side of the roof prism.
Claims 4 – 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi in view of Liu, in view of Kitachi, and further in view of Applicant Admitted Prior Art (AAPA).
Regarding claim 4, the teachings of Shi, Liu, and Kitachi combine (see the arguments and motivation for combining, as provided above for claim 1) to contemplate a WDM device (multiplexer/demultiplexer) comprising (see annotated Fig. 2 of Shi provided above for claim 1):
a dual fiber collimator 5 (“5-double optical fibre collimator” at para. 0013 of Shi);
a roof prism 1 (“1-triangular prism” at para. 0013 of Shi);
a single fiber collimator 6 (“6-single optical fibre collimator” at para. 0013 of Shi),
a first filter (passing l2, according to the teachings of Liu),
wherein the first filter is attached to the single fiber collimator 6.
While the Shi – Liu – Kitachi combination does not mention the (well-known) use of cascaded filters at a same wavelength/band, AAPA states such well-known use which improves spectral isolation (para. 0002). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the spectral filter 2 of Shi can comprise a filter cascade comprising a second filter and a third filter in order to increase spectral isolation. According to Fig. 1 of Kitachi, such filters can be directly attached to the opposing sides of the roof prism 1.
Regarding claim 5, the Shi – Liu – Kitachi – AAPA combination renders obvious that the roof prism 1 and the dual fiber collimator 5 are pre-assembled in one sub assembly (by joining 4 and 5 in Fig. 2 of Shi). It is has been held that making parts integral or separate is within the ordinary skill in the art (In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965); In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961) (MPEP 2144.04, Section V, B and C).
Regarding claims 6 – 8, the Examiner takes official notice that optically transparent glass, optically transparent isotropic crystals, and optically transparent isotropic semiconductors are all well known in the art of optical elements and commonly used for making prisms, lenses, etc. Such material choices would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art as suitable/workable materials for the roof prism. It is also noted that it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al (CN 2513123 Y) in view of Liu, and further in view of Kitachi.
Regarding claim 9, Sun discloses (Fig. 2; Abstract; para. 0009 – 0012) a polarization splitter/combiner device, comprising:
a dual PM fiber collimator 1 (para. 0009);
a roof prism 2 (para. 0009);
a first polarization filter 3 (para. 0009); and
a single PM fiber collimator 4 (para. 0009),
wherein the first polarization filter 3 is disposed adjacent to the single PM fiber collimator 4.
While Sun does not teach (i) a second polarization filter and (ii) direct attachment of the first filter and the second filter to the single PM fiber collimator and the roof prism, respectively, Liu and Kitachi provide features (i) and (ii), as detailed above for claim 1.
As a relevant comment, it is noted that layouts/topologies are transferrable between wavelength division multiplexing/demultiplexing and polarization combining/splitting by replacing spectral filters with polarization filters.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 4,472,797 Fig. 1a
US 6,741,764 B2 Fig. 5
US 4,244,045 Figs. 9 – 11
US 2002/0057868 A1 Figs. 5 and 6
US 4,867,520 Fig. 1
US 9,201,197 B2 Fig. 3
US 2003/0068121 A1 Fig. 1A
/ROBERT TAVLYKAEV/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896