DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Regarding Claim 4, line 2: perhaps the term “end” should be changed to “two ends.”
Regarding Claim 5, line 2: perhaps the language “power bar” should be changed to “power pass bar.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION. - The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Specifically, regarding Claim 1, line 2, it is not clear what is meant by the language “Cisco/Scientific Atlanta”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Balanovsky et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 5,756,935, hereinafter “Balanovsky”).
Specifically, regarding Claim 1, Balanovsky discloses a plug-in bypass module configured to be connected between connector terminals (260) of a [Cisco/Scientific Atlanta] back box (Abstract), the module comprising a housing (26; FIG. 2A) within which is located a power pass bar (225; FIG. 8) and an actuation element (230), wherein the power pass bar (225) comprises a central portion (210) disposed within the housing (26) and two end portions (220; FIG. 7) disposed external to the housing (26; col. 5, ll. 46-48), the power pass bar (225) moveable in response to the actuation element (230) to create an air gap between each end portion and support blocks on which connector terminals (260) in a Cisco/Scientific Atlanta back box are mounted (FIG. 7).
Regarding Claim 2, Balanovsky discloses that each end portion is angled relative to the central portion (210; FIG. 7).
Regarding Claim 3, Balanovsky discloses that the actuation element (230) is located centrally in the housing (26) so as to act on the power pass bar (225; FIGS. 7 and 8).
Regarding Claim 4, Balanovsky discloses cams (120; col. 5, ll. 52) located within the housing (26) to deflect the end portions (220) when the actuation element (230) is activated (FIG. 5).
Regarding Claim 5, Balanovsky discloses one or more pivot surfaces (52) are located within the housing (26) to alter placement of the power [pass] bar (225) when the actuation element (230) is activated (FIGS. 3 and 5).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure. Darr et al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2008/0158788 A1) discloses utilizing a bypass switch activated by a cam surface of an actuator but does not disclose the claimed power pass bar, among other limitations. Chilton et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 6,024,604 A) discloses a device interconnected with a signal tap with contact assemblies entering plug ports and contacting contact terminals to provide a bypass route.
/ANTHONY R JIMENEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831