DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 05/11/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 9, the term “valid” in claim 9 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “valid” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. As such, it is unclear what is meant by “valid data”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Iyer et al. US 20190238179 A1 (hereinafter Iyer).
Regarding Claim 1, Iyer teaches an apparatus comprising: a transmitter (§[0055] “Physical block 222 includes a transmitter and a receiver”) for sending, in two or more groups of channels, data and at least one clock signal over an optical link to a receiver (§[0058], "optical line"; §[0067], "for each channel a set of data lanes", "Each channel can further include one or more dedicated lanes for a strobe, or clock, signal for the channel"), wherein each group in the two or more groups of channels comprises: at least one channel for sending at least one data packet of the data (§[0067], "for each channel a set of data lanes"; §[0070], "a plurality of data lane clusters in a channel"); and a channel for sending a clock signal of the at least one clock signal, wherein the clock signal is synchronized with the at least one data packet in the group of channels (§[0070], "provide a dedicated strobe signal for each cluster in a plurality of data lane clusters in a channel"; §[0074], "Data sent on each of the lanes of the MCPL can be strictly aligned to the strobe signal").
Regarding Claim 10, claim 10 is drawn to the method of using an apparatus the same as claimed in claim 1. As such, the limitations of claim 10 correspond to limitations of claim 1, and are therefore rejected for the same reason(s) of anticipation as stated above.
Regarding Claim 11, Iyer teaches an apparatus comprising: a receiver (§[0055] “Physical block 222 includes a transmitter and a receiver”) for receiving, in two or more groups of channels, data and at least one clock signal over an optical link from a transmitter (§[0058], "optical line"; §[0067], "for each channel a set of data lanes", "Each channel can further include one or more dedicated lanes for a strobe, or clock, signal for the channel"), wherein each group in the two or more groups of channels comprises: at least one channel for sending at least one data packet of the data (§[0067], "for each channel a set of data lanes"; §[0070], "a plurality of data lane clusters in a channel"); and a channel for sending a clock signal of the at least one clock signal, wherein the clock signal is synchronized with the at least one data packet in the group of channels (§[0070], "provide a dedicated strobe signal for each cluster in a plurality of data lane clusters in a channel"; §[0074], "Data sent on each of the lanes of the MCPL can be strictly aligned to the strobe signal").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iyer in view of Zbinden et al. US 2013/0129360 A1 (hereinafter Zbinden).
Regarding Claim 2, Iyer teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
Iyer does not teach a controller for sending, over an electrical link and in the two or more groups of channels, the data and the at least clock signal to the transmitter. However, Zbinden teaches an optical transmitter (TX, Fig. 1) comprising a controller (driver and associated microcontroller, Fig. 1) for sending, over an electrical link and in the two or more groups of channels, the data and the at least clock signal to the transmitter ([0024] The transmitter of an embodiment comprises one or more channels, and each channel includes a driver. One or more data lines or cables are coupled to the transmitter and as the data input for the channels provide electrical signals at the input of each driver. One or more light-emitting devices are coupled between the output of each driver and a corresponding optical channel to which the driver output is coupled, where the optical channels collectively form a first set of optical channels; [0006] The PCIe system provides a set of supporting auxiliary signals, including a clock lane), because this allows the device to perform an electrical-to-optical (EO) conversion of the electrical signals received at the transmitter input, and output or transmit the corresponding optical signals over the optical channels ([0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Iyer to include a controller for sending, over an electrical link and in the two or more groups of channels, the data and the at least clock signal to the transmitter, because this allows the device to perform an electrical-to-optical (EO) conversion of the electrical signals received at the transmitter input, and output or transmit the corresponding optical signals over the optical channels.
Regarding Claim 12, Iyer teaches the apparatus of claim 11.
Iyer does not teach a controller for receiving, over an electrical link and in the two or more groups of channels, the data and the at least clock signal from the receiver. However, Zbinden teaches an optical receiver (RX, Fig. 1) comprising a controller (TIA and associated microcontroller, Fig. 1) for receiving, over an electrical link and in the two or more groups of channels, the data and the at least clock signal from the receiver ([0025] A transimpedance amplifier (TIA) is coupled between the output of each photodetector and one or more data lines or cables that transport electrical signals output by the TIA; [0006] The PCIe system provides a set of supporting auxiliary signals, including a clock lane), because this allows the device to perform an optical-to-electrical (OE) conversion of the optical signals received at the receiver input, and output or transmit the corresponding electrical signals via the receiver output ([0025]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Iyer to include a controller for receiving, over an electrical link and in the two or more groups of channels, the data and the at least clock signal from the receiver, because this allows the device to perform an optical-to-electrical (OE) conversion of the optical signals received at the receiver input, and output or transmit the corresponding electrical signals via the receiver output.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iyer as modified by Zbinden, and further in view of Marr et al. US 2020/0350933 A1 (hereinafter Marr).
Regarding Claim 14, Iyer as modified by Zbinden teaches the apparatus according to claim 12.
Iyer as modified by Zbinden does not teach wherein the controller is configured to use a clock data recovery circuit and the at least one clock signal to synchronize a clock at the transmitter and a clock of the apparatus. However, Marr teaches a receiver controller configured to use a clock data recovery circuit and the at least one clock signal to synchronize a clock at the transmitter and a clock of the apparatus ([0044] The receiver 140 (FIG. 1) may be synchronized to the transmitter by any of several methods, such as… using a clock and data recovery circuit in the receiver to recover the embedded clock from the signal, after it is converted from an optical signal to an electrical signal), because this allows timing between the transmitter and receiver to by synchronized to ensure accurate data transfer ([0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify Iyer as modified by Zbinden wherein the controller is configured to use a clock data recovery circuit and the at least one clock signal to synchronize a clock at the transmitter and a clock of the apparatus, because this allows timing between the transmitter and receiver to by synchronized to ensure accurate data transfer.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8, 13, and 15-16 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DAVID W LAMBERT/Examiner, Art Unit 2634