DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not).
Misnumbered claim 10 has been renumbered as claim 9.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a dose-aware network unit that provides,” “a noise variance calibration unit that performs,” and “an adaptive noise reduction unit that controls” in claims 1-8.
One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that said “units” provide sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function because the units are comprised in a neural network algorithm performed on a computer.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 10 recite the limitation “the oversmoothing issue.” There is no antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. Furthermore, the limitation renders the claims indefinite because it is not unclear what is considered to be the “issue.” For the purpose of further examination, the limitation has been interpreted as “a noise variance calibration unit that performs noise-variance calibration on the input image fed to the CNN .”
Claims 2-8 depend from claim 1 and therefore inherit all of the deficiencies of claim 1 discussed above.
Claim 3 further recites the limitation “an alpha parameter.” The limitation renders the claim indefinite because the claim does not define what alpha corresponds to. It appears that the alpha parameter is related to the noise variance levels based on pg. 10 of the specification. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). For the purpose of further examination, the claim has been interpreted as using noise variations.
Claim 5 further recites the limitation “the detailed structure.” There is no antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In addition, the term “detailed” is a relative and/or subjective term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “detailed” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. What is considered to be detailed may be blurred/unclear in different applications/scenarios, and the standards for determining whether another invention may infringe on this limitation is not clearly defined in the claims or the specification.
A claim that requires the exercise of subjective judgment without restriction renders the claim indefinite. In re Musgrave, 431 F.2d 882, 893, 167 USPQ 280, 289 (CCPA 1970). Claim scope cannot depend solely on the unrestrained, subjective opinion of a particular individual purported to be practicing the invention. Datamize LLC v. Plumtree Software, Inc., 417 F.3d 1342, 1350, 75 USPQ2d 1801, 1807 (Fed. Cir. 2005)); see also Interval Licensing LLC v. AOL, Inc., 766 F.3d 1364, 1373, 112 USPQ2d 1188 (Fed. Cir. 2014).
For the purpose of further examination, the claim has been interpreted as preserving the anatomical structures of the input image.
Claim 6 depends from claim 5 and therefore inherit all of the deficiencies of claim 5 discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (“CCN-CL: A content-noise complementary network with contrastive learning for low-dose computed tomography denoising,” Computers in Biology and Medicine 147 (2022) 105759), in view of Kim et al. (“CNN-based CT denoising with an accurate image domain noise insertion technique,” Medical Imaging 2021: Physics of Medical Imaging, edited by Hilde Bosmans, Wei Zhao, Lifeng Yu, Proceedings of SPIE Vol. 11595, 1159545), hereinafter referred to as Tang and Kim, respectively.
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Tang teaches a low-dose computed tomography (LDCT) denoising neural network apparatus and method, the method performed in an LDCT denoising neural network apparatus, comprising:
a dose-aware network unit/step that provides an LDCT image as an input image to a convolutional neural network (CNN) and outputs a simulated normal-dose computed tomography (NDCT) image as an output image (Tang pg. 2 right column: “Suppose X denotes an LDCT image and Y represents the normal-dose CT (NDCT) image corresponding to X, then the relationship between X and Y can be described as X = Y + N where the N denotes the noise between the LDCT image and its corresponding NDCT image”; Tang pg. 3 left column: “our network takes an LDCT image as the input … and respectively output a predicted content and a predicted noise”; Tang Fig. 1: NDCT, Denoised, & LDCT); and
an adaptive noise reduction unit/step that controls the CNN to progressively remove the noise according to the dose level of a given LDCT image (Tang pg. 4 right column: “The Adam method [64] is selected to optimize the performance of our proposed network … the number of training epochs is set to 60 for all the networks” – the Adam method (Adaptive Moment Estimation) is an adaptive learning algorithm; Tang Fig. 1: the CNN performs denoising in each iteration).
However, Tang does not appear to explicitly teach using a noise variance calibration unit that performs noise-variance calibration on the input image fed to the CNN to address the oversmoothing issue of the CNN.
Pertaining to the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches using a noise variance calibration unit/step that performs noise-variance calibration on the input image fed to the CNN to address the oversmoothing issue of the CNN (Note that no patentable distinction is made by an intended use or result limitations unless some structural difference is imposed by the use or result on the structure or material recited in the claim. Kim Fig. 1: Variance map; Kim pg. 2: “Assuming CT noise arises from the Poisson noise in projection data, we calculated the projection variance by the inverse of the detected number of photons Ndet at every detector cell”; Kim pg. 3: “We assume that the generated noise is uncorrelated with the inherent noise in a NDCT image. Since the noise variation of a QDCT image is four times larger than that of a NDCT image, the generated noise is scaled by √3 and added to the NDCT image to produce a synthesized QDCT image” – QDCT corresponds to quarter-dose i.e., low-dose).
Tang and Kim are considered to be analogous art because they are directed to neural network methods and systems for CT denoising. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the content-noise complementary network with contrastive learning for LDCT denoising (as taught by Tang) to calibrate noise variations (as taught by Kim) because the combination provides more consistent results by normalizing data (Kim pg. 3).
Regarding claim 2, Tang, in view of Kim, teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the dose-aware network unit pre-generates the LDCT image configured to have a varying dose levels by adding noise to an NDCT image (Tang pg. 2 right column discussed above, Tang Eq. (6) & pg. 2-3: “The other type aims at finding a mapping to predict the noise and then gain the content indirectly … we utilize content-noise complementary learning strategy”; also see Kim Fig. 1: Clean image [Wingdings font/0xE0] … variance map [Wingdings font/0xE0] Filtering [Wingdings font/0xE0] CT noise [Wingdings font/0xE0] Noisy image).
Regarding claim 3 , Tang, in view of Kim, teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the dose-aware network generates the varying dose levels by adjusting the intensity of the noise by controlling an alpha parameter of the NDCT image (Tang pg. 2-3, Eq. (6) & Kim Fig. 1 discussed above).
Regarding claim 4, Tang, in view of Kim, teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the dose-aware network unit trains the CNN to minimize the discrepancy between the NDCT image and the simulated NDCT image (Tang pg. 4 left column: “We use the L1 loss to calculate the loss between the output and the corresponding NDCT image … The contrastive regularization loss of our network minimizes the gap between the output of network Xdenoised and the clear image Y while maximizing the gap from the input image X”).
Regarding claim 5, Tang, in view of Kim, teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the noise variance calibration unit adjusts the noise so that the detailed structure of the input image is preserved, based on the discrepancy between the output image and the input image (Tang Fig. 5 & pg. 5 left column: “the proposed CCN-CL network model performs better in tissue details preservation”).
Regarding claim 6, Tang, in view of Kim, teaches the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the noise variance calibration unit adjust the noise so that the output image has a noise variance higher than or equal to that of the NDCT image by a threshold (Kim pg. 3 discussed above).
Regarding claim 7, Tang, in view of Kim, teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the adaptive noise reduction unit recognizes the dose level of the given LDCT image through the CNN and progressively remove the noise by performing repeated input/output operations through the CNN (Tang Fig. 1 & pg. 4 right column discussed above; also see Kim pg. 3: “using the ADAM optimizer”).
Regarding claim 8, Tang, in view of Kim, teaches the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the adaptive noise reduction unit inputs an N-th (where N is a natural number) intermediate image to the CNN to generate an (N+1)-th intermediate image and again inputs the (N+1)-th intermediate image to the CNN to generate an (N+2)-th intermediate image (Tang Fig. 1, pg. 4 right column & Kim pg. 3 discussed above).
Conclusion
/Soo Shin/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2667 571-272-9753
soo.shin@uspto.gov