DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, and 7-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Novolesky and Kashi Vishvanathan et al. 20240134828 herein Kashi in view of Baviskar et al. 20240273443 herein Baviskar.
Per claim 1, Novoselsky discloses: A data network architecture comprising at least one equipment configured to perform the function specified by the user and/or manufacturer, (fig. 2) at least one source providing data to the equipment , (fig. 2, 200; ¶0337; a radar unit 200 can track an airborne object and transfer data indicative of RCS measurement to target identification system 210, which then conducts machine learning for the series of the target aspect angles and then classifies the series of target RCS measurements within e.g. 1-2 seconds or some other time interval short enough to facilitate a tactical response) and at least one live data storage that is connected to the source and enables the storing of live data (L) provided directly by the source characterized by at least one control unit that is connected to the source (3), (fig. 2. 255) at least one meaningful data storage that is connected to the control unit (fig. 2, 230; ¶0209; The memory (230) can be configured to, for example, store various data used in computation, ¶0321; Classification unit 275 can utilize machine learning model 285 to classify radar plot data (for example: received from radar unit 220),).
Novolesky does not specifically disclose: checks the live data that comes from the source and are located in the live data storage and the meaningful data that are located in the meaningful data storage simultaneously with the data flow; compares the live data in the live data storage with the meaningful data (M) in the meaningful data storage updates the meaningful data (M) in the meaningful data storage according to the live data (L) in the live data storage and transfers meaningful data from the meaningful data storage ( to the equipment and/or source , thus ensures that the source and/or equipment operates almost completely unaffected by the data interruption in the event of an interruption in the data flow transmitted from the source to the live data storage the control unit feeds the equipment and/or source with current meaningful data from the meaningful data storage to ensure operation of the source and/or equipment.
However, Kashi discloses: checks the live data that comes from the source and are located in the live data storage and the meaningful data that are located in the meaningful data storage simultaneously with the data flow; (fig. 2, ¶0155; a primary resource on the source file system is called application, and an auxiliary (or secondary) source on the target file system is called an application target. When a source object and a target object are created, they have a single replication relationship. Both objects can only be updated from the source side, including changing compartments, editing or deleting details. When a user wants to delete the target side, the replication can be deleted by itself.) compares the live data in the live data storage with the meaningful data (M) in the meaningful data storage updates the meaningful data (M) in the meaningful data storage according to the live data (L) in the live data storage and transfers meaningful data from the meaningful data storage to the equipment and/or source , thus ensures that the source and/or equipment operates almost completely unaffected by the data interruption in the event of an interruption in the data flow transmitted from the source to the live data storage the control unit feeds the equipment and/or source with current meaningful data from the meaningful data storage to ensure operation of the source and/or equipment (fig. 2, ¶0155; .. For a planned failover, the source side can be deleted, and both the source side and target replication are deleted. For an unplanned failover, the source side is not available, so only the target replication can be deleted. In other words, there are two resources for a single replication, and they should be kept in sync. There are various workflows for updating metadata on both the source and target sides. Additionally, retries, failure handling, and cross-region APIs for failover are also part of the cross-region communication process; the examiner interprets the limitation as synchronizing the live and meaningful storages and failing over the meaningful storage).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Novolesky and Kashi because Kashi enables efficient replication and snapshot during cross region replication. Kashi improves replication efficiency (¶0009).
The combined teachings of Novoslesky and Kashi do not specifically disclose: and enables the storing of meaningful data (M) comprising a prediction model generated by the control unit by processing the live data (L) transmitted by the source to the control unit using a machine learning algorithm.
However, Baviskar discloses: and enables the storing of meaningful data (M) comprising a prediction model generated by the control unit by processing the live data (L) transmitted by the source to the control unit using a machine learning algorithm (¶0080; ML model 350 is trained on the historical data, and generates predictions based on live data. Because ML model 350, in embodiments, is a regression problem, model 350 is evaluated based on metrics such as Root Mean Squared Error (“RMSE”) and Mean Absolute Error (“MAE”). Once the model 350 is trained, then predictions 352 are generated in response to receiving live data 304).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Novolesky, Kashi and Baviskar because Baviskar generated model based on live data improves delivery of service (¶0152).
Per claim 2, Novoslesky discloses: characterised by the control unit in which meaningful data (M) is created using a recurrent neural network-based machine learning algorithm by providing data from the source in a volume determined by the user or manufacturer (¶0321; Classification unit 275 can utilize machine learning model 285 to classify radar plot data (for example: received from radar unit 220); ¶0315; Processing and Memory Circuitry 220 can include a machine learning model 285. Machine learning model 285 can be any kind of suitable machine learning model, such as, for example,—a neural network, support vector machines etc. In some embodiments, machine learning model 285 is a neural network with one input layer, one output layer, and at least one hidden layer).
Per claim 3, Novoslesky discloses: characterised by the control unit that allows the live data storage and the meaningful data storage to have a low storage volume by being directly connected to the source (3), (fig. 2a, 255; ¶0214; aircraft RCS database (255) includes table entries which map the direction of the radar beam in the aircraft body frame (for example: represented as azimuth and elevation angles) to, for example, previously observed RCS values for particular aircraft. Aircraft RCS database (255) can be utilized, for example, by RCS estimation unit (270) in its estimation of RCS series for candidate aircraft; the examiner is not certain how the a storage volume is related to a directly connected source and therefor interprets the claim as the live data being stored in a local memory ). thus allowing the meaningful data (M) to be created by providing less data from the source (¶0206; Radar Unit (200) can be, for example, any kind of stationary or mobile radar unit that can supply radar data (for example: radar plot timestamps, range, elevation and azimuth angles, SNR, Doppler velocity etc.) to target identification system (210)).
Per claim 4, Novoslesky discloses: characterised by at least one buffer that is connected to the source , is the unit where data is temporarily stored to ensure that the data coming from the source is stored in the live data storage and/or the meaningful data storage , and enables the data storing order to be given to the live data storage and/or the meaningful data storage (fig. 2a, 255; ¶0214; aircraft RCS database (255) includes table entries which map the direction of the radar beam in the aircraft body frame (for example: represented as azimuth and elevation angles) to, for example, previously observed RCS values for particular aircraft. Aircraft RCS database (255) can be utilized, for example, by RCS estimation unit (270) in its estimation of RCS series for candidate aircraft).
Per claim 7, Novoslesky discloses: characterised by at least one communication tool (9) that provides data transmission between the equipment (2), the control unit (5) and the source (3) and has a data transmission interface determined by the user (fig. 2a, ¶0215; Display unit (290) can be, for example, any kind of display system or monitor suitable for depiction of, for example, radar tracking and aircraft identification data. By way of non-limiting example, display unit (290) can be a computer monitor, laptop computer, tablet, mobile phone etc; ¶0216; Display unit (290) can be, for example, operably connected to target identification system (210) via, for example, a conventional electronics communication connection of an appropriate type).
Per claim 8, Novoslesky discloses: characterised by the control unit (5) in which meaningful data (M) is generated using a recurrent neural network-based learning algorithm prior to the flight of the aircraft and/or spacecraft (fig. 2a, ¶0315; a neural network, support vector machines etc. In some embodiments, machine learning model 285 is a neural network with one input layer, one output layer, and at least one hidden layer; ¶0319; machine learning model 285, after training, can be used to classify features derived from, for example, a RCS time series derived from radar monitoring (including real-time monitoring) of an airborne object, and determine a classification label indicating an identification of the airborne object with an aircraft type).
Per claim 9, Novoslesky discloses: characterised by the equipment (2) that is located on the aircraft and/or spacecraft (fig. 1 and fig.2a, ¶0198; Radar/Tracker/Identification/Display System (100) additionally detects and records data indicative of the radar cross section (RCS) of the airborne object).
Per claim 10, Novoslesky discloses: characterised by a source (3) that is located on the aircraft and/or spacecraft (fig. 1 and fig.2a, ¶0198; Radar/Tracker/Identification/Display System (100) additionally detects and records data indicative of the radar cross section (RCS) of the airborne object).
Claim 11 is the method claim corresponding to the architecture claim 1 and is rejected under the same reasons set forth in connection with the rejection of claim 1.
Per claim 12, Kashi discloses: wherein the control unit is configured to delete training data used to generate the prediction model from the meaningful data storage upon completion of generation of the prediction model (fig. 2, ¶0155; For a planned failover, the source side can be deleted, and both the source side and target replication are deleted. For an unplanned failover, the source side is not available, so only the target replication can be deleted.).
Per claim 13, Novoslesky discloses: wherein the control unit is directly connected to the source without an intervening interface between the control unit and the source, such that the prediction model is generated by the control unit from a quantity of live data that is lower than a quantity that would be required if such an interface were present (fig. 1, ¶0337; a radar unit 200 can track an airborne object and transfer data indicative of RCS measurement to target identification system 210, which then conducts machine learning for the series of the target aspect angles and then classifies the series of target RCS measurements within e.g. 1-2 seconds or some other time interval short enough to facilitate a tactical response; the examiner notes that the result of the structure is not positively recited and is an intended result. The claim merely requires a control unit and source directly connected. Further the claim does note set forth what an interface would entail. Any entity that receive data could be deemed to be or have an interface.)
Per claim 14, Novoslesky discloses: wherein the equipment and the source are located on an aircraft and/or spacecraft, and wherein the control unit is configured to generate the prediction model prior to flight of the aircraft and/or spacecraft and to update the prediction model in the meaningful data storage during the flight using the live data provided by the source during the flight (¶0130-134; a) training a machine learning model in accordance with a training dataset comprising at least one training example, [0131] wherein each training example comprises: [0132] i. feature data derivative of an estimation of an candidate aircraft RCS time series of the at least one estimation of a candidate aircraft RCS time series, and [0133] ii. data indicative of the candidate aircraft type in accordance with which the estimation of a candidate aircraft RCS time series was calculated, and [0134] wherein the machine learning model is configured to receive runtime input comprising data indicative of a series of target RCS measurements, and to generate output comprising data indicative of an aircraft type learned to be associated with the input, in accordance with the training of the machine learning model;).
Per claim 15, Novoslesky discloses: wherein the buffer imposes a data storing order on the live data storage and the meaningful data storage such that the live data from the source is written to the live data storage before the meaningful data updated by the control unit is written to the meaningful data storage (fig. 2a, 255; ¶0214; aircraft RCS database (255) includes table entries which map the direction of the radar beam in the aircraft body frame (for example: represented as azimuth and elevation angles) to, for example, previously observed RCS values for particular aircraft. Aircraft RCS database (255) can be utilized, for example, by RCS estimation unit (270) in its estimation of RCS series for candidate aircraft).
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Novolesky, Kashi Vishvanathan et al. 20240134828 herein Kashi and Baviskar et al. 20240273443 herein Baviskar in view of Clymer 20230004799 herein Clymer.
Per claim 5, the combined teachings of Novolesky, Kash and Baviskar does not specifically disclose: characterised by at least one external storage (8) that is connected to the second storage (6), ensures that the meaningful data (M) in the meaningful data storage (6) is controlled and updated by the control unit (5) and that the updated meaningful data (M) is stored before being transferred to the equipment (2) and/or source (3), and has high storage volume (fig. 1 & 5, cloud storage; ¶0094; The cloud-based remote access can be accessed by a smartphone, a desktop computer, a tablet, or any other client computing systems, anytime and/or anywhere. The cloud-based remote access is coded to engage in 1) the request and response cycle from all web browser based applications, 3) the request and response cycle from a dedicated on-line server, 4) the request and response cycle directly between a native application resident on a client device and the cloud-based remote access to another client computing system, and 5) combinations of these; the examiner interprets the claims as an external storage connected to the system).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Novoslesky, Kashi, Baviskar and Clymer’s cloud based neural network to handle complex neural network. Clymer’s distributed network allows for scalabilty (¶0093).
Per claim 6, Novoslesky discloses: characterised by the control unit (5) enabling the performing of the process steps of: processing the live data (L) or data series transmitted by the source (3) with the recurrent neural network-based learning algorithm and creating meaningful data (M) (101), checking the live data (L) in the live data storage (4) according to the meaningful data (M) in the meaningful data storage (6) simultaneously with the data flow according to the meaningful data created and updating the meaningful data (M) (102), feeding the source (3) and/or equipment (2) with updated meaningful data (M) (103), (¶0320; Processing and Memory Circuitry 220 can include training unit 265. Training unit 265 can receive RCS estimation data from the RCS estimation unit 270 and prepare training data for the machine learning model 285. An example process for preparing training data is described below with reference to FIG. 8.)
Novoslesky does not specifically disclose: and long-term storing of meaningful data (M) in external storage (8) (104).
However, Clymer discloses: and long-term storing of meaningful data (M) in external storage (8) (104) (fig. 1 & 5, cloud storage; ¶0094; The cloud-based remote access can be accessed by a smartphone, a desktop computer, a tablet, or any other client computing systems, anytime and/or anywhere. The cloud-based remote access is coded to engage in 1) the request and response cycle from all web browser based applications, 3) the request and response cycle from a dedicated on-line server, 4) the request and response cycle directly between a native application resident on a client device and the cloud-based remote access to another client computing system, and 5) combinations of these;).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 7/1/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 11 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Baviskar.
Remark
Examiner respectfully requests, in response to this Office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line number(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist Examiner in prosecuting the application.
Conclusion
BABOUCARR . FAAL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2138
/BABOUCARR FAAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2138