Detailed Action
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: WATER PURIFIER WITH COCK SUPPORT MEMBER ARRANGEMENT
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “protruding engagement part” in claims 7 and 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 8-9 and 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In claim 1, line 11, recitation is made of “the housing”. However, Examiner is unsure whether this refers to the housing in general, to the first housing or the second housing. Examiner requests clarification. Additionally, claims 8 (once) and 9 (thrice) and claim 11 (twice) recite “the housing” and it is not clear as to which housing these recitations refer. Examiner requests clarification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoon (US20210001253A1).
Claim 1: Yoon discloses a water purifier (Figs. 1-26, note element 1) comprising a filter unit (40) that filters raw water to provide purified water; a flow channel (note 400/410a/b/440/450) that provides a passage through which the raw water or the purified water flows; a valve unit (90) including at least one valve module that is selectively opened and closed to control a flow of the raw water or the purified water in the flow channel (Fig. 3); a cock (210/240/2012/2013) for discharging the purified water to an outside of the water purifier (Fig. 3); a housing including a first housing (Fig. 3, note housing portion made up of 108/45/85) in which the filter unit, the flow channel, and the valve unit are accommodated (see Figs. 3, 14-15 and), and a second housing (Fig. 3, note 100/1000) disposed on a front side of the first housing; and a cock support member (200/220) that is detachably engaged with the cock (note separability between 200/2002 and 210/2012/2013 by way of lifting gear 2006 and guide rail 2008) and the housing (note detachment means by way of screw holes in 220 in Fig. 5).
Claim 2: Yoon further discloses that the cock support member includes a cock support body (200); and a cock support engagement part (220) supported by the cock support body and having a housing engagement part (Fig. 4, note bottom rim of 220) that is formed to engage with the second housing (1000), wherein the cock support body (200) closely contacts the second housing (100/1000) when the second housing engages with the housing engagement part (Fig. 1).
Claim 6: Yoon further discloses that the cock includes a cock body (2012); and a stopper (2013) protruding from the cock body to prevent the cock support member from rotating beyond a predetermined rotational phase angle or rising beyond a predetermined distance (see Figs. 5-6).
Claim 14: Yoon further discloses that the cock is integrally formed with the flow channel (see paragraph 312) or is separately formed to be detachable from the flow channel.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 and 7-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claim 3, the prior art of record does not further disclose or reasonably teach in combination that the cock support engagement part has a cock contact part that closely contacts an end of the cock when the cock support engagement part is connected to the cock, and wherein the cock contact part includes: a first contact surface facing a lower surface of the cock; and a second contact surface extending in a circumferential direction to surround a lower end of the cock.
Regarding claim 5, the prior art of record does not further disclose or reasonably teach in combination that the cock support body extends horizontally from the cock support engagement part, wherein the upper surface of the cock support body and the lower surface of the second housing closely contact each other, whrerin the cock support engagement part closely contacts the cock, and wherein a contact area between the upper surface of the cock support body and the lower surface of the second housing is greater than a contact area between the cock support engagement part and the cock.
Regarding claim 7, the prior art of record does not further disclose or reasonably teach in combination that the cock includes a protrusion extending laterally from the cock body and comprising a protruding engagement part formed to engage with the cock support member.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art of record does not further disclose or reasonably teach in combination that the cock support member is configured to engage with the cock and the housing by being rotated.
Conclusion
/NATHAN C ZOLLINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746