DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,146,284. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims to the current application are merely broader than the claims to US Patent No. 12,146,284 and are thus encompassed by said claims.
Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3-20 of copending Application No. 18/870,472. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims to the current application claim the features of the copending application and are thus not patentably distinct from the copending application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hill et al. (4,727,672) in view of Van de Riet et al. (8,511,936).
With regard to claim 1, Hill discloses a device comprising: a shaft (44/48) operably attached to an anchor (10) at a first end of the shaft (fig. 6); and one or more protrusions (14) extending from the shaft between the first end of the shaft and a second end of the shaft (figs. 1-2), wherein the second end of the shaft is configured to transmit a torque to both the first end of the shaft and to the anchor (figs. 1, 6), wherein the one or more protrusions comprise a central support (68; fig. 2), wherein the central support is operably connected to one or more plates (64) or the central support is formed of a unitary piece of material with the one or more plates (fig. 2).
Hill discloses the invention substantially as claimed however fails to disclose a corkscrew as the anchor arrangement.
Van de Riet discloses a device wherein various anchors may be utilized to include a corkscrew (col. 2, lines 50-56; fig. 6).
It is well known within the art to utilize different types of anchoring arrangements based on the material and conditions of the ground/seafloor at hand, to include corkscrew anchors. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bowley and utilize a corkscrew foundation as taught by Van de Riet, since such a modification would have merely required interchanging known anchoring types, yielding a predictable result, and an artisan of ordinary skill would have had a reasonable expectation of success.
With regard to claim 4, Hill further discloses the one or more plates comprise four plates (fig. 2).
With regard to claim 5, Hill further discloses each of the one or more protrusion is substantially concave (col. 5, lines 60-63).
With regard to claim 6, Hill further discloses the one or more protrusions comprises a shaft cavity, wherein the shaft cavity is configured to allow rotation of each of the one or more protrusions in just a clockwise direction, in just a counter-clockwise direction, or both a clockwise direction and a counter-clockwise direction (e.g. claim 1).
With regard to claim 7, Hill further discloses the one or more plates comprise grooves and/or indentations and/or a roughened surface (88).
With regard to claim 8, Hill further discloses the central support is operably connected to two or more plates or the central support is formed of a unitary piece of material with the two or more plates (fig. 2), wherein the two or more plates are spaced apart laterally from each other by a plate gap.
With regard to claim 9, Hill further discloses the one or more plates comprise a plate protrusion (88) on an upper surface of each of the one or more plates.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hill et al. (4,727,672) in view of Van de Riet et al. (8,511,936), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bennett (2013/0118413).
With regard to claim 2, Hill, as modified discloses the invention substantially as claimed however fails to disclose the protrusion comprise calcium.
Bennett discloses a device wherein the device is constructed from material containing calcium (para 0019). It is well known within the art for calcium carbonate to be the basis of marine reefs and artificial marine habitats. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Hill and utilize calcium as taught by Bennet in order to support marine life.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hill et al. (4,727,672) in view of Van de Riet et al. (8,511,936), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Meltsov et al. (2015/0063910).
With regard to claim 3, Hill, as modified, discloses the invention substantially as claimed however fails to disclose the shaft is operably connected to a substantially planar disc, wherein the substantially planar disc is operably connected to the corkscrew.
Meltsov discloses a device wherein the device comprising a shaft that is operably connected to a substantially planar disc (1e), wherein the substantially planar disc is operably connected to the corkscrew (1; fig 2A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Hill and utilize a planar disc as taught by Meltsov in order to achieve optimum penetration of the corkscrew.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-15 would be allowable if the double patenting rejection(s) set forth in this Office action is/are overcome and rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the cited prior art, either alone or in any reasonable combination, fails to teach or suggest all the limitations of the dependent claim(s). Underwater devices for erosion control and dynamic reefs are known such as those taught by Hill et al. (4,727,672) and Bishop et al. (5,700,108). However, the cited prior art lacks the plates with more protrusion cells and one or more protrusion apertures and the shaft comprising a securing flange configured to contact an upper surface of the one protrusion in an assembled configuration as required by the dependent claim(s) and it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the prior art to achieve applicant’s invention without the benefit of hindsight and applicant’s own disclosure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/BENJAMIN F FIORELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
BF
02/25/2026