DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments filed on 06/04/2026 with respect to 102 rejection have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng (US Pub.No.2024/0346131) in view of Zhang (US Pub.No.2024/0004967).
5. Regarding claim 1 Cheng teaches a system for device security, the system comprising: a target device, the target device having a processor and a memory operatively interfaced to the processor, the memory is non-transitory; security software stored in the memory; the security software running on the processor; a whitelist stored in the memory and accessible by the security software, the whitelist containing entries indicative of which programs are allowed to run on the processor; when a program attempts to be executed by the processor, the security software intercepts execution and determines when the program is authorized using the whitelist and when the program is unauthorized, the security software prevents execution of the program; when the program is authorized, the security software allows the execution of the program; whereas, each program is created from source code by a compiler/linker running on a computer in a build environment (abstract and Para:0010-0012 teaches the system for computer security determines that an installation is being performed on the protected computer, the system for computer security analyzes an installation file that controls the installation being performed on the protected computer and, for each program being installed by the installation, the system for computer security adds an entry to a whitelist that allows execution of the program that is being installed and for each program being deleted by the installation, the system for computer security removes any previous entry from the whitelist. After the installation is complete, all programs that were installed by the installation are referenced in the whitelist and are allowed to execute. In another embodiment, a method of synchronizing a whitelist with an installation on a protected device is disclosed including detecting an installation and determining which programs are affected by the installation by parsing an installation file. Programs that are being installed by the installation are added to the whitelist; Therefore, after the installation is complete, the whitelist contains entries that will allow execution of programs (executables, scripts, macros, etc.) that were installed by the installation. Programs that are being deleted by the installation are removed from the whitelist; and programs that are being modified by the installation are updated in the whitelist);
Cheng teaches all the claimed limitations, but do not expressly teach an entitlement list entry is automatically generated and added to an entitlement list after the program is created.
Zhang teaches each program is created from source code by a compiler/linker running on a computer in a build environment, a whitelist entry is automatically generated and added to the whitelist after the program is created; and when each program is created from the source code by the complier/linker running on the computer in the built environment, an entitlement list entry is automatically generated and added to an entitlement list after the program is created (Para: 0046 teaches users can create an allowlist file and specify the allowlist information in the file, so that the LLVM Pass can obtain the allowlist information after reading the corresponding file; users can also use the LLVM Pass to analyze the source code and automatically identify and build an allowlist of a part of the sensitive data, such as virtual function tables in C++ software).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Cheng, to include a whitelist entry is automatically generated and added to the whitelist after the program is created; and when each program is created from the source code by the complier/linker running on the computer in the built environment, an entitlement list entry is automatically generated and added to an entitlement list after the program is created as taught by Zhang , in such a setup it would be convenient to provides an automated way to prevent execution of software containing code that is potentially contaminated.
6. Regarding claim 2 Zhang teaches the system, further comprising an entitlement list for the program, the entitlement list stored in the memory, when the program attempts to access a resource of the processor, the security software intercepts and determines when the program is entitled to access the resource using the entitlement list and when access to the resource is prevented, the security software prevents the access of the resource by the program, otherwise when the access to the resource is allowed based upon the entitlement list, the security software allows the access of the resource by the program (Para:0053-0054 teaches the check code is generated based on the features provided by different processors, hardware, or operating systems. Specifically, the extended compiler builds and generates, according to functions such as hardware features of the target platform or features provided by the operating system, functional code that can verify read-only attributes of data. For example, the hardware features of some platform may provide permission settings and checks for the read-only memory page, and some operating systems may provide access permission information for memory page or provide read-only memory address range. These features or information can be used to check whether the target data is in the read-only memory area. Based on these features, the extended compiler can build the functional code to verify the read-only properties of the sensitive data. Para:0056-0066 teaches as shown in FIG. 4, the software protection method includes: Step 201, identify sensitive data in the software source code and determine a point of use of the sensitive data; Step 202, set the sensitive data in a read-only section of a compilation product of the software source code, so that the sensitive data is stored in a read-only area when the software is running; Step 203, insert a check code at the point of use of the sensitive data; Step 204, when the software is running, determine whether the sensitive data read is in the read-only area according to the check code; If yes, perform the step 205; if not, perform the step 206; Step 205, continue running the software; Step 206, block running of the software).
7. Regarding claim 3 Zhang teaches the system, wherein the entitlement list comprises one or more entitlements selected from a group consisting of reading a file, writing the file, reading an input/output device, writing to the input/output device, reading a memory location, and writing a memory location (Para:0053-0054 teaches the check code is generated based on the features provided by different processors, hardware, or operating systems. Specifically, the extended compiler builds and generates, according to functions such as hardware features of the target platform or features provided by the operating system, functional code that can verify read-only attributes of data. For example, the hardware features of some platform may provide permission settings and checks for the read-only memory page, and some operating systems may provide access permission information for memory page or provide read-only memory address range. These features or information can be used to check whether the target data is in the read-only memory area. Based on these features, the extended compiler can build the functional code to verify the read-only properties of the sensitive data).
8. Regarding claim 4 Cheng teaches the system, wherein the entitlement list further comprises a range of times that the program is entitled to access the resource and when the security software intercepts and determines when the program is entitled to access the resource using the entitlement list, the access to (Note: the term “range of times” is not clearly defined herein as such Cheng in abstract and para:0030 teaches checking access to the resource in the whitelist during installation time meets the claim limitation).
9. Regarding claim 5 Cheng teaches a system for device security, the system comprising: a target device, the target device having a processor and a memory operatively interfaced to the processor, the memory is non-transitory; a program-build system in which control program source code is compiled/linked to create a control program, security software source code is compiled/linked to create a security software program, and operating system source code are compiled/linked to create operating system programs to run on the target device, the program-build system automatically generates a whitelist entry in a whitelist for the control program and each program in the operating system programs; the program-build system generates a firmware image that comprises the control program, the whitelist, the security software program, and the operating system programs; upon installation of the firmware image on the target device, the control program, the security software program, the whitelist, and the operating system programs are stored in the memory, the whitelist is thereby accessible by the security software program; upon initialization, the operating system programs run on the processor and the operating system programs start the security software program; thereafter, when a program attempts to be executed by the operating system programs, the security software program intercepts execution of the program and determines when the program is authorized using the whitelist and when the program is unauthorized, the security software program prevents execution of the program; and when the program is authorized, the security software program allows the execution of the program (the applicant is directed to the rejection to claim 1 set forth above, as it is rejected based on the same rationale).
10. Regarding claim 6 Zhang teaches the system, further comprising an entitlement list for each program, the entitlement list as added to the firmware image and, upon installation, the entitlement list is read from the firmware image and installed in the memory such that when the program attempts to access a resource of the processor, the security software program intercepts and determines when the program is entitled to access the resource using the entitlement list and when access to the resource is prevented, the security software program prevents access of the resource by the program, otherwise when the access to the resource is allowed based upon the entitlement list, the security software program allows the access of the resource by the program (the applicant is directed to the rejection to claim 2 set forth above, as it is rejected based on the same rationale).
11. Regarding claim 7 Zhang teaches the system, wherein the entitlement list comprises one or more entitlements selected from a group consisting of reading a file, writing the file, reading an input/output device and writing to the input/output device (the applicant is directed to the rejection to claim 3 set forth above, as it is rejected based on the same rationale).
12. Regarding claim 8 Cheng teaches the system, wherein an entry in the entitlement list further comprises a range of times that the program is entitled to access the resource and when the security software program intercepts and determines when the program is entitled to access the resource using the entitlement list, the access to the resource is allowed only during the range of times (the applicant is directed to the rejection to claim 4 set forth above, as it is rejected based on the same rationale).
13. Regarding claim 9 Cheng teaches a method of protecting a target computer, the method comprising: in a program-build environment, compiling and linking a control program from source code, compiling and linking a security software program, compiling and linking operating system programs, the control program, the security software program, and the operating system programs are created to run on a target device, the program-build environment automatically generating a whitelist entry for the control program and each of the operating system programs and adding the whitelist entry to a whitelist; creating a firmware image that comprises the control program, the security software program, the operating system programs, and the whitelist for the target device; installing the firmware image, including installing of the control program, the security software program, the operating system programs, and the whitelist in a memory of a target device, the target device having a processor and the memory is operatively interfaced to the processor, the memory being non-transitory, the security software program having access to the whitelist, the whitelist containing entries indicative of which programs are allowed to run on the processor; upon initialization of the target device, the operating system programs running on the processor and the operating system programs run the security software program; when attempting to execute a program by the operating system programs, the security software program intercepting and determining when the program is authorized using the whitelist, and when the program is unauthorized, the security software program preventing execution of the program; and when the program is authorized, the security software program allowing the execution of the program (the applicant is directed to the rejection to claim 1 set forth above, as it is rejected based on the same rationale).
14. Regarding claim 10 Zhang teaches the method further comprising an entitlement list for the program, the entitlement list included in the firmware image and, during installing the firmware image, storing the entitlement list in the memory; thereafter, when attempting to access a resource by the program, the security software program intercepting and determining when accessing of the resource by the program is allowed by using the entitlement list and when accessing of the resource by the program is not allowed, the security software program preventing access of the resource by the program, otherwise when accessing of the resource by the program is allowed based upon the entitlement list, the security software program allowing the access of the resource by the program (the applicant is directed to the rejection to claim 2 set forth above, as it is rejected based on the same rationale).
15. Regarding claim 11 Zhang teaches the method, wherein the entitlement list comprises one or more entitlements selected from a group consisting of accessing a file system, accessing the file system for reading, accessing the file system for reading and writing, reading a file, writing the file, reading an input/output device and writing to the input/output device (the applicant is directed to the rejection to claim 3 set forth above, as it is rejected based on the same rationale).
16. Regarding claim 12 Zhang teaches the method, wherein the one or more entitlements of accessing the file system are limited to a portion of the file system (Para:0053-0054 and Para:0056-0066 teaches entitlements of accessing the file system are limited) .
17. Regarding claim 13 Cheng teaches the method, wherein the entitlement list further comprises a range of times for the whitelist entry and when interceding and determining when the program is entitled to access the resource using the entitlement list, the security software program allowing the access to the resource only during the range of times (the applicant is directed to the rejection to claim 4 set forth above, as it is rejected based on the same rationale).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEREENA T CATTUNGAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2431