DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application because the drawings filed 11/01/2024 are not proper black and white line drawings. Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance.
All drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. The weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction. This requirement applies to all lines however fine, to shading, and to lines representing cut surfaces in sectional views. Lines and strokes of different thicknesses may be used in the same drawing where different thicknesses have a different meaning.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraphs [0008], [0015], and [0033] recite in parts, “adapter”. This element is referred to elsewhere as an “adaptor”. Applicant should choose one spelling and use it consistently throughout.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 6, 8, and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 2 and 16 recite in parts, “adapter”. This element is referred to elsewhere as an “adaptor”. Applicant should choose one spelling and use it consistently throughout.
Claim 6 recites in part “the at least one magnetic element”. This should be “at least one magnetic element”, to maintain appropriate antecedence.
Claim 8 recites in part “the at least one magnetic element”. This should be “at least one magnetic element”, to maintain appropriate antecedence.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Applicant has referred to element 19 as a “stork” throughout the abstract, specification, and claims. Applicant is entitled to be his or her own lexicographer. However, it would help the person having ordinary skill in the art to understand the scope of the protection sought if recitations of “stork” were amended to recite “stalk”, as the accepted meaning of “stalk” includes “an elongate member”, which is consistent with the illustrations and disclosure of element 19, whereas the accepted meaning of “stork” is “a large, long-legged, long-necked wading bird with a long, stout bill, belonging to the family Ciconiidae, and the order Ciconiiformes”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 7, 9, 11, and 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Pat. 11,686,151 – Graybar et al., hereinafter Graybar.
Regarding claim 1.
Graybar discloses a wand assembly (33, fig 32) for controlling operation of a motorised cover assembly (100, fig 32), the motorised cover assembly comprising a motor assembly (150, fig 19) configured to selectively adjust the position of a cover relative to an architectural opening (Column 5, lines 20-28; Rotation of the roller tube 137 in a first direction unwinds the covering material from the roller tube 137, covering (or blocking) a portion of the architectural opening. Rotation of the roller tube 137 in a second direction, opposite the first direction, winds the covering material onto the roller tube 137, uncovering (or unblocking) a portion of the architectural opening. The portion of the architectural opening noted in the winding and unwinding of the covering material can include the entirety of the architectural opening.), the wand assembly comprising:
an operating stork (Herein interpreted in light of the applicant’s disclosure as an elongate element; 400, fig 28) comprising a control panel (444, fig 28) for controlling operation of the motor assembly, and
an adaptor (including 296, fig 26, and 248, fig 23) configured to operatively connect the stork to the motor assembly (Column 12, lines 21-28; The socket housing 408 defines a socket 424. The socket 424 is configured to engage (or receive) the ball joint 248 to form a ball and socket connection between the wand assembly 400 and the mounting housing 157. The socket housing 408 also defines a port assembly 428. The port assembly 428 is configured to engage an end of the communication wire harness 296 to facilitate communications between the wand assembly 400 and the motor assembly 150.), the adaptor comprising an electrical connector for coupling with a complementary electrical connector of the motor assembly (Column 11, lines 22-25; Similarly, one end of the communication wire harness 296 selectively engages the communication input 228 of the printed circuit board 220 (see FIG. 21).), the stork comprising an interface (including 424 and 428, fig 31) for releasably attaching the stork with a complementary interface of the adaptor (Column 12, lines 21-41; The socket housing 408 defines a socket 424. The socket 424 is configured to engage (or receive) the ball joint 248 to form a ball and socket connection between the wand assembly 400 and the mounting housing 157. … An end of the communication wire harness 296 is configured to plug into a port 432 of the port assembly 428 (e.g., by a port end in the communication wire harness 296). The communication wire harness 296 can be selectively engaged with the port assembly 428.), the stork interface comprising a plurality of electrical contacts (432, fig 31) configured to form an electrical connection with a corresponding plurality of electrical contacts of the adaptor interface to operably connect the control panel of the stork to the motor assembly via the adaptor (Column 12, lines 37-42; An end of the communication wire harness 296 is configured to plug into a port 432 of the port assembly 428 (e.g., by a port end in the communication wire harness 296). The communication wire harness 296 can be selectively engaged with the port assembly 428.).
Regarding claim 2.
Graybar discloses all elements of claim 1.
Graybar further discloses the releasable attachment of the stork interface (including 424 and 428, fig 31) with the adapter interface (Column 12, lines 21-41; The socket housing 408 defines a socket 424. The socket 424 is configured to engage (or receive) the ball joint 248 to form a ball and socket connection between the wand assembly 400 and the mounting housing 157. … An end of the communication wire harness 296 is configured to plug into a port 432 of the port assembly 428 (e.g., by a port end in the communication wire harness 296). The communication wire harness 296 can be selectively engaged with the port assembly 428.) is provided by a coupling member of the stork interface engaging with a complementary coupling part of the adaptor (Column 12, lines 21-41; The socket housing 408 defines a socket 424. The socket 424 is configured to engage (or receive) the ball joint 248 to form a ball and socket connection between the wand assembly 400 and the mounting housing 157. … An end of the communication wire harness 296 is configured to plug into a port 432 of the port assembly 428 (e.g., by a port end in the communication wire harness 296). The communication wire harness 296 can be selectively engaged with the port assembly 428.).
Regarding claim 5.
Graybar discloses all elements of claim 1.
Graybar further discloses the interface (including 424 and 428, fig 31) of the stork (400, fig 31) is formed in a head section (408, fig 31) provided at a distal end of the stork (See fig 31), the head section comprising an upstanding peripheral sidewall providing a recess (424, fig 31) into which the interface of the adaptor is configured to seat when forming the electrical connection between the stork and adaptor (Column 12, lines 21-41; The socket housing 408 defines a socket 424. The socket 424 is configured to engage (or receive) the ball joint 248 to form a ball and socket connection between the wand assembly 400 and the mounting housing 157. … An end of the communication wire harness 296 is configured to plug into a port 432 of the port assembly 428 (e.g., by a port end in the communication wire harness 296). The communication wire harness 296 can be selectively engaged with the port assembly 428.).
Regarding claim 7.
Graybar discloses all elements of claim 1.
Graybar further discloses the interface (including 424 and 428, fig 31) of the stork (400, fig 31) is formed in a head section (408, fig 31) provided at a distal end of the stork (See fig 31), the adaptor comprising an upstanding peripheral sidewall providing a recess (424, fig 31) into which the interface of the stork is configured to seat when forming the electrical connection between the stork and adaptor (Column 12, lines 21-41; The socket housing 408 defines a socket 424. The socket 424 is configured to engage (or receive) the ball joint 248 to form a ball and socket connection between the wand assembly 400 and the mounting housing 157. … An end of the communication wire harness 296 is configured to plug into a port 432 of the port assembly 428 (e.g., by a port end in the communication wire harness 296). The communication wire harness 296 can be selectively engaged with the port assembly 428.).
Regarding claim 9.
Graybar discloses all elements of claim 1.
Graybar further discloses the head section (408, fig 31) of the stork is pivotable (Column 12, lines 21-24; The socket housing 408 defines a socket 424. The socket 424 is configured to engage (or receive) the ball joint 248 to form a ball and socket connection between the wand assembly 400 and the mounting housing 157.) and the control panel (at 444a-c, fig 31) is provided at an opposite proximal end of the stork (See fig 31).
Regarding claim 11.
Graybar discloses all elements of claim 1.
Graybar further discloses the control panel (at 444a-c, fig 31) includes a plurality of buttons (444a-c, fig 31) configured to operate the motor assembly.
Regarding claim 14.
Graybar discloses all elements of claim 1.
Graybar further discloses the motorised cover assembly is a motorised roller blind assembly (100, fig 32) having an elongate tube (130, fig 32) for supporting a retractable screen, a motor assembly (150, fig 26) of the roller blind assembly being configured to rotate the tube to selectively adjust the screen in response to control inputs from the control panel (Column 5, lines 20-28; Rotation of the roller tube 137 in a first direction unwinds the covering material from the roller tube 137, covering (or blocking) a portion of the architectural opening. Rotation of the roller tube 137 in a second direction, opposite the first direction, winds the covering material onto the roller tube 137, uncovering (or unblocking) a portion of the architectural opening. The portion of the architectural opening noted in the winding and unwinding of the covering material can include the entirety of the architectural opening.).
Regarding claim 15.
Graybar discloses a motorised roller blind assembly (100, fig 32) in combination with a wand assembly (33, fig 32), the wand assembly being configured to control operation of the motorised roller blind assembly (100, fig 32), the motorised roller blind assembly comprising a motor assembly (150, fig 19) configured to selectively adjust the position of a retractable screen relative to an architectural opening (Column 5, lines 20-28; Rotation of the roller tube 137 in a first direction unwinds the covering material from the roller tube 137, covering (or blocking) a portion of the architectural opening. Rotation of the roller tube 137 in a second direction, opposite the first direction, winds the covering material onto the roller tube 137, uncovering (or unblocking) a portion of the architectural opening. The portion of the architectural opening noted in the winding and unwinding of the covering material can include the entirety of the architectural opening.), the wand assembly comprising:
an operating stork (Herein interpreted in light of the applicant’s disclosure as an elongate element; 400, fig 28) comprising a control panel (444, fig 28) for controlling operation of the motor assembly (150, fig 19), and
an adaptor (including 296, fig 26, and 248, fig 23) configured to operatively connect the stork to the motor assembly (Column 12, lines 21-28; The socket housing 408 defines a socket 424. The socket 424 is configured to engage (or receive) the ball joint 248 to form a ball and socket connection between the wand assembly 400 and the mounting housing 157. The socket housing 408 also defines a port assembly 428. The port assembly 428 is configured to engage an end of the communication wire harness 296 to facilitate communications between the wand assembly 400 and the motor assembly 150.), the adaptor comprising an electrical connector for coupling with a complementary electrical connector of the motor assembly (Column 11, lines 22-25; Similarly, one end of the communication wire harness 296 selectively engages the communication input 228 of the printed circuit board 220 (see FIG. 21).), the stork comprising an interface (including 424 and 428, fig 31) for releasably attaching the stork with a complementary interface of the adaptor (Column 12, lines 21-41; The socket housing 408 defines a socket 424. The socket 424 is configured to engage (or receive) the ball joint 248 to form a ball and socket connection between the wand assembly 400 and the mounting housing 157. … An end of the communication wire harness 296 is configured to plug into a port 432 of the port assembly 428 (e.g., by a port end in the communication wire harness 296). The communication wire harness 296 can be selectively engaged with the port assembly 428.), the stork interface comprising a plurality of electrical contacts (432, fig 31) configured to form an electrical connection with a corresponding plurality of electrical contacts of the adaptor interface to operably connect the control panel of the stork to the motor assembly via the adaptor (Column 12, lines 37-42; An end of the communication wire harness 296 is configured to plug into a port 432 of the port assembly 428 (e.g., by a port end in the communication wire harness 296). The communication wire harness 296 can be selectively engaged with the port assembly 428.).
Regarding claim 16.
Graybar discloses all elements of claim 15.
Graybar further discloses the adapter (including 296, fig 26, and 248, fig 23) is fixed to the motor assembly (See figs 26 and 23) and remains in place when the stork (400, fig 28) is manipulated to separate the stork from the adapter (See at 248 in fig 23).
Regarding claim 17.
Graybar discloses an operating stork (400, fig 28) for controlling operation of a motorised cover assembly (100, fig 32), the motorised cover assembly comprising a motor assembly (150, fig 26) configured to selectively adjust the position of a cover relative to an architectural opening (Column 5, lines 20-28; Rotation of the roller tube 137 in a first direction unwinds the covering material from the roller tube 137, covering (or blocking) a portion of the architectural opening. Rotation of the roller tube 137 in a second direction, opposite the first direction, winds the covering material onto the roller tube 137, uncovering (or unblocking) a portion of the architectural opening. The portion of the architectural opening noted in the winding and unwinding of the covering material can include the entirety of the architectural opening.), the motor assembly having an adaptor (including 296, fig 26, and 248, fig 23) configured to operatively connect with the stork, the operating stork comprising:
a control panel (444, fig 28) for controlling operation of the motor assembly, and an interface (including 424 and 428, fig 31) for releasably attaching the stork with a complementary interface of the adaptor (Column 12, lines 21-41; The socket housing 408 defines a socket 424. The socket 424 is configured to engage (or receive) the ball joint 248 to form a ball and socket connection between the wand assembly 400 and the mounting housing 157. … An end of the communication wire harness 296 is configured to plug into a port 432 of the port assembly 428 (e.g., by a port end in the communication wire harness 296). The communication wire harness 296 can be selectively engaged with the port assembly 428.), wherein the stork interface comprises a plurality of electrical contacts (432, fig 31) configured to form an electrical connection with a corresponding plurality of electrical contacts of the adaptor interface to operably connect the control panel of the stork to the motor assembly (Column 12, lines 37-41; An end of the communication wire harness 296 is configured to plug into a port 432 of the port assembly 428 (e.g., by a port end in the communication wire harness 296). The communication wire harness 296 can be selectively engaged with the port assembly 428.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, 6, 8, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graybar in view of PG Pub. US 2026/0009291 A1 – Meylan et al., hereinafter Meylan.
Regarding claim 3.
Graybar discloses all elements of claim 2.
Graybar further discloses a force sufficient for the stork to hang under its own weight from the adaptor and maintain the electrical connection (See fig 32).
Graybar does not disclose the releasable attachment is provided by magnetic attraction between the coupling member of the stork interface and the coupling part of the adaptor.
However, Meylan teaches the releasable attachment is provided by magnetic attraction between the coupling member (37’, fig 2c) of the stork interface and the coupling part (35, fig 2c) of the adaptor, the magnetic attraction providing a force sufficient to maintain the electrical connection (Paragraph [0028]; The charging connector and the power supply device advantageously comprise magnetic interlocking means.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Graybar with the magnetic interface of Meylan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of allowing a facilitated connection, e.g. a “blind” connection, in particular for an actuator that is not very accessible, as suggested in paragraph [0066] of Meylan.
Regarding claim 4.
The combination of Graybar and Meylan teaches all limitations of claim 3.
The combination, in Meylan, further teaches the coupling member (37’, fig 2c) and coupling part (35, fig 2c) both comprise at least one magnetic element to provide the magnetic attraction (Paragraph [0066]; In a very advantageous example shown in FIG. 2C, the charging connector of the power supply device 37′ is as such connected to a magnetic adapter 35, which makes possible a facilitated connection, e.g. a “blind” connection, in particular for an actuator that is not very accessible. The connector 37′ of the power supply device 20 is also magnetic, so as to connect to the adapter.).
Regarding claim 6.
Graybar discloses all elements of claim 5.
Graybar further discloses the plurality of electrical contacts (432, fig 31) of the stork interface project from a bottom surface of the recess (See fig 31).
Graybar does not disclose the at least one magnetic element of the coupling member is provided in the recess and at least in-part surrounds the electrical contacts of the stork interface.
However, Meylan teaches the at least one magnetic element of the coupling member (37’, fig 2c) is provided in the recess and at least in-part surrounds the electrical contacts of the stork interface (See fig 2c).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Graybar with the magnetic interface of Meylan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of allowing a facilitated connection, e.g. a “blind” connection, in particular for an actuator that is not very accessible, as suggested in paragraph [0066] of Meylan.
Regarding claim 8.
Graybar discloses all elements of claim 7.
Graybar further discloses the plurality of electrical contacts (432, fig 31) of the adaptor interface project from a bottom surface of the recess (See fig 31).
Graybar does not disclose the at least one magnetic element of the coupling part is provided in the recess and at least in-part surrounds the electrical contacts of the stork interface.
However, Meylan teaches the at least one magnetic element of the coupling part (37’, fig 2c) is provided in the recess and at least in-part surrounds the electrical contacts of the adaptor interface (See fig 2c).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Graybar with the magnetic interface of Meylan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of allowing a facilitated connection, e.g. a “blind” connection, in particular for an actuator that is not very accessible, as suggested in paragraph [0066] of Meylan.
Regarding claim 10.
The combination of Graybar and Meylan teaches all limitations of claim 6.
Graybar further discloses the stork (400, fig 28) further includes an elongate main body (404, fig 31) having a first end (at 408, fig 31) and a second end (at 440, fig 31) and an internal passageway (see at 436, fig 31) configured for passage of electrical cabling (436, fig 31) from the interface (at 432, fig 31) of the stork to the control panel (444a-c, fig 31), the pivotal head section (408, fig 31) being positioned at the first end of the main body (See fig 31) and the control panel (444a-c, fig 31) being positioned at the second end of the main body (See fig 31).
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graybar in view of US Pat. 10,626,668 – Hall et al., hereinafter Hall.
Regarding claim 12.
Graybar discloses all elements of claim 1.
Graybar does not disclose the control panel includes charging/programming port via which a rechargeable battery, housed within the motor assembly, may be recharged.
However, Hall teaches the control panel (bottom of 2402 in fig 24) includes charging/programming port (2400, fig 24) via which a rechargeable battery, housed within the motor assembly, may be recharged (Column 17, lines 49-53; a battery for powering the motorized gearbox assembly 102 may be charged through the pull cord 110. This may be accomplished, for example, by plugging an AC wall adapter into the connector 2400.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Graybar with the port and battery of Hall. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of allowing for use independent of a hardwired electrical connection.
Regarding claim 13.
Graybar discloses all elements of claim 1.
Graybar does not disclose the electrical connector of the adaptor is a micro-USB plug and the complementary electrical connector of the motorised cover assembly is a micro-USB port.
However, Hall teaches the electrical connector (2400, fig 24) of the adaptor is a micro-USB plug (Column 17, lines 53-57; Any suitable connector 2400 may be used, including but not limited to USB, mini-USB, micro-USB, barrel connectors, or the like. USB-based connectors may be advantageous in that USB wall adapters or power sources may provide a known voltage to the battery.) and the complementary electrical connector of the motorised cover assembly is a micro-USB port (Column 17, lines 53-57; Any suitable connector 2400 may be used, including but not limited to USB, mini-USB, micro-USB, barrel connectors, or the like. USB-based connectors may be advantageous in that USB wall adapters or power sources may provide a known voltage to the battery.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Graybar with the micro-USB of Hall. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of using a known standard to provide a known voltage to the battery.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/J.W.H./ Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/DANIEL P CAHN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3634