The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-8 and 14-19, in the reply filed on June 30, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1, 2, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US D915,359) considered with Richter (US 5,187,744).
Zhang discloses a speaker stand, comprising: a seat configured for receiving a speaker, and comprising a loading member configured for loading the speaker, a first engaging member attached to a first side of the loading member, and a second engaging member attached to a second side of the loading member, each of the first engaging member and the second engaging member configured for engaging with the speaker which is loaded on the loading member; and a support post configured for connecting to the loading member. Zhang discloses the invention as claimed, but fails to specifically teach that the seat for receiving the speaker is of the structure as specifically claimed.
Richter discloses a telephone stand, comprising: a seat configured for receiving a telephone, and comprising a loading member configured for loading the telephone, a first engaging member attached to a first side of the loading member, and a second engaging member attached to a second side of the loading member, each of the first engaging member and the second engaging member configured for engaging with the telephone which is loaded on the loading member; and a support post configured for connecting to the loading member. Richter discloses such a seat for receiving a telephone on a telephone stand, in the same field of endeavor, for the purpose of securely holding a telephone on a loading member between two engaging members.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Zhang, in view of Richter, such that the seat for receiving the speaker is of the structure as specifically claimed and as taught by Richter. A practitioner in the art would have been motivated to do this for the purpose of securing a speaker on the speaker stand of Zhang, using the seat as taught by Richter.
Regarding claim 1, Zhang, as modified by Richter, discloses a speaker stand comprising: a seat configured for receiving a speaker, and comprising a loading member 16 configured for loading the speaker, a first engaging member 18 attached to a first side of the loading member 16, and a second engaging member 20 attached to a second side of the loading member 16, each of the first engaging member 18 and the second engaging member 20 configured for engaging with the speaker which is loaded on the loading member 16; and a support post configured for connecting to the loading member 16 (see figs. 1-6 of Richter). At least one of the first engaging member 18 and the second engaging member 20 is movable relative to the loading member 16. The first engaging member 18 and the second engaging member 20 are opposite to each other. A distance between the first engaging member 18 and the second engaging member 20 is adjustable (see fig. 5 of Richter). An elastic component 48 is disposed in the loading member 16, and elastically abutting against the first engaging member 18 such that the first engaging member 18 maintains engaged with the speaker (see figs. 4-5 of Richter which teaches that the spring 48 abuts up against element 62 of the first engaging member 18). When the first engaging member 18 is moved away from an original location, the first engaging member 18 cooperates with the second engaging member 20 to load the speaker on the loading member 16.
Regarding claim 2, each of the first engaging member 18 and the second engaging member 20 are movable relative to the loading member 16 along a first (left-right) direction (see fig. 5 of Richter, for example). The first engaging member 18 and the second engaging member 20 sandwich the speaker therebetween when any one of the first engaging member 18 and the second engaging member 20 is moved from the original location.
Regarding claim 14, Zhang, as modified by Richter, discloses a speaker stand comprising: a seat comprising a loading member 16 for supporting at least one speaker; and a first engaging member 20 and a second engaging member 18 which are respectively located at opposite sides of the loading member 16 (see figs. 1-6 of Richter). The first engaging member 20 and the second engaging member 18 are configured to clamp the at least one speaker therebetween. Each of the first engaging member 20 and the second engaging member 18 are movable relative to the loading member 16 (see fig. 5 of Richter). A maximum movement distance of the second engaging member 18 relative to the loading member 16 is great than a maximum moving distance of the first engaging member 20 relative to the loading member 16 (see fig. 5 of Richter which teaches that the second engaging member 18 can move a greater distance, in at least the left-right direction, than the first engaging member 20).
Regarding claim 19, the speaker stand is configured to support a speaker of a smaller size of the at least one speaker, when the distance between the first engaging member 20 on one side of the seat and the loading member is adjusted. The speaker stand is configured to support a speaker of a larger size of the at least one speaker, when the distance between the first engaging member 20 and the second engaging member 18 on both sides of the seat are adjusted relative to the loading member 16.
Claim 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US D915,359) considered with Crown (US 8,191,851).
Zhang discloses a speaker stand, comprising: a seat configured for receiving a speaker, and comprising a loading member configured for loading the speaker, a first engaging member attached to a first side of the loading member, and a second engaging member attached to a second side of the loading member, each of the first engaging member and the second engaging member configured for engaging with the speaker which is loaded on the loading member; and a support post configured for connecting to the loading member. Zhang discloses the invention as claimed, but fails to specifically teach that the seat for receiving the speaker is of the structure as specifically claimed.
Crown discloses an electronic device stand, comprising: a seat configured for receiving an electronic device, and comprising a loading member configured for loading the electronic device, a first engaging member attached to a first side of the loading member, and a second engaging member attached to a second side of the loading member, each of the first engaging member and the second engaging member configured for engaging with the electronic device which is loaded on the loading member; and a support post configured for connecting to the loading member (see fig. 5). Crown discloses such a seat for receiving an electronic device on an electronic device stand, in the same field of endeavor, for the purpose of securely holding an electronic device on a loading member between two engaging members.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Zhang, in view of Crown, such that the seat for receiving the speaker is of the structure as specifically claimed and as taught by Crown. A practitioner in the art would have been motivated to do this for the purpose of securing a speaker on the speaker stand of Zhang, using the seat as taught by Crown.
Regarding claim 1, Zhang, as modified by Crown, discloses a speaker stand comprising: a seat configured for receiving a speaker, and comprising a loading member 40, 111, 110 configured for loading the speaker, a first engaging member 16 attached to a first side of the loading member 110, and a second engaging member 17 attached to a second side of the loading member 110 (see fig. 11 of Kim), each of the first engaging member 16 and the second engaging member 17 configured for engaging with the speaker which is loaded on the loading member 40, 111, 110; and a support post 24 configured for connecting to the loading member 110 (see fig. 5 of Crown). At least one of the first engaging member 16 and the second engaging member 17 is movable relative to the loading member 110. The first engaging member 16 and the second engaging member 17 are opposite to each other. A distance between the first engaging member 16 and the second engaging member 17 is adjustable (see Crown, col. 7, lines 57-59, regarding “when mounted in the housing the jaws can thus slide with respect to each other so as to set a distance between opposing faces of resilient pads 100 mounted to each jaw”). An elastic component 117 is disposed in the loading member 110, and elastically abutting against the first engaging member 16 such that the first engaging member 16 maintains engaged with the speaker (see Crown, col. 7, lines 62-63, regarding “a spring 117 is provided so as to resiliently bias the jaws apart. Thus a user wishing to clamp a mobile telephone or other such electronic device in the jaws must urge the two jaws together by turning the screw 59 which draws the jaws together”). When the first engaging member 16 is moved away from an original location, the first engaging member 16 cooperates with the second engaging member 17 to load the speaker on the loading member 110.
Regarding claim 2, each of the first engaging member 16 and the second engaging member 17 is movable relative to the loading member 110 along a first direction. The first engaging member 16 and the second engaging member 17 sandwich the speaker therebetween when any one of the first engaging member 16 and the second engaging member 17 is moved from the original location.
Regarding claim 3, a screw shaft 59 is disposed at the loading member 110 and movable relative to the loading member 110. The elastic component 117 is sleeved at the screw shaft 59 and elastically deformed by the screw shaft 59. The screw shaft 59 is fixedly connected with the first engaging member 16.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (US D915,359) considered with Kim (US 9,975,497).
Zhang discloses a speaker stand, comprising: a seat configured for receiving a speaker, and comprising a loading member configured for loading the speaker, a first engaging member attached to a first side of the loading member, and a second engaging member attached to a second side of the loading member, each of the first engaging member and the second engaging member configured for engaging with the speaker which is loaded on the loading member; and a support post configured for connecting to the loading member. Zhang discloses the invention as claimed, but fails to specifically teach that the seat for receiving the speaker is of the structure as specifically claimed.
Kim discloses a portable device stand, comprising: a seat configured for receiving a portable device, and comprising a loading member configured for loading the portable device, a first engaging member attached to a first side of the loading member, and a second engaging member attached to a second side of the loading member, each of the first engaging member and the second engaging member configured for engaging with the portable device which is loaded on the loading member; and a support post configured for connecting to the loading member. Kim discloses such a seat for receiving a portable device on a portable device stand, in the same field of endeavor, for the purpose of securely holding a portable device on a loading member between two engaging members.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Zhang, in view of Kim, such that the seat for receiving the speaker is of the structure as specifically claimed and as taught by Kim. A practitioner in the art would have been motivated to do this for the purpose of securing a speaker on the speaker stand of Zhang, using the seat as taught by Kim.
Regarding claim 1, Zhang, as modified by Kim, discloses a speaker stand comprising: a seat configured for receiving a speaker, and comprising a loading member 125 configured for loading the speaker, a first engaging member 145, 135, 131, 133 attached to a first side of the loading member 125 (see fig. 3 of Kim), and a second engaging member 111, 121 attached to a second side of the loading member 125 (see figs. 1-2 of Kim), each of the first engaging member and the second engaging member configured for engaging with the speaker which is loaded on the loading member 125; and a support post configured for connecting to the loading member 125 (see figs. 1-6 of Richter). At least one of the first engaging member and the second engaging member is movable relative to the loading member 125 (see fig. 7 of Kim). The first engaging member and the second engaging member are opposite to each other. A distance between the first engaging member and the second engaging member is adjustable (see fig. 7 of Kim). An elastic component 141 is disposed in the loading member 125, and elastically abutting against the first engaging member 145, 135, 131, 133 such that the first engaging member maintains engaged with the speaker (see figs. 8-9 of Kim which teaches that the spring 141 abuts up against element 145 of the first engaging member 145, 135, 131, 133). When the first engaging member 145, 135, 131, 133 is moved away from an original location, the first engaging member cooperates with the second engaging member to load the speaker on the loading member 125 (see fig. 9 of Kim).
Claims 4-8 and 15-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references cited on the PTO-892 each disclose an electronic device holder.
/PAUL W HUBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691
pwh
July 24, 2026