Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-4 in the reply filed on 9/10/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground that it would not be an undue burden to search and examine the claims corresponding to all of the identified inventions.
This is not found persuasive because the apparatus of claims 1-4 can be manufactured by materially different processes. For example, the step of forming a circuit layer can be made by electroplating, sputtering, chemical vapor deposition, lamination, etching, etc. yet still result in the same circuit layer structure. The inventions are independent and distinct, and references can refer to the claimed method but not to the claimed apparatus, and vice-versa. As such, there would be a serious search and examination burden if restriction were not required.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by “Chen” (US 2021/0057320).
Regarding claim 1, Chen anticipates 1. A package substrate, comprising: a dielectric layer having a first surface, a second surface opposing the first surface, and a plurality of grooves formed on the first surface, wherein depths of the plurality of grooves are uniform (Fig. 15, [0042]; the dielectric layer 146 has first and second opposing surfaces and a plurality of grooves forming the circuit layer 145 formed on the first surface, wherein depths of the grooves forming the circuit layer 145 are uniform);
a first circuit layer embedded in the first surface of the dielectric layer and exposed from the grooves (Fig. 15, [0042]; the circuit layer 145 is embedded in the first surface of the dielectric layer 146 and exposed from the grooves);
a second circuit layer formed on the second surface of the dielectric layer (Fig. 15, [0042]; the circuit layer 147 is formed on the second surface of the dielectric layer 146);
and a plurality of conductive pillars formed in the dielectric layer and electrically connected to the first circuit layer and the second circuit layer (Fig. 15, [0042]; a plurality of conductive holes 149 formed in the dielectric layer 146 and electrically connected to the circuit layer 145 and the circuit layer 147).
Regarding claim 3, Chen anticipates 3. The package substrate of claim 1, wherein the second circuit layer and the plurality of conductive pillars are integrally formed (Fig. 15, [0042]; the circuit layer 147 and the plurality of conductive holes 149 are integrally formed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of “Kishioka” (US 2026/0008934).
Regarding claim 2, Chen discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Chen does not disclose the limitations of claim 2.
Kishioka discloses 2. The package substrate of claim 1, wherein a depth of each of the plurality of grooves is 0.1 micron (Fig. F, [0268], [0270]; the grooves 5b for forming the wiring have a depth of 0.1 micron).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Chen’s package substrate with Kishioka’s groove depth in order to permit for the simultaneous formation of wiring and the formation of a via by embedding a via hole, as suggested by Kishioka at [0005].
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of “Na” (US 2026/0282977).
Regarding claim 4, Chen discloses the claimed invention as applied to claim 1, above.
Chen does not disclose the limitations of claim 4.
Na discloses 4. The package substrate of claim 1, further comprising a plurality of solder balls formed in the grooves to be bonded to the first circuit layer (Fig. 1, [0061]; the solder balls 50 are formed in the grooves to be bonded to the circuit pattern layer 20).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have constructed Chen’s package substrate with Na’s solder balls in order to attach the circuit layer to a chip or an external substrate, as suggested by Na at [0061].
Conclusion
/STANLEY TSO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847