DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been received.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSes) submitted on 01/07/2025, 01/13/2025, 01/23/2025, and 10/23/2025 are being considered by the examiner. Please note that the references submitted in the 01/23/2025 IDS have been crossed out because they are duplicates of those submitted in the 01/13/2025 IDS.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the DC/AC converter 320 as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Normally a DC/AC converter converts direct current to alternating current. However, as the specification supports and as claimed the direct current/alternating current converter to convert the alternating current input through the alternating current input end into a direct current. Under MPEP 2111.01(IV), “[a]n applicant is entitled to be their own lexicographer and may rebut the presumption that claim terms are to be given their ordinary and customary meaning by clearly setting forth a definition of the term that is different from its ordinary and customary meaning(s) in the specification.” … “To act as their own lexicographer, the applicant must clearly set forth a special definition of a claim term in the specification that differs from the plain and ordinary meaning it would otherwise possess.” Specification paragraph 0050 supports that the DC/AC converter can convert alternating current to direct current. However, in this instance under MPEP 608.02(d) new drawings are required for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention. The drawings in figures 3-9 should show item 320 as either “DC-AC/AC-DC” or “DC/AC – AC/DC”. New drawings are necessary to properly show that the DC/AC converter can convert both: direct current to alternating current and alternating current to direct current.
Claim Objections
Claims 5 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities: “monitor the voltage…” should be “monitor a voltage…,” and “the specified range …” should be “a specified range ….”Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 6 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities: “the specified threshold …” should be “a specified threshold ….”
Claims 16 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities: “monitoring the voltage…” should be “monitoring a voltage…,” and “the specified range …” should be “a specified range ….”Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 9, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In claims 5, 9, 16, and 17, it is unclear and thus indefinite as to what “wherein the fifth control signal indicates the direct current/alternating current converter to convert the direct current input through the direct current input end into an alternating current of a specified voltage, and the specified voltage is a difference between the specified threshold and the voltage of the alternating current input through the alternating current input end” means. The claim requires that the DC/AC converter output an AC voltage that is the difference between a voltage threshold and the input voltage of the load. This does not make sense to the examiner. Appropriate correction and/or explanation is required. For purposes of examination, the claim is interpreted to require that the output of the DC/AC converter supplement the shortfall in the power required by the load.
Claims 7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In claims 7 and 11, it is unclear and thus indefinite as to what “control the alternating current load input end to output the alternating current input through the alternating current input end, and control the direct current load input end to output a direct current” means. Specifically, what is being controlled? Appropriate correction is required. For purposes of examination, the claim is interpreted as the DC/AC converter is controlled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 12, 13, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0294782 to George Arthur Navarro (“Navarro”). Please note that Navarro incorporates by reference the disclosure in U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0097680 (hereinafter referred to as “Eaton”).
Regarding claim 1:
A power distribution circuit (Navarro discloses a converter unit 500. Navarro at par. [0021] and Fig. 5.), comprising:
an alternating current input end (Navarro at Fig. 5, External AC Source.);
a direct current input end (Navarro at Fig. 5, External DC Source/Storage.);
an alternating current load input end (Navarro at Fig. 5, External AC Bus.);
a direct current load input end (Navarro at Fig. 5, External DC Bus.);
a switch circuit, wherein the switch circuit is coupled between the alternating current input end and the alternating current load input end and is configured to control the alternating current load input end to output an alternating current input through the alternating current input end (Navarro discloses a static switch 520a that connects the External AC Source to the External AC Bus. Navarro at pars. [0020]-[0023] and Figs. 4-5.);
a direct current/alternating current converter configured to perform conversion between a direct current and an alternating current (Navarro discloses bi-directional AC/DC converter 510 that converts between DC and AC. Navarro at par. [0021] and Fig. 5.);
a direct current/direct current converter configured to perform direct current conversion on an input direct current (Navarro discloses a DC/DC converter 530 that performs DC/DC conversion. Navarro at par.[0021] and Fig. 5.); and
a control unit (Navarro discloses a controller 540. Navarro at par. [0021] and Fig. 5.),
wherein a first end of the direct current/alternating current converter is coupled to the switch circuit and the alternating current load input end, a second end of the direct current/alternating current converter is coupled to the direct current input end and the direct current/direct current converter (Navarro at Fig. 5, see lines 515 and 505.),
a first end of the direct current/direct current converter is coupled to the direct current/alternating current converter and the direct current input end, the second end of the direct current/direct current converter is coupled to the direct current load input end (Navarro at Fig. 5, see lines connected to DC/DC converter 530.) and
the control unit is electrically connected to the switch circuit, the direct current/alternating current converter, and the direct current/direct current converter (Navarro discloses that “controller 540 controls the static switches 520 a, 520 b, the AC/DC converter circuit 510 and the DC/DC converter circuit 530….” Navarro at Par. [0021]., and is configured to:
detect a status of the switch circuit (Navarro incorporates by reference the control functionality for a UPS with multiple static switches from Eaton (Navarro’s earlier application). Navarro at par. [0021]. Navarro (via incorporated reference Eaton) discloses that, in one configuration, upon failure of a first AC source, the UPS may provide power, and upon failure of the UPS, a second AC source may provide power. Eaton at pars. [0005] and [0021]. Detecting a failure or not of the first AC source provides an indication of whether the static switch is providing power to the loads and thus, corresponds to detecting “a status of the circuit switch.”); and,
when the switch circuit is in a first state, send a first control signal to the direct current/alternating current converter; and send a second control signal to the direct current/direct current converter, wherein the first state is a state in which the switch circuit enables the alternating current input end and the alternating current load input end to be connected, the first control signal indicates the direct current/alternating current converter to convert the alternating current input through the alternating current input end into a direct current, and the second control signal indicates the direct current/direct current converter to perform direct current conversion on a direct current output through the direct current/alternating current converter (Navarro (via incorporated reference Eaton) discloses that, if there is no failure of the first AC source, the static switch supplies the AC source to the loads and not the UPS (“first state”). Eaton at pars. [0005] and [0021]. Navarro discloses that “controller 540 controls the static switches 520 a, 520 b, the AC/DC converter circuit 510 and the DC/DC converter circuit 530….” Navarro at Par. [0021]. Navarro (via incorporated reference Eaton) discloses that the controller controls the static switch to connect to an AC source to the AC load and controls the AC/DC converter and the DC/DC converter such that they perform their respective functions. Eaton at pars. [0018]-[0020].).
Regarding claim 2: The power distribution circuit according to claim 1, wherein the control unit is further configured to:
when the switch circuit is in a second state, send a third control signal to the direct current/alternating current converter and send a fourth control signal to the direct current/direct current converter, wherein the second state is a state in which the switch circuit enables the alternating current input end and the alternating current load input end to be disconnected, the third control signal indicates the direct current/alternating current converter to convert a direct current input through the direct current input end into the alternating current, and the fourth control signal indicates the direct current/direct current converter to perform direct current conversion on the direct current input through the direct current input end (Navarro (via incorporated reference Eaton) discloses that, if there is a failure of the first AC source, the UPS supplies the AC power to the load (i.e., the static switch is disconnected from the AC load – “second state”). Eaton at pars. [0005] and [0021]. Navarro also discloses that “controller 540 controls the static switches 520 a, 520 b, the AC/DC converter circuit 510 and the DC/DC converter circuit 530….” Navarro at Par. [0021]. Note that the description in the incorporated reference Eaton distinguishes between when the AC/DC converter and the DC/DC converter are needed to supply power to the AC load and when the static switch supplies power to the AC load. Eaton at pars. [0005] and [0021]. Thus, Navarro (via incorporated reference Eaton) discloses that the control signals to the DC/AC converter and DC/DC converter will be different between the different scenarios for supplying power to the Ac load.).
Regarding claim 3: The power distribution circuit according to claim 1,
wherein the switch circuit is a static transfer switch (Navarro discloses that static switches 520a and 520b are “antiparallel-connected silicon controlled rectifiers (SCRs)) configurable to provide a transfer switch functionality.” Navarro at par. [0021].).
Regarding claim 12:
A method for controlling a power distribution circuit (Navarro at par. [0001].), the method comprising:
detecting whether a switch circuit is in a first state, wherein the first state is a state in which the switch circuit enables an alternating current input end and an alternating current load input end to be connected; and when the switch circuit is in the first state, sending a first control signal to a direct current/alternating current converter; and sending a second control signal to a direct current/direct current converter, wherein the first control signal indicates the direct current/alternating current converter to convert an alternating current input through the alternating current input end into a direct current, and the second control signal indicates the direct current/direct current converter to perform direct current conversion on a direct current output through the direct current/alternating current converter (Please see analysis in claim 1.).
Regarding claim 13: The method according to claim 12, further comprising:
when the switch circuit is not in the first state, sending a third control signal to the direct current/alternating current converter; and sending a fourth control signal to the direct current/direct current converter, wherein the third control signal indicates the direct current/alternating current converter to convert a direct current input through the direct current input end into an alternating current, and the fourth control signal indicates the direct current/direct current converter to perform direct current conversion on the direct current input through the direct current input end (Please see analysis in claim 2.).
Regarding claim 18:
A power supply system (Navarro at Fig. 4.), comprising:
a power distribution circuit (Navarro discloses a converter unit 500. Navarro at par. [0021] and Fig. 5.);
a direct current power supply, coupled to a direct current input end in the power distribution circuit, and configured to supply a direct current (Navarro at Fig. 5, External DC Source/Storage.);
wherein the power distribution circuit comprises: an alternating current input end, the direct current input end, an alternating current load input end, a direct current load input end, a switch circuit, wherein the switch circuit is coupled between the alternating current input end and the alternating current load input end and is configured to control the alternating current load input end to output an alternating current input through the alternating current input end; a direct current/alternating current converter configured to perform conversion between a direct current and an alternating current; a direct current/direct current converter configured to perform direct current conversion on an input direct current; and a control unit, wherein a first end of the direct current/alternating current converter is coupled to the switch circuit and the alternating current load input end, a second end of the direct current/alternating current converter is coupled to the direct current input end and the direct current/direct current converter, a first end of the direct current/direct current converter is coupled to the direct current/alternating current converter and the direct current input end, a second end of the direct current/direct current converter is coupled to the direct current load input end, the control unit is electrically connected to the switch circuit, the direct current/alternating current converter, and the direct current/direct current converter, and is configured to: detect a status of the switch circuit; and, when the switch circuit is in a first state, send a first control signal to the direct current/alternating current converter; and send a second control signal to the direct current/direct current converter, wherein the first state is a state in which the switch circuit enables the alternating current input end and the alternating current load input end to be connected, the first control signal indicates the direct current/alternating current converter to convert the alternating current input through the alternating current input end into a direct current, and the second control signal indicates the direct current/direct current converter to perform direct current conversion on a direct current output through the direct current/alternating current converter (Please see analysis in claim 1.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-11, 14-17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Navarro in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0054084 to Paatero et al. (“Paatero”).
Regarding claim 4: The power distribution circuit according to claim 1, wherein the control unit is further configured to:
monitor a voltage of the alternating current input through the alternating current input end (Navarro (via incorporation of the disclosure in Eaton) discloses determining whether an AC source has failed. Eaton at pars. [0005] and [0021]. However, Navarro does not explicitly disclose how the failure of the AC source is determined. In a same field of endeavor, power supply system (and thus analogous art), Paatero discloses controlling the UPS 12 based on measurements, which can include voltage, of the grid network N at the input to the UPS 12 to determine if there is a fault in the voltage supply. Paatero at pars. [0023], [0042], and [0089] and Fig. 2.). It would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Paatero’s voltage monitoring circuit into the control system controlling converter unit 500 of Navarro in order to determine if there is a failure in the AC source. Paatero at par. [0023]. Because both Navarro and Paatero relate to UPS systems, there would have been a reasonable chance of success. See MPEP 2143.I.G.); and
when the voltage of the alternating current input through the alternating current input end falls within a specified range, determine that the switch circuit is in the first state (Navarro (via incorporated reference Eaton) discloses that, upon failure of an AC source, the UPS may provide power. Eaton at pars. [0005] and [0021]. To determine whether to transfer to the UPS, there needs to be some criteria (“specified range”) for the input AC voltage indicating that the AC source has failed. If the AC source has not failed (“the alternating current input end falls within a specified range”), then no transfer to the UPS is needed (“determine that the switch circuit is in the first state”). Accordingly, Navarro in view of Paatero renders obvious the claimed determining.).
Regarding claim 5: The power distribution circuit according to claim 1, wherein the control unit is further configured to:
monitor the voltage of the alternating current input through the alternating current input end (Navarro (via incorporation of the disclosure in Eaton) discloses determining whether an AC source has failed. Eaton at pars. [0005] and [0021]. However, Navarro does not explicitly disclose how the failure of the AC source is determined. In a same field of endeavor, power supply system (and thus analogous art), Paatero discloses controlling the UPS 12 based on measurements, which can include voltage, of the grid network N at the input to the UPS 12 to determine if there is a fault in the voltage supply. Paatero at pars. [0023], [0042], and [0089] and Fig. 2.). It would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Paatero‘s voltage monitoring circuit into the control system controlling converter unit 500 of Navarro in order to determine if there is a failure in the AC source to the converter unit 500. Paatero at par. [0023]. Because both Navarro and Paatero relate to UPS systems, there would have been a reasonable chance of success. See MPEP 2143.I.G.); and
when the voltage of the alternating current input through the alternating current input end falls within the specified range and is less than a specified threshold, send a fifth control signal to the direct current/alternating current converter, wherein the fifth control signal indicates the direct current/alternating current converter to convert the direct current input through the direct current input end into an alternating current of a specified voltage, and the specified voltage is a difference between the specified threshold and the voltage of the alternating current input through the alternating current input end (Using a broad but reasonable interpretation of “the fifth control signal indicates the direct current/alternating current converter to convert the direct current input through the direct current input end into an alternating current of a specified voltage,” the claim is interpreted to require that the DC/AC converter of the power distribution circuit supplement any shortfall in the power required by the load. In the embodiment of Fig. 8, Paatero discloses that the DC power source “can be used to power the load 16, and the AC power source 18 can be used to provide additional power as required to sufficiently power the load 16.” Paatero at par. [0093]; see also par. [0094] (disclosing power sharing). Thus, in this embodiment, the primary DC power source is supplemented with a secondary AC power source, if there is a shortfall. Paatero also discloses that “the assembly controller 24 performs a control of the UPS system 12 and the controllable hardware components 34, 36 with a choice of power source according to a defined preference.” Paatero at par. [0092. Accordingly, in the case where the AC power is the preferred primary power source, the DC power source will serve as the supplementing power source. In the system of Navarro, the AC source is the primary source. Thus, based on the teachings of Paatero, a shortfall in the required power to the load (“the alternating current input end falls within the specified range and is less than a specified threshold”) can be supplemented by the DC power source (“convert the direct current input through the direct current input end into an alternating current of a specified voltage”).).
Regarding claim 6: The power distribution circuit according to claim 1, further comprising:
a voltage regulator, coupled between the alternating current input end and the alternating current load input end, and configured to convert the alternating current output through the alternating current load input end into an alternating current of the specified threshold (Navarro does not explicitly disclose a voltage regulator, as claimed. However, Paatero discloses an AC/DC converter 62 in series with a DC/AC converter 66 located between the AC input source and the input to the load. Paatero at Par. [0078] and Fig. 8. To accomplish the load sharing between the AC source and DC source as discussed in Paatero (see Paatero at pars. [0093]-[0094), the AC/DC converter 62 in combination with the DC/AC converter 66 will act as a voltage regulator. It would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to modify the static switch 520a with the converter circuit of Paatero in order to perform power sharing as disclosed in Paatero. Paatero at pars. [0093]-[0094]. Because both Navarro and Paatero relate to UPS systems, there would have been a reasonable chance of success. See MPEP 2143.I.G.).
Regarding claim 7: The power distribution circuit according to claim 1, further comprising:
a bypass circuit, coupled between the alternating current input end and the alternating current load input end, and configured to: when a circuit in which the switch circuit is located is disconnected, control the alternating current load input end to output the alternating current input through the alternating current input end, and control the direct current load input end to output a direct current (Navarro discloses static switch 520b disposed between the AC source (“alternating current input end”) and the external AC bus (“alternating current load input end”) that can act as a “bypass circuit” to static switch 520a. Navarro at par. [0021] and Fig. 5. The bidirectional AC/DC converter 510 will supply DC power to the External DC bus (“direct current load input end”).).
Regarding claim 8: The power distribution circuit according to claim 2, wherein the control unit is further configured to:
monitor a voltage of the alternating current input through the alternating current input end; and when the voltage of the alternating current input through the alternating current input end falls within a specified range, determine that the switch circuit is in the first state (Please see analysis in claim 4.)
Regarding claim 9: The power distribution circuit according to claim 2, wherein the control unit is further configured to:
monitor the voltage of the alternating current input through the alternating current input end; and when the voltage of the alternating current input through the alternating current input end falls within the specified range and is less than a specified threshold, send a fifth control signal to the direct current/alternating current converter, wherein the fifth control signal indicates the direct current/alternating current converter to convert the direct current input through the direct current input end into an alternating current of a specified voltage, and the specified voltage is a difference between the specified threshold and the voltage of the alternating current input through the alternating current input end (Please see analysis in claim 5.).
Regarding claim 10: The power distribution circuit according to claim 2, further comprising:
a voltage regulator, coupled between the alternating current input end and the alternating current load input end, and configured to convert the alternating current output through the alternating current load input end into an alternating current of the specified threshold (Please see analysis in claim 6.).
Regarding claim 11: The power distribution circuit according to claim 1, further comprising:
a bypass circuit, coupled between the alternating current input end and the alternating current load input end, and configured to: when a circuit in which the switch circuit is located is disconnected, control the alternating current load input end to output the alternating current input through the alternating current input end, and control the direct current load input end to output a direct current (Please see analysis in claim 7.).
Regarding claim 14: The method according to claim 12, wherein detecting whether the switch circuit is in the first state further comprises:
monitoring a voltage of the alternating current input through the alternating current input end; and when the voltage of the alternating current input through the alternating current input end falls within a specified range, determining that the switch circuit is in the first state; or when the voltage of the alternating current input through the alternating current input end does not fall within a specified range, determining that the switch circuit is not in the first state (Please see analysis in claim 4. A determination of no AC voltage failure means that the switch circuit is connected to the AC source (“first state”), and a determination of AC voltage failure means that the switch circuit is disconnected from the AC source (“not in the first state”).).
Regarding claim 15: The method according to claim 13, wherein detecting whether the switch circuit is in the first state further comprises:
monitoring a voltage of the alternating current input through the alternating current input end; and when the voltage of the alternating current input through the alternating current input end falls within a specified range, determining that the switch circuit is in the first state; or when the voltage of the alternating current input through the alternating current input end does not fall within a specified range, determining that the switch circuit is not in the first state (Please see analysis in claim 12.).
Regarding claim 16: The method according to claim 12, further comprising:
monitoring the voltage of the alternating current input through the alternating current input end; and when the voltage of the alternating current input through the alternating current input end falls within the specified range and is less than a specified threshold, sending a fifth control signal to the direct current/alternating current converter, wherein the fifth control signal indicates the direct current/alternating current converter to convert the direct current input through the direct current input end into an alternating current of a specified voltage, and the specified voltage is a difference between the specified threshold and the voltage of the alternating current input through the alternating current input end (Please see analysis in claim 5.).
Regarding claim 17: The method according to claim 13, further comprising:
monitoring the voltage of the alternating current input through the alternating current input end; and when the voltage of the alternating current input through the alternating current input end falls within the specified range and is less than a specified threshold, sending a fifth control signal to the direct current/alternating current converter, wherein the fifth control signal indicates the direct current/alternating current converter to convert the direct current input through the direct current input end into an alternating current of a specified voltage, and the specified voltage is a difference between the specified threshold and the voltage of the alternating current input through the alternating current input end (Please see analysis in clam 16.).
Regarding claim 19: The power distribution circuit according to claim 1, wherein the control unit is further configured to:
monitor a voltage of the alternating current input through the alternating current input end; and when the voltage of the alternating current input through the alternating current input end does not fall within a specified range, determine that the switch circuit is in the second state (Please see analysis in claim 4. A determination of an AC voltage failure means the switch circuit is disconnected from the AC source (“second state”).).
Regarding claim 20: The power distribution circuit according to claim 2, wherein the control unit is further configured to:
monitor a voltage of the alternating current input through the alternating current input end; and when the voltage of the alternating current input through the alternating current input end does not fall within a specified range, determine that the switch circuit is in the second state (Please see analysis in claim 19.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chinese Patent Application Publication No. CN112636355A to Shenzhen Power Supply Bureau Co Ltd discloses a power supply system that receives AC and DC sources and supplies AC and DC loads.
European Patent Application Publication No. EP 3651311 A1 to AEG Power Solutions GmbH discloses a power supply system that receives AC and DC sources and supplies AC and DC loads.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0074786 to Johnson, Jr. et al. discloses a UPS with a bypass switch.
U.S. Patent No. 6,134,124 to Jungreis et al. disposes a power supply system with a maintenance bypass switch.
/B.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2116
/CHAD G ERDMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116